View Full Version : Same old arguements between the two

17/10/2006, 1:44 PM
Tommy the flare was a once off and AFAIK we're not been fined for it.It added to an incredible atmosphere and although it shouldn't have got into the wrong hands which i partly take responsibility for it was sureal to see it.No such repeat will happen against Dundalk-you have my word.However you're not correct in all that you're saying.Rovers we're fined that much for
1-Pitch invasions which held the game up on numerous times.
2-The mis usage of flares...ie...they threw them on to the pitch.Athlone lads let off a flare too and recieved no fine.Shels let off 3 against Waterford-no fine.
Dundalk v pats-No fine for Dundalk.if Rovers didn't throw them onto the pich and hold the game up they probably would have got away with it.
Also don't be worried about our "element"...we'll as per usual cause no trouble or have you forgotten?I'd be more worried about the Dundalk lads.I know for a fact they have flares and fireworks for Friday.You we're warned!;)

17/10/2006, 2:55 PM
Conor the only reason we werent reported was it wasnt seen by the FAI Observer and you had given your word that this would not happen.Some people had their hair and jackets burned by one of the flares so if that isnt misusage of a flare i dont know what is.

Being in possesion of a lighted flare is actually an arrestable offence conor or have you not checked that out.

17/10/2006, 3:27 PM
Conor the only reason we werent reported was it wasnt seen by the FAI Observer and you had given your word that this would not happen.Some people had their hair and jackets burned by one of the flares so if that isnt misusage of a flare i dont know what is.

Being in possesion of a lighted flare is actually an arrestable offence conor or have you not checked that out.

Yes Tommy i know because it got inot the wrong hands and i regret that.Do you actually think that a Guard would come and say "your under arrest":rolleyes: .
Also don't put the entire blame on me with "my word".You said no flares and the club said no flares.I'd say you're actaully delighted you finally have something to give out about and that's what pains me the most.I'd love to see you stewarding Dublin derby's every week where there actually is trouble.The atmposphere and behaviour of supporters v Rovers was a credit to GUFC.Harpering on every week about flares etc gets very tiresome and it's why alot of people think there's a us v them between the club and supporters.As far as i rememeber we've only got fined this year because of an incident between the stewards and the ref.Nobody came on and had a go because the stewards do a great job in Terryland every week....it should be vice versa with this aswell.

GUISAUltra
17/10/2006, 3:38 PM
GREAT POINT CONOR, we havent been in one bit of trouble all year apart from that muppet against rovers and the only time we had got fined was when an unnamed angry steward had a go at the ref and the ref felt threatened and so we got stuck with a fine. now theres no point in fans paying good money to go into terryland every other week and then our stewards go and waste that money by having a go at the ref

17/10/2006, 3:42 PM
Conor all I am trying to do is my job flares are illegal not just because the FAI says so but also because the gardai say so.Myself and five other stewards have gone on numerous courses to Dublin where the Gardai from Pearse Street have laid it on the line about Flares and yes you and Barry were asked to a meeting before the Rovers game and were asked there to make sure there were no Flares or Smoke Bombs and you both said there wouldnt be fact.

To treat this issue as trivial and an us and them situation is ridiculous and to equate it with me and another steward saying (not swearing) that the referee had made a mistake in allowing Harps goal stand is slightly disingenous.

All stewards work voluntarily for the club and are all supporters at heart so to say that we are anti - supporters is patently wrong .We are here to make the game enjoyable for all fans of GUFC and the visiting team and I find it hard to take that we are being slated for doing our job.

17/10/2006, 3:55 PM
Conor all I am trying to do is my job flares are illegal not just because the FAI says so but also because the gardai say so.Myself and five other stewards have gone on numerous courses to Dublin where the Gardai from Pearse Street have laid it on the line about Flares and yes you and Barry were asked to a meeting before the Rovers game and were asked there to make sure there were no Flares or Smoke Bombs and you both said there wouldnt be fact.

To treat this issue as trivial and an us and them situation is ridiculous and to equate it with me and another steward saying (not swearing) that the referee had made a mistake in allowing Harps goal stand is slightly disingenous.

All stewards work voluntarily for the club and are all supporters at heart so to say that we are anti - supporters is patently wrong .We are here to make the game enjoyable for all fans of GUFC and the visiting team and I find it hard to take that we are being slated for doing our job.

You just took my whole post out of context.I said "the stewards are doing a great job" where did i slate yee?Also no point in playing the "stewards are voluntary"card.What do supporters get paid to follow UTD every week.We've both followed UTD when they we're ****e and it's awful unfair that myself and Barry are pretty much shuned upon by certain people...who we've been there longer than and we're only 17 for what happened last Friday.You don't even know the circumstances surrounding the flare.You find it hard to take criticism well so do i.Especially when i like many other GUFC supporters break my arse every week for UTD just like those in the club.Last night myself and barry we're 1hr and a half in the car covering the town in posters.In 5 minutes i'm off to Woodies to get poles for the flags on Friday...the money of which has been given by supporters and GUST.I think the issue should be treated as trivial really because there was no major consequences in general.
I'm ****ed off now at this stage-the bigger picture is been missed by so many.:mad:

eamo1
17/10/2006, 7:47 PM
where is the love?????:) .seriously,if ye want to have it out then do it in the private messages section or better yet get together and sort it out,just give it a rest from this thread and get back to the topic please.
cant wait for the game,my new ultras firm might make its debut at it;) ;) ,only messing.

17/10/2006, 9:17 PM
Right lads,

We are all getting tired of the 2 of ye arguing ! Anymore if ye go off topic with arguements between the 2 of ye it will be moved here !! Otherwise just PM each other and let the rest of us get on with whatever the topic is.

17/10/2006, 9:34 PM
Won't apologise for anything i've said but will for going off topic.

18/10/2006, 8:27 AM
I wouldnt have expected anything else Conor.

MyTown
18/10/2006, 9:52 AM
I hope the moderator will move this somewhere else before Friday.

It's makin' me sad. We don't have to live with each other (Thank God). We get together roughly once a fortnight (or a week for you loyal away day guys) and we share the wish for a successful local soccer team.

Can we please keep the focus there? It's bad enough to have Dundalk, Sligo, the disaffected Galway public and whoever else kicking lumps out of us, so can we stop doin' it to ourselves?

I'm not looking to have the last word on this, but my view is that only for a lot of people who came to Terryland originally as supporters became involved in the running of the club, there wouldn't be a club in existence at all.

Conor: Hopefully the day will come when you & your buddies will be key decision makers in the day to day running of the club and all the good things you try to bring as a supporter can be translated to that level.

If gufct is, who I think he is, then I have to stand up and be counted to say that I know he has put a huge effort into SUPPORTING the club over a long number of years. In very practical ways with lotto sales, stewarding and hard cash - he literally has consistently put his money where his mouth is. I know he has roped in huge support from significant others in his personal life too.

None of this means I'd like to spend longer than a half hour on a desert island with him & I'm sure the feeling is mutual. But fair is fair. He has given loads to the club over the years just as you are doing now and hopefully will for years to come.

Fair play to you for your brilliant efforts home and away. Fair play to gufct for his.

Now roll on Friday. Come on United.

corbyeire
18/10/2006, 10:16 AM
you should be brougth up north mytown

18/10/2006, 10:18 AM
I hope the moderator will move this somewhere else before Friday.

Well if people stopped posting here it would slowly disappear down the pecking order !!!!

Patrick Dunne
18/10/2006, 10:20 AM
Stop posting here !

GuisaSaigon
18/10/2006, 10:28 AM
No More Posting !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

corbyeire
18/10/2006, 10:39 AM
yea...

18/10/2006, 10:40 AM
OK, it aint funny anymore !!!

Patrick Dunne
18/10/2006, 10:41 AM
The childish mentality of some people on this forum is unbelievable.

18/10/2006, 10:43 AM
I know !

corbyeire
18/10/2006, 10:58 AM
just lock it then!

18/10/2006, 11:03 AM
just lock it then!

If you don't there's a danger people will post here anything at all just to increase their post count.;)

GUISAUltra
18/10/2006, 11:05 AM
Hi:D:D:D

GuisaSaigon
18/10/2006, 11:29 AM
If you don't there's a danger people will post here anything at all just to increase their post count.;)

I hadn't thought of that:D

18/10/2006, 11:30 AM
I hadn't thought of that:D

See what I mean:p

18/10/2006, 12:11 PM
This thread is too long for me to be bothered reading. Can someone give me the gist of it in a couple of it in less than 100 words?

JW.
18/10/2006, 12:17 PM
"A load of Ballacks".