View Full Version : Ronan on Joe Duffy
Only heard the end of it about the incidents in Athlone on saturday night.
Was he defending what was said about us or complaining about what happened?
GuisaSaigon
31/10/2006, 1:33 PM
Missed it too, maybe PD heard heard it? what was said?
31/10/2006, 1:34 PM
What did happen???
Athlone "fans" were throwing stones, bangers, fireworks at opposition supporters
was just told there he was defending our supporters and saying that we usually get on well with most ATFC fans
but who rang in the first place complaining?
corbyeire
31/10/2006, 2:08 PM
shock horror! hopefully he did us well - but obviuosly someone from athlone was complaining about GUFC supports - as terry said he rang to defend gaillimh aontaithe
GuisaSaigon
31/10/2006, 2:25 PM
I cant imagine why Athlone fans would be complaining about United fans unless its the norm in Athlone to be pelted with fireworks and spat upon and then attacked by juvenile delinquents.Then again that does seem to be the norm.
corbyeire
31/10/2006, 2:58 PM
on eleven a side - http://www.eleven-a-side.com/first/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=25151
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/first/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=25151
corbyeire
31/10/2006, 2:58 PM
just beat you to it!
Tir Oilean
31/10/2006, 3:03 PM
Both Ronan and Nial were on. It was not a huge discussion by any means and i didnt hear any txts been read out about it. I'd say it was Joe himself that rang in about it Tommy. He's always looking for something to ****e on about!!! Moany git!!
F*ck's sake. A few kids throw a few stones with nothing better to do and it's on Joe Duffy. Next thing it'll be the leak in the local bingo hall.
I'm sure it was worth listening to for Pa's wit though!
corbyeire
31/10/2006, 3:50 PM
someone posted on another thread that they had €900 damage to their car - i know going on the joe duffy show doesnt solve anything (bad for EL etc.) - but the bad behaviour shouldnt be ignored and the stewards/guards have to be held responsible in all this
Paddyfield
31/10/2006, 3:59 PM
The Liveline show can be listened to at http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/
but they put them on the website a week later.
Check it out next Monday when the previous week's programmes will be put up on their site.
I heard the programme today. Nobody came on the air from Athlone Town FC. The two speakers from Galway United FC played it down and hoped it wouldn't happen again.
31/10/2006, 4:03 PM
F*ck's sake. A few kids throw a few stones with nothing better to do and it's on Joe Duffy. Next thing it'll be the leak in the local bingo hall.
I'm sure it was worth listening to for Pa's wit though!
JW were you there?
It wasn't as minor as you make it out to be.
In fairness I wasn't Conor, but I was told it wasn't exactly the Istanbul derby. By all accounts it was a thoroughly avoidable scenario. Whether the actions of a few kids merits debate on national radio is another thing.
31/10/2006, 4:30 PM
In fairness I wasn't Conor, but I was told it wasn't exactly the Istanbul derby. By all accounts it was a thoroughly avoidable scenario. Whether the actions of a few kids merits debate on national radio is another thing.
I don't think it should have been on the radio either.However out of the 150 or so who ran many were aged between 18-20.These are by law men and should have known better.It wasn't the Istanbul derby no but there were punches thrown,bangers let off and general antogonising behaviour......this won't occur at many if any other LOI game this year.Athlone should have copped on.There had been trouble at all 3 games pretty much this year and questions have to be answered why there was no segregation.
We have never had to have segragation in Athlone lads its only in the last year all this has happened and were not exactly snow white here although saturday night was mainly the fault of a total lack of stewarding by athlone.
We have to take a long hard look at ourselves this season and make sure that our reputation is not tarnished by individuals who step out of line and cant take any criticism no matter if its valid or not.
01/11/2006, 8:18 AM
We also have to ensure that everyone stands UTD and don't be petty making remarks behind people's backs.We're all in it together but too many have their own agendas.
GalwayFrancis
01/11/2006, 11:22 AM
We also have to ensure that everyone stands UTD and don't be petty making remarks behind people's backs.We're all in it together but too many have their own agendas.
here here
01/11/2006, 11:36 AM
Watching it couldnt understand how they let the 2 sets of fans into the same shed:rolleyes:
It was obvious that the home fans would have to walk by the away fans to get out when the goals started raining in. As it was a league game the league have to take the blame. But they have never admitted to making mistakes before so................
manofthemoment
01/11/2006, 11:49 AM
It was la league game not a cup game
corbyeire
01/11/2006, 1:07 PM
It was la league game not a cup game
NY hoop is on about comparing the rovers cup game in buccaneers park
GUISAUltra
01/11/2006, 2:02 PM
have to agree with ya there conor, we all gotta stick together. for the next 3 games we gotta show everyone that we are really good fans and dont try to look for trouble. we'll show them what the tribal army are really made of
galwaygirl
01/11/2006, 2:57 PM
have to agree with ya there conor, we all gotta stick together. for the next 3 games we gotta show everyone that we are really good fans and dont try to look for trouble. we'll show them what the tribal army are really made of
Well said Ultra
01/11/2006, 5:07 PM
I felt most sorry for Willie....god I couldnt believe that wee bitch spat in his face twice! Disgusting. Am not a violent person but I felt like grabbing her by the hair and swinging her over the hording onto the pitch.
Paddyfield
01/11/2006, 5:24 PM
...I felt like grabbing her by the hair and swinging her over the hording onto the pitch...
:D :D ,now THAT i would pay to see:D
galwaygirl
01/11/2006, 6:22 PM
I felt like grabbing her by the hair and swinging her over the hording onto the pitch.
:D ,now THAT i would pay to see:D
TG4's ratings would definitely b up as well i'd say:D
Paddyfield
01/11/2006, 8:08 PM
TG4's ratings would definitely b up as well i'd say:D
TG4 me ar$e.
More like Sky Sports Pay-Per-View :D
GUISAUltra
01/11/2006, 8:32 PM
it'd be saturday fight night live from dubarry park
02/11/2006, 5:13 PM
Bring that biaatch on!! And to think you all thought I was a nice quiet girly!
GUISAUltra
02/11/2006, 6:29 PM
no i just figured that if people are quiet when they're drunk they're usually fairly crazy when they're sober
02/11/2006, 6:38 PM
I was sober in Athlone.....
DonO'Bate
02/11/2006, 8:58 PM
Where next for Ronan, the Podge and Rodge Show!!!
GUISAUltra
03/11/2006, 9:36 AM
I was sober in Athlone.....
SO WAS I
03/11/2006, 1:10 PM
Did u think I was quiet when I was drunk in Galway then? Our chairman didnt!!
GUISAUltra
04/11/2006, 9:00 AM
quietish:D
Paddyfield
06/11/2006, 9:09 PM
The Liveline show can be listened to at http://www.rte.ie/radio1/liveline/ .
That interview on "Deadline", er sorry, "Liveline" is now up on the RTE website. Click on Tuesday. Skip to 13 minutes into the programme to hear the piece on the hassle in Da Town
just listened to it there, and it sounded like the lads got it spot on alright
GalwayFrancis
06/11/2006, 11:36 PM
fair play ronan and niall, just listened to it there. both sounded great, fair play
GUISAUltra
07/11/2006, 10:12 AM
just listened to it there. it sounded fairly good except the scum robbing our flag twice wasnt mentioned and at half time i saw one little s**t spittin on our tricolour flag
JC_GUFC
07/11/2006, 12:58 PM
spittin on our tricolour flag
This just shows what kind of mentality these kids have! It's the same for all clubs, I was at a Bohs match earlier this season and a fight broke out between their teen brigade at the back of the stand in the middle of the first half!
Hopefully United can get rid of these lads before anything serious happens.
Fair play to Ronan and Niall but I was disappointed with Ronan's comments about the crowd - he should have claimed we had 3000 at the game. :D
GalwayFrancis
07/11/2006, 4:34 PM
just listened to it there. it sounded fairly good except the scum robbing our flag twice wasnt mentioned and at half time i saw one little s**t spittin on our tricolour flag
whats the story with the flag now? did ye get it back?
07/11/2006, 4:48 PM
Ya we did....thye took it at the start of the match.We ran down to get it and despite been pelted with rocks we recouperated it.
Francis can you put the interview up on Windows media or some alternative source as i can't seem to get it on my PC.:rolleyes:
We also had 2 flags robbed from the seated stand at the game.
Hungarian and Barbados national flags went missing after the game.
They were there at the final whistle but by the time we went over
after getting the other flags together they had gone :mad:
Mind you, the little knacks probably think that the Barbados flag is
for Roscommon, complete with a pitchfork in the middle :p
GUISAUltra
08/11/2006, 10:49 AM
its a bad state of affairs when ya cant even hang your flags up without the fear of them trying to get robbed.
fair play to ye again anyway ash for waiting around and walking over to the bus with us.
for once its good to see sound, genuine football supporters
GalwayFrancis
08/11/2006, 12:27 PM
for conor and anyone else who is having trouble listening to ronan and niall on Liveline, your problem is prob that you dont have a .smil player,such as RealPlayer. but you can download RealAlternative for free at http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file/fid,23205-order,1-page,1-c,alldownloads/description.html