View Full Version : Keith Kelly

eamo1
10/10/2006, 4:09 PM
it says in the sentinel today some "moron" threw a coin or a least thats what a rovers player is claiming,i was watching the players go off from section a and didnt see anything.
why didnt KK in the sentinel talk about the great atmosphere at the game instead of giving a few lines about how the club will be fined for using flares and the apparent coin throwing incident???
i realise this post is off topic but im not gonna start another thread.

JW.
10/10/2006, 4:11 PM
In fairness he did call him a "moron" - it has already been discussed here and was probably worthy of a mention in the report.

10/10/2006, 4:30 PM
I thought his report in the sentinel was very unfair.Keith never ever applauds the fans for been vociferous or creating a marvellous atmosphere at home or away matches.Unlike Cian O Connell who often acknowledges supporters efforts.Now i'm not looking for praise in abundance or anything like that but Keith has a tendancy of only mentioning supporters when something bad happens.He did it against Monaghan and he ddi it today again.
Keith why not say the vociferous Section A were an inspiration instead of mentioning the coin throwing incident.We all shuned that and he will be dealt with but it's unfair on 99% of Section A(which he mentioned) to say a "moron from Section A"?
Also you're worng about getting a fine for the flare-should have checked that out 1st.
It really infuriates me when on one of the greatest nights in years for supporters this is what is reported.Doesn't help either when your facts are wrong.
I guarantee Cian will acknowlege what a sureal atmosphere there was on Thursday.
Keith i know you post on this forum so i'd appreciate an answer.I commend all your efforts in going to the matches etc but i found the Article dissapointing that you felt you had to give the supporters a hammering.Maybe people disagree just my opinion.

GalwayFrancis
10/10/2006, 6:37 PM
thought the sentinel did proper reports on games but i must be wrong. its a pity that he picked to talk about the 1 person in the 200 and didnt even mention the rest. very narrow minded

Patrick Dunne
10/10/2006, 7:23 PM
I have to defend Keith. Unlike other journalists from the Tribune (Ciaran Tierney most notably) he never makes sweeping anti-United statements about "meaningless" matches etc.

A moron in section A of the stand threw a coin. This is a fact and if the Sentinel wants to record this, then so be it.

10/10/2006, 7:47 PM
I still felt he could have mentioned something like this took the gloss off a brillaint atmosphere in Terryland?

Jacobean
10/10/2006, 7:59 PM
If someone threw it from the middle of the stand in section C or D I doubt Keith would have said "that moron from section C". It is just part of the picture that is being painted of Section A as being hooligans. That’s simply it, now I don’t want to open up a can of worms but that is the truth. He chose to overlook the fact that the atmosphere they created was out of this world and was one of the best ever in Terryland. Now the person who allegedly threw the coin is a moron, but was it necessary to add that he was from section A. It doesn’t matter where the coin came from, all that matter is that a coin was thrown and it wont be the last object to be thrown at Terryland, unfortunately you will always get morons. However, of course Keith had to get the auld dig in on section A and stir the whole board versus fans fiasco up once more. That’s my perspective anyways.

10/10/2006, 8:03 PM
Ya that's what really annoyed me the "Section A" comment.Agree with you totally jacobean.

Paddyfield
10/10/2006, 9:09 PM
*If the coin throwing moron was in section Z, I'm sure that Keith Kelly would've mentioned it. I figure that he mentioned Section A so that readers would not come to the conclusion that it was Shamrock Rovers' fans.

*He often mentions the fans in his articles; did you read his report from the Limerick game?

*Other Eircom League clubs would love to have a Keith Kelly reporting on their games. Two pages and colour photos and a detailed report is excellent coverage. Would you prefer if he ignored the fact that a scumbag threw a coin?

*To say that he "...has a tendancy of only mentioning supporters when something bad happens" is incorrect. What the hell are you talking about? Back this up with examples.

*You say that "his report was very unfair". How is it unfair? Did he lie? Did he exaggerate?

I believe that you are just annoyed because he didn't mention the "atmosphere".

Tir Oilean
10/10/2006, 9:38 PM
had to get the auld dig in on section A and stir the whole board versus fans fiasco up once more.

There is no board versus fans fiasco at this stage. The board are trying to promote the image of Galway United and anti social behaviour like coin throwing will not be tolerated and quite frankly were I in section A on Fri night I'd have pulled the little **** by the scruff of the neck and f***** him out the gate. Many people on this forum know who it is and if you want to point him out it will get rid of these issues. We dont live in North Korea so we dont read propaganda in our local rags. What was reported happened and thats that. Report this kind of fool to a steward if you dont want bad press for section A in the future. You guys that stand in section A are looked up to by the newer/younger supporters so you actually have a role you can play in teaching these fools some manners. If they dont want to conform to the norm let them know they're not welcome.

By the way Board members are aware that it is only one or two tits that are acting like thugs and will need genuine supporters help to weed them out. This is not the old days now, the board greatly appreciate the support we give be it vocal financial or bringing a load extra people to the games so drop the them versus us idea it wont benefit anybody.

Sorry about the long winded reply but I think it makes sense, dont you?

10/10/2006, 9:55 PM
There is no board versus fans fiasco at this stage. The board are trying to promote the image of Galway United and anti social behaviour like coin throwing will not be tolerated and quite frankly were I in section A on Fri night I'd have pulled the little **** by the scruff of the neck and f***** him out the gate. Many people on this forum know who it is and if you want to point him out it will get rid of these issues. We dont live in North Korea so we dont read propaganda in our local rags. What was reported happened and thats that. Report this kind of fool to a steward if you dont want bad press for section A in the future. You guys that stand in section A are looked up to by the newer/younger supporters so you actually have a role you can play in teaching these fools some manners. If they dont want to conform to the norm let them know they're not welcome.

By the way Board members are aware that it is only one or two tits that are acting like thugs and will need genuine supporters help to weed them out. This is not the old days now, the board greatly appreciate the support we give be it vocal financial or bringing a load extra people to the games so drop the them versus us idea it wont benefit anybody.

Sorry about the long winded reply but I think it makes sense, dont you?

Excellent Post, good too see a Board member( i think) on the forum aswell.The board are greatly appreciated by all supporters-we have a very professional approach off the field and it's doing wonders for the club.It's also vital we don't have a us versus them attitude and it's why we have numerous meetings with some members of the excutive so we can work together.The club are all for atmosphere but they are looking for some of the language to be kept a bit more civalised....i'm sure we can meet them half way?

Paddyfiled
The Monaghan report(by Keith) in the 1st game of the season blamed supporters for Derek's gesture that night.Anyone there know's fans were not to blame that night and that Derek acted out of character.
In the Lims report he mentioned the fans for "bring on the Rovers".Don't patronise me i know what i meant to say and it wasn't just looking for acclamation about the atmosphere.

GuisaSaigon
10/10/2006, 10:26 PM
I haven't read the sentinel yet but I have always enjoyed Keith kelly's Reports. I can't comment on the article only to say that if it happened Keith has every right to report it.
I would like to make it clear that if I had seen this coin throwing muppet I would have had no hesitation in dragging him down to the nearest steward and having him removed from the ground permanently.I ,like many of the real fans in section A was a steward in the past.
This subject was discussed previously and I believe a member of foot.ie said that he knew who this little s**t is and he had already reported him to a steward.
This type of behaviour is not tolerated by the majority of supporters in section A, who stand there to get behind the team.It is a shame that one knobjockey has managed to overshadow what was a great night.

11/10/2006, 7:22 AM
The "Knobjockey" (hehe, good one, Im going to steal that if you dont mind!) has been reported to members of the executive and his name will be going forward into there meeting this week and he will be banned for at least (at the minimum) the rest of this season anyway. Case closed.

As for Keith's report, I thought it was factual and to the point. Every article doesnt have to mention the atmosphere as everyone knows about it by now. There are sports reporters out there that could have blown what had happened out of all proportions but Keith didnt and he can be applauded for that. I also agree he only mentioned the section because he didnt want to confuse anyone on which group of supporters (Galway or rovers) it came from, it was no disrespect to everyone else in section A.

geezer
11/10/2006, 10:36 AM
here is not Keith or the tribune or the genuine fans. whoever witnessed it should provide the info on the prat to a steward, or board member. Weed him out and ban him now and put an end to the episode

GuisaSaigon
11/10/2006, 10:52 AM
The "Knobjockey" has been reported to members of the executive and his name will be going forward into there meeting this week and he will be banned for at least (at the minimum) the rest of this season anyway. Case closed.

He has been reported and will be banned. This kind of behaviour is not tolerated by the fans in section A. It was not tolerated in this case and will not be tolerated in the future.End of story.

MyTown
11/10/2006, 11:19 AM
Surely the first requirement of a sports reporter is to report the facts. Often is this media crazy age that gets lost. The reporter in this case reported the fact. So please don't shoot the messenger.

I feel in the interest of balance, the incident could have been reported as an isolated one that put a blot on an otherwise excellent night for GUFC both on and off the field. The effort the Board, Club & Stewards put in to the off-field success of the night deserves to be highlighted. It is a great shame when lots of us are subscribing to the club Lotto, support the club shop, buy programmes and season tickets (not to mention those of you who very often dig deep for the 'away' trips) that one isolated incident will hit us where it hurts - in the pocket.

The reality is if the club is to survive and grow we need young children coming to the games. That's how I got hooked all those years ago. But responsible parents will never put their children in harm's way. The damage that pup caused last Friday night was much greater than just to the injured Shamrock Rovers player.

Finally, I regret the criticism of the reporter because his employers were the match sponsors on the night. They also carried the game live on their radio station and generally the support they give to the club is hugely beneficial.

GUISAUltra
11/10/2006, 11:33 AM
He has been reported and will be banned. This kind of behaviour is not tolerated by the fans in section A. It was not tolerated in this case and will not be tolerated in the future.End of story.

yeah definitely totally agree, he should be kicked out for good and if he ever wants to get back in he should pay a portion of the fine we are going to receive.
meanwhile back to the real point of this thread, keith kellys article.
All in all i feel it was a great report of what happened on the pitch, good factual writing and put a good spin on it.
on the other hand i feel that he probably should have said something about the atmosphere. nobody here that was in section a are looking for "pats on the back" or "thumbs up" but lads its only right that people give credit where credit is due and no one can disagree with the fact that our home support was second to none last weekend, not just section a but the whole stand and everyone else in the ground.
he had to report on the coin throwing incident as it was a main talking point of the game and it will be in the match report but it wouldnt have killed him to mention the fans

GUISAUltra
11/10/2006, 11:38 AM
the issue here is not Keith or the tribune or the genuine fans. whoever witnessed it should provide the info on the prat to a steward, or board member. Weed him out and ban him now and put an end to the episode

sorry to point it out geezer but the point of this whole thread is keith kelly and the article in the tribune

11/10/2006, 12:07 PM
Have a look at the Article in the Independant.

GuisaSaigon
11/10/2006, 12:59 PM
good article, no mention of the previously mentioned knobjockey, and lots of praise for the fans plus a photo of some of the tribal army.Who is the mystery writer?

Tribesman
11/10/2006, 1:14 PM
Super picture of the crowd. Its not often you see crowd shots like this at a Galway game. Hopefully there will be more to come.

GUISAUltra
11/10/2006, 5:16 PM
good article, no mention of the previously mentioned knobjockey, and lots of praise for the fans plus a photo of some of the tribal army.Who is the mystery writer?

the mystery writer is me!!:D :D
no only messing, just read the article there. its really really good. fair play to the guy who wrote it, whoever he is:cool:

Tir Oilean
11/10/2006, 5:26 PM
Indo article is poor. It's short and they have the wrong players names detailed under the picture too!(its O'Dowd not O'Brien).

Kelly's article was indepth and an accurate portrayal of the game. From the reaction here I thought the flare was the only thing he wrote about!

Back a few weeks ago on the Lims section on this site there was a complete slating of the local presses slating of the operations of the club. The fans were irrate at this and rightly so. In our case we have Keith Kelly and Cian O'Connell writing great articles about our club and our games. I think they are trying to get something like Sligo Rovers get from the Champion (pages of broad sheet articles every week). They deserve great credit as they are responsible for the clubs profile in the local press which is the cheapest form of advertising.......FREE!!!

Also some one mentioned earlier that we can't be fined for a flare. If you do your research we can actually be fined twice for it. I'll explain.

Firstly we can be fined for inadequate searching of fans entering the ground/reaction to getting rid of the flare. Secondly we can be fined as it was our supporters who lit the flare. It could have been a very expensive game for United but common sense seems to have prevailed if Terry's sources are right.

GUISAUltra
11/10/2006, 5:57 PM
Indo article is poor. It's short and they have the wrong players names detailed under the picture too!(its O'Dowd not O'Brien). .

ya cant judge an aticle by a couple of names being wrong under the pictures, the report on the game was correct and factual and he gave a good account of the atmosphere and the crowd.

GREAT ARTICLE

gloryglorygufc
11/10/2006, 9:21 PM
Just read the "offending" (to some) article - and i have to say fair play to Keith.
It was a good article which captured the essence of the game and the cracking atmosphere.
i don't always agree with Keith's view of some games and players performances but his in general, excellent match reports are a great asset to the club and all the publicity that is necessary to bring GUFC to the masses is welcome.
Cian O'Connell in the Adv is also doing a great job.

Paddyfield
11/10/2006, 9:49 PM
Indo article is poor. It's short and they have the wrong players names detailed under the picture too!

I didn't see the Galway Independent so I can't comment on it but by all accounts the report is poor which probably explains why the writer didn't put his/her name to it.

Looking forward to the Advertiser because Cian O'Connell has been a revelation since he became Sports Editor there.

GuisaSaigon
12/10/2006, 10:52 AM
The usual quality report and preview in the advertiser.But there is no mention of the bus to Ballybofey.A number of fair weathers might have been interested in travelling after last week.Should try to get it (the bus) mentioned on GBFM.

12/10/2006, 11:44 AM
In general the press coverage of Galway United locally is very positive. The club benefits from its professional image and the vibe is generally very good. However, some of the papers are obvious bandwagon jumpers as they will ignore United completely if they're doing badly or if there's a big GAA match on. Overall though the attitude of the local press is about as pro-Galway United as you could hope for, at times I even think it goes a little over the top TBH!

In contrast the local papers in the Northwest cover Harps quite comprehensively even when things are going badly- but their attitude is not so positive as in Galway. This is partly down to the poor image Harps have, partly due to the fact that we've been consistently rubbish for 2 years and partly down to the fact that bad news sells more papers- not really so much applicable in Galway where the papers are either free or very cheap.

Considering that most press releases from FP are ignored by the local press and that Galway got some fantastic coverage for a website launch I think ye have it pretty good!

Paddyfield
12/10/2006, 3:40 PM
Keith Kelly must be reading this! He says in this week's Tribune that "it was the best atmosphere in years".

Case closed?

12/10/2006, 4:37 PM
Keith Kelly must be reading this! He says in this week's Tribune that "it was the best atmosphere in years".

Case closed?

:D :D

GUISAUltra
13/10/2006, 10:43 AM
fair play keith:D :D