View Full Version : Galway Independent Letter
DonO'Bate
01/11/2006, 10:51 PM
Did anyone read the letter in today's edition from the lapsed Galway Rovers fan who talked about the Amby Fogarty era when it all began and about his recent trips to Terryland to watch the Rovers and Dundalk matches and the performance on TG4 against Athlone. It was extremely praiseworthy of the young supporters and encouraging all other lapsed supporters to turn up to Terryland on Friday night to cheer on United. I was just 10 when I saw Galway Rovers play and I havent stopped supporting the team since.
gloryglorygufc
02/11/2006, 9:56 AM
Great letter - apart from having a go at those leaving early at the Dundalk match.
As a supporter for over 25 years, and having attended every season that geography allowed, I feel that I have earned the right to leave my seat a few mins before that end of the debacle that was that game. :(
Fair play to his kids for getting him back to terryland - but stop with the giving out to those of us who have endured the sh1ts of the 1st division for far too long. Give yourself a few more years yet Mike before you start throwing those stones.
Mike - keep accentuating the postives of the terryland experience
Come on Utd
Tir Oilean
02/11/2006, 10:16 AM
I'm with Mike Geraghty on this one GloryGloryGUFC.
Its very off putting for players to see fans leaving. Remember the 12th man thing that was so prominent in the not too distant past thats what its about
you need to support them all the way. Having left early you would have missed the mutual appreciation for both teams from both sets of fans and the appreciation from the teams. Its only a few minutes and its not like the traffic is heavy.
I don't deny that I have never like walking out and a lot earlier than just a few mins to go but I never have and never will.
PS Cheers for the good word Mike if you or your sons are on this forum
GalwayFrancis
02/11/2006, 6:14 PM
ya im with Mike also, I hate ppl walking out of the game early. apart from the fact that i might miss a thing or two on the pitch (remember man utd vs bayern munich in the champions lge), the lads need all the support that we can give them and should be clapped off the pitch for they're 8 out of 9 wins in a row!