View Full Version : Football Manager 2007

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

09/01/2007, 3:23 PM
Getting Quinn to join you reminds me of the time when myself and fellow Limerick board members SLK and Nempton were playing CM 00/01 (I think). We were playing the First Division, I was Drogheda, Nempton was Waterford and SLK was Athlone. It was pretty tight at the type between myself and Nempton and went in for Stan Collymore on loan from Leicester. The two lads had their smirks wiped off their faces when I managed to get him on a season long loan deal! :D :D

17/01/2007, 11:38 PM
So I just opened Football Manager 2007 for the first time in nearly a month (well since Christmas Day to be exact :o ) :D

Starting off with Kilkenny City and drafted in 11 new players with me who shall guide me to the Premier

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/3065/footiemanagerpm4.png

18/01/2007, 12:39 AM
Started this on the SI Forums - give it a read and comment back in here if you feel inclined:

http://community.sigames.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/97319217/m/3922002192

18/01/2007, 12:55 AM
Started this on the SI Forums - give it a read and comment back in here if you feel inclined:

http://community.sigames.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/97319217/m/3922002192

I can't find where to register :eek: :o :o

18/01/2007, 8:47 AM
Lads how do ye attract the players to join yere eL clubs?
I can never get anyone to join Rovers :(

18/01/2007, 9:06 AM
I can't find where to register :eek: :o :o

If you select the I am not registered radio button that should do it.

19/01/2007, 1:45 PM
Lads how do ye attract the players to join yere eL clubs?
I can never get anyone to join Rovers :(

Pick a better team would be my first tip :)

Aaron
19/01/2007, 9:38 PM
So I just opened Football Manager 2007 for the first time in nearly a month (well since Christmas Day to be exact :o )

Starting off with Kilkenny City and drafted in 11 new players with me who shall guide me to the Premier

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/3065/footiemanagerpm4.png

They are all free transfers to and most of them past it:D . Whern i was being a first division team i always bought Tony Sheridan, he is always great for me

19/01/2007, 9:39 PM
Can ye get Eircom league stuff for the PSP version? :confused:

Tazskool
19/01/2007, 9:50 PM
I dont have a psp so the site I am with will not do the update for it..

21/01/2007, 10:54 AM
They are all free transfers to and most of them past it Whern i was being a first division team i always bought Tony Sheridan, he is always great for me

Yep most of them are ****e, I'm 11 games in and still waiting on my first win :o , however, Payne and McGuiness are the two best players in the division :eek: I also tried to sign the Hero Shero but he wouldn't leave St. James Gate :p

22/01/2007, 1:24 PM
Doing pretty well in my game, at the moment my career reads

Year Club Achievement
06-07 Sheff Wed 15th in Championship
07-08 Sheff Wed 5th in Championship/Playoff Winners
08-09 Sheff Wed 13th in Premiership
09-10 Ireland
10-11 Ireland Qualify for Euro 2012
11-12 Ireland Euro Championship Winners (!!!)
12-13 Arsenal Intertoto Cup Winners, Currently 2nd in Premier in December, still involved in League Cup, Uefa Cup and FA Cup

23/01/2007, 8:40 AM
Doing pretty well in my game, at the moment my career reads

Year Club Achievement
06-07 Sheff Wed 15th in Championship
07-08 Sheff Wed 5th in Championship/Playoff Winners
08-09 Sheff Wed 13th in Premiership
09-10 Ireland
10-11 Ireland Qualify for Euro 2012
11-12 Ireland Euro Championship Winners (!!!)
12-13 Arsenal Intertoto Cup Winners, Currently 2nd in Premier in December, still involved in League Cup, Uefa Cup and FA Cup

My Career

06-07 Wrexham 1st in League Two by a country mile
07-08 Wrexham Mid December, 12th in League One, hopelessly out of our depth, pretty disillusioned by the whole thing :o

Irish Fan
23/01/2007, 8:57 AM
Lads as you probley know Tazskool is doing up a Eircom League patch in football manager 07 but he needs our help! Our league is very underrated let him know in the "FM07-Players Stats/Positions Changes" thread. Basically help fix unrealistic parts of FM. Even if its only one player you think should be changed please mention as every little helps!

Cheers for your help

23/01/2007, 8:59 AM
Lads as you probley know Tazskool is doing up a Eircom League patch in football manager 07 but he needs our help! Our league is very underrated let him know in the "FM07-Players Stats/Positions Changes" thread. Basically help fix unrealistic parts of FM. Even if its only one player you think should be changed please mention as every little helps!

Cheers for your help

No it isn't

Most of the teams are crap

A few of them are mediocre

I fail to see the problem

23/01/2007, 9:11 AM
Will there be an official player database update following the transfer window?

Irish Fan
23/01/2007, 9:20 AM
So how do you explain Derrys average ability in there squad is 70 while Gretnas average is 120................

Yeahs this patch will include a update of transfers so please help out by answering Tazskool questions in these forums.

Cheers

23/01/2007, 9:40 AM
So how do you explain Derrys average ability in there squad is 70 while Gretnas average is 120................

Yeahs this patch will include a update of transfers so please help out by answering Tazskool questions in these forums.

Cheers

Gretna are over-rated

Irish Fan
23/01/2007, 10:20 AM
How do you explain Mark Farrens pace being fairly low, Ciaran Martyns workrate and creativity being low, not much potential in Kevin Deery or Pat Mc Court? Explain Roy O Donovans poor finishing skills yet I seen some great finishing from him last season? And even the tranfer value of Roy O Donovan & Alan Bennet Cork rejected bids of at least 200,000 each! Were in FM you would be lucky to sell both of them for 25,000 each! Im sure you’ve seen Stephan Ward went to Wolves for 300,000 you can get him in FM 07 for 30,000!! It’s a joke! I could go on even futher but I hope you’ve got the idea.........

23/01/2007, 11:06 AM
To be honest I think FM rates the Eircom League the way the majority of Ireland, England, Scotland and Wales would rate it so I don't think it's a problem. Individual EL players stats being wrong I couldn't care about either, I'm sure they have a lot of individual player stats wrong, I think Ronaldo's (the real one) pace is 9 in it, I know he's put on wait but he can still move around for a fat bloke when he wants to

23/01/2007, 11:08 AM
Got really bored of this game really quick.

Won the 1st Division with UTD and haven't played it since.Waste of money really!! :rolleyes:

23/01/2007, 12:06 PM
Got really bored of this game really quick.

Won the 1st Division with UTD and haven't played it since.Waste of money really!! :rolleyes:

You were shafted Conor

The game I got has dozens of different playable leagues

23/01/2007, 12:09 PM
How do you explain Mark Farrens pace being fairly low, Ciaran Martyns workrate and creativity being low, not much potential in Kevin Deery or Pat Mc Court? Explain Roy O Donovans poor finishing skills yet I seen some great finishing from him last season? And even the tranfer value of Roy O Donovan & Alan Bennet Cork rejected bids of at least 200,000 each! Were in FM you would be lucky to sell both of them for 25,000 each! Im sure you’ve seen Stephan Ward went to Wolves for 300,000 you can get him in FM 07 for 30,000!! It’s a joke! I could go on even futher but I hope you’ve got the idea.........

Pat McCourt doesn't have much potential

I saw Paul Finucane run up from centre half once and score a 35 yard belter should his finishing be twenty?? :rolleyes:

Your being anal, if you plan on nit-picking through everyone of the players in FM be my guest but it's gonna take awhile...............................

Overall IMO they've got the balance spot on. In the real world the league of Ireland is largely crap. In FM it's largely crap ;)

23/01/2007, 12:17 PM
The actual standard of player isnt being reflected accurately in my opinion on FM .

23/01/2007, 12:49 PM
The actual standard of player isnt being reflected accurately in my opinion on FM .

But it's all relative to the limitations of the game

They might look crap but I'll put it to you this way....... The players are rated out of 200. Say Ronaldinho is a 190. What rating would you give Sligos best player?? Anyone who thinks it's 100+ is quite frankly mad

24/01/2007, 12:07 PM
I would give our best player a rating of 100 at least thats only done when doing the comparision with other players ive seen that have been given 100+ ratings in the game.

26/01/2007, 12:07 PM
I would give our best player a rating of 100 at least thats only done when doing the comparision with other players ive seen that have been given 100+ ratings in the game.

Then if we're after more realism should we not be asking FM to lower the ratings of lower league Scotland, England etc. instead of raising the levels of Irish players to absurd heights?

26/01/2007, 12:15 PM
That would then depend on your definition of absurd .
I would bet a lot of money that when the next edition or update of FM comes out that those former eL players playing in the UK now will magically find their stats and abilities to be better.

26/01/2007, 12:18 PM
That would then depend on your definition of absurd .
I would bet a lot of money that when the next edition or update of FM comes out that those former eL players playing in the UK now will magically find their stats and abilities to be better.

Saying that a player from Sligo is even half the player Ronaldinho is is pretty absurd to me

30/01/2007, 11:12 AM
Won the league with 9 points to spare over the Drogs. Then DJ Campbell, my top scorer announces he wants to go to Doncaster!!! WTF? So I say no. Then he just moans and moans so I let him go for 100 grand plus add ons that amount to another 50 grand. Then a news report says he was dissapointed to be transfer listed but he'll get his head down and try to perform for his new club. Whats the story with that?
I suppose it wasn't a bad bit of business as I'd got him for free. I then replaced him with Jason Byrne who I bought from Cardiff for 26 grand (Cardiff had bought him for 200 grand the season before).

30/01/2007, 11:58 AM
Won the league with 9 points to spare over the Drogs. Then DJ Campbell, my top scorer announces he wants to go to Doncaster!!! WTF? So I say no. Then he just moans and moans so I let him go for 100 grand plus add ons that amount to another 50 grand. Then a news report says he was dissapointed to be transfer listed but he'll get his head down and try to perform for his new club. Whats the story with that?
I suppose it wasn't a bad bit of business as I'd got him for free. I then replaced him with Jason Byrne who I bought from Cardiff for 26 grand (Cardiff had bought him for 200 grand the season before).

I've noticed Byrne and Crowe seem to go to a Championship club in the first season, flop and come home out of it alright. As for DJ, well he probably just read Cashley's story of victimhood and followed suit :)

30/01/2007, 2:41 PM
As for DJ, well he probably just read Cashley's story of victimhood and followed suit

It's hard being a pampered ignorant moron in this white mans world :)

Took over Gretna at the weekend

Romping the Scottish First. Richie Foran is a goal machine 24 in 20 starts :eek:

My UEFA cup group - Not so pretty :o

Rossi
30/01/2007, 8:59 PM
sorry does anybody have any up to date links to download the logos of eircom league clubs and kits?

31/01/2007, 5:27 PM
Won the Premier League with Arsenal in my second season in charge (not as easy as it sounds as Steve McLaren, their previous boos had decimated the squad and they had finished 9th the year before I took over), and retired having led Sheffield Wednesday to becoming a mid table Premier team, won the European Championship with Ireland and taken the Premier League crown, League Cup and the Intertoto Cup (ahem) with Arsenal. Proudest moment for me was either single handedly wiping out Wednesday's debts, or re-signing Alan Quinn on a free and purposefully destroying his career....in many ways I'm a petty man

Aaron
31/01/2007, 9:25 PM
sorry does anybody have any up to date links to download the logos of eircom league clubs and kits?

http://www.fmformation.net

Go down to graphics, if not in there go to downloads on down the screen

SeaniesRedArmy
20/02/2007, 11:51 PM
won the champions league with sligo rovers. bet barca 2-1 in the final

21/02/2007, 10:59 AM

With what players :rolleyes: :p

21/02/2007, 11:16 AM
Just completed my unbeaten league season with Gretna last night

Played 36 Won 29 Drew 7

Came top of a Uefa Cup group of Newcastle, Spartak Mocow, Sparta Prague and Wisla Krakow

Beat Xanthi home and away in the first knockout round then lostone nil on aggregate against West Ham

During the season Kenny Deuchar and Richie Foran shared 61 goals :eek:

BTW I realise managing Gretna is pretty easy but I'm still damn proud of those European Results :p

21/02/2007, 11:34 AM

Screenshots?

21/02/2007, 1:25 PM
What year?

Soper
21/02/2007, 3:03 PM
I won it with Sligo, Shels, Bohs and Cork. It became too formulated unfortunately. The 2013 season is usually when it happens.

21/02/2007, 4:50 PM
Just finished my first season with Kilkenny and it wasn't too bad. Although I finished 10th in the First Division I was only 16 points off the champions. Started off badly and that ****ed me up. Gary Deegan was the third best player in the division and Russel Payne got keeper of the year, both were in the team of the year! Best moments were knocking Longford out of the FAI Cup :o and beating Rovers 5-1 ;) :D

Final Standings (http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/6461/irishfirstdivisiontv0.png)

Kilkenny City Squad (http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/3876/kilkennycitysquadtm2.png)

Irish First Division Summary (http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/5179/irishfirstdivisionsummawv8.png)

21/02/2007, 5:10 PM
Final Standings (http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/6461/irishfirstdivisiontv0.png)
[/URL]

What a ridiculously tight league :eek:

Rebal Boy
21/02/2007, 5:25 PM
This is the most addivate game I've played. I could stay on it for 10hrs non stop if I could. Class game IMO.

21/02/2007, 11:27 PM
What a ridiculously tight league :eek:

I know, it makes it even worse. I didn't win a game until 14 games into the league or so :(

26/02/2007, 1:00 AM
One foot in the CL group stages. Just won the third qualifying round 1st leg 5-0 against Teplice. (2009 season)! :)

Starting 11-
GK-James Hoad
DR - Stephen Rice :eek:
DC - Paul Green
DC - Barry Ferguson :eek:
DC - Jason McGuinness (I'd keep going with the shockies but theres a limit on 'em!)
DL - Dessie Byrne (see above bracket)
MR - Fergal Harkin
MC - Harry Arter (19 yr old Signed from Charlton)
MC - Alan Quinn
ML - Graham Hopkins
FC - Stephen Ward

on the bench Jason Byrne, Alan Stubbs (yes that Alan Stubbs), Kevin Hunt, Mark Rossiter, Gary Rogers, Stephen o' Flynn, Jamie Vincent

The big difference in my teams performances this year seem to be down to the coaching staff I hired in the close season including a fitness coach. Also theres my own tactical genius...

EDIT:

Got there.
Drew, Milan, Marseille and Rangers!!! Given €3,900,000! Board immediately increased my transfer kitty and agreed to improve youth facilities.
Onwards and upwards!

Red&White
28/02/2007, 11:12 AM
Was looking for a football game for a while. Student so can't afford 45EU to get FM07 but found FM05 for 5.98EU yesterday and spend around 7 hours playing it yesterday as DCFC. It's infuriatingly addictive!

anto1208
28/02/2007, 11:34 AM
Im sickened i was in the champs league final V chesea and on thurs night my house got broken into and my laptop stolen !!! :mad:

28/02/2007, 11:43 AM
Update for FM 2007 with all the transfer window moves, plus some bug fixes here: http://www.footballmanager.net/en/article/21/1443.html

Also news of a Football Manager Quiz for your mobile here: http://www.footballmanager.net/en/article/21/1448.html

28/02/2007, 10:51 PM
Lost 2-0 at home to Milan but beat Rangers 2-0 at Ibrox!!!
In domestic news, I have won the AIC, The League cup, sitting pretty at the top of the League with an 11 point lead and 2 games in hand over the Drogs and in the FAI cup Semi.