View Full Version : Can we still qualify?
liam88
11/10/2006, 10:31 PM
If we win all our remaining games?
Or is it too late?
Soper
11/10/2006, 10:33 PM
Too late I feel.Still think we might drop points against Wales and Slovakia, whilst earning draws against the big 2, at best.
11/10/2006, 10:43 PM
After Cyprus qualification looks remote, what would help is if either Germany or the Czechs take six points out of each other, that would give us a chance at the runners up spot. Oh yeah and we would probably have to win all our remaining games too, thats the really tricky bit ;) A few more shock results wouldn't do us any harm either, but it's hard to see San Marino beating Germany etc....
Would also help if Cyprus took some points off Germany or Czechs, 4 draws would be lovely :)
We need a strong ream to take points off the other teams to make up for the ones we have already lost, that might give us a chance as runner up.
Colbert Report
12/10/2006, 1:26 AM
Germany have won four matches out of four so far. What we need is Germany to beat the Czechs twice and hopefully Cyprus, Wales and Slovakia can take some points off of the Czechs as well. I can't see us beating the Czechs away but if we can get a draw against them and a draw against the Germans at home, and win all our remaining matches then we should have a remote chance at second. Can't see it happening though, no way we'll take twelve points from Wales and Slovakia. Might be lucky to get six.
12/10/2006, 8:04 AM
Can we still qualify? Mathematically yes.
Will we still qualify? No.
12/10/2006, 8:15 AM
If we beat San Marino (twice) and Wales at home we'll have 10 points. Were the Germans to beat the Czech's away then we'd be level on points with Koller and co but they'd have a game in hand.
We have a small chance - not likely but it'd take some famous wins over the Germans and a few away wins to make it happen.
Dr. Ogba
12/10/2006, 8:59 AM
In a word....no
endabob1
12/10/2006, 9:03 AM
Mathematically - Yes.
Realistically - No. Our only chance is for Germany to run away with the group, which they're doing a good job of so far. We would still need to beat Wales, Slovakia & San Marino Home & Away, Beat Cyprus at Home and pick something up against the Germans & Czechs in the other games. If we do all of that then we might scrape 2nd but realistically it's at best a scrap for 3rd with Wales & Slovakia or at worst a scrap for 5th with Cyprus!
12/10/2006, 9:10 AM
Saturday told us we probably wouldn't qualify. Last night not beating the Czechs at home confirms we won't. That's why I was so disappointed. Not with the performance but with the result. It meant yet another European campaign with no qualification. Realistically, we won't win in Prague. We won't beat Germany at home and we'll be doing well to pick up anything in Slovakia. Way too much ground to pick up on the Czechs.
Gutted.
For our seeding sake we must try and aim for 3rd place and even that is a big ask.
12/10/2006, 9:26 AM
We wont win in Prague cause we are not playing in Prague.
12/10/2006, 9:46 AM
Whether it's in Prague, Brno, Ostrava, Zlín, Plzeň, Pardubice, Hradec Králové, České Budějovice, Liberec, Olomouc or Ústí nad Labem we won't win.
12/10/2006, 10:08 AM
We might scrape 2nd place. We need the Germans to blitz their way to first beating everyone except ourselves at home to level things out. We'd need to beat the Czechs away or possibly draw and hope teams take points off them. We'd really need to be talking about beating Slovakia and Wales home and away and Cyprus at home to have any chance at all. Not to mention not screwing up the San Marino games.
The Swordsman
12/10/2006, 10:16 AM
The timing of the remaining games is of some advantage to us.
The next two games are against San Marino home and away. Should get six points. Then we have Wales and Slovakia in Croker in March. No reason why we can’t get six points from these if we play the way we did last night.
We’ve no end of season games. This is a blessing as we generally don’t do well in these. Hopefully there will be no friendlies arranged so the winning streak can remain unbroken.
Then we’re away to Slovakia and Czech Republic next September. These games are the key and it depends on how the team has developed in the meantime but if we could get four points from these games, we would still be in with a shout. Looking at the Czechs last night, I’m not convinced that they’re anywhere near as good as the team that should have won Euro 2004.
In October we have Germany and Cyprus at home. Germany are the outstanding team in the group but we will have 70,000 packed into Croker for that game. The main problem for Ireland here is that Germany will have only played the Czechs once at this stage and are not likely to have qualified. They will play the Czechs the same night we play Cyprus – it’s a pity that those two rounds of matches weren’t the other way round. If they were, Germany may have qualified before they meet us. In any case, I think we need to win this one. We’ll need a huge performance and a lot of luck, a la Holland 2001. For the Cyprus game we’ll get sweet revenge for last weekend, so it’s Ireland 25 Cyprus 0 (Andy O’Brien with six hat tricks:) ).
Our last match next November is away to Wales. If we’re not out of contention at this stage, this will have the same significance as the NI game had in Nov. 1993.
As was said elsewhere, what we need to happen elsewhere is for Germany to beat everyone twice except us. I do believe this can happen. It would also help if the so called lesser teams such as Wales and Slovakia take points off the Czech Republic.
What people seem to forget is that the Cyprus defeat, horrible as it was, was only three points. We cannot afford another performance like that. Our performances need to be at least as good as last night to win against the lesser teams. It going to have to be even better against the bigger teams and I think it can be–remember last night’s squad were missing several key players.
Keep the faith.
londonirish17
12/10/2006, 10:24 AM
No... I am afraid not... to late already.
DeNiro
12/10/2006, 10:30 AM
While this sounds very optimistic I reckon there's a slight chance. In a year's time, the squad will be more experienced and Staunton will be as well. Maybe Bobby Robson (or his replacement) will be in place to help us. There are freak results in every international group. Ours will be no different. We've had our one, unfortunately against us. I reckon we will get one in our favour. Wales aren't up to much I think. I think it would be wise to play friendlies at every occasion though! But I suspect we are limited with the free weeks and Croke Park. Even 'B' internationals in Tolka / Dalymount would be of great benefit.
bluemovie
12/10/2006, 10:45 AM
No chance. The group is pretty much wrapped up already with Germany and the Czechs in very strong positions. The hope when the draw was made was that teams would take points off the top seeds, but the Czechs went to Slovakia in September and won 3-0. The top two should cruise through with an almighty battle for third place.
harps1954
12/10/2006, 11:04 AM
Although I am optimistic about the future after last night's performance, I don't think we'll qualify for the finals. I would ask the question . . are we good enough? Do we expect too much from our team?
So far we have played three games and picked up just one point from a home game and have lost both our away games. Where is the evidence on last night's performance that we can beat the Germans at home, beat Slovakia home and away and beat Wales home and away. I can see us getting full points against San Marino home and away and against Cyprus at home and possibly against Wales at home. After that, the best I can see us getting out of the other games is draws - just like last night. If we can finish third, I think it will be a good campaign.
People always talk on this message board about the last time we beat a top nation away from home in a competitive game, and most point to Scotland in 1987 (when Scotland were considered a top nation). I would also like to question when we last beat a top nation at HOME. Let's look back at the past campaigns:
Euro 2008 Qualifiers:
Czech Republic at home (drew 1-1)
WC 2006 Qualifiers:
Israel at home (drew 2-2)
France at home (lost 0-1)
Switzerland at home (drew 0-0)
Euro 2004 Qualifiers:
Switzerland at home (lost 1-2)
Russia at home (drew 1-1)
WC 2002 Qualifiers:
Portugal at home (drew 1-1)
Holland at home (WON 1-0) on 1st Sept 2001
So, we have to go back five full years to see the last time we actually beat any of the top nations in our qualifying groups at home. So in eight HOME games against the strongers nations in our qualifying groups, we have won 1; drew 5 and lost 2. Also, apart from the 0-0 draw with Switzerland in Kerr's last match, we actually took the lead in the other four matches that we ended up drawing. Keane gave us the lead against Portugal in the 2002 qualifers; Duffy gave us the lead against Russia in the 2004 qualifers, we led 2-0 against Israel in the last campaign; and last night Kevin Kilbane gave us the lead against the Czechs.
Therefore, I think it is too much to expect us to pick up enough points to catch either the Germans or the Czechs. Just where will these points come from?
12/10/2006, 11:21 AM
Not a hope.
blobbyblob
12/10/2006, 11:22 AM
Id be looking at between 18-20 points as a successful campaign at this stage. What happens after that I dunno
I reckon between 21-24 should get a play off
Paulie
12/10/2006, 11:25 AM
No play-off for this one. The top two qualify automatically.
harps1954
12/10/2006, 11:26 AM
Id be looking at between 18-20 points as a successful campaign at this stage. What happens after that I dunno
There is no play-off. Top two qualify automatically.
12/10/2006, 11:28 AM
top two teams qualify automatically...tsch
blobbyblob
12/10/2006, 11:30 AM
21-24 qualify then - you know what im saying
The Swordsman
12/10/2006, 11:43 AM
No chance. The group is pretty much wrapped up already with Germany and the Czechs in very strong positions. The hope when the draw was made was that teams would take points off the top seeds, but the Czechs went to Slovakia in September and won 3-0. The top two should cruise through with an almighty battle for third place.
You have to remember that the top two teams have to play each other. If one (preferably Germany) can take six points off the other this will have a huge effect on the group.
I don't think Germany will slip up. But the Czechs might and that is our chink of light. We were the better team against them last night, despite having some of our key players missing. With a little bit more luck, we could have beaten them. Wales and Slovakia (local rivals) may cause them problems, too.
I have Germany favs to top the group. We don't have a snowball's chance in hell in topping the group.
Czech Rep are favourites to get second. We have an outside chance.
Keep the faith:p
Whether it's in Prague, Brno, Ostrava, Zlín, Plzeň, Pardubice, Hradec Králové, České Budějovice, Liberec, Olomouc or Ústí nad Labem we won't win.
Substitute that for Slovakia's cities and when the Germans come looking for a win and the same point can be made. All you need to do is want to win against Ireland and you could probably do it.
Whether it be Mathmatically, physically, sportily, chemically, biologically, irish-ly, carsley, on paper-ly, we WILL NOT qualify from this group.
I though Saturday would remove any such pointless, fruitless talk, but alas no. Stop making failure more painful than it already is.
bluemovie
12/10/2006, 12:00 PM
I'm quite happy wallowing in my pessimism. I'll shout and sing as loudly as anyone at the matches, but unfortunately, The Gaffer has taken this to mean that we're all 100% behind him. I'm not. I think he's the wrong man for the job. I don't think we stand any chance of qualifying. I don't see things improving majorly under him. And I think the longer he stays in the job, the more damage will be done. It's not a personal grudge. He was one of my childhood heroes and a decent man, but he's not up to the job.
The Czechs didn't stretch themselves last night. I'd be very surprised if we got a point in Prague. They took the Slovaks apart away from home, so I'd expect them to beat Slovakia in Prague too. So even if we got 12 points from Wales and Slovakia (which I really don't see happening either), I still think the Czechs and Germany would be home and dry.
mjpcc
12/10/2006, 12:22 PM
Not a chance.
The most likely team to screw up against weaker opposition is us. we have a history of it.
We always seem to raise our game for the big guns. But can anyone honestly see up taking 12 points from Wales and Slovakia and getting a result against Germany at home or the Czechs away.
On top of that we need Germany to do us a favour and beat every one else every game.
12/10/2006, 12:28 PM
21-24 qualify then - you know what im saying
eh that means that you think the most either germany or czech are going to get from their next 9 and 8 matches respectively are 12 and 11 points respectively!!! i dont think so blobbyblob!!!!
youngirish
12/10/2006, 12:59 PM
Be realistic. We haven't a hope in hell of qualfication. We got hammerred by Cyrpus ffs. The Czechs and the Germans won't drop points against the likes of them.
Third place is not beyond us however.
Billsthoughts
12/10/2006, 1:12 PM
they dont hand out prizes for third place.
no proper manager = no hope.
12/10/2006, 1:20 PM
I think we're playing for third.
Us and San Marino are the only teams that will drop points in Cyprus.
The Germans won't drop points anywhere unlikely. They consider that inefficient. Might split them with Czech but that's about it.
Slovakia will be extremely tricky for us -home and away -as there'll be a creeping assumption that if we can get something off Czech then...
Wales will have one good win in this campaign. I hope to fcuk it's not against us. I suspect it could be against Czech going on last night.
The Welsh games will be extremely tough for us.
That we have the ability to beat them is certain, the consistency of performance is the doubt and the problem.
Metrostars
12/10/2006, 2:43 PM
Although it is unlikely we could still qualify.
Our next 2 games are against San Marino, we should bag 6 points. Czech's next game is at home to Germany in March, the same day we're at home to Wales. Should we manage a win and if Germany get an away draw, this would be a big boost for us. A few days later we play Slovakia at home(we win) and Czechs are at home to Cyprus.
We don't play in June 07 while Czechs have a difficult away game in Wales(my hope a draw). By then the Czechs will have 15 points to Ireland's 13.
Then come the two big away games in 4 days in September to Slovakia and the Czechs. 2 wins, yeah? We'll have 19 to Czechs 18 after they beat SM.
In October, we get a draw at home with Germany and a few days later, frustrated there were unable to do so in Croke Park, they beat the Czechs to clinch the group, while Ireland gets revenge on Cyprus. Ireland 23 Czechs 18.
In November, neighbours Slovakia hold the Czechs to a draw, while Ireland also draw with Wales to clinch second place, and the final win for the Czechs over Cyprus is purely academic, final talley, Ireland 24, Czechs 22.
Remaining games: Ireland 7wins(6 in a row), 1 draw Czechs 3 wins, 3 draws, 2 losses
Wake me up from my dream when you get a chance!
12/10/2006, 3:05 PM
Not a chance.
The most likely team to screw up against weaker opposition is us. we have a history of it.
There was only a glimmer after the Czechs beat Slovakia away.
The Czechs have slipped up badly themselves away to Malta and Iceland for the WCQ '02. This time their last game is against Cyprus away, not very likely then.
antrimgreen
12/10/2006, 3:47 PM
The reality of the situation is that, we should have had at least 4 points on the board at this stage, so if we do well from here on in, the dire display in Cyrpus has left qualification hopes completly dashed. However i will continue to pray for the miracle!
bmozza
12/10/2006, 4:05 PM
I think our table will look like this after our next two games. Then in the next set of games, the Germans play the Czechs!!
................Played..........Pts
Germany.......4............ 12
Czechs.........4.............10
Ireland.........4..............7
Slovakia.......4..............6
Wales..........3..............3
Cyprus.........4..............3
San Marino....4.............0
It's very early to count us out yet.
Clipper
12/10/2006, 4:08 PM
Bit of realism lads, we have no hope. 1 point from 3 games, enough said. If Robbie's header (using the term loosely there) had have gone in then we might have had a very very slim chance, but it didn't, we're out.
I hope and pray that I'm wrong but it's all about salvaging our seeding at this stage!
12/10/2006, 4:14 PM
I think our table will look like this after our next two games. Then in the next set of games, the Germans play the Czechs!!
................Played..........Pts
Germany.......4............ 12
Czechs.........4.............10
Ireland.........4..............7
Slovakia.......4..............6
Wales..........3..............3
Cyprus.........4..............3
San Marino....4.............0
since when did they start giving out 6 points to the irish for a win?
bmozza
12/10/2006, 4:25 PM
since when did they start giving out 6 points to the irish for a win?
sorry, we'll have played 5.:rolleyes:
The reality of the situation is that, we should have had at least 4 points on the board at this stage, so if we do well from here on in, the dire display in Cyrpus has left qualification hopes completly dashed. However i will continue to pray for the miracle!
Isnt that what we are always left saying tho??? Same after the 2 israel games we should have had 6 points from those 2 games. do we just have higher expectations then are realistic or are we just let down by a team who should be winning more???
Heart says roll on Switzerland/ Austria
Head says roll on 2010 campaign...
13/10/2006, 10:41 AM
To win our remaining home games and at least one proper away victory will be an acceptable outcome from this position in my opinion.
3rd place is definitely up for grabs. Second is fanciful. To can go into the next campaign with a winning habit, especially away from home, is the very least we should be aiming for.
smithy
13/10/2006, 11:58 PM
Slovakia are a class act. I watched them take Wales apart on Saturday in a manner that we could only dream of.
They'll finish 3rd. If we're lucky we'll get 4th. But hey . . . de gaffur is building for de future now with de lads.
They looked poor against the Germans though. With the philosophy of the new German coach - Loew - the Germans will want to win every game. Look how Loew's team played against San Marino - they'll take every game seriously!
So, if Germany wins 2x against the Czechs - there's a definitely a chance for Ireland.
Midgit
14/10/2006, 4:37 PM
No Way!!!!!!!!
theleprechaun
15/10/2006, 2:02 PM
no. we still can do it yet
15/10/2006, 2:20 PM
Qualification is still possible. 6 points against San Marino is guaranteed, as is 3 points against Cyprus at home. 6 points against Wales I feel is all but assured, if we play to the top of our game. I think we will beat Slovakia at home, but the away game could be tricky. That would leave us with 19 points, with games against Czech Rep(a), Germany(h) and Slovakia(a).
We're 6 points behind the Czechs if we win our game in hand, and they still have to play Germany twice. It looks like it will all come down to our game against the Czechs.
bmozza
16/10/2006, 11:18 AM
I would hate for most of you boys to be on my Sunday side!! 3 games gone and it's all over already. No way, obviously things do not look favourable to say the least, but we aren't out of it until it's mathmatically impossible, and that is a long way off yet. The thing about this group is that everyone can take points off each other bar San Marino. We just need to get our own ship right and win as many games left as possible. We can stilll beat anyone on our day in Dublin, we just need to make sure we show up for every game, unlike in Cyprus.
DeNiro
16/10/2006, 11:42 AM
International football is so unpredictable that it's hard to say what will happen. In fact, if we remember back to our qualifying group for Euro 96, we drew with Liechtenstein, lost twice to Austria, narrowly beat Latvia and lost to Portugal and we still ended up in 2nd place for playoffs. At the start of campaigns results are relatively predictable (Cyprus - Ireland aside) but become a lottery at the end. I do reckon the Germans will always be strong and could go the whole group unbeaten and dare I say with a 100% record.
16/10/2006, 12:01 PM
We can stilll beat anyone on our day in Dublin, we just need to make sure we show up for every game, unlike in Cyprus.
no not in a long time
i think what is more disturbing than the results is that staunton doesnt look like he has any idea of what to do, there is no way we will qualify
also wales are not as bad as people think, they still played decent enough football against the slovaks, just that those early goals took a lot out of them
RogerMilla
16/10/2006, 1:40 PM
wales will up their game when they play us. it just depends if our players can match their passion , nevermind the cyprus game , i just wish we had beaten the czechs
bmozza
16/10/2006, 1:56 PM
I don't think Wales will be easy beat over two legs, not by any means, and I also think we're well and truly up against it to qualify, but I certainly haven't given up hope and I do think we can still do it.
16/10/2006, 2:20 PM
To can go into the next campaign with a winning habit, especially away from home, is the very least we should be aiming for.
Winning habit away from home:eek: . We never had it - even under Big Jack where the best result was a win against Scotland in Hampden. Other than that I am not sure whether we've ever beaten a Top 50 team away from home in the last 25 years (I remember a win donkeys years ago against Czeckoslovakia I think when qualification was no longer possible). Amazing statistic but one that still doesn't dampen the enthusiasm or optimism of the travelling hordes. Other than Cyprus, Portugal and Basel 1, we have by and large been difficult to beat away but actually beating a rival away - alas not.