http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/press/athlone-v-galway-utd-live-on-tg4.html
for more info
JC_GUFC
11/10/2006, 7:13 PM
Unbelievable!
I just booked the Friday off work for the last ever trip to Mel's! :o
damoGUFC
11/10/2006, 7:33 PM
It's not in St.Mels Park this time, its Dubarry Park in Athlone..
GUISAUltra
11/10/2006, 8:39 PM
disappointed not to be playing them in saint mels as i wanted our last game there to be a victory and not a loss but on a better note at least we dont have to go through saint mels to get to the ground. what a bad estate to go through
GuisaSaigon
11/10/2006, 8:50 PM
Nice one fair play to TG4.Dissapointed its not on in St Mels.This probably means we will never enjoy the smels experience again.A sad thought indeed.:(
hopefully it wont take away from the travelling support. Its always one place where we get more than usual supporters going since its our shortest journey. Suits me though since I wasnt going to make it as I'll be at a wedding, will enjoy watching it with a large group of ex-players.
gloryglorygufc
11/10/2006, 9:01 PM
Does anyone think that the move will affect the potential of travelling fans - seeing as it now clashes with the Int'l Rules in Pearse Stadium?
I would have considered going but not now.
GuisaSaigon
11/10/2006, 9:05 PM
Does anyone think that the move will affect the potential of travelling fans - seeing as it now clashes with the Int'l Rules in Pearse Stadium?
I would have considered going but not now.
Wouldn't bother me. Most of the die hard travelling support don't care much for bog ball or its aussie version.If we keep this run going we should bring a massive crowd.
The international bogball wont make a blind bit of difference, joke of a competition !
MyTown
12/10/2006, 9:58 AM
As far as I know the compromise rules game is a sell out. The GAA were very deliberate in bringing it to Galway on a Saturday night & were influenced by how happy previous Aussie touring parties were with Galway. But as usual the main motivation is financial.
I also thought it was going to be live on TV - which means it will clash with the Athlone game.
Given the stick ye've given to TV3 over their treatment of us this week, don't TG4 deserve major thanks for giving us this coverage? I know it's a pity they couln't have taken last Friday night's game, but hopefully we'll still be in the hunt for the title by the time the Athlone game comes around.
As for the criticism of Gaelic Games generally, I'd have to say get over yourselves. Many GAA supporters come to Terryland, including former players who represented Galway - even since the change to summer soccer. Their support for GUFC stems from the fact that they'd have no allegiance to any of the Junior clubs in town, and started coming to Terryland when we first entered the League of Ireland. Former garrison towns like Athlone, Dundalk and Sligo never attracted this kind of support because the local GAA fraternity saw the development of soccer in these towns as a British import (i.e. via the troops who were garrisoned in the towns).
It's hard for some to accept but GUFC gets at least as much support from so-called GAA supporters as it does from the junior soccer scene in Galway.
Anyway, far as I can recall our last live TV game was the cup-semi final in Longford, when a bleached Slab went close a number of times before we lost out narrowly. Hope we do better in Dubarry Park.
12/10/2006, 11:09 AM
You'd think they would have televised our game last week. They've already done a game from Dubarry Park.
BTW there is a bar in the ground lads. You'll get in without colours!
GuisaSaigon
12/10/2006, 11:42 AM
Hope they'll have some Champagne on ice!:D
exiled_gufc_fan
12/10/2006, 12:45 PM
I also thought it was going to be live on TV - which means it will clash with the Athlone game.
It'll be difficult to persuade an Irish bar in London with an Irish Sky Card to show the United game on TG4 if it is up against the International Rules game :mad:
Though if it were possible to promise a certain number of attendees then it may be possible!
about why they didnt show last fridays game but i guess they thought it might affect the attendance so they didnt want it shown.i hope our last couple of games might be shown too coz i might not be here for them.
Patrick Dunne
12/10/2006, 1:15 PM
Anyone who would rather watch a hybrid branch of boxing and wrestling for
a crowd of event junkies rather than travel 50 miles to see their own club play
a top of the table clash against their local rivals needs to have a look at the
definition of the word support.
If you want to see a bunch of culchies, townies and foreigners belting the daylights out of each other, we will drop you outside Supermacs after we come back from Athlone.
12/10/2006, 1:28 PM
Anyone who would rather watch a hybrid branch of boxing and wrestling for
a crowd of event junkies rather than travel 50 miles to see their own club play
a top of the table clash against their local rivals needs to have a look at the
definition of the word support.
If you want to see a bunch of culchies, townies and foreigners belting the daylights out of each other, we will drop you outside Supermacs after we come back from Athlone.
Brillaint!:D :D
Latcheko
12/10/2006, 1:29 PM
Doh! I just bought two tickets for the International Rules game yesterday. But I'll definitely be going to Dubarry park. It looked to me like we were going to rip Athlone apart the last time we met. Until O'Reilly ruined it. Now's our chance.
12/10/2006, 1:33 PM
Cameras will be on UTD fans aswell so it's vital we have a massive crowd there and that we're colourful and loud as always!;)
Metrostars
12/10/2006, 1:38 PM
Any chance someone can record highlights and throw them up on youtube for us exiles?
I'm in Liverpool over this weekend, f*ck it if that hybrid nonsense is going to deprive me of seeing the United game on TV over there.
Fair play to TG4.
GalwayFrancis
12/10/2006, 5:32 PM
Any chance someone can record highlights and throw them up on youtube for us exiles?
will do
12/10/2006, 8:36 PM
Hope they'll have some Champagne on ice!:D
Humble pie is probably more widely available in Athlone than Champagne. :D
Metrostars
12/10/2006, 10:20 PM
will do
Great, thanks!
geezer
12/10/2006, 10:29 PM
are you delaney in disguise i heard the fai chief talk all that garrison stuff a few times. the junior game in galway gave us terryland, a lot of players over the years and despite some stuff spouted by individuals over the years for reasons i cant ever figure out, i always notice many people involve with juvenile and junior clubs at all our games. everyone is welcome in terryland if its one game a year or 20 they are all welcome.....gaa,rugby, or tiddlywinks who cares
TG4 are working wonders for the profile of the league, it takes time but with 4 times the people watching these games on TG4 than actually visits all the league games in the league put together the audience is opening up and growing all the time
As far as I know the compromise rules game is a sell out. The GAA were very deliberate in bringing it to Galway on a Saturday night & were influenced by how happy previous Aussie touring parties were with Galway. But as usual the main motivation is financial.
Given the stick ye've given to TV3 over their treatment of us this week, don't TG4 deserve major thanks for giving us this coverage? I know it's a pity they couln't have taken last Friday night's game, but hopefully we'll still be in the hunt for the title by the time the Athlone game comes around.
As for the criticism of Gaelic Games generally, I'd have to say get over yourselves. Many GAA supporters come to Terryland, including former players who represented Galway - even since the change to summer soccer. Their support for GUFC stems from the fact that they'd have no allegiance to any of the Junior clubs in town, and started coming to Terryland when we first entered the League of Ireland. Former garrison towns like Athlone, Dundalk and Sligo never attracted this kind of support because the local GAA fraternity saw the development of soccer in these towns as a British import (i.e. via the troops who were garrisoned in the towns).
It's hard for some to accept but GUFC gets at least as much support from so-called GAA supporters as it does from the junior soccer scene in Galway.
Anyway, far as I can recall our last live TV game was the cup-semi final in Longford, when a bleached Slab went close a number of times before we lost out narrowly. Hope we do better in Dubarry Park.
thanatos80
13/10/2006, 5:01 AM
Anyone know if TG4 is available on satelite? Would love to be able to cheer on the tribesmen from a pub here in Seattle.
Battery Rover
13/10/2006, 7:09 AM
Anyone know if TG4 is available on satelite? Would love to be able to cheer on the tribesmen from a pub here in Seattle.
It is on satellite but only on the Sky Digital platform as far as I know and there would be no way even if you had a 100 metre dish of getting that there
It is on the net but think that is available to irish IP addresses only. You can check it out here www.tg4.tv
MyTown
13/10/2006, 9:13 AM
Nope - not Delaney in disguise.
You could do worse than read his post Czech Republic interview at
http://www.rte.ie/sport/2006/1012/ireland1.html
I lifted the garrison stuff from Eamon Sweeney's truly awful book about his time as a Sligo Rovers supporter called "There's only One Red Army". (BTW it also happens to be true)
Really glad that everyone is welcome in Terryland. To read some of the posts here you'd think sporting apartheid is alive and well and living in Galway.
But I accept your point about the players and supporters Junior Soccer has provided to GUFC. I went in over the top there & you brought a bit of balance back to my rant.
I lifted the garrison stuff from Eamon Sweeney's truly awful book about his time as a Sligo Rovers supporter called "There's only One Red Army".
I assume you're extracting the urine??
MyTown
13/10/2006, 9:31 AM
No JW - completely true.
Just to reassure you - I didn't buy the book, but I was curious to find out what GUFC references if any there would be.
It's a few years since I read it, but he describes our former striker / bag man John 'Jumbo' Brennan as one of those players who always did brilliantly against us and played absolute s****e once he signed for us.
Jumbo went waaaay up in my estimation after that!:D
I think it's an excellent book - really captures the dubious delights of drinking and following the League of Ireland. Sweeney, like many Irish writers before him, combined wit, black humour and alcoholism with great effect!
MyTown
13/10/2006, 10:06 AM
Yea JW. I think the book was very well received by the soccer public and sporting public in general - so I accept I'm in a minority
I suppose I just thought there was too much drink-feck-a*se in it & I wasn't thrilled by the prospect of a Sligo supporter trying to take the mantle of Ireland's Nick Hornby.
I was just being small minded and sour I suppose. Regular reviewers of my posts will be uses to that by now:)
GUISAUltra
13/10/2006, 11:07 AM
bulls**t that they wouldnt let fans in wearing there colours. i know for a fact that i'll be wearing my jersey and if they dont let you in the bar for that its a complete disgrace. how can ya turn someone away for being proud of there team
13/10/2006, 11:46 AM
bulls**t that they wouldnt let fans in wearing there colours. i know for a fact that i'll be wearing my jersey and if they dont let you in the bar for that its a complete disgrace. how can ya turn someone away for being proud of there team
I know that's quite common up North.Even in clubs no football jersey's allowed-although i think you can get away with UTD one's!;) .Only thing is with the carry on at ATFC v GUFC matches this year i'd say they'll be eager to keep all Galway fans out of the bar.
GuisaSaigon
13/10/2006, 11:58 AM
With the game being televised we have extra responsibility to rise above any rubbish that might occur on the terraces.It should be a great advertisment for the club, lots of colour and noise but no bs.We should work on a chant "as gaeilge" for the TG4 audience.There were a small number of Athlone kids looking for trouble in Terryland a few weeks back but we should be above that kind of brúscar!
I can't see there being many Athlone fans there. I know it's a "derby game" of sorts but they've nothing to play for.
corbyeire
13/10/2006, 12:10 PM
With the game being televised we have extra responsibility to rise above any rubbish that might occur on the terraces.It should be a great advertisment for the club, lots of colour and noise but no bs.We should work on a chant "as gaeilge" for the TG4 audience.There were a small number of Athlone kids looking for trouble in Terryland a few weeks back but we should be above that kind of brúscar!
is smaointe maith e sin! gaillimh aontaithe abu
GUISAUltra
13/10/2006, 12:12 PM
someone was saying that we are going to be well segregated so i dont think anything will happen up there. we're more than capable of rising above this athlone mess. us fighting our causing trouble would seriously damage our presentation to the FAI and could stop us getting into this new league. our club needs us to behave well up there so we gotta deliver boys
You'd swear it was the Istanbul derby, rather than a few kids with nothing better to do. We're so unaccustomed to crowd trouble in Ireland that a stone being thrown is considered akin to a stabbing.
Battery Rover
13/10/2006, 12:32 PM
Athlone do not own the bar and have no control over it. It is leased out privately and the owner can let who he wants in.
As for the beers before the match The Cootes and GUST will work something out for somewhere and we can have the banter.
Attendance will hopefully hit the 2500+ mark in line with our cup match. Facilities are good there so even with nothing to play for other than stopping you lot win the league hopefully the locals will turn out again
13/10/2006, 1:14 PM
Agree completely but when you're a Rovers fan its par for the course. There might be something on in Durty Harry's unless there is a last minute "function" on.
GuisaSaigon
13/10/2006, 1:34 PM
. We're so unaccustomed to crowd trouble in Ireland that a stone being thrown is considered akin to a stabbing.
Totally agree JW, some people at the club are unduly concerned about crowd behaviour.But after attending the meeting last night and seeing the effort that people are putting into making united one of the leagues top clubs, I feel we all have to play our part.I dont want anyone to be able to point the finger at us.In 20 years following United I've never seen one serious incident involving a United fan, and thats the way it's going to stay.
The security for the Rovers game seemed absolutely spot-on, fair play to all concerned.
GUISAUltra
13/10/2006, 2:18 PM
yeah it was brilliantly run by all involved and apart from the coin throwing incident it passed off without a hitch
Tribalhooie
13/10/2006, 5:45 PM
lads just like the song goes "no surrender, no surrender, no surrender to the gaa!!!!!!" looking forward see everyone in athlone for their cup final.