View Full Version : Confusion over date for Derry game
Counting Crow
17/09/2002, 11:48 PM
The stories about the date for the Derry game are growing arms and legs. Everything from being forced to playing it at Landsdowne Road ( what a load of crap ) to having to suit the "Travelling Derry Army" ( of 30 people ?????) thus playing it @ midday Sunday ( a disaster for atmosphere ).
Why is it an issue, when we have to play them in the League up there on a Thursday night, later in the year? I say tell them shove it and play it on Friday night @ 7.45 ( with the customary 15 min. delay ).
In relation to the Landsdowne Rd affair it could only take the likes of the FAI to come up with a pee-brained idea like this mid-season. Just when one of their Teams finally starts to draw in big crowds, they threaten to move a potentially "Full House" out of the City and 180 miles away. As the saying goes, "If they had two brains they would rattle"
They should be promoting the City v. Derry game on TV and taking the opportunity to promote the game with pictures and live shots of a LOI ground actually full and buzzing with atmosphere......they obviously missed the opportunity last Friday. I'd say there probably wasn't one FAI official in the Cross for the Rovers game......too far to travel!!!!!!
There incompetance really is hard to stomach at times and it's only us in this country that would put up with it.
They're an absolute mess.
brandywellpride
18/09/2002, 2:12 AM
Counting Crow..........you are a muppet!!!!!
Derry and Cork always play against each other on a week-end since time began!
As for the 30 away fans.......you obviouslt dont know much about our league when you say that.
Within 18hrs of the draw being made I have filled two buses and DCFC have had 60 ppl looking for seats on the plane.
The game should be played on a weekend as was always the case but your chairman is acting like a prat and insisting the game bes played on a friday fecking night!!!!!!!!!
Seán dc
Dricky
18/09/2002, 7:31 AM
Sunday is out because it clashes with the GAA but friday night is a bit unfair on the Derry Fans, there must be some other reason why Saturday night is outMaybe Brian doesn't want to pay his staff time and a half on a Saturday.
Originally posted by brandywellpride
Counting Crow..........you are a muppet!!!!!
Derry and Cork always play against each other on a week-end since time began!
The game should be played on a weekend as was always the case but your chairman is acting like a prat and insisting the game bes played on a friday fecking night!!!!!!!!!
Seán dc
No It shouldn't, it is the Cork Chairman's perogrative tp play the game when he chooses. Personally I would prefer a saturday but it is the club's call. after all it's a cup game:D
Apparently Bohs are writing to the FAI requesting tie V Rovers be switched from Sunday to the Friday night.
Why can't City play on the Saturday night?
Originally posted by vssn
Apparently Bohs are writing to the FAI requesting tie V Rovers be switched from Sunday to the Friday night.
Why can't City play on the Saturday night?
as i said I would love if it was on a saturday. on the offical site the time is confirmed for a friday. so it looks like it is set in stone.
Dricky
18/09/2002, 9:49 AM
TV rights!!!!
Friday and Sunday are the two days they want.
Gardai don't want Scum v Bohs on Friday night re trouble and GAA on SUnday classes with Cork so thus the times
mouldymurphy
18/09/2002, 10:56 AM
Originally posted by Dricky
but friday night is a bit unfair on the Derry Fans, .
and it was fair on us to go to donegal on a saturday and dublin on a monday ?
18/09/2002, 11:16 AM
Lads, myself as a Derry fan and all youse are Cork fans must know by now that the Provinicial Clubs in the League always get a bum deal from the authorities
However in League games we have alwasy mad ethe efort to accommodate Cork and vice versa, such as the noon kick off for the League game earlier in the season
However similiar to some other points made, surely a Saturday night game coul have ben an acceptable compromise in the whole affair.
Originally posted by Maribor
Lads, myself as a Derry fan and all youse are Cork fans must know by now that the Provinicial Clubs in the League always get a bum deal from the authorities
However in League games we have alwasy mad ethe efort to accommodate Cork and vice versa, such as the noon kick off for the League game earlier in the season
However similiar to some other points made, surely a Saturday night game coul have ben an acceptable compromise in the whole affair.
if it means we beat a very tired derry team and get to the cup final it will be worth it. sorry to be cruel but ye would do the same.
anyway there is no point in getting at the fans talk to the chairman. the game will be a full house i reckon anyway- at the most there will be a 100 derry fans anyway.
it would suit me personally if it was on a sunday or sat but that ain't going to happen
Dricky
18/09/2002, 11:50 AM
and it was fair on us to go to donegal on a saturday and dublin on a monday ?
Saturday you can travel easier unless your working weekend and Dublin is not a problem to get to Derry however is an f*ckin nightmare.....
how many CCFC supporters live in Derry?
Still think FAI could of organised it better dates wise.
18/09/2002, 12:47 PM
It should be on Friday night.
I think I read on a previous post that Derry made Waterford travel up on a Thursday night.
I think to fully benefit from the home advantage we need it on a Friday night, in front of a huge home crowd.
You can be sure Derry would do us no favours if the tables were turned.
Obviously the league agreement between the 2 clubs goes out the window here.
18/09/2002, 1:59 PM
That's what i am saying lads- this decision could put the previosu amicable relationship between clubs at risk.
I am certain now that if we manage to get a draw at the Cross that Derry will ensure the replay will be a Thursday night. If a Friday night is bad for us lot I imagine that Thursday will be a complete nightmare for youse.
As for fan numbers I would say that there will be more than a hundred- there are already apparently 70 names down for the propsed chartered plane from Derry to Cork and this is added to by at least a couple of buses that will make the trip
Yeah, the friday night is tough on you alright. We'd be upset if it was the other way around. I would have thought saturday night would have been the fairest, but anything other than that awful 12noon sunday kick off- it always destroys the athmosphere.
18/09/2002, 2:27 PM
Originally posted by Éanna
Yeah, the friday night is tough on you alright. We'd be upset if it was the other way around. I would have thought saturday night would have been the fairest, but anything other than that awful 12noon sunday kick off- it always destroys the athmosphere.
Hear Hear .... Saturday would be better.
As said already it would be a shame to ruin an otherwise good relationship for the sake of one game.
If the FAI & tv dictating the dates then not too much the clubs can do about it.
If its citys call saturday night would be a good compromise as any away fans travelling would not be likely to be travelling straight back to Derry anyway.
If we can't stand together what hope have we against the pale teams.
Its just had to be a friday/saturday night, a 12noon sunday kick-off would have ruined the atmosphere, taken a bit away from the crowd and IMO ruined the whole occasion that the semi final should be.
My biggest worry now is that we draw and have to travel to derry midweek.:(
Counting Crow
20/09/2002, 7:09 PM
I cannot believe what I am reading here. For the first time in 18 years we are playing matches at a time that seems to suit the general Cork public.
Friday nights have proven to be a success.
Fair enough City have an agreement with Derry for League games...... this is however the Cup. Can you imagine Barcelona facilitating R Madrid, or Leeds doing so for Man U?
Wake up and smell the roses everyone. When it comes to this stage in any competion then you look after yourself. Nothing against Derry. We do have a good relationship.
In my opinion, however, this time we suit ourselves.
damn right
i mean we are potentially only 90mins away from a cup final, and 180 away from europe
being nice to derry is one thing, but euro footie is something else alltogether..why lessen our chances of getting there at this stage
20/09/2002, 7:54 PM
Lads lads lads...
Ye're forgetting about the competition, the reason that football is never played on a Saturday night....
The Premiership & Match of the Day. The bar stool fans know where their priority is & they aint going to be leaving that warm bar.
Personally Id rather if it was on the Sat or Sun, but getting through to the final is more important than 'sticking together' with Derry. Thats life, what can you do?:o
I gotta agree, why jeporadise our chances of getting to the final just to keep Derry and the support happy.
Originally posted by Counting Crow
Can you imagine Barcelona facilitating R Madrid, or Leeds doing so for Man U?
There's a big difference there, in fairness. No, I think we've got to look out for ourselves first, of course, I'd just rather it wasn't at the expense of the good relationship we've built up with Derry
its friday cause i booked it off from work! (im working nights that weekend);)
Originally posted by Troy.McClure
Lads lads lads...
Ye're forgetting about the competition, the reason that football is never played on a Saturday night....
The Premiership & Match of the Day. The bar stool fans know where their priority is & they aint going to be leaving that warm bar.
Does anyone stay in to watch english football highlights on a saturday night? Don't ITV show their highlights around 10.30 or so in which case the match be long over...?
I think a Saturday evening with kick-off @ 5:00 or 6:00 would be good.
RTE show the All-Ireland qualifiers at that time all summer. It would give Derry fans the time to get here, it should suit RTE, there would be a big crowd, good atmosphere and even the gardai should be able to manage it.
from soccercentral
soccercentral.ie have learned that while discussions are still ongoing in attempts to have both games televised live, it seems more likely that while camera's will be in place at both venues there will only be a highlights package broadcast.
2 of the biggest FAI Cup semi final ties in years & looks unlikely be no live coverage. No reason both games can't be on at the same time if no tv coverage?
:mad:
Speaking to a Bohs fan here in work.
He told me that we were switching to Sunday and they were moving to Friday night.
Not sure whats going on.
Is it defo for Friday night ?
25/09/2002, 5:12 PM
This really gives a lie to TV3's interest in the league. They are quite entitled to bid for the semis but they're obviously not bothered.
Friday 4th Oct is printed on the tickets
Originally posted by Schumi
This really gives a lie to TV3's interest in the league. They are quite entitled to bid for the semis but they're obviously not bothered.
Far as I know, RTE still have the rights to the cup. I think TV3´s deal is for the league only. Anyone know for sure?
26/09/2002, 11:44 AM
Originally posted by oddboy
I think a Saturday evening with kick-off @ 5:00 or 6:00 would be good.
RTE show the All-Ireland qualifiers at that time all summer. It would give Derry fans the time to get here, it should suit RTE, there would be a big crowd, good atmosphere and even the gardai should be able to manage it.
The premiership is on at 6:30 isnt it? They would have to have it on N2 and if they had 3 straight hours of soccer then the GAA heads would freek. I cant see why people are so worked up about this, its just one fixture thats out of our control
Originally posted by Éanna
Far as I know, RTE still have the rights to the cup. I think TV3´s deal is for the league only. Anyone know for sure?
AFAIK the league & cup tv rights are separate.
League:
TV3 have rights (starting in next week - october) to show at least 5 live games of their choosing as well as weekly highlights - i'd assume this a minimum condition of the international rights.
RTE or anyone else can negotiate individually to show any match live that tv3 are not showing.
Cup:
I don't think theres any exclusive deals with RTE ot TV3? RTE have showed goals from a few cup games on the news already. RTE possibly/probably show the cup final live?
No idea where Sky come in to all this...
The premiership is on at 6:30 isnt it? They would have to have it on N2 and if they had 3 straight hours of soccer then the GAA heads would freek. I cant see why people are so worked up about this, its just one fixture thats out of our control
What about the World Cup???
European Championships ???
How many hours of soccer is that ??
What about 2 or 3 games on a Sunday from 12.30 until 6:00. and The Sunday Games for another hour and a half ???
How many hours there ???
Who are the people that are worked up ??
Fans of both clubs are simply discussing what would be the best time for ALL fans.....
The premiershi* fans can go back to their bedrooms with "Shoot!", and the GAA fans can stick their heads back in the slurry for all I care. I´m irritated because we have a good relationship with Derry at many levels and this is being jeopardised.
27/09/2002, 9:34 AM
To update you all lads I am just letting you know that there will be at least a hundred of a travelling support
However my main point is that we are due to play you in the League in the week following the Cup game. Surely with Cork's decision to hold the Cup game on Friday night Derry will ensure that the League game is on Thursday night
Candystripes Online (http://www.derrycityfc.moonfruit.com)
27/09/2002, 11:29 AM
Originally posted by Maribor
However my main point is that we are due to play you in the League in the week following the Cup game. Surely with Cork's decision to hold the Cup game on Friday night Derry will ensure that the League game is on Thursday night
Thats Derry´s perogative, and unfortunately I can see it happening. I just hope it doesn´t descend into a tit-for-tat messing about with fixtures. :rolleyes: