View Full Version : Rovers Fans - We Salute You
GuisaSaigon
07/10/2006, 11:26 AM
Rovers fans were a credit to their club yesterday. There was a massive crowd of united and rovers fans in foxes before and after the game all having the craic singin drinkin and talkin football.a lot of people on foot.ie enjoy slaggin rovers off and complainin about the way the hoops behave, they are only jealous .Rovers have unbelievable support who are league of ireland through and through . a premier division without rovers and ourselves should never happen again!
exiled_gufc_fan
07/10/2006, 11:54 AM
I must agree - the atmosphere last night in Foxes was great. Fair play to both sets of supporters!
07/10/2006, 11:59 AM
Ditto!
Both sets of supporters we're unbelievable last night!
GUISAUltra
07/10/2006, 12:26 PM
Rovers fans were a credit to their club yesterday. There was a massive crowd of united and rovers fans in foxes before and after the game all having the craic singin drinkin and talkin football.a lot of people on foot.ie enjoy slaggin rovers off and complainin about the way the hoops behave, they are only jealous .Rovers have unbelievable support who are league of ireland through and through . a premier division without rovers and ourselves should never happen again!
absolutely agree with every single word saigon. they were an example of how every set of fans should behave. no matter about the result, everyone just had a mad laugh and the fact that i came stumbling home at 6 this morning after drinking from 11 yesterday morning will tell ya that it was a great long session. anybody have a miracle hangover cure.
Once again id just like to thank shamrock rovers and all connected, they helped to create a very memorable night. something i thoughtr would never be heard. opposition fans after beating rovers drinking with them having great craic and myself and a few more of the boys singing WE LOVE YOU ROVERS, WE DO
07/10/2006, 12:31 PM
Ya that was funny alright-Galway fans singing-"We love ya Rovers we do" and vice versa!Memorable night and a half!:)
GUISAUltra
07/10/2006, 12:33 PM
Felt Like It Was Going For Nearly 2 Days
Trainee
07/10/2006, 1:07 PM
Rovers fans were the best away fans I seen in terryland in a long time
last night proved the eircom league is alive and well
hopefully we will playing them agin next season in a premier league game
damoGUFC
07/10/2006, 1:10 PM
Well what can i say WHAT A NIGHT!!!! great result and i agree with everyone on this about da Rovers fans....fair play to ye!! keep it up...
Paddyfield
07/10/2006, 6:00 PM
They seemed to be a decent bunch alright. Maybe Galway brings the best out of them? (Although not on the pitch as they were beaten here twice this season)
One Rovers fan said afterwards that he wished they were treated like this in every football ground in Ireland. How are they treated in other grounds?
07/10/2006, 7:00 PM
They seemed to be a decent bunch alright. Maybe Galway brings the best out of them? (Although not on the pitch as they were beaten here twice this season)
One Rovers fan said afterwards that he wished they were treated like this in every football ground in Ireland. How are they treated in other grounds?
As hooligans unfortunately.Sound bunch-I don't care what other fans say-my experiences with Rovers fans have been brillaint-same with all GUFC fans.Judge by what you see.
Sam Savic
07/10/2006, 9:12 PM
Congrats on last night. You probably just about deserved it.
The set up at Terryland is how it should be. It would be an absolute disgrace if Galway don't go up next season. GUFC know how to organise an event. The match seemed to be well promoted in the city and preparations were very professional. The match day arrangements were spot on with proper segregation, a couple of portaloos and a hot food stand for the Hoops. Most other clubs don't give a bollicks. The pitch was also immaculate.
Compare last night to the way things are organised in Dundalk and Limerick. Dundalk has to be the most badly run club in the league. Limerick have the most ****ty venue.
One minor incident, Robbie Clarke, Rovers left full, was hit with a coin in the first half as he went to take a throw. It came in from your singers section.
07/10/2006, 9:15 PM
Sam that did happen you're right.However he didn't help his cause when he turned and gave abuse to Section A-he nearly encited a riot!:D .No excuse though....it shouldn't have happened-just explaing what fully happened.
Paddyfield
07/10/2006, 10:14 PM
e.
One minor incident, Robbie Clarke, Rovers left full, was hit with a coin in the first half as he went to take a throw. It came in from your singers section.
Robbie Clarke is a fine player. He would turn on a sixpence. Or in this case, a Euro.
Sorry Sam Savic, I'll get my coat....
geezer
07/10/2006, 11:30 PM
if someone in section a seen that (i was in B) they should discreetly report or point out the individual who done it at the next home game,
that person needs to be weeded out, u could take a players eye out with that. section A were a credit last night but all it takes is one fool to dicredit 3800 fans.
Trainee
08/10/2006, 2:36 AM
Congrats on last night. You probably just about deserved it.
The set up at Terryland is how it should be. It would be an absolute disgrace if Galway don't go up next season. GUFC know how to organise an event. The match seemed to be well promoted in the city and preparations were very professional. The match day arrangements were spot on with proper segregation, a couple of portaloos and a hot food stand for the Hoops. Most other clubs don't give a bollicks. The pitch was also immaculate.
Compare last night to the way things are organised in Dundalk and Limerick. Dundalk has to be the most badly run club in the league. Limerick have the most ****ty venue.
It was not a true galway united fan who threw the coin but i know who it was and it was reported to the club hopefully and the club bar him for life
i have no room for gufc scum bags
all the ture galway united were two busy singing
thats good trainee, the coin throwing incident was noted in the refs report and the club stand to be fined in excess of E1000! The stupid bastrad should be made pay the fine. The FAI said that that was the only issue they had with the match, and that they were very impressed with everything else. If hes pointed out to the posters here at the Dundalk match Im sure they sort the issue out.
08/10/2006, 8:19 AM
I think we all have a fair idea who he is.:rolleyes: I've no problem passing on the name because he's a Grade A tosser!
GUISAUltra
08/10/2006, 12:31 PM
he should definitely be banned, its stupid things like that, that could give all of us a bad name. i didnt see who threw it but i think i've kind of figured it out from your description conor
08/10/2006, 1:09 PM
Am glad that the Rovers fans had a great time in Galway but as have said before the Galway lads and lasses are dead sound. Also have said that the Rovers crowd are fine too. Am glad to see them getting some more positive press. They are always welcome in CHP but like yourselves probably wont be here next year and while I will miss u lot I hope u go up and keep Dundalk were they belong.
GuisaSaigon
08/10/2006, 1:50 PM
I saw Clarke shouting at the crowd and i was wondering what his problem was. Whoever threw the coin should be banned from Terryland and GUST.I reckon I can guess who it was by the description there arent too many grade A tossers around, thankfully.
GUISAUltra
08/10/2006, 1:59 PM
I saw Clarke shouting at the crowd and i was wondering what his problem was. Whoever threw the coin should be banned from Terryland and GUST.I reckon I can guess who it was by the description there arent too many grade A tossers around, thankfully.
there is a fair few around galway just thankfully the majority dont come to terryland:D
Patrick Dunne
08/10/2006, 4:47 PM
If you know the identity of the "supporter" who threw the stone, let me know.
If this person has a track record of this type of behaviour then he/she will have to be banned from the ground.
People like this are a disgrace. They play into the hands of the clubhouse element who will gladly use it as an attempt to portray vocal supporters, GUST and those who travel away as "scum".
GalwayFrancis
08/10/2006, 4:52 PM
didnt see it happen myself and dont know who did it, but i dont think the guy has a track record as he's not a regular in terryland himself, should be banned for the rest of the season anyways if not life. terryland and gufc in general dont need this type of support.
corbyeire
09/10/2006, 10:38 AM
when you compare the amount of extra work that goes into getting a hundred extra people into the ground to make that grand - and then to have to lose it for that tosser - is a slap in the face to all the hardwork and effort on and off the pitch at the moment
definetly ban him for a few seasons - the rest of this season is only 3 games!!!
09/10/2006, 11:02 AM
Thanks to everyone at Galway for your hospitality on Friday.
As someone who spends way too much time moaning about inadequate policing at games, I'd like to pay tribute to the young guard who seemed to be running the show. He was professional, intelligent and had plenty of common-sense.
He did a great job at the first game in June and was on top of his game again on Friday. He should be running football policing for the whole country, he could teach his incompetent colleagues at other grounds a thing or two.
09/10/2006, 11:32 AM
your gonna have to change your signature wearerovers....Galway, Athlone & us have removed ourselves from the "we hate rovers" section of the community so not everyone hates ya.
Tir Oilean
09/10/2006, 1:04 PM
[QUOTE=WeAreRovers;550417]I'd like to pay tribute to the young guard who seemed to be running the show. He was professional, intelligent and had plenty of common-sense.
Was talking to him after the game and he said there was no major hassle at all. Only a few young fellas mouthing off about this n that. He said these guys were pulled back by their elders and told to be quiet. He's a soccer fan himself and understands the passion involved. Two directors suggested that the Galway idiot be hauled aside and given a roasting by the gardai (when they get his name) as he tarnished a perfectly good evening enjoyed by both sets of supporters. I agree with this but also suggest a name and shame policy on theses *******s.
09/10/2006, 1:40 PM
Yet another great night in Galway! Thanks again to the Galway fans for the Foxs meet up.
If only other clubs ran their show like last friday..............
Sam Savic
09/10/2006, 4:54 PM
Thanks to everyone at Galway for your hospitality on Friday.
As someone who spends way too much time moaning about inadequate policing at games, I'd like to pay tribute to the young guard who seemed to be running the show. He was professional, intelligent and had plenty of common-sense.
He did a great job at the first game in June and was on top of his game again on Friday. He should be running football policing for the whole country, he could teach his incompetent colleagues at other grounds a thing or two.
As far as I know, the Club are writing to the Super in Galway to thank them for the way things went, with particular mention of the young Garda in charge - not sure if he was Inspector or Sergeant.
corbyeire
09/10/2006, 5:35 PM
thats great to hear - fair play on the commendation
Paddyfield
09/10/2006, 5:44 PM
As far as I know, the Club are writing to the Super in Galway to thank them for the way things went, with particular mention of the young Garda in charge - not sure if he was Inspector or Sergeant.
He's neither. His name is Damien, I don't know his surname. He is on duty at most GUFC games. He is attached to Mill St. Garda Station.
Why don't you write to a local newspaper such as the Galway Advertiser ( www.galwayadvertiser.ie ) too? The Gardai get enough grief in the media; why not say your piece?
I spoke to him after the game (along with Tir Eoileann) and he found the Rovers fans easy to deal with.