View Full Version : Roll call for Athlone

Patrick Dunne
21/10/2006, 5:39 PM
Who here is going ?

I'm sure that a lot of people will be driving. We always get a few East Galwegians who make this their annual away pilgrimage. A few townies are
even known to make the 90 minute journey.

Supporters buses leaving Fibber Magees at 4.30pm sharp. I am definitely going.

My first away game since the beginning of August. The things one has to do to get a blue jacket !

damoGUFC
21/10/2006, 10:18 PM
Im going for sure..hopefully the dundalk result wont affect too much!! Win, lose or draw ill follow them around Ireland.

UNITED TILL I DIE!!!!!:D

GuisaSaigon
22/10/2006, 11:26 AM
add a west Galwegian to the list, see ye there. OOHH AAHH TG4!!!!!!!!!!

GalwayFrancis
22/10/2006, 7:14 PM
you can add, me and my brother, trying to get a few more too

23/10/2006, 8:53 AM
Im going but driving

GUISAUltra
23/10/2006, 10:33 AM
i'm definitely gonna be there, cant wait for it. i know friday was a serious kick in the teeth for everyone involved but we've gotta try to use this as motivation to go along and beat athlone and win our next three games after that.

COME ON UNITED!!!!!!!

23/10/2006, 10:44 AM
Ya lets not forget who knocked us out of the cup aswell as scoring a 90th minute winner in Mels back in July to beat us 1-0.
We've also been forced to endure 2 horrendous games of football in Terryland watching them.
We owe this shower a hammering!

GUISAUltra
23/10/2006, 10:57 AM
we definitely need to beat them this year as it would be an absolute disgrace to play athlone 5 times in one season and not get one victory.

should be good craic on the bus as usual.

how are bus ticket sales going, by the way conor

23/10/2006, 11:26 AM
we definitely need to beat them this year as it would be an absolute disgrace to play athlone 5 times in one season and not get one victory.

should be good craic on the bus as usual.

how are bus ticket sales going, by the way conor

OK.Alot will just show up but it would be preferable if they got their ticket in advance so we know how many bus/buses we need.

eamo1
23/10/2006, 11:43 AM
by car i think,its such a pity its not in st.smells park,i wanted to get my shoes all muddy one last time and get 1 last chest infection from the breeze that goes through the stand like a wind tunnel:) .

GUISAUltra
23/10/2006, 11:48 AM
cool, will ya put my name down for a ticket anyway and i'll give ya the money on saturday

GuisaSaigon
23/10/2006, 1:22 PM
its such a pity its not in st.smells .
Yeah I would have loved have visited the old tin can again.I have many fond memories of the ground, and I'm feeling a little sad now thinking that i'll never watch united play the town there again.
My first ever away game was there,Pa dunne played basketball in the peno box once in smels, we won the first division title there, a gordon brett equaliser in front of over a thousand travelling fans stands out too after the abuse poor gordon recieved from the home fans it was even sweeter, so many other memories,. What it may have lacked in toilet facilities it made up for in character, Man , I'm going to miss that place.:(

23/10/2006, 9:06 PM
Looks like I will be going afterall but will be driving up with the missus and 2 more. Can anyone give directions coming from Galway as Ive never been to Dubarry park. thanks

Paddyfield
23/10/2006, 9:25 PM
. What it may have lacked in toilet facilities it made up for in character, Man , I'm going to miss that place.:(

Open your eyes. The stand made out of train tracks (I kid you not) is the biggest urinal in Ireland.

ALSO, you forgot to mention that GUFC won the FAI Cup semi final in Smell's Park in 1985 aet v Limerick City.

GuisaSaigon
23/10/2006, 9:48 PM
Open your eyes. The stand made out of train tracks (I kid you not) is the biggest urinal in Ireland.
Sorry I should have said civilised toilet facilities
ALSO, you forgot to mention that GUFC won the FAI Cup semi final in Smell's Park in 1985 aet v Limerick City.
I wasnt there i didnt start following united until the following year.I'd say Smels was one of the better grounds in the league back then.The first time i visited it put the old Terryland to shame (which wasnt hard). Remember the stand behind the goal that blew over !

Guitd
23/10/2006, 9:53 PM
Looks like I will be going afterall but will be driving up with the missus and 2 more. Can anyone give directions coming from Galway as Ive never been to Dubarry park. thanks

keep on the by-pass til you come to the exit for longford/ballymahon up exit hill take left at top 150 mtrs left into dubarry it signposted with brown sign

JW.
24/10/2006, 4:16 PM
I can't think of a single fond memory regarding St Mel's. I don't think I ever even saw us win there. Our cultured, cosmopolitan players seemed to flounder in such a scene of delapidation and tin.

24/10/2006, 4:18 PM
I don't know JW we won twice in Limerick like.

Tribalhooie
24/10/2006, 7:06 PM
lads put my name down aswell. like ye already said last week was a kick in the teeth but they are still our team and will be right behind them. cant wait. does anyone know if we are going to go the dog and duck before or after the game. the owner frank is very sound and it is only a few minutes from dubarry park. bring it on. hopefully i wont loose my wallet this time. as for you guisasaigon that was a memorable game when you saw pa dunne playing basketball i was also there.

JW.
24/10/2006, 11:38 PM
Athlone were cook against Rovers last week. They're playing out their season and we have to win so I'd be more confident than usual, even allowing for our brutal record.

eamo1
25/10/2006, 12:50 AM
a few years ago,i remember ollie and herrick got goals that day,i think it was the year we lost the playoff final,that was 1 of the best away performances ive ever seen,we should have won by more,thats my best memory of st.smells.also a cup match we played there in which there was about 1000 from galway there,michael donnellan played(and should have f*ckin scored),we won the reply on penos if i remember correctly.

eamo1
25/10/2006, 12:52 AM
not reply obviously,how do you win a reply?????:rolleyes:

scotsbeer
25/10/2006, 2:34 AM
Ya lets not forget who knocked us out of the cup aswell as scoring a 90th minute winner in Mels back in July to beat us 1-0.
We've also been forced to endure 2 horrendous games of football in Terryland watching them.

ye know i will be on the bus but not for revenge mission on the steward who booted me up the jaxy. havnt seen united beat athlone in the couple of seasons ive been going. mels is/was ajoke of a stadium so not going to miss that. pity we have to play ata rugby ground but at least there is a bar

Battery Rover
25/10/2006, 7:07 AM
Athlone were cook against Rovers last week. They're playing out their season and we have to win so I'd be more confident than usual, even allowing for our brutal record.

We were even worse that that against Kildare. Definite end of season stuff but a big home crowd might lift the players one last time this season and I am sure Eric and Rossi will be up for it:)

25/10/2006, 7:33 AM
I am sure Eric and Rossi will be up for it:)

and Forde, Fortune, Silke, Carberry just to name a few more !

Battery Rover
25/10/2006, 7:54 AM
and Forde, Fortune, Silke, Carberry just to name a few more !

Forde and Cabsie won't be playing
Silke has retired from football
As for GA it depends on what head he has on.

25/10/2006, 7:56 AM
Kevin Williamson will fly into a few tackles too I'd say :)

GUISAUltra
25/10/2006, 10:14 AM
out of all the games that i was at in st. mels i've never ever seen galway win there. i saw a few draws but mostly we just completely buckled there. lets hope this new venue can bring about a change of mentality and fortune and send us back west with the three points.
Roll on the Bounty!!!

25/10/2006, 11:02 PM
Every one do their best to urge as many people as possible to travel t Athlone Saturday.We've lost a fair few with the boxing match on in pearse so lets try and get as many sunshiners as we can find to go.Make it sound attractive.Tell them they can watch live football and then be back in time for a night out if needs be.:)

scotsbeer
26/10/2006, 5:04 AM

connor h why didnt ye pick up on the fact that the fat steward was from sligo. bet everyone wondered what the hell i was going on about. cannae believe u are too polite to tell me i am getting a wee bit confused in my middle ago. maybe thats why i cant understand the whole play-off ****e.
i actually can but i have just been trying to explain it to others who have started to take an interest in united. any wonder why FAI are slated by rugby heeds and the other crowd? anyway... by the lights of the silvery moon were the talk o the toon , were the boys in maroon

corbyeire
26/10/2006, 9:06 PM
i was going to drive - but now im thinking of getting this bus of yeres - visiting the bounty and the dog and duck sound like too much of an attraction! - actually they sound like the locals in some lame soap set in the north of england - ha ha