View Full Version : Post Cyprus Match Reaction thread
07/10/2006, 8:53 PM
Only 1 thing to say.....Would an Eircom League 11 have lost 5-2 to Cyprus?
07/10/2006, 8:57 PM
I'm not sure Bray would have lost 5-2 to Cyprus, and I saw them lose 4-0 to UCD last night.
as_i_say
07/10/2006, 9:01 PM
chances are they would have won.
07/10/2006, 9:05 PM
chances are they would have won.
Exactly...People of Ireland should demand that these are the players who should play for our country,not League 1 wasters and reserve players.
Scratchy
07/10/2006, 9:05 PM
The Curse of TV3 that haunted us during the Euro 2000 qualifying campaign has come back to haunt us!!:eek: :D
Indeed so Thunderblaster.
That was the worst Irish performance I've seen in over 20 years.We were a disgrace tonight and some of those players should never wear an Ireland shirt again.
Staunton is plain and simply not up to the task and should be removed from his position after the Czech Republic game on Wednesday night.Maybe then we can do a proper rebuilding job with someone at the helm who is capable of doing it.
The FAI chose the cheap option in appointing Staunton and we're now paying the price for it.
Brooklyn ZMB
07/10/2006, 9:06 PM
I got in from work, where I didn't know the result, and looked up the score, my girlfriend said "who died" based on my reaction and not knowing what I was doing.
I think that pretty much says it all.
Thunderblaster
07/10/2006, 9:07 PM
I don't think even Westport United would have lost 5-2 to Cyprus. Sure Cork City managed to beat Apollon Limassol, the best team on the island.
Its not Staunton's fault he's in the job. He applied for his deam job and got it.
The problem is how/why...
07/10/2006, 9:12 PM
I find this type of petition and berating of our current manager really embarrassing. Best fans in the world, my ar$e. :mad:
I find losing to Cyprus 5-2 more embarassing tbh!:o
lim abroad
07/10/2006, 9:18 PM
imagine how poor paddy kenny feels,he's conceded 9 goals in 2 games for ireland now
Dr. Ogba
07/10/2006, 9:32 PM
I'm at a loss to put my reaction to that result into words. I genuinely cannot believe that there were eleven Irishmen on that pitch who were supposedly representing their country. This is supposed to be the pinnacle for any sportsperson in his/her profession, to represent their country on a world stage and they should need no more motivation than that. I have lost respect for each and every one of them tonight.
And the most depressing thing is that nothing will ever change in the running of the FAI. They will weather the storm and then go on being the corrupt f.uckers they always were, lining their own pockets and serving their own purposes with absolutely no interest in developing the game in this country...
F.uckin depressing stuff all round...
07/10/2006, 9:34 PM
Where does one even start? Ultimately it's not Staunton's fault. He didn't appoint hinself. The buck stops with Delaney, at least on an individual level.
But it goes beyond that. Do we as a country even deserve a decent football team? We're the parasites of world football. We send our kinds abroad from a young age, depriving many of a decent education, to play football in an overrated, morally bankrupt from top to bottom league system. Like the Irish BNP councillors popping up in the East End, the moral corruption is speading. Look at the performances our 'stars' put in this evening and tell me that we haven't all been cheated.
Our media is obsessed by English football & despite its perpetual failure to make any impact on the international stage we set it up as the ultimate football showcase.
Those individuals who can afford to invest large amounts in football prefer to do so in some second rate backwater in the UK than at home. It'd probably take only about 20 of the newly rich to sell their 3rd or 4th properties to build an academy that could be the pride of any country in Europe.
This is only the start of what I'd like to say. Those of us who care deply about our team & the thousands who invest their time with **** all resources up and down the country have been cheated by those in whom we invest our faith.
I think anyone upset by tonight's result should look at himself & ask if he's part of the problem, even in only the smallest way.
Worst night I can ever recall as a football fan.
Excellent post man. The best on the subject so far.
Some of the stuff said about Staunton on this thread and other threads really bother me. As Dodge says, he applied for a job and got it....what part of that "equation" do people not get? Staunton can't cut, and his very appointment proves that those above him can't either. :mad:
soccerc
07/10/2006, 9:50 PM
Its not Staunton'sfault he's in the job. He applied for his job and got it.
The problem is how/why...
He never applied - He was approached to be No2 to Sir Bobby. FAI leaked it to press to gauge public opinion and reaction, picked up the vibes and swapped the roles.
Billsthoughts
07/10/2006, 9:52 PM
I see.....:confused:
as_i_say
07/10/2006, 10:04 PM
ye old quote button problem
07/10/2006, 10:37 PM
I've read the first couple of pages of this thread. I posted yesterday to notify people that Stan was saying that a draw wouldn't be a disaster. He may be a very affiable felllow, but I wouldn't allow this guy run the local boozers' pub team in the summer league. Its a shambles. I reckon if you gave Brian Kerr, who I am not a huge fan of, a team of Eircom League players, he could have organised them to achieve a draw, in the very least tonight. But instead we were served with an absolute shambles tonight.
In the late 90s this country won EUFA championships at U16 and U18 level. These players should be in their prime now. What has happened to this generation of players. Keane, Dunne, Duff, O'Shea, Reid are all playing for decent clubs in the premiership, yet we can't beat a team of semi-pros from Cyprus. Where does the buck lie.
For a start the management have to go. No ifs or buts, total disgrace, we are the laughing stock of Europe after this result.
Furthermore, the main culprit in this sorry shambles is JOHN DELANEY. This man has assisinated both managers and official since he came to the top in the FAI.
He wanted Bryan Robson instead of Brian Kerr.. Him being a Man Utd fan had nothign to do with this of course!!!!!!
Kerr didn't live up to expectations but at least we competed and had a chance until the final game, losing only once to a wonder strike from TH.
Fran Rooney took over the reins for a while and started making changes in the FAI. He managed to get us some quality friendlies against Brazil, Holand ect. The last free weekend we had we couldn't find an opponent who wanted to play against us.
Delaney told us he wanted to get Ireland a world class manager.
He actually got us the assistant reserve team manager of Walsall. and it ****ing shows.
Delaney told us he would resign if the Genises report wasn't implemented after a year. IT WASN'T AND HE DIDN'T.
Not only has Staunton to go. But Delaney must to. This buck stops with him.
07/10/2006, 10:47 PM
I've been out since 2pm, our Nottingham Irish Centre wasn't even open so fair pair play to the only place in Nottm showed that rubbish.
To begin with, I am absolutely disgusted. I have never seen a performance so inept in my life. If Staunton doesn't reisgn by the time my all day hangover kicks in tomorrow I don't know what I will do.
Robbie Keane, O'Brien, Kilbane, O'Shea, Finnan and co should all look at themselves tonight and wonder how far we have slipped as a nation. I live in England - I've had 15 text messages taking the mick out of the score..........from a team that just drew with Macedonia.
Good night Stan, you never had the chance as a coach/manager and I don't know why you were appointed. What a JOKE we are.
Emmet
07/10/2006, 10:53 PM
I agree with what people have written about Delaney in particular and Staunton also ... but what about the players? Someone mentioned that this current group was very successful at under-age levels back in the late 1990s ... but who are the leaders? Apart from Given I can't think of one ... yes we are missing Roy Keane but Kenny Cunningham offered a lot in terms of leadership too. Losing them both together was hard. These things can't be coached - you either have them or you don't. And it really does worry me because I cannot see one outfield player who will push themself and the players around them. Not one. They're a team of sheep.
07/10/2006, 11:01 PM
The most worrying thing is that I don't feel any sense of shock.
Billy Lord
08/10/2006, 12:32 AM
Why can't all the great English clubs that Ireland fans support just donate their players to Ireland? After all, we're the best fans in the world. Maybe, if we all followed Sundireland, they would build a team that we can all be proud of from our barstools?
If it wasn't for English football, we'd have no players but the pub part-timers from the EL. And even they couldn't do so well as to lose 5-2 to mighty Cyprus.
soccerc
08/10/2006, 12:37 AM
Why can't all the great English clubs that Ireland fans support just donate their players to Ireland? After all, we're the best fans in the world. Maybe, if we all followed Sundireland, they would build a team that we can all be proud of from our barstools?
If it wasn't for English football, we'd have no players but the pub part-timers from the EL. And even they couldn't do so well as to lose 5-2 to mighty Cyprus.
Them Woodbines don't seem to have any medicinal effect Billy.
Not all Ireland fans are supporters of English clubs, as you well know, and you could well be preaching to the converted by posting here:D
There are those of us who support, and are supported by working at grassroots level here too.;)
German_Tim
08/10/2006, 12:54 AM
I genuinely cannot believe that there we're eleven Irishmen on that pitch who were supposedly representing their country.
Here in Germany there are rumours that they had drunk a few pints of Guinness before the game ;) ... otherwise there isn't any explanation for this embarrassing result! :rolleyes:
Conceding 5 goals against Cyprus is simply unbelievable!! :eek:
Didn't know that Given is irreplaceable for the boys in green...
Cheer up, dear Irishmen. There are more important things in life than a football/soccer game...I'm right? :-)
onenilgameover
08/10/2006, 12:56 AM
Delaney told us he wanted to get Ireland a world class manager.
He actually got us the assistant reserve team manager of Walsall. and it ****ing shows.
Delaney told us he would resign if the Genises report wasn't implemented after a year. IT WASN'T AND HE DIDN'T.
Not only has Staunton to go. But Delaney must to. This buck stops with him.
i was the one who tried to get delaney out or at least put a bit of heat put on him with the red card protest two years ago and I didnt get a huge load of back up from people. a few helped out and we made some waves.
theres alot of bull talked and not alot done.
this is the worst day in irish football history
Billy Lord
08/10/2006, 1:18 AM
soccrc: I'm just delighted that the devils have come home to roost. Ireland's fickle fans have finally got the team they deserve. Ole!
onenilgameover
08/10/2006, 1:25 AM
soccrc: I'm just delighted that the devils have come home to roost. Ireland's fickle fans have finally got the team they deserve. Ole!
hows that billy?
Billy Lord
08/10/2006, 1:32 AM
Ireland now has an international team that reflects its fanbase. Neither have any interest in progressing Irish football.
onenilgameover
08/10/2006, 1:35 AM
Ireland now has an international team that reflects its fanbase. Neither have any interest in progressing Irish football.
probably true in some way billy...
but not true in all cases...apathy is a killer in all walks of irish life.
slaggin irish fans off now is not the time...
Dallasirish
08/10/2006, 1:36 AM
This is a F###ING disaster ===== if he is not gone bu morning and delaney with him we have a lot to anwser for!! Anyone puttin on a national jesery and turnin in ****e like what we just saw should be taken out! This is the worst day in Irish Sport EVER WE ARE THE LAUGHIN STOCK OF THE WORLD! Who the F&&K are CYPRUS! STAN RESIGN ---- DO the Right thing as should that self centered horrible ******* delaney who hand picked a YES MAN who was way out of his depth and that Delaney PRIC^ Knew it!!!
Cannot get over what just happened ---- i mean ffs That was embarrisin!!!
Resign ffs RESIGN!
onenilgameover
08/10/2006, 1:40 AM
This is a F###ING disaster ===== if he is not gone bu morning and delaney with him we have a lot to anwser for!! Anyone puttin on a national jesery and turnin in ****e like what we just saw should be taken out! This is the worst day in Irish Sport EVER WE ARE THE LAUGHIN STOCK OF THE WORLD! Who the F&&K are CYPRUS! STAN RESIGN ---- DO the Right thing as should that self centered horrible ******* delaney who hand picked a YES MAN who was way out of his depth and that Delaney PRIC^ Knew it!!!
Cannot get over what just happened ---- i mean ffs That was embarrisin!!!
Resign ffs RESIGN!
theres no balls in any of em..no one will resign and i pretty sure no one will make em....
so so sad
08/10/2006, 4:59 AM
Here in Germany there are rumours that they had drunk a few pints of Guinness before the game ;) ... otherwise there isn't any explanation for this embarrassing result!
I think the Guinness is more of an explanation for the result than a rumour.
No fight, no spirit, no passion, no commitment, no heart, no game plan, no cohesion, no leadership, no threat, no defence, no points.
Cyprus 5-2 Laughing stocks
F'off Staunton :mad: :mad:
londonirish17
08/10/2006, 6:50 AM
I am utterly disgusted. The result in itself says enough. The whole squad should be ashamed! If you don't make in Cyprus than your place is not deserved in a final tournament. That being said though, we have to remind that Spain got humiliated on the same pitch, one year ago, and this should have been a warning to some lads
You can blame the injuries, the managers in the stands, throw out all the ****e you want, but Never have i seen just an embarrassing performance. We got away with 5-2 it should have been 7 or 8, apart from the 2 goals did we have a shot in anger.
If the Scots can beat france, NI draw away in Denmark, then surely we can beat Cyprus. There is something seriously wrong, and Delaney has to take the blame. Delaney and Staunton both have to go!
onceahoop
08/10/2006, 8:10 AM
Andy O'Brien should never pull on a green shirt again. Neither should Kilbane. An absolute shambles from the back four. Stephen Ireland was out of his depth and robbie Keane was anonymous. Duffer would be better playing down the middle as he's just getting crowded out down the line. The FAI should also appeal Dunnes red card immediately. Never a foul.
As for Delaney resigning. Not a hope. the man's a control freak and that's why he appointed Stan. There was no way he was going to appoint a strong international manager who'd tell him to fook off. If the heat gets too much this week he'll sacrifice his buddy Stan. The man has no redeeming features.
And finally. I hope those players look at themselves in the mirror and ask themselves do they consider themselves in the same light of players who have gone before them and who burst a gut playing in the green jersey. Go around any park in Ireland to day and you'll see lads playing with more skill and passion than we saw last night. What do the barstoolers think of the best league in the world now?
08/10/2006, 8:14 AM
I watched Scotland on MoTD & it appeared they were little better than we were in September 05. But they deserve their current run because, laugh at the SPL as you will, but they have a self-sufficient credible football infrastructure.
We had the best underage sides in Europe 8 years ago. Only the Irish could sqaunder that potential in the way we did.
If getting thumped by Cyprus causes a rethink of our relationship with football, and if Delaney is dumped, then maybe there's a glimmer of hope. I'm almost more angry at Don Givens than I am at Staunton. In fact, there's no almost about it.
Give people like Brian Kerr and Liam Brady a blank cheque to bring our systems and leagues into the 21st century.
Total aside: it's been obvious for ages now that international football is a game now played by big athletic men with technical ability. How many players in our first XI are even 6 feet tall?
highlight100
08/10/2006, 8:15 AM
Delaney and Stan should do the right thing and go now,it will probaly take someone else years to rebuild the damage.
The Sheliban
08/10/2006, 9:26 AM
Everybody's fault of course except the fans.
As has been said, Mick McCarthy was hounded out of office by fans and media after 2 defeats and a successful World Cup (where we reached the knockout stages with a back four that included Breen, Cunningham and Harte)
The root of our current demise can be traced back to the disgusting treatment handed out to McCarthy.
We had yesterday's result coming, and no matter how much we howl about it, we're all partly responsible.
Scratchy
08/10/2006, 9:26 AM
We had the best underage sides in Europe 8 years ago. Only the Irish could sqaunder that potential in the way we did.
If getting thumped by Cyprus causes a rethink of our relationship with football, and if Delaney is dumped, then maybe there's a glimmer of hope. I'm almost more angry at Don Givens than I am at Staunton. In fact, there's no almost about it.
Give people like Brian Kerr and Liam Brady a blank cheque to bring our systems and leagues into the 21st century.
I'm in complete agreement with you Stuttgart88.
Dun Laoire
08/10/2006, 9:29 AM
This whole thread should be printed and posted on to Merrion Sq
highlight100
08/10/2006, 9:43 AM
I think any of our Eircom League clubs would of made a better account of themselves last night
08/10/2006, 10:00 AM
I think any of our Eircom League clubs would of made a better account of themselves last night Maybe you're right but it's got to be accepted that the eL is a long way from having its house in order, and from representing any real glimmer of hope for the future.
I fully believe the foundation for success in future years lies at home but that foundation has barely been dug yet.
In all areas of life the world has changed profoundly in the last 20 yrs and even last 5. Globalisation has created new competitive forces and changed the whole dynamic of all aspects of our lives and culture. Irish individuals and businesses have by and large adapted, survived and some even thrived.
How has our football culture (what football culture some may ask) adapted? How have our football authorities adapted?
Answer: greater adulation and greater dependence of an English game that is struggling to nurture its own talent. How can we possibly expect it to nurture ours?
I've a blog prepared on this which I tried to post on chatsoccer.eu on Friday pm but couldn't cos of a technical hitch. Will post it up when I get to work on Monday.
Change of attitude is required. So called 'barstoolers' are more of a symptom than the cause of problem in my opinion.
Fubar
08/10/2006, 10:04 AM
This whole thread should be printed and posted on to Merrion Sq
Agreed. Anyone know any of the players home addresses? it should be posted to them too...
Even if the players didnt give a sh!t about whether they won or not last nite could they not have had a go for the sake of the 2,000 irish fans who spent a huge amount of money gettin there?? hang your heads in shame lads last night ye were an embaressment to your country, your fans, your clubs but most of all your selves.
08/10/2006, 10:09 AM
I thought he'd have quit by now but hasn't..... I'm absolutely sh***ing myself at the prospect of Rosicky running at Kilbane and O'Brien Wednesday evening.
The Czech's could get into double figures.
ramblers
08/10/2006, 10:14 AM
I cannot understand the surprise by every one.
His credentials,
A) Staunton won 103 caps for Ireland
b) Defensive coach for Walsall who had the worst defensive record in the league
Not exactly reassuring when he was appointed but definetly a mistake now.
Dun Laoire
08/10/2006, 10:16 AM
I thought he'd have quit by now but hasn't..... I'm absolutely sh***ing myself at the prospect of Rosicky running at Kilbane and O'Brien Wednesday evening.
The Czech's could get into double figures.
No we wont be hammered by czech. It wont surprise me if we get a draw but my gut feeling tells me a good performane but a 1-0 defeat. Ireland are like a league one team and Czech and Germany are like a premiership team. We'l up our performance big time like it's a cup final (like in stuttgart against Germany) but we'l still get beat. It's so predictable
brine3
08/10/2006, 10:18 AM
Everybody's fault of course except the fans.
As has been said, Mick McCarthy was hounded out of office by fans and media after 2 defeats and a successful World Cup (where we reached the knockout stages with a back four that included Breen, Cunningham and Harte)
The root of our current demise can be traced back to the disgusting treatment handed out to McCarthy.
We had yesterday's result coming, and no matter how much we howl about it, we're all partly responsible.
i think mccarthy was hounded out of his job for a different, well documented reason, whether you agree with that reason or not.
08/10/2006, 10:20 AM
That team couldn't get 'up' for a world cup final.
Fubar
08/10/2006, 10:24 AM
heard that the players were "shellshocked and couldnt understand what happened"??????
08/10/2006, 10:30 AM
Lads
Any EL defence in the Premier with the exception of Bray WOULD NOT HAVE CONCEDED 5 against a Cyprus team who on the night, to be fair , wasted a further half a dozen opportunities. Steve Finnan should never wear a green shirt again he's useless. But then he plays in a League with some of the most overpaid $hite defenders in the World. John O'Shea crap too not up to it.
Andy O'Brien?... well to be fair he does play in what used to be called THE FOOTBALL COMBINATION.
That was our most capped line in the whole team and they were , Dunne apart, appalling. The midfield was crying out for a Carsley or a Holland.
And I say call up the Cork City defence or Derry City defence for the Czech game other wise we will have our worst home defeat ever on Wednesday night. DELANEY out as well as STAN
inexile
08/10/2006, 10:30 AM
its easy enough to understand what happened, they are a rudderless rabble with no leadership off the field or on.
the irish midfield had a nice look to it before the game looked very creative but omg they were atrocious, andy o brien is really suffering from not playing regularly cos he was never that bad before.
as for the captain... dont even know what to say, clinton?? rubbish
at the end of the day a good manager can get a mediocre team to achieve results by organising things and being clear headed and stan does not appear to be capable of this.
08/10/2006, 10:32 AM
Oh and another thought just occurred to me
If there was an all-Ireland team on current form it would be, the NORTHERN IRELAND team. Cause the injured Shay Given aside, nobody from the Republic is currently good enough to make Lawrie Sanchez's side.