View Full Version : Chelsea v Barca
osgood was good
20/10/2006, 3:04 AM
Drogba was outstanding , Essien 9 out of 10 , Carvalho 9, Maka 9, Boularouhz 9 man of the match and marked Ronnie out of the game .
Im expecting the usual jibes everybody , we are the evil Chelsea so get it on . :)
20/10/2006, 7:40 AM
Didn't see any of it but just a general comment: Drogba has risen to the challenge excellently this season.
Any comment on Shevchenko?
How is Chelsea's midfield lining up these days & who's adopting what role etc?
samabu92
20/10/2006, 8:01 AM
Must admit(pool fan ere) they should have beaten them by more.
Shevchenko seems like Keane( seen clips of him last night) at moment, general play ok, but its not just happening in front of goals(both had good chances).
20/10/2006, 1:16 PM
Eto was a big loss for Barca as it allowed the Chelsea defence to squeeze the play further up the pitch and not let the Barca midfield settle on the ball as they had no time and space to do it as Chelsea squeezed the game. Very good performance from Chelsea. It shows that Barca really need a replacement for Eto when is not there as Gudjonson is not player who likes to play as the last man up the field as he cannot stretch the defence over the top with pace etc.
renovater
21/10/2006, 7:50 PM
Great to see chelsea get 1 over Barrca with 11 men,
it was also good today to see Ballack and sheva score in front of there own at stamford bridge.but they did make hard work towards the end. win is win and that's all they were looking for after there mid week win
The ref I see has double standards by carding the two lads after scoring.
he didn't card the Arsenal bloke when he went in to the crowd the other week.
then thats refs for you.
One rule for Chelsea and another for every one else.
even the goal that was disaloud the keeper James put the ball into is own net, all the droggs did was to challenage for the ball.
Cheva was not offside because once the keeper plays the ball out from a rebouned plays droggs on.:mad:
Armando
21/10/2006, 10:16 PM
Great to see chelsea get 1 over Barrca with 11 men,
it was also good today to see Ballack and sheva score in front of there own at stamford bridge.but they did make hard work towards the end. win is win and that's all they were looking for after there mid week win
The ref I see has double standards by carding the two lads after scoring.
he didn't card the Arsenal bloke when he went in to the crowd the other week.
then thats refs for you.
One rule for Chelsea and another for every one else.
even the goal that was disaloud the keeper James put the ball into is own net, all the droggs did was to challenage for the ball.
Cheva was not offside because once the keeper plays the ball out from a rebouned plays droggs on.:mad:
I totally agree about the 2 yellow cards. Not even sure they were merited because they didnt really leave the pitch with the advertisement boards being so close to the byline and certainly didn't climb over them.
Regarding the last part of your post - What are you on?
Drogba clearly fouled - arm across James.
And I'm lost regarding your second point? Shevchenko was offside when ball was played through to him. Northing to do with James throwing the ball and playing drogba on.....WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT??
ali2005
22/10/2006, 5:18 PM
Was a good game! Great game for Essien but the score could have been alot higher if he had passed more! Still played great though!
31/10/2006, 12:35 PM
I see Mourinho is now accusing Barce of getting penos by their players diving. This is a bit rich coming from the ex-manager of FC Portodivers and the current manager of Drogbha. I know it's for the ref's ears but it is a bit irritating some of the stuff he comes out with.
01/11/2006, 8:29 AM
I had to laugh when I heard Drunkphy describing Mourinho last night as "a brat with no manners and no class". All I could think was it takes one to know one:rolleyes:
Drogba - I cannot stand the guy and his attitude when he is touched. Great finish for his goal but as a person on the field I despise what he stands for.
Lampard goal - a fluke without a doubt.
Drunkphy also said Rikaard was not the sort to get involved in stuff and that Mourinho drove him to get involved - I am not sure Rudi Voller would agree with that as he remembered wiping Rikaard's spittle from his face.
The RTE Panel all agreed with each other - plus ca change.
Roadend
01/11/2006, 8:33 AM
Carvalho 9, Boularouhz 9 man of the match and marked Ronnie out of the game .
Carvalho is a dirty dirty player, very much in evidence last night, Boularouhz did well for the second Barca goal, or maybe you didn't see the match?
01/11/2006, 8:42 AM
I think they were his ratings from the first game.
Roadend
01/11/2006, 8:44 AM
Oops, Still Carvalho could have been sent off twice last night.
01/11/2006, 8:47 AM
I watched this game last night, and really enjoyed it. I know there was some unsavoury stuff, like diving and such going on but there was some fantastic football being played. It kept you on the edge of your seat all night. I was amazed to hear the panel on RTE during half time and full time. Their reaction was totally over the top. Dunphy's rant at half time was comical.
Aldini98
01/11/2006, 8:59 AM
I hate Chelsea, I hate Frank Fathead Jammy goals Lampard, I hate Drogba the diving cheat, I hate Robben the diving cheat and most of all I hate Moanrinho the "pot calling the kettle black" of management, what a tw*t.
Closed Account 2
01/11/2006, 9:02 AM
Didn't Bulharouz give the ball away on the half way line for the first goal...?
01/11/2006, 9:26 AM
I hate Chelsea, I hate Frank Fathead Jammy goals Lampard, I hate Drogba the diving cheat, I hate Robben the diving cheat and most of all I hate Moanrinho the "pot calling the kettle black" of management, what a tw*t.
Don't hold back now. Say what you really feel!
BrayUnknowns
01/11/2006, 10:10 AM
Mourinho is a fool for the way he has been going on over the last few weeks, especially the way he slated Gudjohnsen and basically called him a cheat, every player will try and gain his team an advantage and if going down very easy from a tackle means a chance of winning his side a peno then the player will do that, thats the way football is these days - FFS he should know more than anyone with the likes of Robben and Droghba in his side.
endabob1
01/11/2006, 10:13 AM
Worst advert for football I've seen in a very long time, both teams were diving, writhing in pain, chasing the ref after every decision, Lampard's goal was a cross ffs.
Supposedly the best 2 teams in Europe but I'd rather watch my local sunday league team
BrayUnknowns
01/11/2006, 11:51 AM
Now Terry is at it......... What an idiot !
Chelsea captain John Terry has branded Barcelona "cynical" and says they must feel "threatened" by the brilliance of Jose Mourinho's side.
Tuesday night's Champions League clash between the two sides was marred by play-acting, cheating and moaning, with both teams contributing to a playground spat which incidentally ended 2-2.
Blues striker Didier Drogba was one of the worst offenders on the night, returning to the bad old days of diving and rolling about in apparent agony, but that was obviously missed by Terry.
He said: "Maybe Barcelona feel a little bit threatened by us. They were under pressure from their own fans going into the game after losing at Stamford Bridge two weeks ago.
"They are a great side but we are not too sure why they are so cynical. It is a shame when you see world-class players trying to get others booked. They tried all game.
"They were waving cards in the referee's face and it is disappointing when he falls for it. He gave everything their way, but the lads stuck together right to the end. The result says an awful lot about us. We showed them what we are really like as a team.
"We have played well here in the last couple of years but last night, with the referee against us and everyone against us, we were the better side.
"I thought we deserved the win, but they are a lot more disappointed than us because they are struggling to qualify."
Chelsea now need only a point to go through to the last 16, while Barcelona are in third place behind Werder Bremen, with the on-form German team still to play.
http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_1650105,00.html
Roadend
01/11/2006, 12:27 PM
Funniest moment of the night was Deco getting fouled and making a meal of it rolling around, yet leaping straight back up when Terry fired the ball off him.
01/11/2006, 12:32 PM
I love the way Mourinho suggested Eidur Gudjohnson had become a diver since he signed for Barca.
This coming from the man who presided over F.C. Porto - possibly the worst shower of divers I've ever witnessed. That UEFA Cup Final against Celtic was shameful and yet he has always refused to criticise any of the players involved but now feels fit to portray himself as some sort authority on divers. Irony doesn't even come close..
01/11/2006, 12:40 PM
Usual garbage out of Chelsea and Mourinho to be honest, and to think that up to about a year ago I used to actual defend this guy, more fool me I know. Comments on the game last night by RTE, while put in their usual over the top way, were spot on if you ask me. Mourinho needs to be punished by FIFA for mouthing off in the first place, and then sliding around pumping his fists like a jackass. Don't get me wrong I'm all favour of players being allowed to celebrate when they score again, but Mourinho was clearly trying to get a rise out of Barcelona and their fans.
As for the game itself, some random thoughts are, Messi made bits of Cashley last night, a draw was a fair result, the game was **** poor as a showpiece for football, and Drogba, Deco, Lampard, Edmilson, Robben and the rest who were diving all over the place need to start being hit by bans to stamp this out of football.
On another Chelsea note I was recently talking to a guy who comes into my mother's bar, has been doing so for years, and in al hat time he has been one of the mst devout Chelsea fans I know, I can still remember him actually celebrating when they won the Zenith Data System Cup for christs sake. But I was talking to him about how he must be a happy man now Chelsea are winning back to back titles and he said that he honestly doesn't support them anymore. the reason he gave wasn't that Abramovich has ruined football or any of that (as he says any club under the sun would take that man as their chairman tommorow), he said it's because he doesn't feel any excitement watching Chelsea anymore because they should be winning everything with the money they have, and that when they won their first title he kind of just shrugged his shoulders and went 'so what?'.
I ealise that in a roundabout way he ended up criticising Roman, but he ended by saying that he'd rather Chelsea have ended up like Sheffield wednesday (I'm an Owls fan) than what they have done because at leats he'd still feel apart of the club, and would still get excited about them, even if it was just 'will we aviod relegation this year'. It reminded me of a Chelsea fan's letter in 4-4-2 that said because of the cost of the ticket these days he's had to stop going, and now doesn't care about Chelsea anymore and doesn't really support anyone anymore. This to me is the main adverse affect Chelsea and thei money have had on the game, driving away former loyal supporters that can see past the titles to how much their club has changed. maybe they should form their own AFC Chelsea or something
endabob1
01/11/2006, 1:28 PM
Considering there was 10,000 less than capacity for their first game in this seasons Chamipons League against Werder Bremen it's clear that a lot of fans are feeling the same way. The league games sell out because most season ticket holders don't want to give up their tickets but clearly a significant number can't be bothered forking out an extra £50 a pop for tickets against opposition that aren't in the absolute elite, it's killing football.
01/11/2006, 3:27 PM
Yep, disappointed to see Terry getting involved. In the land of the blind, the one eyed is king.
01/11/2006, 7:57 PM
Mourinho needs to be punished by FIFA for mouthing off in the first place
That only happens in the LOI.
then sliding around pumping his fists like a jackass.
What should he do? Stand there in silent vigil?
Bleeding heart Gilesey last night "You wouldn't see Busby doing that"
Obviously he didn't remember the later boss of that club, running onto the pitch when his side scored against Sheffield Wednesday in injury time all those years ago. His assistant almost jumped onto the centre circle to celebrate it in the hysteria. But that was alright, I take it. :rolleyes:
In case Giles didn't realise, Chelsea scored an injury time equaliser in that antiquated uncovered dump. Not many visiting sides do that, so Mourinho is entitled to celebrate in a suitable fashion.
Please note the above poster's comments are tainted by a Real Madrid bias;)
I didn't watch the game last night - I was busy watching by all accounts a more entertaining game in Kilkenny - but wouldn't be surprised by the nature of the game.
Someone should replay Gudjohnsen's dive to Mourinho against Liverpool to get Alonso suspended in the CL a few years ago. Methinks Eidur - if he dives - learned it in England, Jose..
06/11/2006, 12:31 AM
Chelsea scored an injury time equaliser in that antiquated uncovered dump.
Yes. What a dump the Nou Camp is.
I always feel that the one thing Barcelona lack is a big classy stadium.
Give them the RDS anyday.
Closed Account 2
06/11/2006, 12:50 AM
Espanyol's stadium is fairly nice
08/11/2006, 1:45 AM
Yes. What a dump the Nou Camp is.
I always feel that the one thing Barcelona lack is a big classy stadium.
All their millions, obviously isn't enough to buy a roof. Roofless stadiums, are a reminder of the Stone Age, or alternatively the LOI.
cullenswood
08/11/2006, 8:00 AM
All their millions, obviously isn't enough to buy a roof. Roofless stadiums, are a reminder of the Stone Age, .
Or indeed a city where the rainfall is quite low. No need for a roof. Pointless argument.
08/11/2006, 10:41 AM
that antiquated uncovered dump.
Really?
All their millions, obviously isn't enough to buy a roof. Roofless stadiums, are a reminder of the Stone Age, or alternatively the LOI.
Look what the stone age men built? And they even managed to erect a strange roof-like structure along one side.
http://www.sgci.mec.es/uk/Pub/Tecla/2005/iconos/Nou%20Camp.JPG
08/11/2006, 5:48 PM
Heading over to the dump in a few weeks. 22 degrees in November, what a dump.
08/11/2006, 5:52 PM
In other chelsea news there are rumous going around about the real reason that Terry got sent off and why King Chimbonda and Zokora got so angry. It is largely to do with comments thatTerry is alleged to have said and if proven to be true will lead him to be stripped of the England Captaincy.
As I said only a rumour so may have no truth in it but certainly seems pretty believable having watche the pitctures numerous times.
08/11/2006, 8:03 PM
Or indeed a city where the rainfall is quite low. No need for a roof.
So why does the White House (aka Bernabeu) have one then? A modern, state of the art, atmosphere-friendly stadium, fully covered to keep the fans away from suffering the cold Madrid winter on matchnight.
When did the Nou Camp last even see a lick of paint? 19th Century?? :confused: It looked great years ago, but it looks antiquated in comparison to some of the beautiful European stadia around now.
09/11/2006, 3:51 PM
So why does the White House (aka Bernabeu) have one then? A modern, state of the art, atmosphere-friendly stadium, fully covered to keep the fans away from suffering the cold Madrid winter on matchnight.
When did the Nou Camp last even see a lick of paint? 19th Century?? :confused: It looked great years ago, but it looks antiquated in comparison to some of the beautiful European stadia around now.
Nou Camp - built 1957.
http://www.wsoccer.com/stadium/spain/fc_barcelona/index.htm
Bernabeu - built 1947.
http://www.wsoccer.com/stadium/spain/real_madrid/index.htm
09/11/2006, 8:17 PM
Nou Camp - built 1957.
Looking at the ground, you'd swear the 9 is a misprint, for 8.
10/11/2006, 7:46 AM
In other chelsea news there are rumous going around about the real reason that Terry got sent off and why King Chimbonda and Zokora got so angry. It is largely to do with comments thatTerry is alleged to have said and if proven to be true will lead him to be stripped of the England Captaincy.
As I said only a rumour so may have no truth in it but certainly seems pretty believable having watche the pitctures numerous times.
Where did you hear this Neil? I didn't see the game and wasn't aware of any incidents but it's fairly obvious what you are suggesting and if it were true would be pretty scandalous.
12/11/2006, 8:16 AM
I doubt if it was for anything thing he said for Poll was a distance away from the incident and he would have needed excellent ears or been able to lip read.
15/11/2006, 11:57 AM
I have only just read this thread, and while I'm sure a quick flick of the site rules would tell me, I was afraid to post what I heard.
Terry is the central character and King is the victim. Neil has got it spot on. I heard of this agro the same night just after the game.
There is going to be murder I'd say.