View Full Version : Dissapointing

GuisaSaigon
20/10/2006, 10:03 PM
Dissapointing to say the least.We were outplayed, big let down in front of another massive crowd.Fair play to Dundalk the deserved the win .
There were a few dodgy decisions by the ref,goal disallowed in the first half was never offside and the dundalk centre half was lucky to only get a yellow early on.
Not taking anything away from dundalk they were by far the best team.
We've got to pick ourselves up and win the last four games and hope the other two slip up.

Paddyfield
20/10/2006, 10:19 PM
Agreed GUISASaigon. Dundalk were solid at the back. We had no luck whatsoever. They are a very physical team and we were punished.

They brought a bigger crowd that Rovers did!

20/10/2006, 10:44 PM
Ya better team won and fair play.

TBH I was more dissapointed in the scum from Galway that we're at the match.In my home ground my wallet was cleaned by local yobos.......supposed GUFC fans.:rolleyes:
It's awful disheartening to know that you'd have more of a chance of trouble in Section A of Terryland than any away ground.Lads we have to be wary that those of us who try and make an atmopsphere attract all levels of scum who are mearely at Terryland for a higher style of "bushing".Something must be done to weed out all these ****s from Terryland.

20/10/2006, 10:58 PM
Unfortunately Conor this happens at every ground when the local teams results start to improve. I have fell victim to this in the past too !

Match wise, Dundalk were by far the superior team and totally deserved the 3 points. United were very poor and if they play the same against Athlone next week it could be very embarrassing TV altogether. So much negative points that I wont even bother mentioning any as I feel it would be unfair to mention a few and not all. The only positive points I can come up with were that Cretaro played well and I thought Foley had his best game yet in the united colours, but it takes more than 2 players for a team to be successful.

20/10/2006, 11:00 PM
Unfortunately Conor this happens at every ground when the local teams results start to improve. I have fell victim to this in the past too !

Match wise, Dundlak were by far the superior team and totally deserved the 3 points. United were very poor and if they play the same against Athlone next week it could be very embarrassing TV altogether. So much negative points that I would even bother mentioning any as I feel it would be unfair the mention a few and not all. The only positive points I can come up with were the Creatro played well and I thought Foley had his best game yet in the united colours, but it takes more than 2 players for a team to be successful.

Ya i thought Foley was man of the match(for GUFC) alright.Thought Nigel was very poor and Murphy was absoloutely shocking.

eamo1
21/10/2006, 12:13 AM
tony has got to take some of the blame for playing big names ahead of form players,murph and o.donnell were brutal,why did they stay on for so long??????o.brien and gethins should have been on from the start,it might not have affected the overall result but i think we would have been far more of an attacking threat then we were.dundalk are extremely physical to the point of dirty,they are def in that grey area between a dirty tackle and just a physical one.they wanted it more though,they were sharper,quicker in nearly every position.yes the ref was poor,yes we didnt get the luck and yes dundalk were the better side but what mostly ticked me off was the team selection at the start,i had a bad feeling when i seen murph and o.donnell starting.
so that was you conor,the guy raging at the end of the game that your wallet was missing????i was walking passed and seen you none too pleased as anyone would be.thats sh*tty though,ive had stuff go "missing" down there too so i know the feeling,unlucky,hope it turns up,did you check all around???maybe you just lost it???

21/10/2006, 9:01 AM
No the actual wallet was returned by some young lad with all the contents missing.

geezer
21/10/2006, 9:19 AM
we were well and truly tanked last night, devoid of ideas how many times did gough thump the ball long and the dundalk lads lapped it up.
Dundalk were very impressive, all well built physically and the most important thing they could pass and move. any over confident posters yesterday planning celebration in kilkenny a bit premature to say the least. We have an ordinary team extraordinarily enough we are still not out. commiserations conor on the wallet but i suspect you may have dropped it and someone standing close to you probably picked it up and emptied the contents as opposed to the bushing u suggest. in fact you should look closer at those you were with as to the easy option of saying it was some other scum

21/10/2006, 9:25 AM
we were well and truly tanked last night, devoid of ideas how many times did gough thump the ball long and the dundalk lads lapped it up.
Dundalk were very impressive, all well built physically and the most important thing they could pass and move. any over confident posters yesterday planning celebration in kilkenny a bit premature to say the least. We have an ordinary team extraordinarily enough we are still not out. commiserations conor on the wallet but i suspect you may have dropped it and someone standing close to you probably picked it up and emptied the contents as opposed to the bushing u suggest. in fact you should look closer at those you were with as to the easy option of saying it was some other scum

Well see i know the group that we're involved.Scum describes them perefectly.
Does anyone else think that Nigel Keady is only able to go long to nobody with the ball.He offers nothing IMO and i think if Frawley had been playing we would have been alot more composed at the back.
Agree with eamo on the team selection but i won't really question Tony either.I'd say we'll be doing well to get a 100 in Athlone!:(

GuisaSaigon
21/10/2006, 9:40 AM
It's not all doom and gloom. we're after coming off a record breaking run of wins, only to lose to a dundalk team that are unbeaten since June. There is no shame in that.I know it was a bad performance, but we have to believe we are capable of winning all four remaining games.
If we had won last night we could have brought 1000 to Athlone. The manner of the loss has probably scared most of those away, but all true supporters should realise that is not dead yet.
I firmly believe that both rovers and dundalk could slip up.We have to be ready to pounce.I would encourage everyone on this forum to make the trip to athlone and get behind the team, the dundalk game is history lets get our title challenge back on track!!

DotTV
21/10/2006, 10:07 AM
I hate to say it but United looked like a bunch of long ball merchants last night.
Evertime any defender got the ball they just thumped it up the pitch and Dundalk were loving it.
Their right back was completely ****ing ****e.A good junior player, and that's being nice.Anytime he got the ball he hoofed it away and Dowd cleaned him a few times in the first half.Surely Cousins should have seen this and got players to run at him.
Huge crowd up there but the lads on the pitch didn't give us much to shout about.

21/10/2006, 10:16 AM
Very true, when O'Brien came on he got past him every time he ran at him.

GUISAUltra
21/10/2006, 10:29 AM
does anyone else think that nigel should be playing in the sportsground instead of terryland. every team he gets the ball he just hoofs it into a corner. murphs should have never been on the pitch and micko, dont even get me startewd. he cannot beat a player and cant get a cross in either so why is he on the team. he tried as hard as he could in left back but in my opinion we already have 3 good wingers and no need for mick o donnell.

worst experience in terryland in a long long time last night lads but never mind we'll soldier on and we'll be in athlone and we'll be at the next game and the next game and so on. come on boys were galway united fans, we're used to disappointment at this stage.

BRING ON THE ATHLONE

21/10/2006, 10:40 AM
no one was complaining about Nigel when his cross set up the goal against rovers 2 weeks ago !!!!!

GUISAUltra
21/10/2006, 10:47 AM
i'll be honest with ya i was complaining. dont rate him as a right back at all as he hasnt got the ability to pick out a pass in my opinion. i know a lot of people will disagree with this but its my honest opinion. still think hes good at centre half as hes able to win challenges but i wouldnt have him in my team

21/10/2006, 11:47 AM
i'll be honest with ya i was complaining. dont rate him as a right back at all as he hasnt got the ability to pick out a pass in my opinion. i know a lot of people will disagree with this but its my honest opinion. still think hes good at centre half as hes able to win challenges but i wouldnt have him in my team

No i think he's useless aswell.Always have done and hated when he was captain last year.Sound guy though but not good enough IMO.

GUISAUltra
21/10/2006, 12:02 PM
the one thing ya can say about him though is everytime he puts on that jersey he gives us all he has and we cant ask for anymore off him. if hes not good enough to play its up to the club to sort it out

eamo1
21/10/2006, 1:34 PM
fair to blame nigel alone,fran in midfield didnt make himself avaible for the short pass so nigel had to go long,o.donnell did s.f.a and how he stayed on the pitch for over an hour is very puzzling,murph didnt run,reilly couldnt pass,so all over the pitch we were bad.we never looked like scoring,only in the last 10 mins when they sat back and o.brien came on.ill be in athlone for sure,and kilkenny too.
FAO CONOR:there was lads on a wall last night outside the ground after the match talking about a wallet going missing and someone said he knew who took it,was that you or was that the your "friends" who were beside you and helped themselves.i meant to mention that last night here.

GUISAUltra
21/10/2006, 1:54 PM
i wasnt blaming nigel for the loss last night as it would be impossible to blame any one player for what happened. it was just an abysmal team effort. i'm a very big fan of tony cousins but he'd have to hold his hands up and admit he got it wrong.

Derek should have started instead of Micko,
Conor should have started instead of Murphs,
John Russell had to be in the squad as he'd be an ideal player to bring on and create chances as he did in limerick

JC_GUFC
21/10/2006, 5:31 PM
Wasn't there last night but it seems like there's a bit much doom and gloom here.

Although last night was a big set back in going for the title the fact is we've won a record amount of games in a row over the last month and a half.

If we win the last 4 games of the season we'll still have a chance of winning the league.

The last few seasons we've been struggling in mid table and never looked like even challenging for the league title.

The fact is Dundalk have been much better against us when we've played them. We've been much better than Rovers the 4 times we've played them and Rovers have been better than Dundalk the 4 times they met.

There's nothing between the teams. If we win our 4 games and Rovers draw 2 of theirs and Dundalk lose 1 or draw 2 we should be champions.

The one thing I hope doesn't happen is that Dundalk finish above us but we get promoted ahead of them.

This has been a great season so far, let's get back on track in Athlone next week and get behind the lads.

J

Tir Oilean
21/10/2006, 7:21 PM
Last night was disappointing on the pitch I think Tony should've put the fallout with Derek behind him and played him from the start. Murph doesnt try hard enough and hasnt all season. O'Donnell is simply not good enough. Nigel will allways give a 110% he is not a mercenary. The offside decision was chronic and could have put a different spin on things but Dundalk were way ahead of us and what great supporters they brought with them. I was on the far side of the pitch and it was great to see and hear both sets of supporters giving it their all.

Its onwards and upwards for United we all have our bogey teams and we have to accept it. We should all make the trip to Kilkenny to give the lads our thanks for a great season remember its been a long time since we've had such success. roll on Athlone

21/10/2006, 7:24 PM
the only problem tir oilean is that athlone are our bogey team !!!!

21/10/2006, 7:29 PM
the only problem tir oilean is that athlone are our bogey team !!!!

Ya but it's vital the lads don't wallow in self pity after last night.We should win our last 4 games and if we do that will be 33 out of 36 pomits.Any other year that would probably win the league but we were beaten by a very good team last night and we just have to get on with it.JC made a very good point though....we have been far better than Rovers in Terryland twice this year but Dundalk hammered us last night!
The lads must keep playing with 100% commitment until it's mathematically impossibe.....if we keep winning it won't be until the final game.Keep the faith!
Roll on the B team!

Dave drummerboy
22/10/2006, 2:19 PM
Just want to come on say fair play lads . My bus only got to galway at 7.20 so went into ground then . The place was very well organised . It was a good game thankfully we came out on top , its the best performance all season by us . Also glad that we brought more fans then rovers quite a lot more at that . Got talking to few galway fans outside not sure if it was any of you lot i had a drum in my hand so you can tell me if it was you . lets all hope rovers slip up and dundalk win it followed by galway .

damoGUFC
22/10/2006, 2:37 PM
I walked down past ye lads and the noise that ye created was unbelieveable, there waz about 400+ singing so fair play 2ye!! I was talking to a guy with a drum so it must be you!:cool: Yer a sound bunch!!

Dave drummerboy
22/10/2006, 2:49 PM
Yeah it was me id say two drummers walked out together i was one with glasses .

damoGUFC
22/10/2006, 3:09 PM
I know ya now...I was the guy with the glasses and spikey hair!:D what time did
ye get home? ye didnt go to fox's or fibber magees??

Dave drummerboy
22/10/2006, 3:23 PM
got home about three no went back to bus and to off license stacked up and had a party on bus .

damoGUFC
22/10/2006, 3:33 PM
Nice one!:D Match was poor but ye deserved the win. Hopefully United can pick themselves up for Athlone on Saturday. Who dundalk playing next?

Dave drummerboy
22/10/2006, 4:51 PM
got kilkenny on thurs night .

MyTown
23/10/2006, 9:27 AM
For what it's worth now, I think Alan Keane's injury was a huge set back for us & I told him so on Friday night. That & having to pull Conor out of the Harps game unsettled the confidence the team had having beaten Shamrock Rovers.

MO'Donnell has taken some stick here & I cannot find anything to soften the blows ye've given him based on his display on Friday except to say that at UCD & Dublin City he never occupied the roles he's been given to fill for us on the left hand side.

The manager has taken a bt of stick too which really surprises me except that he is probably a victim of his own success. He doesn't seem to rate Mixie Harty & I think that's a pity. Mixie had a great spell at right back a few seasons ago & to me was a much better option than Nigel. He's a much more complete footballer. Also, for my money Raf was very uncomfortable there when Wes went off.

The manager had a very lengthy discussion with John Russell out on the pitch while the teams were in the dressing room prior to kick off. From the body language, Russeler seemed to be listening intently and accepting who was the boss, although someone beside me felt Tony was just explaining to him why he didn't make the squad.

In central midfield you can choose from Foley, Fran, O'Donnell, Russell, Mixie & it's always going to be 2 out of the 5.

As has been acknowledged by all, Dundalk were the better side in every area of the pitch and fully deserved their win. For me only Foley and David O'Dowd (for his work rate) came up to the required standard for us.

What is worth noting is the improvement in Dundalk since they last came to town. In June they arrived on the back of four defeats and were no better than the teams at the bottom of this league, but they were a totally different proposition on Friday night. They were professional and at times a little bit cynical (their No.2 was just dirty, but their no. 11 was a nasty piece of work going down for no reason, staying down for as long as possible and then doing his best to antagonise the crowd with gestures you're all familiar with), but they definitely showed they have what it takes to survive at the higher level. Given the tribulations John Gill had at Athlone and Dublin City you'd have to say he's done a great job. Philip Hughes showed all night while he's having a great season and we failed to cope with him especially after Wes (who was obviously far from right BEFORE the kick off) went off. I thought their No 7 was the best player on view and cut out everything that came his way as well as using the ball sensibly.

Congratulations again to all involved with the stewarding. They did a brilliant job. It is a great pity that the fair weather supporters will now fade away again until our next run, but as I've said before that's the sporting public. Everyone likes to be associated with success.

(A little off thread, but I heard the presentation on Friday morning was brilliant, including the video / dvd. Hopefully it will make its way onto the website if things go our way with the outcome on December 11th.)

Let's regroup for Athlone. Come on United.

23/10/2006, 9:46 AM
Dundalk were the better team no complaints.But to pick out individuals and start knocking them is a bit hard to take.No one played well on friday we never played as a team and allowed ourselves to be bullied out of the game. People sniping at the manager after we have set a record of 7 straight wins is a bit Irish.We need to regroup and look to win our last 4 games we wont do that by being disunited.

Finally a word of Praise for the Dundalk fans they might have had a lot of drink in them but they were a credit to their club and were a joy for the stewards.Thanks!

GUISAUltra
23/10/2006, 10:50 AM
when i was knocking players on this, it wasnt solely on the basis of friday night.

i've never rated mick o donnell as a player, but one thing ya can say about mick though is he does trojan work in every game but i feel hes not up to it. maybe it is just because he is being played out of position because he was very well liked by the fans in dublin.

as for nigel, i dont like him at all. really uncomfortable on the ball at all times, even with alan injured we've still got better right backs than nigel. mixie for one. he also does trojan work however and you cant fault him for that.

i wasn't complaining about cousins after the last night i was simply saying that he got it wrong and i'd say if ya asked him now i'd say that he'd tell ya it himself. i'm a great fan of cousins and hope to see him at the helm for as long as possible.

corbyeire
23/10/2006, 1:28 PM
in general we have been lucky along the way in our run of 7 games - some of those faults were found out on friday night

reilly cant pass
neither can keady - long ball cross field to mick, throw in - again
mick cant run or read the game
carter was off the game, no close control
wes shouldnt have started - injured/brutal first touches
raf wasted at the back

same could have been said for the harps game - distribution was brutal

murph shouldnt have started

foley and odowd gave their all at least - gough solid - billy passable

derek on earlier with gethins starting

a combination of utd being their very worst and dundalk wanting it way more

when we decided to pass it short in the last 10mins we created chances - we panicked for the majority of the game after they took the lead

their midfield and defence mopped up every loose ball and punished us on the break

up next our bogey team - its bound to go right there some time :rolleyes:

23/10/2006, 1:36 PM
Bogey team or not the fact is Athlone are useless!
I mean Rovers and Dundalk have hammered them a few times this year.We have to remember this team has done what many have failed to do in the last few years.
-We won away to Cobh and Harps!!
-We won 7 in a row
-We beat Rovers twice
-We won 5-1 away from home
-We're 3 points off top with 4 games to go.

It was very much a no-show v Dundalk but i'm confident we'll beat Athlone providng the players have the right attitude and under Cousins i think they will.

corbyeire
23/10/2006, 1:40 PM
i would be optimistic that we cant play as badly as a unit as we did friday night

i just hope that this bit of improvement will be enough to beat athlone and break the hoodoo

personally this is the game i hope we win the most - having watch them play athlone this season - especially in terryland - they have taken part of my soul and my will to live in the drab fare this season :eek:

23/10/2006, 1:45 PM
i would be optimistic that we cant play as badly as a unit as we did friday night

i just hope that this bit of improvement will be enough to beat athlone and break the hoodoo

personally this is the game i hope we win the most - having watch them play athlone this season - especially in terryland - they have taken part of my soul and my will to live in the drab fare this season :eek:

Well it's imperative we keep winning.Our next 4 games are all games that should be won tbh.If we win those i reckon we'll come at least 2nd as Dundalk and Rovers have harder games than we do.Above all years 2nd might be good enough.

23/10/2006, 1:48 PM
raf wasted at the back

but thats his natural position?

23/10/2006, 2:02 PM
right sided midfield is his natural position he only played at right back in sligo if they had injuries.

DotTV
23/10/2006, 2:06 PM
All he did on Friday was play long balls.
Only once did he pass the ball inside to Fran.

Dave drummerboy
23/10/2006, 2:15 PM
Finally a word of Praise for the Dundalk fans they might have had a lot of drink in them but they were a credit to their club and were a joy for the stewards.Thanks![/QUOTE]

Fair play to the stewards they were good . Yeah Shed bus had a lot of drink on it going down and very little when we arrived lads behaved very well and i was happy with that .

Louth4sam
23/10/2006, 3:21 PM
I have to agree, your stewards were excelent. They were very friendly and up for a little bit of banter. You have a great set up at galway and i hope you go up with us (rovers to stay down of course)

Paddyfield
23/10/2006, 3:27 PM
I have to agree, your stewards were excelent. They were very friendly and up for a little bit of banter. You have a great set up at galway and i hope you go up with us (rovers to stay down of course)

If you were give a choice:
Rovers to stay down or Drogs to be relegated? Pick one.

23/10/2006, 3:35 PM
From speaking to a few on Friday they'd easily keep Drogs up ahead of Rovers.They really hate rovers and were amazed we didn't.They ddi acknowlege that there has always been a hatred there though where as Drogs have only become good in recent years.

Ceirtlis
23/10/2006, 4:38 PM
I thought we wernt too bad in the first half and were maybe abit unlucky not to go in level at the break. Wes Charles going off really unsettled the team and there were alot of changes at the back and with raf going back we lost alot of creativity going forward. The boys lost confidence and i feared a right thumping so 3-1 wasnt that bad in the end. I think the problem with some of the united players is that they are only programmed to do one thing and mainly that is to pump the ball forward at the first oppurtunity especially gough who boots the ball forward as fast as he can. Dundalk mopped up at the back because they were much more physical then our boys up front. As for Derek O'Brien i very much doubt he would have changed things i dont rate him to be honest i think there is very little end product from him. As for the offside decision in the first half it was never offside but the dundalk players had stopped for the decision so i dont think we were denied a clear goal.

corbyeire
23/10/2006, 4:49 PM
thats right the dundalk boys had all stopped and the utd boys played on which made it an easy looking goal

Tir Oilean
23/10/2006, 6:52 PM
As for the offside decision in the first half it was never offside but the dundalk players had stopped for the decision so i dont think we were denied a clear goal.

Please explain the above it was not offside (I was level with play), which you agree with yet you dont think we were denied a goal?! They stopped when the decision was given did they not?

Patrick Dunne
23/10/2006, 7:05 PM
The most "dissapointing" thing about this thread is the mis-spelling of the title.

GUISA Saigon picked up some of the native tongue in Vietnam. I hope that he wasn't learning them English.

Tir Oilean
23/10/2006, 7:20 PM
I hope that he wasn't learning them English.

Good one Pa!

Louth4sam
23/10/2006, 8:27 PM
If you were give a choice:
Rovers to stay down or Drogs to be relegated? Pick one.

Rovers to stay down. As much as i dislike the drogs id love to be playing them a few games a season in the premier. There would be 4000+ at each match. We never really had a reason to hate the drogheda utd up til a couple of seasons ago as they were sh1te and had no fans. I always hated the Drogheda town though.