View Full Version : Derry City 4-0 Sligo Rovers
Midgit
17/10/2006, 10:02 PM
So lads looks ominous for the cup tie!!
Need a big preformance needed against Cork to lift spirits ahead of cup tie!
Can we do it after a run of such poor results?
bomber82290
17/10/2006, 10:12 PM
Cup games are always a different story.Hope to see a great atmosphere in the showgies.Never forget the semi against cobh.People on the roofs of the stands.Dont think Olllie will let that happen.Maybe if we lift the roof.....
18/10/2006, 9:32 AM
not the best of nights
apparently the team only made it the brandywell at 7.00pm ..that didnt help id say
then for some reason we were wearing the derry city away jersies...again it wasnt a good sign:rolleyes:
player ratings..
peers was ok...made a mistake for the 2nd goal i think though
back 2 were....well they conceded 4!
foy was useless...sort yourself out foyzer!
hughes hit the post but apart from that not much
curran was harshly subbed early on..faz came on.did alright
o grady gave the ball away a lot.....must do better
turner...average again....no one did anything memroable
manseram didnt look fit...are these 2 games being used to get people fit?
singh tried really hard but couldnt get into it
it was very poor and i think our league season will just go flat now..finish 5th [well watch for pats maybe!]which is excellent
it was good of them to come over and applaud us at the end....we deserved it anyway!
red metal
18/10/2006, 9:57 AM
We were ****ing shocking from the start!We played 5 across midfield to TRY! and stop Derry playing.O grady was terrible gives the ball away about 90 percent of the time. His passsing would really want to change!Flash caught offside at least 20 time.Very frustrating to watch a heart less display like that!After watching Derry last night they are savage football team tere passing movement discipline they have it all.I hope im wrong but i think it could be the same story in the showgrounds!
Bravo
18/10/2006, 10:42 AM
We have never raised our level of performance since the Killester game, we looked like a junior side again last night & the team had no spirit, yet again! Derry destroyed us their passing and finishing was crisp their movement & skill a joy, their fitness far superior, you could argue that we made them look good?? We couldn’t string 3 passes together had a couple of half chances and were a couple of yards of the pace every time.
All this talk of the Bohs job, the constant complaining about the fans & the down right arrogance of Connors is taking its toll on the players. I have rarely if ever criticised him in the past but after last night I am mega pised off, He should concentrate on matters on the pitch, leave the fans alone, motivate his players and work on his own job.
A Cork Fan on here a few weeks ago stated that ‘in 5th spot we were in a false position’ at the time I took exception to his comment but looking at that last night you have to agree that not 1 of the Rovers players would have made the Derry Team, we need at least 8/9 players to compete at the top level, for a team in 5th position we should only be looking for depth in our squad to allow us compete. :mad: :mad: :D
red metal
18/10/2006, 11:35 AM
We have never raised our level of performance since the Killester game, we looked like a junior side again last night & the team had no spirit, yet again! Derry destroyed us their passing and finishing was crisp their movement & skill a joy, their fitness far superior, you could argue that we made them look good?? We couldn’t string 3 passes together had a couple of half chances and were a couple of yards of the pace every time.
All this talk of the Bohs job, the constant complaining about the fans & the down right arrogance of Connors is taking its toll on the players. I have rarely if ever criticised him in the past but after last night I am mega pised off, He should concentrate on matters on the pitch, leave the fans alone, motivate his players and work on his own job.
A Cork Fan on here a few weeks ago stated that ‘in 5th spot we were in a false position’ at the time I took exception to his comment but looking at that last night you have to agree that not 1 of the Rovers players would have made the Derry Team, we need at least 8/9 players to compete at the top level, for a team in 5th position we should only be looking for depth in our squad to allow us compete. :mad: :mad: :D
Spot on my friend!
Shedzer
18/10/2006, 1:02 PM
Absolutly shocking so it was.......
****ing disgrace.....
This beating has been coming to us since before the first Killester game..
Obviously didnt get there on time, players minds may have been else where...wandering around the bookies shouldnt be the order of the day on match day...
No kit??? nice one...
Playing a 4-5-1??? Still getting easily bet in midfield....
Curran starting and been taken off, bad decision, why start a young lad on the right instead of Faz, who may not be great but has played against big teams and big crowds...
We play good football on the ground, why does O'Hara constanly ignore the defense from kick outs and fire up big balls to Harpal and Darren, a2 lads who are great on the deck!
But the number one problem was effort! It just wasnt there at all..
They get 150 people paying good money up to Derry and they show 0% effort... I wouldnt mind if we got bet by good goals if we tried harder...
It was De-Ja-Vou for me or the first game in the Brandywell....
This is as critical as iv ever been about Rovers and i think its just.. I donbt give out at games, but Stevie Wonder would have been happy with what he saw last night....
Huge improvement needed if we are even going to compete with them Sunday week, never mind win it...
Thats me rant over
ps-Derry fans are great! Even the 3 little lads...
Absolutly shocking so it was.......
ps-Derry fans are great! Even the 3 little lads...
A 5 year old telling us we ‘wouldn’t score in a brothel’ Priceless.
18/10/2006, 4:02 PM
lads lets not jump on the bandwaggon here...ok a very bad result and a very poor perfomance but maybe we needed that we havnt got one all season and that is going to bring us back down to earth and show the players that sunday week derry wont be like they were the last time they came to the showgrounds and that we will have to raise our game again even higher than the performance we produced when we beat them 3-1! we're hitting a poor spell just at the very wrong time but hopefully a better performance and a closer game on friday night can give us a little more confidence although im not so sure we'll get a result of great satisfaction we need a good performance! its not the time now to get on there backs i agree that some of the professional players dont go about their business the right way on their free time but thats for another thread/disscussion....!! so just get behind all the team and hopefully out of the last 6 games(???)...we'll get enough points to secure 4th place and then go on and lift the cup!!
Fivesilver
18/10/2006, 4:26 PM
its not the time now to get on there backs .... so just get behind all the team
Couldn't have put it better. I couldn't care less if we only win two more games this season - I think you know the two I mean.
We've done way better than anyone expected, with a small squad. They may be thoroughly knackered. All I want is two more big performances.
18/10/2006, 4:54 PM
all my love for foyzer is gone now. how the f*ck can he actually put on weight as the season progresses&then gets a stupid yellow card like he did after puttin in little or no effort in the game. we're not gonna improve next season if o'grady's in the team. i know that's pure harsh on the home town hero but he's an absolutely atrocious passer of the ball. i never expected to get even a point last night but 4-0 was too much but our stall was set out from the start playin 4-5-1. all that being said i'll still prob be in cork&i still think we can win down there and then beat derry in the showgrounds
18/10/2006, 5:23 PM
Foyzer needs to be taken aside and giving a stirn warning about his weight,lifestyle and attitude,all of which arent up to what is expected of a professional footballer.
As regards O'Grady,his passing is getting worse and the main problem lies with the fact he is only part time.
Himself and McNamara need to be full time next season or they will lose their places in the side.
18/10/2006, 5:49 PM
Foyzer needs to be taken aside and giving a stirn warning about his weight,lifestyle and attitude,all of which arent up to what is expected of a professional footballer.
As regards O'Grady,his passing is getting worse and the main problem lies with the fact he is only part time.
Himself and McNamara need to be full time next season or they will lose their places in the side.
...sucj a stupid booking for Foyzer to pick up...completely Idiotic. As for the DErry fans, the way they all start clapping is fecking scary!
Midgit
18/10/2006, 5:51 PM
all my love for foyzer is gone now. how the f*ck can he actually put on weight as the season progresses
Foyzer for Ireland???????? drop him nd give mckenzie or even Coleman a chance! thats wat Foyzer needs
roversforever
18/10/2006, 5:57 PM
Foyzer for Ireland???????? drop him nd give mckenzie or even Coleman a chance! thats wat Foyzer needs
fickle f**king supporters
red arrow
18/10/2006, 7:45 PM
i thought it a shocking performance. there needs to be a lot of sorting out done. if its true what yeee say about players hanging around bookie shops on match day well then thats the managers job to sort out cause if there at that there not concentrrating on the job. someone needs to tell connors whats goin on (will he listen though). however if he can get the team to refocus fir the next ten days we can still do it. i hear foyzer is supposed to be on a special diet. he has definately put on weight since the season started but he was always going to be brought into question as it was always going to be a gamble signing him (he has massive potential but lets himself down. dont see this as criticism im as annoyed as anybody else but this is a big test for sean and if he can turn it around he will be a hero. keep the faith (watch out for choice)
red bellied
18/10/2006, 7:48 PM
Dont know about the special diet but rumour has it that he has moved in with Connor.
18/10/2006, 9:23 PM
seen hugshie in mollys an hour after the waterford match so its not all big foyzer thats on the junk food....apparantely its good for a athletes body like once a week, maybe keith heard that wrong and thought it was once a day!??
as for o'grady, his only problem is his passing......maybe going full time would improve that! he always gives away the ball...therefore gets frustrated, and with a player of his commitment he will always chase after the ball he's given away and tackles and gets booked thats why he has so many yellow cards! McNamara is great in the air...pretty poor on the ground!! not fast really! but i agree about foy he has put on weight and seems to have lost a bit of interest!!
IMO theres going to be plenty of players leaving after this season....due to boredome of the town,interest from english clubs other reasons....IMO mansaram,turner,judge,foy,mckenzie may all leave!
19/10/2006, 8:45 AM
IMO mansaram,turner,judge,foy,mckenzie may all leave!
yeah i think mansaram will go if we dont win the cup....i can see mckenzie goin too. IMO faz,hughes,foy,judge,mansaram and brush may leave pre-season too. for all we know Sean could be gone too!:(
19/10/2006, 3:30 PM
I think mc kenzie definatley will because he's a shy lad...might miss home and he never gets a game and he must be juat totally bored out of his tree in sligo doing nothing all day....especially after coming from a big city like edinburgh! also some of the players in the preogramme profiles questionnaire thingy say their ambition is to move to england so thats not a good sign for the rovers really if there ambition is to leave for a ''bigger'' club!