View Full Version : GUST meet-up with Mad As Cootes
Patrick Dunne
24/10/2006, 10:21 AM
Athlone Town supporters group "Mad As Cootes" have invited
supporters of Galway United to meet up in "The Bounty" Bar at
Dubarry Park before Saturdays First Divsion game.
GUST expect our bus(es) to be there at approx. 6.30pm. We are
looking forward to meeting the Athlone lads for a pint or two before the game.
All of our supporters welcome.
24/10/2006, 10:22 AM
I predict a riot............ I predict a riot!!!!:D :D
Patrick Dunne
24/10/2006, 10:25 AM
The standard of spelling on this forum is appalling. Are you going to Sligo IT,
Conor ?
24/10/2006, 10:27 AM
The standard of spelling on this forum is appalling. Are you going to Sligo IT,
Conor ?
:o Sorry....type to fast sometimes!!
Although the Sligo IT insult was uncalled for!
It happens to be held in high esteem by the locals!;)
GuisaSaigon
24/10/2006, 11:17 AM
Athlone Town supporters group "Mad As Cootes" have invited
supporters of Galway United to meet up in "The Bounty" Bar at
Dubarry Park before Saturdays First Divsion game.
I think you will find that you have omitted an apostrophe there Patrick. The misuse of punctuation on this forum is appalling.:D :D Perhaps you too have studied at SIT.
24/10/2006, 11:23 AM
I went to the Cork Limerick IT myself and enjoyed it !! :D
GuisaSaigon
24/10/2006, 11:37 AM
I went to the Cork Limerick IT myself and enjoyed it !! :D
I heard Tallaght IT can be enjoyable also :D
GUISAUltra
24/10/2006, 12:02 PM
so we actually are gonna be allowed into the bar, thought we wouldnt be allowed in wearing our colours?
24/10/2006, 12:25 PM
you're not, all items of clothing must be transparent, any coloured will be removed before entering !!!!
I heard Tallaght IT can be enjoyable also :D
Tallaght IT and Tralee IT make a fine pair between them :eek:
As far as I'm aware the bar will be open to all supporters.
MyTown
24/10/2006, 1:08 PM
You're probably all entitled to honoourary doctorates from Waterford IT for these efforts :eek: - ya know - more First Division than whatever they're calling it next season!:rolleyes:
GUISAUltra
24/10/2006, 1:24 PM
you're not, all items of clothing must be transparent, any coloured will be removed before entering !!!!
we were told on here that we wouldnt be allowed in wearing our jerseys, thats what i meant by colours terry
Patrick Dunne
24/10/2006, 1:29 PM
I haven't heard anything about the "no colours" rule from my Athlone sources. Ash, perhaps you can clarify this ?
corbyeire
24/10/2006, 1:32 PM
the barkeeps would be mad to lose the custom the next night over something as trivial as colours - drink on!
There was nothing said to us about "no colours". One of the lads was talking
to a club official on Tuesday and nothing was mentioned.
If I hear anything different though I'll let you know as soon as I do.
I know with the Rovers game there was a private function in The Bounty and
so they limited the amount of people in the bar.
As far as Im aware they, along with a good few pubs in town got some advice
from the Gardai to keep things local.
In the case of the Rovers match too there was enough locals drinking in the
pub to keep the bank balance healthy so there was no need to have any
others in the bar who might cause bother. Seeing as a few "fans" started
throwing punches at the bouncers it was the correct decision on that
occasion. As always, a few idiots ruining it for the genuine supporters
gufcfan
24/10/2006, 3:23 PM
I dont give a damn anyway
Im getting a pint in before the match!
Paddyfield
24/10/2006, 3:59 PM
....supporters of Galway United to meet up in "The Bounty" Bar......
The Bounty Bar. You just couldn't make it up.
PS Where in Da Town is it?
The only Athlone pub that I am familiar with is Gertie Brownes.
Patrick Dunne
24/10/2006, 4:10 PM
The Bounty is the Buccaneers RFC club bar at Dubarry Park.
Tribalhooie
24/10/2006, 7:18 PM
sounds good there should be a good bit of banter before the game. we will show that we can have the craic together as we have done so with the rovers and dundalk fans. hope the result will go our way.
Battery Rover
24/10/2006, 10:03 PM
Tallaght IT and Tralee IT make a fine pair between them :eek:
As far as I'm aware the bar will be open to all supporters.
Yep and heard that at the Under 21 match as well tonight and no segregation either apparently.
Lets all show what a good friendly rivalry is all about
GUISAUltra
25/10/2006, 10:04 AM
roll on saturday night boys, cant wait for it at this stage, its getting fairly annoying waiting for it. as ye all know we never go looking for any trouble and nearly always get along well with opposition fans, just ask rovers and dundalk fans but as with most people we dont like to be antagonised. so hopefully on saturday the bus up, the couple of pints before the game, and the match can pass off without any of this stupid fighting crap starting again.
GuisaSaigon
25/10/2006, 12:54 PM
does this meet up mean we wont be visiting the Dog & Duck.I suppose it would be rude to turn down the invitation but the D&D have always been great to us.
GUISAUltra
25/10/2006, 12:57 PM
we could always go there afterwards for one or two, its not too far away and as you say they've been really sound to us over the years
Patrick Dunne
25/10/2006, 1:52 PM
There is the possibilty of visiting the D&D for a while after the match, depending on the driver and those who are travelling to the game.
25/10/2006, 2:28 PM
There is the possibilty of visiting the D&D for a while after the match, depending on the driver and those who are travelling to the game.
TBH i'd prefer to get straight back to Galway as i and at least 7 others who are travelling are going out in Galway after the match.We should be back at a reasonable enough time to allow everyone to make a night of it in Galway as opposed to hanging around in Athlone been gazed at by the local yokels in the pub.
Patrick Dunne
25/10/2006, 2:42 PM
Yokels generally are suspicious of outsiders and always want to get back to where they have lived all their lives - and as quickly as possible.
GUISAUltra
25/10/2006, 4:09 PM
i dunno i think it would be good to go for a few pints in the dog&duck after, they've been fairly sound over the years to us and it'd be good to go up even if its only for one drink. there'd still be time to go out in galway afterwards
AthloneYid
25/10/2006, 5:35 PM
Whats link with the dog & duck? I assume ye are talking about the pub in Ballykeeran
GuisaSaigon
25/10/2006, 6:27 PM
Whats link with the dog & duck? I assume ye are talking about the pub in Ballykeeran
Frank, the owner travels to most of the Ireland games and is a bit of legend. We used to stop there any time we went to Athlone or Longford, always great craic and we always got well fed and "watered".Frank used to throw a few crates on the bus for us too! We like Frank he gives us beer!:D
GUISAUltra
25/10/2006, 6:28 PM
yeah thats the one, we've been in there at afew athlone games and the staff are always dead sound and sort us out with a couple of free beers
corbyeire
25/10/2006, 6:49 PM
sounds a ledge alright - wish there were more barkeeps like him!
AthloneYid
25/10/2006, 7:08 PM
Hhhmmmmmm Free beer Eh?????????