View Full Version : Football Manager 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

01/03/2007, 2:21 PM
Game is much too easy to be honest, hope the patch fixes a lot of that. Started a new game at Liverpool, in my first three seasons I won 3 Champions Leagues on the trot as well as a Premier League, moved to Inter Milan and won my fourth consecutive Champions League aswell as the Serie A, then moved on to Lyon, won the French League and got to the semi finals of the Champions League with a bunch of West Ham cast offs, far too easy

Olander
01/03/2007, 2:25 PM
one of my best ever games , i'v just gone halfway through my 2008 season sorry for the poor quality just click to magnify

http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/3849/verygoodseasonaw7.jpg

Tazskool
02/03/2007, 10:18 AM
Game is much too easy to be honest, hope the patch fixes a lot of that. Started a new game at Liverpool, in my first three seasons I won 3 Champions Leagues on the trot as well as a Premier League, moved to Inter Milan and won my fourth consecutive Champions League aswell as the Serie A, then moved on to Lyon, won the French League and got to the semi finals of the Champions League with a bunch of West Ham cast offs, far too easy

If its that easy... try Crawley :P lol...

Yes it will always be easy with a top world class team

02/03/2007, 10:57 AM

Dunno about that, I reckon it's easier than previous games too. I won the UEFA Cup in my second season with Man City, only major alterations to the squad was getting in Ryan Smith and securing Damarcus Beasley to a permanent deal!

Tazskool
02/03/2007, 12:35 PM
If you can save crawley from relegation you are doing well :)

I gave up managing top teams after the first season i played as liverpool...

02/03/2007, 2:56 PM

I also took Sheffield Wednesday into Europe within 2 years in a previous game and went on and won the European Championship with Ireland, as for Crawley, well I'll leave them up to your good self. Still reckon winning 3 successive European Cups with Liverpool is proof positive that the game is too easy

Aaron
02/03/2007, 9:33 PM
one of my best ever games , i'v just gone halfway through my 2008 season sorry for the poor quality just click to magnify

http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/3849/verygoodseasonaw7.jpg

Any chance of putting up your team and finances;)

Olander
02/03/2007, 11:22 PM
sure ctid

my team

http://img185.imageshack.us/img185/9718/teamvq5.jpg

my finances

http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5531/financescm4.jpg

and before you say I cheated with my finances I got into the cl group stages which auto gives you 5 million and have won virtually every domestic cup including the setanta cup two times running which gives you rougly 450,000 each time you win it ;) :D

my secret is .. training

Aaron
03/03/2007, 6:10 PM
:eek: :eek:

nui-harp
05/03/2007, 10:35 PM
can anyone tell me how to take screen shots and post them up? just on the off chance i come up with a few amazing results!

05/03/2007, 10:39 PM
can anyone tell me how to take screen shots and post them up? just on the off chance i come up with a few amazing results!Hit the "Print Screen" button on keyboard then open microsoft paint(or something similar) and select "Edit" then "Paste".

05/03/2007, 10:54 PM
sure ctid

my team

http://img185.imageshack.us/img185/9718/teamvq5.jpg

see sean connor is still after chris turner:p

06/03/2007, 8:00 AM
Massive investment in the squad after the CL group stages where I finished third getting me into the UEFA cup. Bought Stephen Hunt. He's making a massive difference to me along with the lad I have out right, Paul Holdsworth who was in the Bolton reserves. While asking the club to improve youth facilities I am also picking up "hot prospect" youngsters from Premiership clubs' youth teams. Started the season winning my annual "Jackie Jameson Cup" (Invitational cup) beating Aberdeen 2-0 in the semi (Peader was ecstatic) and Torino 1-0 in the final.
Started the season with an away trip to Olympiakos in the UEFA (same season in european terms as my CL run just a new season in terms of the Irish summer season). Was 0-0 until the 91st minute when Stephen Ward, just on as a sub scored with his first touch after 2 months out injured. Secured it with a 2-0 second leg win. Setanta started with 3-0 wins over Balymena (home) and Donegal Celtic (Away) and a 1-0 home win over Drogheda. Got Bayern Munich in the next round of UEFA. Did brilliantly away only losin 3-2 (two precious away goals). Home leg went one up after 7 minutes. Bayern equalised/went back ahead on Agg. just before half time. In the 51st minute we went back ahead on away goals with a header from centre half debutant Tomkinson (can't remember his first name off the top of my head). Heartbreak came 7 minutes from time when Bayern clinched the game with a goal that was clearly offside. I wasn't even repremanded for lashing the ref afterwards it was that obvious.
Anyway, back to the bread and butter, a league opener against Longford.

One thing that really annoys me about the game is that you can be 10 points clear at the top of the league be on a great run in Europe and still theres always one whingy fecker who "isn't sure we can beat Longford".

Tazskool
06/03/2007, 8:32 AM
Just a little one of the guides I wrote for my other forum :)

Screenshot Guide/FAQ
By Tazskool

NOTE: FM07 now has a Screenshot capture all of its own!! So this guide is in 2 sections!

Using FM to capture screenshots!

Well it now appears that SI Games has listened to the constant moaning from all the FM players and actually put a “Print Screen” function into the game.

It is located within the options menu and when you click on it you are given 3 choices.

1. Print to Printer
2. Print to HTML Page
3. Print to Notepad

You can tell that this is still yet to be fully made up to everyone’s standards but it gives you a good insight into what SI could do better for FM08.

Right now into the options. Option 1 Printing to Printer.

This just prints all of the page to your printer and looks like the image below:

{screenshot to follow]

Option 2: Print to HTML

This prints a simple HTML document which will give you the information but it does not take any of the graphics from the page. So if you were printing off a players stats it would show just his stats and not his picture.

[screenshot to follow]

Option 3: Print to NotePad

Very similar to the one above but in notepad form.

[screenshot to follow]

In my view this is still something SI need to work on for FM08 but It shows they do listen.

Also if you want an image to the same standard as you had in FM06 simply take a “Print Screen” and load it into your image program. If you are unsure of how to do this then read my guide on “Making A Screenshot” which can be found at www.fmformation.net

I also have found a simple program which will let you press “print screen” as many times as you want and capture that image and place it into a folder on your computer without even having to open your graphics program. This program MUST be running when you need to press “Print Screen”. I do not take any responsibility for this program either. It has been virus checked and my wife and I use it for Sims and FM.

This little program is downloadable from this link below:
http://tuxdevil.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/fm07/FSScreen.zip

Using Your PC
Creating The Image

First of all you will need to locate the "Print Screne" button which on a UK designed keyboard is in the top right hand corner next to F12 and has "Prt SC and Sys Rq" on it.

If you have the screen you wish to capture the image from in your FM game showing simply press this button. Nothing will immediatly happen.

Open up your "Paint" program (or anyother image manipulation software you have installed) by clicking on Start... All Programs and locating it..

For example if you are using Paint... then its Start.. All Programs... Accessories.. Paint.

Once the program has loaded up click on EDIT and then PASTE from the drop down menu which has appeared. The image will appear in the screen below.

------------
Saving The Image

If you click on FILE at the top of your Paint Program and then SAVE AS. This allows you to choose where you want to save it to and what you want to call it.

So you are now presented with a box and you need to type the name you wish to give this image into the box marked "File Name".

File Type - for this you will need to click on the drop down arrow to the right of the selection box and select "JPEG"

If you look at the top of the screen you will see its asking you where you wish to save it to. The default location is "My Pictures" which in your computer is easy to find. Click on START.. Click on "My Pictures" which is to the top right of that screen when you click on start!

-------------

Uploading The Image

Now if you do not have your own "Homepage" and need a good imagine hosting site there are many free ones out there.
Imageshack and Photobucket are two good sites.. They are both FREE!!

www.imageshack.us and www.photobucket.com

11/03/2007, 9:21 AM
I bought fm 2007 yesterday for €30 in game, and I have to say the improvement is unbelievable from 2005.

the whole match engine etc. is just superb

gilberto_eire
11/03/2007, 7:33 PM
I bought fm 2007 yesterday for €30 in game, and I have to say the improvement is unbelievable from 2005.

the whole match engine etc. is just superb

from 2005??.... you miss 06?

11/03/2007, 8:31 PM
i only bought 2005 like before xmas as i heard 06 was a pile of ****e

gilberto_eire
11/03/2007, 8:40 PM
05,06 and 07 there isnt really much differance!!.... been making a go at the transfers for the past i dunno.. while anyway!. just finished bray. takes too long...... thats the only way id play it again if i could sort all that out

12/03/2007, 3:51 PM
ah, the kits and logos wont work!

where do i unzip them 2?

brokenstar
12/03/2007, 4:38 PM
ah, the kits and logos wont work!

where do i unzip them 2?

http://www.goal-kick.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=1080

this is a pretty handy guide to pretty much everything to do with graphics on FM07

13/03/2007, 4:12 PM
ah it still wont work.

i have the facepack in for the eL but the logos and kits wont work! :mad:

13/03/2007, 4:13 PM
There's an option you have to turn off in the preferences "Use cached images" or something like that.

13/03/2007, 8:01 PM
There's an option you have to turn off in the preferences "Use cached images" or something like that.

i could kiss you

Tazskool
13/03/2007, 8:04 PM
start FM07.. click on Preferences.. click on Sound/GFX... untick "skin cache".. click confirm :)

13/03/2007, 8:17 PM
already done.. but thanks!

wasn't this hard in fm 05:p

14/03/2007, 9:07 PM
have to agree with you there

there isnt really much difference between them, just basically update of the squads and a few new features, but the game is so damn addictive why should they change a winning formula and overhaul the whole system just for the sake of it

even though my overall favourite from the S.I team has to be champo 01/02 or 03/04, i lost so many days of my life playin those games, got bit too easy at the end though because i just got to know exactly which players to buy who would always do great for me

01/02 was the best game of the series imo

gilberto_eire
17/03/2007, 9:31 PM
ya you reminded me about a negative about the game year after year theres certain players who come cheap that always play well and you end up constantly buying them i.e martin palermo( in 00 i think) freddy adu(last yr and well any of last 3 yrz) robinhio (3 yrs ago) etc..... funnily enough though at same time,robinhio for instance through playing the game before he left brazil you could see he was great if i was a manager i would have checked him out... didnt go anywhere for another year or something then after been great in the game for the brazilain team he was with

danonion
19/03/2007, 10:54 PM
i only ever heard of FM from this thread and now i'm addicted. Staunton won Euro 2008 - I can't get him out of that Ireland job for love nor money although I'm doing wonders with WBA

19/03/2007, 10:59 PM
Anyone else having trouble starting a new game after you've downloaded the patch? It seems to freeze the game up at the loading database stage

Cymro
31/03/2007, 11:36 PM
obviously the game does have some minor flaws and isnt completely realistic :confused:

All the Football Manager games are quite unrealistic in my opinion. One major flaw is the transfer market. It's far too easy to sign players who are reputationally much bigger than your club. Example: As Swansea I signed several Australia internationals including Lucas Neill while being just a mid-table Championship side at the time.

At non-league level it's worse. Generally at semi-pro level where you live determines what clubs you play for. FM does not mirror that well. Plenty of transfers that go on in the game simply would not happen in reality.

Results in-game aren't too realistic either, at the moment I'm halfway into my third season in the game and Aston Villa are leading the Premiership by five points, with Bolton second. Man United and Chelsea both 10+ points off the pace. Everton won the Premiership last year and Udinese won the Champions' League. Not very likely in real life.

The FM series is quality but has plenty of issues to sort out and is frequently over-rated, in my opinion.....

danonion
03/04/2007, 12:36 AM
With a bit of fenagling in the edit mode to remove international retirements and enable Alan Kelly, I came in 2nd in EURO 2008 with a lineup of

Kelly;Carr Harte Breen Cunningham Dunne; Holland O'Shea Duff; Keane, Doyle

Breen played a sweeper in the 5-4-1 mode with keane as attacking MF and Gary Breen as SW- that formation just kicks ass, with rubbish players we virtually never conceded

22/04/2007, 5:37 PM
Getting Quinn to join you reminds me of the time when myself and fellow Limerick board members SLK and Nempton were playing CM 00/01 (I think). We were playing the First Division, I was Drogheda, Nempton was Waterford and SLK was Athlone. It was pretty tight at the type between myself and Nempton and went in for Stan Collymore on loan from Leicester. The two lads had their smirks wiped off their faces when I managed to get him on a season long loan deal! :D :D

I was Monaghan I'll have you know. And Nempton managed Cobh *spits*. I actually liked Paul Shiels back then too before encountering him the flesh *shudders at the memory*. I was just pleased that I managed to shake off my awful form to put a dent in both your promotion campaigns. :)

22/04/2007, 5:45 PM
I was Monaghan I'll have you know. And Nempton managed Cobh *spits*. I actually liked Paul Shiels back then too before encountering him the flesh *shudders at the memory*. I was just pleased that I managed to shake off my awful form to put a dent in both your promotion campaigns. :)

Well whoever the pair of ye were, you were both rubbish and mighty Drogheda spanked the pair of you ;)

22/04/2007, 6:12 PM
Stan Collymore? :rolleyes: I once got David Treseguet on loan to UCD for a season. :D Granted he was 36 or something at the time but still.

anto1208
23/04/2007, 10:44 AM
All the Football Manager games are quite unrealistic in my opinion. One major flaw is the transfer market. It's far too easy to sign players who are reputationally much bigger than your club. Example: As Swansea I signed several Australia internationals including Lucas Neill while being just a mid-table Championship side at the time.

At non-league level it's worse. Generally at semi-pro level where you live determines what clubs you play for. FM does not mirror that well. Plenty of transfers that go on in the game simply would not happen in reality.

Results in-game aren't too realistic either, at the moment I'm halfway into my third season in the game and Aston Villa are leading the Premiership by five points, with Bolton second. Man United and Chelsea both 10+ points off the pace. Everton won the Premiership last year and Udinese won the Champions' League. Not very likely in real life.

The FM series is quality but has plenty of issues to sort out and is frequently over-rated, in my opinion.....

I suppose thats to make the game fun !!! What would be the point of choosing Villa if it ment 10 seasons in mid table obscurity

23/04/2007, 12:32 PM
Well whoever the pair of ye were, you were both rubbish and mighty Drogheda spanked the pair of you ;)

The mighty Drogheda then memorably choked against Galway in the playoffs. In fact I think that's where your issues with GUSC truly began! :D

24/04/2007, 9:17 AM
I was Monaghan I'll have you know. And Nempton managed Cobh *spits*. I actually liked Paul Shiels back then too before encountering him the flesh *shudders at the memory*. :)

Ah Paul Shiels

Solid CM 01/02 signing

Ridiculously poor quality human being :)

Soper
14/06/2007, 5:09 PM
I have a query about something.

Could I swap the teams from, say the Polish League and replace them with Irish teams, and change the Polish leagues 'nationality' to Irish, thus enabling Irish teams to get higher sponsorship money?

14/06/2007, 11:47 PM
I have a query about something.

Could I swap the teams from, say the Polish League and replace them with Irish teams, and change the Polish leagues 'nationality' to Irish, thus enabling Irish teams to get higher sponsorship money?

Increase the reputations of Irish clubs and competitions. It will have the same effect.

15/06/2007, 4:21 PM
Has anyone played as FC Vaduz in FM07? In previous editions they were down as a Liechtenstein club and got into the UEFA Cup as Liechtenstein Cup winners... I see they are a down as a Swiss club in FM07 though, anyone know if they are still involved in the Liechtenstein Cup in the game?

inexile
17/06/2007, 9:54 PM
when i try and download the update from the si games site do i save as under football manager 07 or what do i do? any help would be appreciated!!

17/06/2007, 9:56 PM
when i try and download the update from the si games site do i save as under football manager 07 or what do i do? any help would be appreciated!!
After you have downloaded the patch just run it and it should automatically go into the correct folder.

inexile
17/06/2007, 10:02 PM
so instead of clicking on save i just click on run yeah?

17/06/2007, 10:06 PM
so instead of clicking on save i just click on run yeah?
Yeah that's fine. Once it downloads it's very easy to setup, just keep clicking next is all you'll have to do really.

inexile
17/06/2007, 10:17 PM
cheers pal, appreciate it

Aaron
05/07/2007, 8:19 PM
lads where exactly do you find the game editor??ive looked everywhere for it on the game.all help welcome

Click start, All Programs, Sports Interactive, Football Manager 2007, Editor, FM Editor. Then click file and open.