View Full Version : Aldo as boss?

Closed Account 2
10/10/2006, 12:58 AM
Stan needs to be booted into touch asap our team has no future under him and every game with him will just see us plunge new depths and the teams confidence will go even lower (if that is possible).

He will have lost 5 on the bounce by Wednesday and then the curtain will fall.

We need a manager full of fire and passion, one who shake things up and give the players a good roasting after a performance like the other night.

Aldo would take the job at the drop of a hat, let's throw a lion into the snake pit - because at the moment Stan and the team are drowning.

There is no way any team managed by Aldo would do what we saw on Saturday. He commands fear and respect, whereas Stan is joke.

Fergie's Son
10/10/2006, 3:18 AM
A significantly better choice than Staunton. No complaints here.

10/10/2006, 7:19 AM
I agree. I do not understand why he wasn't at least interviewed for the job. Managerial experience, some success, Irish international and passionate. He still wouldn't have been the "world class" manager promised by Delaney but he would have been a much better choice.

10/10/2006, 7:26 AM
Agreed. But would Delaney be able to control him?

It's beyond belief that he wasn't interviewed. As one of the UCD lads posted yesterday, didn't Delaney cite a backlog of paperwork or some ridiculous reason?

nedder
10/10/2006, 7:34 AM
A backlog of paperwork?? is this serious????
If he used that as his excuse, he is a complete fool

10/10/2006, 7:35 AM
At the moment I'd welcome Aldo with open arms.

10/10/2006, 7:38 AM

From the John Delaney thread:

When asked why a more qualified candidate - John Aldridge - didn't even get an interview, Delaney is on record saying he had paperwork to do. I don't want to discuss the merits or otherwise of John Aldridge, but it's incredible that he can offer this reason for not interviewing a more qualified candidate than the one we ended up with. Who else slipped through the net?

DeNiro
10/10/2006, 7:41 AM
My impressions of Aldridge are that he is not a YES-man. Therefore, Delaney won't want to know.

Dawn_Run
10/10/2006, 7:47 AM
Passionate, experienced, successful, knowledgebale, inexpensive in todays world i would imagine, eager, a leader, respected

Has to be Aldridge.

Put your name in the hat Aldo, they're too stubborn to come lookin for you, give them a way out of this mess, quick.

princeofoslo
10/10/2006, 7:53 AM
fully agree with all that has been said here. The is no world class manager ever gonig to be bothered managing Ireland.(Even MON didn't want to be involved with the FAI) Aldo is and was the ideal choice. He is passionate,he is used to managing and organising bad players and really wants the job.
WE would not have lost 5-2 thats for sure and if we had he would have left the whole team rotting back there in the Cyprus sun like the plucked oranges that they were.

10/10/2006, 7:59 AM
He would not have been my first choice before Stauntons appointment but I would not have been adverse to him being in charge and would most definately welcome him now.

Never has this team had as little passion and that's one thing Aldridge always had as a player and a manager.

Dr. Ogba
10/10/2006, 8:09 AM
Agree with everything on this. I could imagine Aldo being able to give the ould hairdryer treatment to a few players if they came in at half-time 2-2 with Cyprus. He wouldn't take any sh1t and would definitely have no problems giving a few kicks in the arse when needed!!!

macdermesser
10/10/2006, 8:36 AM
Signing in on the Aldo thread. The finger jabbing to the US official and then planting the header in the back of the Mexican net .. and getting the best out of Tranmere to cup finals and playoffs.

Question is though .. why hasn't he had another job in the game since then.

Still .. its not going to happen not matter how many people post here or send emails to the FAI .. unless we (the fans) all do something about it.

10/10/2006, 8:43 AM
Not 100% sure about this but I think he was reoffered the Tranmere job but turned it down.

YBIG5 had a great interview with him.

He runs a bar "Aldo's Place" in Liverpool now.

Aldridge was by no means a total success at Tranmere, in fact some may say he wasn't even a success at all. However, afaik, he was running a near bankrupt football club and to get them to a Cup Final & Semi-Final was a great achievement. You need a "cup run" manager in international football.

My guess is that people like my mate (!) Ray Houghton would be brought on board.

Does Aldo have the tactical nous required? Maybe not.

Does he at least understand the basics of a functional football team? Probably.

Can the stattos among us compare Aldo's club management record to Sanchez's? Similar I'd bet. Similar ethos too I reckon.

10/10/2006, 8:53 AM
Irish Times

Don't build your hopes up lads - they are in for the long haul. :(

Steve Staunton will remain as Republic of Ireland manager regardless of Wednesday night's result against the Czech Republic, his employers at the FAI have insisted.

There has been widespread condemnation following the debacle in Cyprus on Saturday night, with many calling for Staunton's head in the wake of his fourth defeat in five games at the helm.

FAI chief executive, John Delaney, who was instrumental in appointing the inexperienced Staunton, has also been the subject of criticism but his president at the association, David Blood, claims both men have nothing to fear in terms of their long term futures.

"Regarding speculation in relation to our international manager and chief executive, I just want to allay fears that their positions are under threat," Blood said. "On the contrary, they are consolidating their positions with us. Obviously we are disappointed with the last result, but it is just one result among more that will hopefully be positive."

macdermesser
10/10/2006, 8:54 AM
Aldridge as number 1 and Brian Kerr in his team doing the preparations and analysis .. I think that would be the best ticket at from what is available at the moment..

Think the Sanchez comparison holds ... both seem to be cup-style managers

macdermesser
10/10/2006, 8:58 AM
Irish Times

Don't build your hopes up lads - they are in for the long haul. :(

Steve Staunton will remain as Republic of Ireland manager regardless of Wednesday night's result against the Czech Republic, his employers at the FAI have insisted.

There has been widespread condemnation following the debacle in Cyprus on Saturday night, with many calling for Staunton's head in the wake of his fourth defeat in five games at the helm.

FAI chief executive, John Delaney, who was instrumental in appointing the inexperienced Staunton, has also been the subject of criticism but his president at the association, David Blood, claims both men have nothing to fear in terms of their long term futures.

"Regarding speculation in relation to our international manager and chief executive, I just want to allay fears that their positions are under threat," Blood said. "On the contrary, they are consolidating their positions with us. Obviously we are disappointed with the last result, but it is just one result among more that will hopefully be positive."

well .. he won't keep saying that e.g. if there was a boycott on games or some sort of organised opposition to what is going on at the moment... or if pressure was brought on sponsors or on politicians regarding the funding. But posting our rants here and sending the odd email, while important, is dissipating it all down the wrong channels

bohsRap
10/10/2006, 9:12 AM
Im just hoping the reason fai say they won't sack them is down to money and not wanting to compensate them! If Delaney and Staunton quit themselves no compensation will be paid. In short it could be a means by which fai feel they could get rid of the pair of them quicker.

10/10/2006, 9:36 AM
I actually thought that Aldridge and Kerr would have been the best ticket when Kerr was given the job for the first time. Easy to be wise after the event I suppose but I did think that at the time and I certainly think that would be as good a managment team as Ireland could get at the moment.

blobbyblob
10/10/2006, 9:49 AM
Aldo For Ireland -

Theres The Call For Tomorrow

10/10/2006, 9:58 AM
Aldridge would be a good choice. He worked wonders at Tranmere, on a shoe-string budget. Eventually he had enough of it and quit after about five years of cuts, selling best players ect. Hel would instill a pasion into the team. Great idea to have Brian Kerr with him, but somehow I doubt Kerr would be willing to play second fiddle.

10/10/2006, 10:14 AM
Aldo For Ireland -

Theres The Call For Tomorrow

As much as I think Staunton going would be best for everyone I don't think he deserves to hear that chanted around the ground.

He was a fantastic servent for us and a great player who doesn't deserve to hear that.

If we get beat tomorrow I'd hope he'd have the decency to resign. He doesn't need to be a member of MENSA to work out that that is what most fans want but I definately wouldn't like to hear any nasty chants aimed at him. I know you can't have your cake and eat it but that's the way I feel.

Paddy Garcia
10/10/2006, 10:17 AM
As much as I think Staunton going would be best for everyone I don't think he deserves to hear that chanted around the ground.

He was a fantastic servent for us and a great player who doesn't deserve to hear that.

If we get beat tomorrow I'd hope he'd have the decency to resign. He doesn't need to be a member of MENSA to work out that that is what most fans want but I definately wouldn't like to hear any nasty chants aimed at him. I know you can't have your cake and eat it but that's the way I feel.

Fair point, he was a great servant. However if he had any dignity he would have offered to go on Saturday.

10/10/2006, 10:19 AM
There's hardly any player I respect more than Aldridge but I don't know if he would be any better. There's a few more issues other than passion to be adressed.
With the criteria being established in stone after a shambolic performance that the manager must go then Kerr should have gone after the Switzerland away shambles, preceded with a few scrambled late winning goals against Georgia and Albania.
I never felt comfortable with the passion for the frenzied public execution of any of our managers.
If the penny dropped re the "minor detail" of midfield selection, midfield stability and Stan adresses the negative aspects of his stubborness then I would regard that as learning.
It helps when you have a manager who has the basic qualities already in place. Even with that it's still a lottery that the right man is the right place at the right time. Just look at the pressure Hiddink is under now. Or how would it be regarded if a Beenhakker type dropped Given.

kingp35
10/10/2006, 12:37 PM
I have said it in a couple of other threads that Aldo is the man. He has obvious passion for the team and he had reletive success with no money at all at Tranmere. He wouldnt take an crap from the players and I feel he would bring a professional approach to the team instead of the shambles that is the Stan regime.

Sadly though it looks as if Delaney has no interest in Aldo at all because he wouldnt even interview the man the last time. Delaney will have to go as well as Stan if Aldo is going to get the job.

10/10/2006, 12:39 PM

From the John Delaney thread:

When asked why a more qualified candidate - John Aldridge - didn't even get an interview, Delaney is on record saying he had paperwork to do. I don't want to discuss the merits or otherwise of John Aldridge, but it's incredible that he can offer this reason for not interviewing a more qualified candidate than the one we ended up with. Who else slipped through the net?
Yep, I think the interview is uploaded here somewhere.

macdermesser
10/10/2006, 12:40 PM
Aldridge would be a good choice. He worked wonders at Tranmere, on a shoe-string budget. Eventually he had enough of it and quit after about five years of cuts, selling best players ect. Hel would instill a pasion into the team. Great idea to have Brian Kerr with him, but somehow I doubt Kerr would be willing to play second fiddle.

Yes .. normally you would think that a ex-manager would be too proud to go become number two .. but this is Brian .. who many on this forum have met on the terraces in Estonia or in Portugal in the rain .. and personal pride would take second place to passion for his country .. I'm guessing of course .. but I think it would be good pair

Closed Account 2
10/10/2006, 1:09 PM
Here are the tables from his time at Prenton Park.

I took this from the soccerbase website

1st Season

P HW HD HL HGF HGA AW AD AL AGF AGA Points GF
Bolton 46 18 4 1 60 20 10 10 3 40 33 98 100
Barnsley 46 14 4 5 43 19 8 10 5 33 36 80 76
Wolves 46 10 5 8 31 24 12 5 6 37 27 76 68
Ipswich 46 13 7 3 44 23 7 7 9 24 27 74 68
Sheff Utd 46 13 5 5 46 23 7 8 8 29 29 73 75
C Palace 46 10 7 6 39 22 9 7 7 39 26 71 78
Portsmouth 46 12 4 7 32 24 8 4 11 27 29 68 59
Port Vale 46 9 9 5 36 28 8 7 8 22 27 67 58
QPR 46 10 5 8 33 25 8 7 8 31 35 66 64
Birmingham 46 11 7 5 30 18 6 8 9 22 30 66 52
Tranmere 46 10 9 4 42 27 7 5 11 21 29 65 63
Stoke 46 15 3 5 34 22 3 7 13 17 35 64 51
Norwich 46 9 10 4 28 18 8 2 13 35 50 63 63
Man City 46 12 4 7 34 25 5 6 12 25 35 61 59
Charlton 46 11 8 4 36 28 5 3 15 16 38 59 52
West Brom 46 7 7 9 37 33 7 8 8 31 39 57 68
Oxford 46 14 3 6 44 26 2 6 15 20 42 57 64
Reading 46 13 7 3 37 24 2 5 16 21 43 57 58
Swindon 46 11 6 6 36 27 4 3 16 16 44 54 52
Huddersfield 46 10 7 6 28 20 3 8 12 20 41 54 48
Bradford 46 10 5 8 29 32 2 7 14 18 40 48 47
Grimsby 46 7 7 9 31 34 4 6 13 29 47 46 60
Oldham 46 6 8 9 30 30 4 5 14 21 36 43 51
Southend 46 7 9 7 32 32 1 6 16 10 54 39 42

Second season

Nottm Forest 46 18 2 3 52 20 10 8 5 30 22 94 82
Middlesbro 46 17 4 2 51 12 10 6 7 26 29 91 77
Sunderland 46 14 7 2 49 22 12 5 6 37 28 90 86
Charlton 46 17 5 1 48 17 9 5 9 32 32 88 80
Ipswich 46 14 5 4 47 20 9 9 5 30 23 83 77
Sheff Utd 46 16 5 2 44 20 3 12 8 25 34 74 69
Birmingham 46 10 8 5 27 15 9 9 5 33 20 74 60
Stockport 46 14 6 3 46 21 5 2 16 25 48 65 71
Wolves 46 13 6 4 42 25 5 5 13 15 28 65 57
West Brom 46 9 7 6 27 26 7 5 11 23 30 61 50
Crewe 46 10 2 11 30 34 8 3 12 28 31 59 58
Oxford 46 12 6 5 36 20 4 4 15 24 44 58 60
Bradford 46 10 9 4 26 23 4 6 13 20 36 57 46
Tranmere 46 9 8 6 34 26 5 6 12 20 31 56 54
Norwich 46 9 8 6 32 27 5 5 13 20 42 55 52
Huddersfield 46 9 5 9 28 28 5 6 12 22 44 53 50
Bury 46 7 10 6 22 22 4 9 10 20 36 52 42
Swindon 46 9 6 8 28 25 5 4 14 14 48 52 42
Port Vale 46 7 6 10 25 24 6 4 13 31 42 49 56
Portsmouth 46 8 6 9 28 30 5 4 14 23 33 49 51
QPR 46 8 9 6 28 21 2 10 11 23 42 49 51
Man City 46 6 6 11 28 26 6 6 11 28 31 48 56
Stoke 46 8 5 10 30 40 3 8 12 14 34 46 44
Reading 46 8 4 11 27 31 3 5 15 12 47 42 39

3rd season
Sunderland 46 19 3 1 50 10 12 9 2 41 18 105 91
Bradford 46 15 4 4 48 20 11 5 7 34 27 87 82
Ipswich 46 16 1 6 37 15 10 7 6 32 17 86 69
Birmingham 46 12 7 4 32 15 11 5 7 34 22 81 66
Watford 46 12 8 3 30 19 9 6 8 35 37 77 65
Bolton 46 13 6 4 44 25 7 10 6 34 34 76 78
Wolves 46 11 10 2 37 19 8 6 9 27 24 73 64
Sheff Utd 46 12 6 5 42 29 6 7 10 29 37 67 71
Norwich 46 7 12 4 34 28 8 5 10 28 33 62 62
Huddersfield 46 11 9 3 38 23 4 7 12 24 48 61 62
Grimsby 46 11 6 6 25 18 6 4 13 15 34 61 40
West Brom 46 12 4 7 43 33 4 7 12 26 43 59 69
Barnsley 46 7 9 7 35 30 7 8 8 24 26 59 59
C Palace 46 11 10 2 43 26 3 6 14 15 45 58 58
Tranmere 46 8 7 8 37 30 4 13 6 26 31 56 63
Stockport 46 7 9 7 24 21 5 8 10 25 39 53 49
Swindon 46 7 8 8 40 44 6 3 14 19 37 50 59
Crewe 46 7 6 10 27 35 5 6 12 27 43 48 54
Portsmouth 46 10 5 8 34 26 1 9 13 23 47 47 57
QPR 46 9 7 7 34 22 3 4 16 18 39 47 52
Port Vale 46 10 3 10 22 28 3 5 15 23 47 47 45
Bury 46 9 7 7 24 27 1 10 12 11 33 47 35
Oxford 46 7 8 8 31 30 3 6 14 17 41 44 48
Bristol C 46 7 8 8 35 36 2 7 14 22 44 42 57

4th season

P HW HD HL HGF HGA AW AD AL AGF AGA Points GD
Charlton 46 15 3 5 37 18 12 7 4 42 27 91 34
Man City 46 17 2 4 48 17 9 9 5 30 23 89 38
Ipswich 46 16 3 4 39 17 9 9 5 32 25 87 29
Barnsley 46 15 4 4 48 24 9 6 8 40 43 82 21
Birmingham 46 15 5 3 37 16 7 6 10 28 28 77 21
Bolton 46 14 5 4 43 26 7 8 8 26 24 76 19
Wolves 46 15 5 3 45 20 6 6 11 19 28 74 16
Huddersfield 46 14 5 4 43 21 7 6 10 19 28 74 13
Fulham 46 13 7 3 33 13 4 9 10 16 28 67 8
QPR 46 9 12 2 30 20 7 6 10 32 33 66 9
Blackburn 46 10 9 4 33 20 5 8 10 22 31 62 4
Norwich 46 11 6 6 26 22 3 9 11 19 28 57 -5
Tranmere 46 10 8 5 35 27 5 4 14 22 41 57 -11
Nottm Forest 46 9 10 4 29 18 5 4 14 24 37 56 -2
C Palace 46 7 11 5 33 26 6 4 13 24 41 54 -10
Sheff Utd 46 10 8 5 38 24 3 7 13 21 47 54 -12
Stockport 46 8 8 7 33 31 5 7 11 22 36 54 -12
Portsmouth 46 9 6 8 36 27 4 6 13 19 39 51 -11
Crewe 46 9 5 9 27 31 5 4 14 19 36 51 -21
Grimsby 46 10 8 5 27 25 3 4 16 14 42 51 -26
West Brom 46 6 11 6 25 26 4 8 11 18 34 49 -17
Walsall 46 7 6 10 26 34 4 7 12 26 43 46 -25
Port Vale 46 6 6 11 27 30 1 9 13 21 39 36 -21
Swindon 46 5 6 12 23 37 3 6 14 15 40 36 -39

5th season (last one, Sheedy was in charge for last few games)
P HW HD HL HGF HGA AW AD AL AGF AGA Points GD
Fulham 46 16 5 2 49 14 14 6 3 41 18 101 58
Blackburn 46 15 5 3 43 20 11 8 4 33 19 91 37
Bolton 46 10 10 3 40 28 14 5 4 36 17 87 31
Preston 46 12 6 5 32 18 11 3 9 32 34 78 12
Birmingham 46 14 3 6 34 22 9 6 8 25 26 78 11
West Brom 46 13 5 5 37 23 8 6 9 23 29 74 8
Burnley 46 14 5 4 30 17 7 4 12 20 37 72 -4
Milton Keynes 46 7 11 5 33 26 10 7 6 38 24 69 21
Watford 46 11 6 6 46 29 9 3 11 30 38 69 9
Sheff Utd 46 14 4 5 34 18 5 7 11 18 31 68 3
Nottm Forest 46 11 3 9 28 24 9 5 9 27 29 68 2
Wolves 46 7 9 7 25 20 7 4 12 20 28 55 -3
Gillingham 46 9 6 8 32 28 4 10 9 29 38 55 -5
Crewe 46 12 5 6 30 24 3 5 15 17 38 55 -15
Norwich 46 10 7 6 25 18 4 5 14 21 40 54 -12
Barnsley 46 11 3 9 32 26 4 6 13 17 36 54 -13
Sheff Wed 46 9 4 10 34 38 6 4 13 18 33 53 -19
Grimsby 46 10 4 9 26 27 4 6 13 17 35 52 -19
Stockport 46 6 11 6 29 26 5 7 11 29 39 51 -7
Portsmouth 46 9 8 6 31 25 1 11 11 16 34 49 -12
C Palace 46 6 6 11 28 34 6 7 10 29 36 49 -13
Huddersfield 46 7 6 10 29 26 4 9 10 19 31 48 -9
QPR 46 6 9 8 24 28 1 10 12 21 47 40 -30
Tranmere 46 8 7 8 30 33 1 4 18 16 44 38 -31

He had very little to work with in terms of money at Tranmere as once Johnstone (the chairman) left for Everton in 1994 all the money dried up.

10/10/2006, 1:28 PM
What's Sheedy doing now?

ouch, just whacked my knee off my desk. It's jerking a lot today.

10/10/2006, 1:40 PM
Can the stattos among us compare Aldo's club management record to Sanchez's? Similar I'd bet. Similar ethos too I reckon.
From soccerbase.

Wycombe P:255 W:87 (34%) L:97 (38%) D:71 (28%)
Tranmere P:268 W:93 (35%) L:97 (36%) D:78 (29%)

Amazingly similar records with Aldridge's coming at a higher level. :)

10/10/2006, 1:43 PM
jerking a lot today.

Not a good idea to use that phrase. Could be misread.

10/10/2006, 1:51 PM
Not a good idea to use that phrase. Could be misread.
Especially if you only cut & paste that part of what I wrote!

Tks eirebhoy.

Cup runs? Both got to a FA Cup SF, or did Aldo "only" get to a QF? He did get to a Lge Cup Final though.

Billsthoughts, if you're watching, an example of stats actually being of use? :)

greendeiseboy
10/10/2006, 2:58 PM
theres not a hope in hell that aldo will ever be offered the job - no one is going to run the risk of him singing lily the pink on the team coach after we win (?) a game

Closed Account 2
10/10/2006, 3:14 PM
Aldo got to the quarters of the FA twice in two seasons... going out (only just) to Newcastle (1999/2000) and then Liverpool (2000/2001). Over those 2 seasons Tranmere's record in the FA Cup (in terms of matches won as a %)was only surpassed by Arsenal. In 1999/2000 Tranmere also got to the final of the League Cup (the last one to be played at Wembley) where, on going down to 10 men they went 1 down to Leicester. David Kelly then scored a memorable goal to make it 1-1 but sadly Matt Elliot scored another header to make it 2-1 to Martin O'Neills Leicester. As an interesting aside in goal for Tranmere that day was a very young Joe Murphy.

On these runs over the 2 years Aldo's Tranmere beat many Premier League teams including Coventry (5-1), Middlesbrough (who had the likes of Ziege and Juninho playing for them), Everton (3-0 away from home), Leeds (who were rampant in Europe at the time) and famously Southampton 4-3 after being 3-0 down at half time. Sam Allerdyce's Bolton (then in division one) were also put to the sword 4-1 on aggregate.

In the 1999/2000 season Tranmere also had, initially a good run of form in the League, however constant rearranging of fixtures and fatigue eventually told and the team finished mid table.

All of this was achieved with the adminstrators hovering over the club, no players were signed (except Wayne Allison, who couldnt play in the cups in 1999/2000) and much of the team was inexperienced youth players.

Aldo was able to bring out the best in these players and I am convinced he could do the same with our national team.

Student Mullet
10/10/2006, 5:30 PM
Yep, I think the interview is uploaded here somewhere.http://www.stigonline.com/eamon.mp3

The Legend
10/10/2006, 5:51 PM
At the moment I'd welcome Aldo with open arms.

I'd welcome an inanimate carbon rod at this point!

carloz
10/10/2006, 7:04 PM
This may sound like a strange one but what about Kevin Keegan. Very passionate and has always done well in the first couple of years at his job. Granted he seems to lose the plot then but he cant be worse than 'the buck stops with me' Stan

barney
11/10/2006, 12:02 AM
Lads Aldo hasn't managed in five years. His track record is not great either. Say we sack Stan and pay him off (2mill). We pay his backroom staff off. We bring in Aldo on a similar wage. And he fails, and there is a good chance of that happening, what then?

And passion doesnt win you games on its own. Ireland conceded four against Holland, not beacause of a lack of passion, but primarily cause we were so badly organised. Ditto Cyprus. Running around like headless chickens will not win us games.

11/10/2006, 12:22 AM
Lads Aldo hasn't managed in five years. His track record is not great either. Say we sack Stan and pay him off (2mill). We pay his backroom staff off. We bring in Aldo on a similar wage. And he fails, and there is a good chance of that happening, what then?
It's not as simple as that really. If we lose against the Czechs and Staunton stays on then our qualification hopes are over and 90% of people want Stan out. At a wild guess I couldn't see us getting more than 50k for our matches in Croker. If Stan was let go after tomorrow's match and we got a manager in that the public were happy with I could still see us getting full houses in Croker. We're talking about a difference of around €1m per match.

Also I doubt Stan would have to be paid €2m. For a person so desperate to manage Ireland I'd say the FAI stuck quite a few clauses in that contract. :)

billybunter
11/10/2006, 3:27 AM
while i would love to see aldo get the job, - if the commitment is there for a prove 'world class" manager, then i'd settle for jose pekerman (argentinian coach from this past world cup. man has class, humility, and most of all, - proven track record.

Volcán Masaya
11/10/2006, 7:09 AM
while i would love to see aldo get the job, - if the commitment is there for a prove 'world class" manager, then i'd settle for jose pekerman (argentinian coach from this past world cup. man has class, humility, and most of all, - proven track record.

I would dance in the fcvking streets if we hired Pekerman. That would be quite a catch. Apparently the Mexicans were sussing him out before deciding to go with Sanchez and the Yanks have been sniffing about too.
He coached the Argentine team that beat us in the 1997 Youth WC semifinal, had nice things to say about the Irish team after that match.
The man is an absolute class act.

The thing is the FAI haven't the ability to think beyond the two isles, like a lot of people on this board apparently. Why people insist on suggesting failed British/Irish hacks is beyond me. Ye do realise there is football played outside of England and Scotland lads, right?

barney
11/10/2006, 8:00 AM
It's not as simple as that really. If we lose against the Czechs and Staunton stays on then our qualification hopes are over and 90% of people want Stan out. At a wild guess I couldn't see us getting more than 50k for our matches in Croker. If Stan was let go after tomorrow's match and we got a manager in that the public were happy with I could still see us getting full houses in Croker. We're talking about a difference of around €1m per match.

Also I doubt Stan would have to be paid €2m. For a person so desperate to manage Ireland I'd say the FAI stuck quite a few clauses in that contract. :)

Those are very wild figures. A manager the public are happy with? O'Neill, Pekerman, Hiddink? Ain't gonna happen. An Aldo type figure is as big a risk as Stan and if the results aren't good under him, and the probably wouldn't be, we are back at square 1 and a couple of million out of pocket.

11/10/2006, 8:21 AM
Fair enough but at least Aldridge would be a popular choice at this stage and he would be forgiven for any further shockers in this campaign. If he failed after the next one then at least the fans could say it was their choice so there wouldn't be half as much baying for blood.

11/10/2006, 10:54 AM
Pekerman has proven very little more than Kerr did. People go on about Kerr's negativity when we take the lead. Have people forgotten Argentina v Germany? Pekerman had world class players at his disposal and failed at the world cup.

Condex
11/10/2006, 11:00 AM
What has Aldridge ever done in management ?

Surely someone like Curbishley(if available) would be a lot better !!

macdermesser
11/10/2006, 11:07 AM
Pekerman has proven very little more than Kerr did. People go on about Kerr's negativity when we take the lead. Have people forgotten Argentina v Germany? Pekerman had world class players at his disposal and failed at the world cup.

exactly. Why didn't Messi start against the Germans? Smacked of the manager being pig headed and on an ego trip

billybunter
11/10/2006, 2:30 PM
Apparently the next Ireland manager has to have had at least one world cup win under his belt!!!! (according to some of these posts)

How things change over a few days. We would have settled for Tony Grealish on saturday night.....

Metrostars
11/10/2006, 3:07 PM
It's interesting to note that Huddink, who was on everyone's wish-list for the job before Stan was appointed, did just as good as Kerr against Israel last Saturday. 2 game, 2 draws. Very Kerr-like.

For all his faults, Peckerman has done a great jobs with Argentina's underage program, plus his team did play some beautiful soccer in the World Cup. But it would be very doubtful he would come here. He, along with Klinnsman, is a frontrunner for the US and Mexican jobs. Plus I read somewhere that he is also interested in managing a club in Europe. So why Ireland?

There is a guy who I think we would probably end up with. Not saying that Stan is definitely out as Stan's team may even pull a rabbit out of a hat tonight and beat the Czechs. The man I'm thinking of by the way has finished in the top 4 in the EPL plus gotten his team to the CL Semis. Currently out of a job. Wont receive a lot of support on here though :p

macdermesser
11/10/2006, 3:34 PM
It's interesting to note that Huddink, who was on everyone's wish-list for the job before Stan was appointed, did just as good as Kerr against Israel last Saturday. 2 game, 2 draws. Very Kerr-like.

For all his faults, Peckerman has done a great jobs with Argentina's underage program, plus his team did play some beautiful soccer in the World Cup. But it would be very doubtful he would come here. He, along with Klinnsman, is a frontrunner for the US and Mexican jobs. Plus I read somewhere that he is also interested in managing a club in Europe. So why Ireland?

There is a guy who I think we would probably end up with. Not saying that Stan is definitely out as Stan's team may even pull a rabbit out of a hat tonight and beat the Czechs. The man I'm thinking of by the way has finished in the top 4 in the EPL plus gotten his team to the CL Semis. Currently out of a job. Wont receive a lot of support on here though :p

David O Leary, I presume you are referring to.. I don't think so. PLease God no .. someone one can at least humour us all. Listening to de gaffa at the moment is bad enough ..

11/10/2006, 3:36 PM
I'd welcome an inanimate carbon rod at this point!

Jaysus dont mention ROD remember the fai are watching, we don't want to give them Ideas about a certain Mr. Collins now do we!