View Full Version : Appeals to bring back matty
29/10/2006, 5:17 PM
players wearing the t shirts
and sean connor was talking about how upset he was by moaning "supporters" in the main stand 2nd half and said he hoped real fans like matty verdon would be let back in
sligobhoy67
29/10/2006, 5:42 PM
players wearing the t shirts
and sean connor was talking about how upset he was by moaning "supporters" in the main stand 2nd half and said he hoped real fans like matty verdon would be let back in
why was he banned?
29/10/2006, 5:43 PM
why was he banned?Shouting abuse at Alan Cawley, among other things.
29/10/2006, 6:10 PM
who banned him?...was it ollie and band of merry men??
29/10/2006, 6:11 PM
ya....
1 9 2 8
29/10/2006, 6:24 PM
In all fairness he's been giving enough warnings all season for repeatedly breaking ground regulations so I haven't any sympathy for the man
29/10/2006, 6:27 PM
ah but its matty!!
sligobhoy67
29/10/2006, 7:04 PM
ah but its matty!!
he's better off wasting his life away up in Cahenys imo!
Remember Tut Toner was banned! Anyone?
red bellied
29/10/2006, 9:42 PM
he's better off wasting his life away up in Cahenys imo!
Remember Tut Toner was banned! Anyone?
Tut or his cronies were never banned out of the Showgrounds totally different reason, but.....
sligobhoy67
29/10/2006, 9:49 PM
Tut or his cronies were never banned out of the Showgrounds totally different reason, but.....
yeah yer right actually - it was a boycott after the whole end of year dinner fiasco wasnt it! at least he went out with honour
Redzer
30/10/2006, 9:28 AM
The rights and wrongs of the ban on Mattie is surely not a matter for Sean Connor or the team. It's totally out of their remit. It's up to the stewards and Ollie to deal with what only can be described as continuous drunken and abusive behaviour from mattie.
Bravo
30/10/2006, 11:41 AM
one thing for sure, he wasnt abusing Rovers players, like a lot of other so called supporters.
sligobhoy67
30/10/2006, 1:20 PM
one thing for sure, he wasnt abusing Rovers players, like a lot of other so called supporters.
who was he abusing then??
Da Real Rover
30/10/2006, 1:29 PM
d fukn cheek of those prawn sandwich brigade complaining bout matty, that man will b following rovers thick and thin, he is loyal and he is vocal. both attributes that so many of the sunshiners that packed out the new stand last sunday are lacking. he is a rovers legend and a true fan. so what if he is drunk, and with matty nothing is abbusive just a bit of banter. i love how our club seems to be capable of rounding on the true fans and chaseing them out so as to appease the prawn sandwichers for their annual visit. this is pure bollax.
DonalE
30/10/2006, 1:30 PM
He was only having the craic shouting at Alan Cawley,he was sitting behind his father in the stand. AFAIK he rang Alan after the game to explain.
sligobhoy67
30/10/2006, 1:33 PM
He was only having the craic shouting at Alan Cawley,he was sitting behind his father in the stand. AFAIK he rang Alan after the game to explain.
I'm sure Alan knows Verdon from growing up and wont have taken it in a bad way. Did anyone make a complaint about him or did the stewards just take it upon themselves!
DonalE
30/10/2006, 1:39 PM
I think it was just the stewards but i couldnt say for sure
30/10/2006, 3:06 PM
d fukn cheek of those prawn sandwich brigade complaining bout matty, that man will b following rovers thick and thin, he is loyal and he is vocal. both attributes that so many of the sunshiners that packed out the new stand last sunday are lacking. he is a rovers legend and a true fan. so what if he is drunk, and with matty nothing is abbusive just a bit of banter. i love how our club seems to be capable of rounding on the true fans and chaseing them out so as to appease the prawn sandwichers for their annual visit. this is pure bollax.
spot on
30/10/2006, 3:45 PM
Prawn sandwiches in the Showgrounds???????????
30/10/2006, 3:46 PM
Prawn sandwiches in the Showgrounds???????????
more like sweetcorn and tuna...but they are there.
akearins
31/10/2006, 9:32 AM
In my opinion it’s an absolute disgrace that we are banning any fans from the groundwork its all and well when we are getting decent crowds that you can turn around and ban fans. The bigger picture is tat with Matty you will also be losing 10-15 more who he encourages to go to every game.
Matty is a true Rovers fan and has been following them for as long as I can remember. From what I hear it was Alan’s Dad who put in the complaint against Matty.
So if the club take such drastic actions because one fan (who isn’t a regular at the showground’s) puts in a letter that he wasn’t happy with matties comments towards his son, what if a group of real fans put in a few letters saying they want Matty top be allowed back to the games, will we get the same treatment or was it just an excuse they ere looking for.
What about Mister X in the new stand who openly abused Rovers players and Connors at every game, is he now banned?
And how did the MC come to this decision when in fact no one heard what was said?
Here's a true story about matty which shows his loyalty and support for Rovers:
This season the trust organised a bus to the Dublin city game at Dalymount suppose to be leaving at 4pm.Bus was late so Matty went out to Sligo Airport and paid way over the odds to fly to the game, in his superman suit and bring his drum. Was late getting into ground as he had to wait on drum from baggage. To me that show how much of a fan he is, if it was me I would just both have bothered to travel especially to see Dublin City?
Finally, the showground’s and Sligo Rovers are 2 separate entities. We have a management committee who run the club and there are trustees who own the ground itself.
Can Rovers committee ban a supporter from the grounds if this management committee have no jurisdiction over them? And the trustees have never met to make this decision?
Let Matty back
31/10/2006, 9:39 AM
Should we get a petition going?
Well said Alan....can the trust do anything to follow up on this matter?
akearins
31/10/2006, 9:43 AM
Matty is a trust member so we will definitely see if theres anything we can do to resolve this
Redzer
31/10/2006, 10:14 AM
There is no question that he is a Rovers fan. But he must accept that his behaviour is out of order. AFAIK he had umpteen warnings about his drinking in the ground as well as going onto the pitch. He needs to wise up.
akearins
31/10/2006, 10:30 AM
Fair point Redzer.There are ground regulations which need to be adhered to , no questioning that.But there needs to be consistency, I mean he was banned for abusing a player.So if thats the case I dont think there would be a single fan not guilty of that going to the showgrounds.
Just not right depriving a supporter from following his how club...
Arrow Rovers
31/10/2006, 10:30 AM
When did he go on the pitch???????
Arrow Rovers
31/10/2006, 10:33 AM
Is he going to the match tonight? He il bring a bit of colour and vocal support if he is....This is what we need!!!Not banning one of the most loyal fans from seeing his team play vital matches, The M.C need to take a look at themselves..
Fivesilver
31/10/2006, 12:44 PM
As far as I can see, neither side is completely in the right or worng here. What we need is a bit of common sense.
Matty's a great addition in the Showgrounds - but if there are rules about drinking in the ground and going on the field, they can't just be repeatedly ignored.
We need both sides to this dispute to sit down, put their egos aside (I think at this stage, both sides may be afraid they'll be seen as backing down or "losing"), and sort it out.
If everyone digs their heels in, there won't be any solution.
Royal rover
31/10/2006, 1:00 PM
i Think it's laughable that someone can ejected for the reasons that have been posted, i don't know him but i remember him from the dublin city game, very funny and very vocal, shouldn't really be happening , i would love to see some of the dublin clubs adopt that policy, the shams would be out of business for starters, also what goes on around the country between supporters at gaa matches, most of us have seen it, if the lad is a diehard and doesn't go around starting fights in the ground or abusing memebers of the public on regular basis i can't see the problem,
sligobhoy67
31/10/2006, 5:43 PM
i Think it's laughable that someone can ejected for the reasons that have been posted, i don't know him but i remember him from the dublin city game, very funny and very vocal, shouldn't really be happening , i would love to see some of the dublin clubs adopt that policy, the shams would be out of business for starters, also what goes on around the country between supporters at gaa matches, most of us have seen it, if the lad is a diehard and doesn't go around starting fights in the ground or abusing memebers of the public on regular basis i can't see the problem,
its seems to me that he was banned because the MC wanted to arse lick Cawleys ould fella!
I'm not a fan of Matty personally however as the Alan has outlined he is a real asset to the club and gives more than most.
Fair enough Mattie might need to wise up but also the MC needs to cop on!!
Guts&Glory
31/10/2006, 9:49 PM
You have to feel sorry for Matty for the most part and I dont doubt his commitment to the club, like so many of us, but he needs to tone his language down a bit at times.
There is a fine line between giving out about one of your own players as I am sure we have all done to some degree at times and IMO are justified in doing so having paid Eur 15 in to a game and at times not seeing effort on the pitch and verbally abusing a player whether he be a home player or opponent....the difference is usually the language used.
As for Sean, if only he had Matty's undevided devotion to Rovers.
31/10/2006, 11:24 PM
Not saying Matty's not a fan but didn't he also miss our game with St. Pat's last month to go to Anfield for a Liverpool/Spurs game?
Missed a good game to watch a foreign team doesn't sound like a mad Rovers fanatic to me?:confused:.
Da Real Rover
01/11/2006, 8:29 AM
Not saying Matty's not a fan but didn't he also miss our game with St. Pat's last month to go to Anfield for a Liverpool/Spurs game?
Missed a good game to watch a foreign team doesn't sound like a mad Rovers fanatic to me?:confused:.
If half the people out there had half as much commitment to our club as matty does then we would be a far bigger club. I dont feel anybody has the right to ever question the commitment of matty to rovers, so what if he goes to england to watch a game, i wudnt do it but that certainly doesnt make me any better of a rovers fan than matty.
Redzer
01/11/2006, 11:28 AM
If half the people out there had half as much commitment to our club as matty does then we would be a far bigger club. I dont feel anybody has the right to ever question the commitment of matty to rovers,
I know he was not the only one, and it’s probably a bit unfair. But, with all the talk about Mattie’s great commitment to Rovers, it was surprising to see him leave the Brandywell last night with about half an hour left to play.
Maybe he had a plane to catch.:D
Da Real Rover
01/11/2006, 1:55 PM
I know he was not the only one, and it’s probably a bit unfair. But, with all the talk about Mattie’s great commitment to Rovers, it was surprising to see him leave the Brandywell last night with about half an hour left to play.
Maybe he had a plane to catch.:D
the real surprise for me is that he didnt give the stewards the run around last night, he seemed very restrained.:confused:
01/11/2006, 2:20 PM
the obvious fact he wasnt drinking meant he wasnt ....how can i put this....as energetic as usuall.
Paraic
01/11/2006, 3:49 PM
Folks
I'm closing this thread - the points have been well made on both sides and i think in fairness to the guy concerned, it's getting a bit personal.
Paraic