View Full Version : Connor To Sign for Bohs on Friday
SRFCbrothelutd
01/11/2006, 4:05 PM
My sources from around the league have told me that Sean Connors will complete his move to Bohemians on thursday and be presented at a press conference on friday.
This is terrible news for Sligo Rovers f.c imo he did a fantastic job under difficult circumstances and transformed the club both on and off the pitch. Well done Sean & F**K the begrudgers.
I am rovers to the back bone and hope the club follow sean's lead (Like the players he signed) in appointing a young energetic manager with a point to prove rather than a know it all with a chip on his shoulder.
01/11/2006, 4:23 PM
As long as its Sean Connors and not Sean Connor we are ok:)
red bellied
01/11/2006, 4:29 PM
I reckon as far as Rovers go he cant bring them any higher. He has his assets but the actual tactical and coaching issues of the game would be at the bottom of the list. If he does go to Bohs we are left in limbo, its a catch 22 situation. After all we dont want another Cassidy or O Riordon.
Shedzer
01/11/2006, 4:40 PM
He prob will bring some players with him!! Probly turner,singh maybe Mansaram!!
01/11/2006, 4:44 PM
Will he be moving straight away or after the season ends?
01/11/2006, 4:57 PM
id imagine straight away,otherwise he would get some abuse from the terraces in the remaining games.
Fivesilver
01/11/2006, 5:00 PM
I don't think there's any guarantee this rumour is accurate.
At the same time, I'm pretty sure we won't be able to hold onto him for next year.
I think people re-evaluating how good he is as a manager should look at where he's got us on what he had to work with.
Connor has done a great job, and would probably do even better at a club with bigger resources.
I think what's important now is that, if Connor leaving is inevitable, then he should go as soon as possible (although waiting to the end of the season would be the decent thing). That way, we'd have more time to get to work on finding a replacement, who, once installed, would be able to quickly start planning for next season.
The big danger would be hanging on hoping Sean would sign again, and letting players' contracts slide until it's too late and we find ourselves with half a squad and a few weeks to go to the new season.
We know from past experience what succeeds at Rovers:
We need a young, ambitious manager.
We need our scouting network, such as it is, to work very hard in finding players.
I don't think, after where he's brought us in the past two seasons, that Connor owes us anything. If he's going, good luck.
It's not cool to say this on here, but well done to the committee for getting him. If he's going, they now have to get their heads down and find another good manager.
red bellied
01/11/2006, 5:02 PM
Most of the Rovers squad are under contract as is Connor so we will be expecting transfers fees and compo for himself if all this comes to pass.
Fivesilver
01/11/2006, 5:06 PM
Most of the Rovers squad are under contract as is Connor
That's good news. Can anyone tell us - accurately, not rumours - who's under contract for next season and who isn't?
01/11/2006, 5:51 PM
That's good news. Can anyone tell us - accurately, not rumours - who's under contract for next season and who isn't?
AFAIK most of the players we signed for this season aren't...which is worrying, as it means the likes of Mansaram, Singh, Aisien, Peers,Hughes, Foy, Turner etc. could all be off with him...still have a decent backbone to the side mind you with Burnsy, Mac, McT, O'Grady...but thats not fact just what i've heard.
01/11/2006, 6:47 PM
I thought that Turner was on a 2 year as for as i knew Most were on a 2 year contract i think this was stated in the Weekender and when the Dublin supporters club held a meeting he attended he told us this.
well im just going by what i was told from a reliable source...
01/11/2006, 6:51 PM
we wont get a better manager than sean connor....i hoped all our support for him yesterday even when it was 4-0 would convince him the true fans think he is great..i hoped that when he said he wouldnt go to another irish club he meant it...
when he sold himself to bohemians in the papers he did it the only way he could...passionately.personally i think the man is near enough a legend...we went from handfuls of fans in kilkenny to about 650 in derry yesterday in 2 years....
Gorman for boss
DonalE
01/11/2006, 7:19 PM
Gorman for boss
i can hear it ringing throughout the new stand : Gareth Gormans red and white army!
01/11/2006, 7:57 PM
i can hear it ringing throughout the new stand : Gareth Gormans red and white army!
Music to my ears...glad i got his name on the back of my Santa Suit now.
01/11/2006, 8:02 PM
AFAIK most of the players we signed for this season aren't...which is worrying, as it means the likes of Mansaram, Singh, Aisien, Peers,Hughes, Foy, Turner etc. could all be off with him...still have a decent backbone to the side mind you with Burnsy, Mac, McT, O'Grady...but thats not fact just what i've heard.
are they not all on 2 yr contracts?!
singh is definetly contracted for 18 mths!
01/11/2006, 8:16 PM
are they not all on 2 yr contracts?!
singh is definetly contracted for 18 mths!
again i dont know for sure, but just going on what i heard...
01/11/2006, 8:24 PM
Did Connor sign a contract extension before this year?
Or is it up this year?
Also, if he does go to bohs, im sure he'll be able to get much better players than what we currently have with the newfound money.
The only ones he'll probably take are O'Hara, Burnsy and Turner if he does move
Midgit
01/11/2006, 8:28 PM
He is on a yearly contract thats why there has been so much speculation lately as its coming closer to the end of the year!
But i suppose if he leaves The Rovers on friday they have to recieve some compensation.
01/11/2006, 8:34 PM
i know this is COMPLETLY off topic but was stephen kenny sacked from the bohs job?
Midgit
01/11/2006, 8:38 PM
Yes i think.:rolleyes:
01/11/2006, 9:52 PM
If he signs for Bohs on Friday, I might head up to Flancare on Saturday as Bohs are away to Longford that day;).
Shedzer
01/11/2006, 10:05 PM
this really is a Sean Connor love train isnt it...nobody afraid to rock the boat!
He has contacts, a charismatic figure about him and an eye for good players...
As for his actions in the media, his promotion of himself, his use of the players he has and the line ups in a handfull of games, il say nothing for fear id derail this train
foxfordred
01/11/2006, 10:51 PM
connor has no love for sligo he used this club as a stepping stone for his own ambition and he will use bohs in the same way cause he thinks his destiny is to manage a top club in england.yes he brought good players here but he will take them away just as quick and he wont care if we end up back in the first division because of it.
Vitruvian Man
02/11/2006, 7:25 AM
My sources within Bohs are confirming this.
It looks a strong liklihood that Connor has made an agreement with us and will move at the end of the season.
There is also talk that he is bringing some of your players with him.
I don't think the Bohs fans are particularly overjoyed by this development but nobody will be getting on his back as we know we are ****e at the moment.
SRFC Head
02/11/2006, 8:58 AM
I was chatting to Foy last night, met him in Dublin, they have a day off..
He said there were only 3-4 players not tied down, Foy, Mansaram, Brush and can't remember the other name. He didn't know if Sean would be still there but he was hopefull of getting another contract.
SRFC Head
02/11/2006, 9:01 AM
Burnsy was the other name mentioned actually...
Redzer
02/11/2006, 9:26 AM
I'm sure I heard on Ocean FM yesterday,that Connor said he had not been approached or applied for the Bohs job. All he was interested in, was lifting the team up after the Derry result.
Bravo
02/11/2006, 10:30 AM
**** him if he dose go, if Bohs concede 12 goals in the Brandywell next season will they be singing him off and shaking his hand like we were? Me Boll1x, he’ll need a police escort back to Belfast, I saw them with Fareley in Dalymount when we beat them this season it was frightening to say the least there venom and hatred was unreal. That’s his decision.
Derry the other night was like the good old days back again a good few of the old heads back & the craic was class, probably the largest away support in Derry for years, I still believe Sean has a job to do here and in another 2/3 years we could be one of the top teams in the country.
Last year we limped to the first division title a lot of people had written him of saying he could do no more, this year we are looking good for a top 6 finish and the semi final of the cup, imo a vast improvement.
Personally I don’t have much time for him as a person (its Rovers I love not Connors) But I couldn’t give a fu)k if Roddy Collins (the WanÀer) was managing us once we are winning.
If McStay had of stayed on for another 2/3 years would the club have been on such a sound footing that we could be challenging year in year out??? We will never know. Unfortunately if Connors dose go then we may be asking the same Q in another 12 years.
1 good thing for the league in general if he dose go to Bohs is at least it wont be another upcoming talent lost to a foreign league.
I wonder would we get €65 million for the Showgrounds and if so would he stay? Anyone care to start the bidding?
Bravo
02/11/2006, 12:15 PM
Connor denies Sligo quit talk
November 2, 2006 (eleven-a-side.com)
Sligo Rovers manager Sean Connor has moved to quell speculation suggesting he is considering his position at the club in the wake of this week’s FAI Carlsberg Cup defeat at the hands of Derry City.
Connor side fell to a 5-0 defeat in Tuesday night’s semi-final replay, and rumours that he would step down as Rovers chief spread on Wednesday.
The Belfast native’s status has grown since leading Sligo to the First Division crown last season, and he is said to be in the running for the vacant manager’s position at Bohemians.
But he insists he has no plans to leave the Showgrounds. He told the Irish Sun: “I don’t know where that is coming from. I have a job to do here and I intend to do it.”
Midgit
02/11/2006, 12:23 PM
Connor denies Sligo quit talk
November 2, 2006 (eleven-a-side.com)
Sligo Rovers manager Sean Connor has moved to quell speculation suggesting he is considering his position at the club in the wake of this week’s FAI Carlsberg Cup defeat at the hands of Derry City.
Connor side fell to a 5-0 defeat in Tuesday night’s semi-final replay, and rumours that he would step down as Rovers chief spread on Wednesday.
The Belfast native’s status has grown since leading Sligo to the First Division crown last season, and he is said to be in the running for the vacant manager’s position at Bohemians.
But he insists he has no plans to leave the Showgrounds. He told the Irish Sun: “I don’t know where that is coming from. I have a job to do here and I intend to do it.”
Thats what all managers say and they end up leaving the club in the end!
Don't listen to that ****** i have heard it all before!!!:cool:
SRFC Head
02/11/2006, 12:38 PM
Well If he was leaving on Friday there would be no real benefit from saying he is staying last night cause he wouldn't have to face the supporters as Rovers manager. However he could be just buying time.
But I'm willing to take him at his word and assume he isn't looking to move on. I got a new job last month didn't apply for it, someone I used to work with came to me with an oppurtunity and I took it as it offered me something better and different. The world of football can sometimes be like this if an offer does come Sean owes it to himself to look at it, however I would hope he doesn't apply for a position without being approached.
red metal
02/11/2006, 1:41 PM
Right lad,s the man was allways going to use sligo rovers as a stepping stone.He got us out of the first division. We are thank full for that.But if we are honest.The style of football we play is terrible.And i am delighted to see the back of him.NOW WE WILL GET RAF BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I think this thing of young managers from England should be stoped! And bring in a Eircom league manager like Pat Dolan or Pat Scully.We need stability for about 3-4 years in the premier division.
SRFC Head
02/11/2006, 2:06 PM
Surely Pat Dolan is enjoying his contract with Setanta every 2nd Sat and CL nights. With Shams probably moving into Tallagh in the not too distant future and what looks like some very good young players Scully probably wouldn't be interested in a move West.
Fivesilver
02/11/2006, 2:09 PM
http://i12.tinypic.com/2qu4q47.jpg
Redzer
02/11/2006, 2:24 PM
Right lad,s the man was allways going to use sligo rovers as a stepping stone.He got us out of the first division. We are thank full for that.But if we are honest.The style of football we play is terrible.And i am delighted to see the back of him.NOW WE WILL GET RAF BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I think this thing of young managers from England should be stoped! And bring in a Eircom league manager like Pat Dolan or Pat Scully.We need stability for about 3-4 years in the premier division.
Terrible football. Where have you been watching the games from?
Pat Dolan!!! nuff said.
Connor can, if he stays give us stability, and I believe silverware.
As for Raf, that would be a backward step for the whoever is manager. He's a First Div player.
At the begining of the season, all of us would have taken what has been achieved so far.
02/11/2006, 2:28 PM
http://i12.tinypic.com/2qu4q47.jpg
:D :D
but whats this with Seanie saying he dosent know where all the speculation is coming from?
no less than 3 weeks ago he announced how he was shocked that Bohs handt made contact with him!:confused:
02/11/2006, 3:30 PM
Allegedly annouced R&W Rover
sligo1
02/11/2006, 3:42 PM
Lads,is he not getting paid to manage the club?Redzer is right when he says that we would have all taken our present position at the start of the season.
But if you look more closely and ask the following questions in no particular order:
-Who did we actually beat to get to the semi final and in what manner?
-Why have some of our players got worse as the season goes on?
-Sean's tactics-rumour has it that the game was kinda over after the 4th goal went in-should Choice not have been brought on then and given a chance instead of Foy?
-Over the years,we have always seemed to have access to good players,so did we get our current crop of players from Sean's contacts or through our regular contact?
-What happened our big link up with Birm City and the players we were meant to get and an auld friendly wouldn't have gone astray either!
-The majority of our players are full-time and should be giving 110% to the jersey but are they?
-Why was the job of Commercial Manager not advertised and a friend of sean's appointed to the post?(that's really for the MC to answer)
It's not a crime if he takes another job that pays him more but if he is going to go,he should go now.
Personally,I think he is a bluffer but I certainly wouldn't like to be a manager of a football club.
red bellied
02/11/2006, 4:03 PM
Gerry Cassidy is his name, I think it was him who got Mc Stay involved, has been bringing players to the Showgrounds for years.
DonalE
02/11/2006, 4:25 PM
Lads,is he not getting paid to manage the club?Redzer is right when he says that we would have all taken our present position at the start of the season.
But if you look more closely and ask the following questions in no particular order:
-Who did we actually beat to get to the semi final and in what manner?
-Why have some of our players got worse as the season goes on?
-Sean's tactics-rumour has it that the game was kinda over after the 4th goal went in-should Choice not have been brought on then and given a chance instead of Foy?
-Over the years,we have always seemed to have access to good players,so did we get our current crop of players from Sean's contacts or through our regular contact?
-What happened our big link up with Birm City and the players we were meant to get and an auld friendly wouldn't have gone astray either!
-The majority of our players are full-time and should be giving 110% to the jersey but are they?
-Why was the job of Commercial Manager not advertised and a friend of sean's appointed to the post?(that's really for the MC to answer)
It's not a crime if he takes another job that pays him more but if he is going to go,he should go now.
Personally,I think he is a bluffer but I certainly wouldn't like to be a manager of a football club.
Also the youth system has taken a major step backwards: there is no under 18 team this year.
maradonna
02/11/2006, 10:44 PM
redzer ya obviously dont know your players wen ur sayin raffs a 1st div player he wud more than hold his own in the prem div ya he chose ta go but wuda been a key figure this year had he stayed!!!!!!!
02/11/2006, 10:46 PM
redzer ya obviously dont know your players wen ur sayin raffs a 1st div player he wud more than hold his own in the prem div ya he chose ta go but wuda been a key figure this year had he stayed!!!!!!!He didn't "choose to go", he was kicked out as a result of looking for too much money!
Midgit
02/11/2006, 10:51 PM
He didn't "choose to go", he was kicked out as a result of looking for too much money!
He just didn't want to turn full time and Seanie wanted him to!
DonalE
02/11/2006, 10:53 PM
Gerry Cassidy is his name, I think it was him who got Mc Stay involved, has been bringing players to the Showgrounds for years.
So out of all the players signed during Seans time would you have any idea how many Sean himself found or how many Gerry Cassidy found?
02/11/2006, 11:04 PM
He just didn't want to turn full time and Seanie wanted him to!If you want to believe that ****, fair enough;).
02/11/2006, 11:07 PM
If he signs for Bohs on Friday, I might head up to Flancare on Saturday as Bohs are away to Longford that day;).Just waiting for confirmation of his appointment as Bohs manager and then I'm defo going:). The Stars might too...wild rover, deecay?:D
maradonna
02/11/2006, 11:16 PM
2much money keith foy on 700 r 800 hundred a wk and he wudnt give raff 600 bull****e same oll story i know who id keep sean connor was always in it 4 num 1 first chance he gets hes gone at least raff was loyal cuda played in the prem 2 years ago but stayed enough said!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:mad:
gerry carr 4 manger:D
02/11/2006, 11:31 PM
Just waiting for confirmation of his appointment as Bohs manager and then I'm defo going:). The Stars might too...wild rover, deecay?:D
game is at 7:30 on saturday,id say Sean will be in charge by then.....
If we make a banner tomorrow and get over singing with the Longford section O's it could work out very well.
02/11/2006, 11:33 PM
game is at 7:30 on saturday,id say Sean will be in charge by then.....
If we make a banner tomorrow and get over singing with the Longford section O's it could work out very well.Well I know one of the "section O lads" at work. I'll mention it to him tomorrow and see:D.
Shedzer
02/11/2006, 11:42 PM
iv nothing on saturday....id go to Flancare to cheer on Longford with my Sligo Rover shirt