View Full Version : Curious

an_ceannaire
20/10/2006, 1:04 PM
Hi lads,
i just want to ask a question.
Are CliftoNville and DC the only "nationalist" if u will teams in the IL? What about Newry? Swifts? Cru's?
I read in Georgies Biog that when he was young he was a protestant who grew up supporting the mainly catholic Glens......but that cant be right?
Also, if Cliftonville/DC were to play Linfield or Glens in a cup final, who would the fans other the other big 2 team rather see win?
I am not asking this in a sectarian manner, please do not see it that way, but i will admit i have always been curious about this.
Thanks in advance lads.

Not Brazil
20/10/2006, 1:14 PM
What do you mean by "nationalist teams"?

Player composition?

Personally, I would want whoever plays the Glens in any Cup Final to beat them - and beat them good and proper.

an_ceannaire
20/10/2006, 1:45 PM
i mean as in support base mate
Would u cheer for Cliffs/DC in a cup final against the glens??!!!
How many of the IL's teams would have a "nationalist" support base?

David
20/10/2006, 2:07 PM
Cliftonville, DC and Newry would have a mainly nationalist support base with quite a few others being mixed. As for supporting them teams against the Glens, every day of the week I would support whoever the Glens are playing.

an_ceannaire
20/10/2006, 2:13 PM
just shows my ignorance and immaturity i guess lads, i just assumed that if One of the manily unionist support based teams ala Linfield, Glens, Ports, Cru's awere playing one of the mainly nationalist teams, ala DC or Cliffs that the Linfield lads would cheer for the Glens........can i ask ye, honestly, Setanta Cup Final, Glens V Cork, or Glens V Rovers!!!!! Who would ye like to lose the most lol :)

Not Brazil
20/10/2006, 2:16 PM
Would u cheer for Cliffs/DC in a cup final against the glens??!!!

From the rafters.

Some things in Northern Ireland are much more important than political/religious differences - seeing the Forever In Our Shadow XI humped is one such thing.

I love Boxing Day too.;)

Not Brazil
20/10/2006, 2:18 PM
can i ask ye, honestly, Setanta Cup Final, Glens V Cork, or Glens V Rovers!!!!! Who would ye like to lose the most lol :)

Now, your having a laugh.

The Glens in a Setanta Cup Final?:D

an_ceannaire
20/10/2006, 2:29 PM
come on "not brazil" and David, call it!
I am a shels fans so i know how horrible this prospect is, but Shamrock Rovers V Glentoran in an important match, who would you force ure self to support before puking ure ring up :)

Not Brazil
20/10/2006, 2:53 PM
I am a shels fans so i know how horrible this prospect is, but Shamrock Rovers V Glentoran in an important match, who would you force ure self to support before puking ure ring up :)

A lot would depend on context.

For example, I wanted the Glens to beat Derry City in the Setanta last year, simply because it helped the Linfield cause. Thankfully, the Glens did us a big favour at The Oval.

That situation could be easily reversed, depending on circumstances.

David
20/10/2006, 7:07 PM

Shamrock Rovers v Glens in Setanta Cup Final? C'mon Rovers. Seriously, I have always said if the Glens were to play Celtic I would go out a buy a hooped shirt. :p

sonofstan
20/10/2006, 10:40 PM
From the rafters.

Some things in Northern Ireland are much more important than political/religious differences - seeing the Forever In Our Shadow XI humped is one such thing.

I love Boxing Day too.;)

See no one gets this - when you lot played Shels in the first Setanta final every Bohs fan bar none was up for Linfield, much to the disgust of all our Prem/ SPL supporting mates

David
21/10/2006, 2:16 AM
See no one gets this - when you lot played Shels in the first Setanta final every Bohs fan bar none was up for Linfield, much to the disgust of all our Prem/ SPL supporting mates

This is something I find annoying. Some people think that everything in Northern Ireland is down to religion when most of us could not care less what religion someone is. I recall years ago talking to Wrexham supporters when we played them and our hatred of Glentoran baffled them. They just could not understand that it is on the same level as their hatred for Chester ie a football rivalry where religion is irrelevant.

BleusAvantTout
21/10/2006, 8:59 AM
Unless it benefits, Linfield I never want glenturn to win!! Most Bluemen would agree with me on that and if the shoe was on the other foot they would want us beaten.

You can see why they were in despair because of our Clean Sweep last season! :cool:

Not Brazil
21/10/2006, 5:55 PM

Maybe something to do with the copious amount of Euros put into Boh's coffers by Bluemen in the Boh's Social Club before the game.;)

22/10/2006, 4:39 PM

Linfield vs. Drogheda Utd in the Setanta Cup was a similar case for me.

Dassa
23/10/2006, 10:48 AM
supporting a small club myself when it comes to any games in the IL religion never comes into it,I will always support the underdog unless the result would have a detrimental effect for Loughgall. As for the Setanta I support the IL teams first and foremost but this is only to improve perception of the league my club play in.

23/10/2006, 10:55 AM
supporting a small club myself when it comes to any games in the IL religion never comes into it,I will always support the underdog unless the result would have a detrimental effect for Loughgall. As for the Setanta I support the IL teams first and foremost but this is only to improve perception of the league my club play in.

I support the IL teams in Setanta as I hate all the LOI clubs in it (so far)

Nearly wet myself laughing when Linfield destroyed Shels in Tolka last year

Lossie Glens
23/10/2006, 10:58 AM
I'm too young to remember, but according to my Granda and dad, the Glens used to have a mixed support. When my dad started going to matches in the early sixties, a lot of the guys he went with were Catholic. Obviously this has dwindled away due to the troubles etc.

When it comes to cup finals (Setanta included) or whatever, ANYONE BUT LINFIELD!

Like David and BAT have been saying, people get too hung up over the religious/policital thing. Most fans of the Glens and Blues would have similar views on these, but we still hate the sight of each other.

Dassa
23/10/2006, 2:33 PM
I support the IL teams in Setanta as I hate all the LOI clubs in it (so far)

Nearly wet myself laughing when Linfield destroyed Shels in Tolka last year

that may be down to the fact that Shelbourne are your Dublin rivals, as of yet Armagh City havent played in the setanta cup yet and so the other IL clubs that compete in Setanta have little hatred from me. However supporting the IL teams automatically may change if Armagh city ever fluked it into setanta but cant see me havent to worry about that:)

23/10/2006, 3:25 PM
I'm too young to remember, but according to my Granda and dad, the Glens used to have a mixed support. When my dad started going to matches in the early sixties, a lot of the guys he went with were Catholic. Obviously this has dwindled away due to the troubles etc.

When it comes to cup finals (Setanta included) or whatever, ANYONE BUT LINFIELD!

Like David and BAT have been saying, people get too hung up over the religious/policital thing. Most fans of the Glens and Blues would have similar views on these, but we still hate the sight of each other.

Did the Glens-Blues rivalry exist prior to the demise of Belfast Celtic ? My reading of history is that the Celtic-Linfield one was the biggest show in town until 1948.

Until Cliftonville's support base changed dramatically in the 1970's, there wouldn't have been another Belfast 'nationalist' team for Linfield to have as bitter rivals any way.

Lossie Glens
23/10/2006, 10:14 PM
AFAIK, the rivalry has always existed between the Glens and Blues. However, it is fair to say the rivarly between Celtic and Linfield was probably greater at the time, but (just going on what my Granda has told me) there was always a rivalry between the three of us.

Lossie Glens
23/10/2006, 10:18 PM
Can't believe I'm going to say this, but I don't believe Linfield actually need their closest rivals to be "nationalist". The Celtic/Linfield thing was more out of chance than anything, Celtic being from the mainly catholic Falls Rd and the Blues coming from the mainly Protestant Shankill Rd. As the policital climate changed, so did the views of most of their respective supports. But, in the early days I would suggest just as many Prods would have supported Celtic as Catholics would have Linfield.

Lux Interior
27/10/2006, 10:29 PM
Lossie, you'll probably be aware that the Glens had a decent support from the Short Strand area until civil unrest really took hold and the support became predominantly 'Protestant'. Indeed, Joe O'Donnell has lent his verbal support to the current 'Rest In East' campaign and the GCT are actively targeting the Short Strand area as a potential supporter base. Mickey Fearon, who wrote for the offical programme up until a couple of years ago, was from the Strand.

As for handout fc, I begrudge those arrogant f**kers winning a training session, although Portadown come close in the contempt stakes.

When handout fc win all 5 trophies competed for by exclsuively Irish clubs, then we'll talk 'clean sweeps'.

BleusAvantTout
28/10/2006, 8:19 AM
When handout fc win all 5 trophies competed for by exclsuively Irish clubs, then we'll talk 'clean sweeps'.

Five months on and it still hurts so bad!! That's good......real good!!!! :cool: ;)

EalingGreen
28/10/2006, 12:39 PM
When I went to the Oval in the late 70's/early 80's, I sometimes used to hook up with a guy (fellow student) who was a real Glens diehard. He had a very Catholic name (first and surname both), was from Lurgan and had very red hair.
Come to think of it, I never actually bothered ascertaining that he was Catholic, I just assumed he was; I know he appreciated my not calling his first name out too loudly until we got amongst the regular fans where we normally sat!
Anyway, he was a decent sort and it's probably safe enough now (!), so if you are out there, Sean, hope it's going well for you!

Lux Interior
29/10/2006, 1:52 AM
Five months on and it still hurts so bad!! That's good......real good!!!! :cool: ;)

It would actually "hurt" if a 'clean sweep' was achieved, rhymin'simon.

PS: when was it downgraded from a "Grand Slam"?

BleusAvantTout
29/10/2006, 1:21 PM

Right I've had enough of you!!:( Wait 'til I tell Ken Dodd!!!:p ;)

David
30/10/2006, 7:50 AM

You really do have difficulty understanding the term domestic clean sweep, don't you? The pain must be so bad. :)

Lossie Glens
30/10/2006, 9:43 AM
Lossie, you'll probably be aware that the Glens had a decent support from the Short Strand area until civil unrest really took hold and the support became predominantly 'Protestant'. Indeed, Joe O'Donnell has lent his verbal support to the current 'Rest In East' campaign and the GCT are actively targeting the Short Strand area as a potential supporter base. Mickey Fearon, who wrote for the offical programme up until a couple of years ago, was from the Strand.

As for handout fc, I begrudge those arrogant f**kers winning a training session, although Portadown come close in the contempt stakes.

Yep, I knew that Lux. Quite a few of the men my Granda used to go to games with came from the Short Strand, my Granda is originally from St. Patrick's Walk at the lower end of the Newtownards Rd. Didn't realise that about Mickey though.

BleusAvantTout
30/10/2006, 10:50 AM
You really do have difficulty understanding the term domestic clean sweep, don't you? The pain must be so bad. :)

Lux Inferior is displaying signs of being a 40 watter!!!

Dr.Nightdub
30/10/2006, 5:21 PM
Dunno whether this would've had any bearing on Glentoran being more of a mixed-background team, but didn't they play in either Celtic's ground or Distillery's (Grosvenor Road?) for a few years after the war cos of the Oval being bombed by the Germans?

As regards them drawing support from the Short Strand, that's where my da and granda lived until they moved over to Donegall Road in the 40s. But even before they moved, from what my da's told me, Celtic were the only team on the agenda for him and his mates - not cos of sectarian affiliations or anything, but simply cos they were winning all around them and so were the biggest show in town. I'd guess that people from the Strand going to Glentoran would've started more after the demise of Celtic.

Lossie Glens
30/10/2006, 9:24 PM
Dunno whether this would've had any bearing on Glentoran being more of a mixed-background team, but didn't they play in either Celtic's ground or Distillery's (Grosvenor Road?) for a few years after the war cos of the Oval being bombed by the Germans?

As regards them drawing support from the Short Strand, that's where my da and granda lived until they moved over to Donegall Road in the 40s. But even before they moved, from what my da's told me, Celtic were the only team on the agenda for him and his mates - not cos of sectarian affiliations or anything, but simply cos they were winning all around them and so were the biggest show in town. I'd guess that people from the Strand going to Glentoran would've started more after the demise of Celtic.

Your right Nightdub the Glens ground shared with Distillery after the Oval was bombed during the war, but I wouldn't say that's one of the reasons we had a mixed support. From the way I understand it from what I was told by family members over the years, many areas of East Belfast were traditionally mixed well before the troubles started, so therefore we had a mixed support, local team and all that.

As I said before, when my Granda first started going to the Oval in the late thirties, he went with as many Catholics as Protestants, my dad was the same. He was brought up in the Creagh estate (where Geordie Best came from) and in his little street of ten houses it was completely half and half, and they all went to the Oval together, right up until the start of the troubles.

31/10/2006, 12:21 PM
I know Mickey well and it would be hard to find a more knowledgable and passionate Glenman. His kids used to go as well and I know he was very proud when his young son played at the Oval a few years back.

BTW 2 prominent football personalities in the Republic are both Glenmen too although I don't think either make games anymore. George Hamilton RTE commentator was a fan as a kid and went regularly. Charlie Stuart was the Irish Press Football correspondent for many years and supported the Glens growing up in Belfast. I met him on an RoI away trip a few years back through a mutual friend and he spoke very fondly about the team of the late 60's.