View Full Version : "Things Football Could Learn from GAA"

26/09/2002, 7:21 PM
this was posted on the peoplesrepublicofcork.com mesage board. makes an interesting read:

Larry Ryan reckons it might be time to follow Croker's lead

Now that football looks set to go cap in hand to the GAH for the lend of a field for a few weeks, maybe it's as good a time as any to look to our national sports for some more pointers for the future of the beautiful game in this country. Here's a few for starters.

Professionalism; "Our 6AM World Cup Bender" boasts Quinny. As Young Kenny put it on clarehurlers.com, "Jaysus, you'd give up the drink if twas only an oul county B final you were in, never mind the World Cup!!" Which are the amateurs?

Infrastructure; Forget your National Stadiums for a second. How many junior footballers are still committing indecent exposure-related crimes while togging out in cars and parks across the land every Sunday? Sure the situation has improved over the last ten years, but the GAA have long ensured their boys retain at least a measure of dignity when going about their weekend leisure.

Common Decency; Just look at the behaviour of our International stars in post-match interviews. Surly, terse, often downright rude. Think of Steve "Captain Miserable" Staunton's gloomy countenance during Billo's World Cup chats if you like. Now think of DJ Carey, or Jamsie O'Connor, or Brian Corcoran. Think of the dignity of Dara O'Shea in defeat last Sunday. Think manners.

Players Who Know Their Place; The sickening bunch of egotists that felt they could marsh on Russia without their leader got what they deserved. Is there no respect, no sense of place? Is Jason McAteer's opinion of himself so inflated he things he's in a position to mock Roy Keane? Does Matt Holland place his personal enjoyment in playing for Ireland above the needs of the team? Look at the way the Kilkenny players welcomed DJ Carey back to the fold in advance of their All-Ireland semi-final. No begrudgery, no malice. His greatness had earned him the right to special favours. These guys knew their place. And these guys put their county before themselves.

Grass-roots Support; "People are lazy," the Chicken Leaguers tell us. "People just want to watch sport down the pub," they'll have us believe, by way of explaining Shels' latest embarrassing crowd. Meanwhile the North Tipp Intermediate final will gather as many punters as Shamrock Rovers attract to any of their vagrant homes. Is it the people, or is it the product?

Real Heroes; Nicholas English or Mick McCarthy? Jimmy Barry Murphy or Jack Charlton? DJ Carey or Kev Kilbane? Dara O'Shea or Matt Holland? Padraig Joyce or Robbie Keane? Who would you want at your back in the trenches? And who would you rather discuss it with later?

Ambition; Does Irish international football even matter any more? After all, we're told how we did so well at the World Cup for a small island nation. 100,000 of us gathered in celebration. How could we expect any more? Does it matter if we fail to qualify for these Euro Champs? After all, how can we realistically compete with a nation the size of Russia? Armagh didn't use a history of non-achievement as a crutch for more failure last Sunday. Nor did Clare, Offaly, and Galway in recent hurling championships. In fact, Offaly are the Ireland of World football - at least in hurling population terms. Would Brian Whelehan roll out of his boozer locked, at six in the morning ten days before the All-Ireland, on the basis that, ah sure, how could he expect to win it and he up against a county the size of Limerick - with a city an' all in it. Ah cop on lads.

27/09/2002, 9:28 AM
GAA only survives cos people don't have anyone to compare the players/teams with.

Theres no surprise irish football did well pre-tv days cos irish players didn't suffer by comparison by the tv footballers.

27/09/2002, 10:29 AM
i have to say though, it hit the nail on the head as regards attitude and peoples mindsets towards Irish football/FAI. And international players irrespective of their success (??) in the world cup, most of them seem not to give a toss. And you would have to wonder will we actually get to the next euro's.

27/09/2002, 11:31 AM
Originally posted by pete
GAA only survives cos people don't have anyone to compare the players/teams with.

Theres no surprise irish football did well pre-tv days cos irish players didn't suffer by comparison by the tv footballers.
Good point. there was a lot in that article I don´t really agree with, but it was thought provoking at least.

27/09/2002, 11:36 AM
Obviously city will have trouble packing in 5-8k a game all season or even next season but thats actually a pretty decent crowd by european standards.

If you excluse the old firm any of the other SPL clubs wouldn't be getting more for their other games. Likewise most of those scandanavian & mid level euro leagues only get good crowd for the big local derbys.

The 2 things the eL fails miserably at is cash for tv rights & revenues from transfer fees. probably more scope to incrase the later to start with but unless the eL gets good money for players we'll never progress.

27/09/2002, 11:42 AM
Yeah, I mean, if you look at the attendances in France or Belgium for example, we wouldn´t be too far behind, and while neither of those leagues are setting european competition on fire, they´re not being emabrassed by any means.

People always talking bout us copying norway. How about copying france? setting up a youth academy etc 20 years ago has paid off for them. they know (like us) they can´t keep their best players at home, but they have a decent league all the same.

01/10/2002, 2:48 PM
Some interesting points but overall I think article is a lot of ****. I think there are just as many surly gah players as there are soccer players anyway and to be totally honest it's clearly an argument presented by somebody who hasn't a clue what they're talking about, somebody who hasn't bothered to try out Irish soccer. And to be honest is it just me or is it bloody ridiculous to make a mockery of your national league and then bemoan the problems facing the game at international level. Anybody ever wonder why the Gah never took off at international level? And all these Irish ex-pats don't count as foeigners!