View Full Version : Dundalk predictions
Paddyfield
18/10/2006, 8:52 PM
The fact that GUFC are unbeaten at home since Sept '05 and that we have won seven on trot cannot be discounted. Dundalk are on a roll too but I'm sure they would prefer not to be coming to Terryland at this stage of the season.
The crowd is important. Tony Cousins regurally points this out in his article in the match programme.
I can't see us losing but a win would be sweet. My head says a scoreless draw but if the crowd repeats the performance of the Rovers game, then we could sneak it. Cratero and Russell are due to score!
1 -0
GUISAUltra
18/10/2006, 9:11 PM
i think we'll just scrape a 2-1. i can see conor opening the scoring and then dundalk equalising but dowdys gonna net us a winner in the second half.
Dave drummerboy
18/10/2006, 10:43 PM
im going to go for a three two finish for dundalk . I think it could be one of them games .
GuisaSaigon
18/10/2006, 10:44 PM
united 3 dundah 0
O' Dowd hat trick in 20 seconds!
corbyeire
18/10/2006, 11:25 PM
draws no good we have to win - otherwise rovers are the winners of this one if its a draw
corbyeire
18/10/2006, 11:25 PM
i see hughes scoring so its going to be 2-1 to us - their run ends not ours!
eamo1
19/10/2006, 12:29 AM
with the notable exception of 2 cup semi finals a few years ago so i expect us to shade this one aswell.this run in reminds me of when we got to the playoff final a few years ago,we had to win our last few games against our rivials to secure a playoff place and we did.we beat cobh,harps and kildare to get the spot.i realise theres alot more at stake this time around.
im going for a 2-1/2-0 to us,im pretty confident of us winning this 1,not cocky-it will be tight and not easy,but its just my opinion.
7 wins on the trot and law of probability is that we're going to lose one game before the end of the season so could be this one or Athone.
I fancy us for a point -either 0-0 or 1-1.
The next few games are a big test for Tony Cousins and his first year in senior management.
Read what Tony has to say here (http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/match-previews/team-news-preview-galway-united-v-dundalk.html)
any win by the odd goal id take.Dundalk havent impressed me anytime ive seen them and it was a mistake by Wes that cost us in oriel where we played very poorly.
I think people should concentrate on tomorrow nights game and take eax=ch gamea as it comes.We have 5 cup finals and need to win each of them and let the others bother with their own games.
Loads of Maroon tomorrow night and chanting from before the game to after the final whistle as we can really make a difference to the result.
19/10/2006, 4:53 PM
any win by the odd goal id take.Dundalk havent impressed me anytime ive seen them and it was a mistake by Wes that cost us in oriel where we played very poorly.
I think people should concentrate on tomorrow nights game and take eax=ch gamea as it comes.We have 5 cup finals and need to win each of them and let the others bother with their own games.
Loads of Maroon tomorrow night and chanting from before the game to after the final whistle as we can really make a difference to the result.
We did that v Rovers and it was great.How come though we're told to stop after the whistle?After a win everyone wants to wait around for a few minutes to cheer the team when they come out for the warm down.
why didnt you p.m gufct with that question?plz dont turn this thread into another row between ye.paisley and adams are meeting soon,why dont you and gufct do the same???;)
19/10/2006, 5:56 PM
why didnt you p.m gufct with that question?plz dont turn this thread into another row between ye.paisley and adams are meeting soon,why dont you and gufct do the same???;)
Eamo why don't mind your own business?:)I get on fine with gufct outside of foot.ie for your info,not that it concerns you.
for tomorrow night,so is hynes(according to their website),i bet hughes plays though,i just hope wes can play too.
Jacobean
19/10/2006, 10:46 PM
Im going to go with a 1.0 win with o dowd on the mark. I wont be there, listening to it on the net and most likley getting palpatations. I have a gut feeling this could well be our year, lets hope so.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/1019/galway.html
eamo1
20/10/2006, 11:40 AM
just a few hours left,was thinking of bringing an air horn but probably wont as might not be allowed use it,im def bringing my camcorder though,someone else was talking about putting games on youtube so if they dont/cant ill try.
i wonder will dundalk keep using the same long ball stuff they used before,it will def spoil the game if they do.
sections b and c will be singing tonight too i think,should be good.
c'mon utd.
GuisaSaigon
20/10/2006, 11:51 AM
just a few hours left,was thinking of bringing an air horn but probably wont as might not be allowed use it
I dont see why you wouldnt be allowed use it, unless the league has introduced some new fines today:rolleyes:
eamo1
20/10/2006, 12:00 PM
because they are banned anymore in croke park and other GAA grounds but this obviously aint GAA tonight:) ,not sure why i assumed it was for all types,i know rugby grounds were considering banning them but havent yet.
20/10/2006, 12:00 PM
Sorry lads but there banned as well although i doubt if u would get barred over using it.Its not us but the FAI who make the rules and after the latest load of fines we will be even more strict now sorry.
Air horns drown rather than create atmosphere in my view. The drums in Section A and 3,000 voices should suffice.
20/10/2006, 12:26 PM
Dont care for the air horns myself, I prefer what JW said also.
GuisaSaigon
20/10/2006, 12:44 PM
Fog horns are banned!! what next, ban scarves, flags , supporters!!!!!!!!!!!!!.do they want us to have a wooden rattle revival , or are they banned too:rolleyes:
corbyeire
20/10/2006, 12:53 PM
pc gone mad - what can ye do now, they are the rules
did you ever get a bang on the head when someone is spinning one of those rattles around !!! Leathel weapon if you ask me !!!!!!!! ;) :D
As Corbyeire said them is the rules its the FAI that sets them not GUFC.After Rovers (€3,000) and Athlone (€1,500) being fined for their fans behaviour in the recent cup game at Dubarry Park every club will be enforcing the Ground Regulations to the letter of the law.
Flawless
20/10/2006, 9:22 PM
3-1!!,great game lads!, i believe Galway have been the best opposition supporters all-year!!,fair play, lets hope for 5 slip ups from rovers now and the league (and promotion) can be celebrated in Oriel!!
GUISAUltra
21/10/2006, 10:13 AM
im gonna go for a 3-1 win for dundalk with phillip scoring our goal
GuisaSaigon
21/10/2006, 10:39 AM
im gonna go for a 3-1 win for dundalk with phillip scoring our goal
It's feckin Nostradamus!