View Full Version : Tonight's Games (Fri)

Red&White
06/10/2006, 4:27 PM
Cork City - Longford Town 7:45
Derry City - Bohemians 7:45
St Patrick's Athletic - Drogheda United 7:45
UCD - Bray Wanderers 7:45
Waterford United - Shelbourne 7:45

Busy night, top four all in action...thoughts?

I have a starnge feeling Shels could be held to a draw at Waterford, although it's unlikely. Cork should beat Longford by a couple, St. Pats and Drogs I reckon will be a 2-0 Drogs victory, UCD will beat Bray, and I don't want to jinx the Derry game by commenting. :rolleyes:

06/10/2006, 4:38 PM
All Draws

06/10/2006, 4:38 PM
I have a starnge feeling Shels could be held to a draw at Waterford, although it's unlikely. Cork should beat Longford by a couple, St. Pats and Drogs I reckon will be a 2-0 Drogs victory, UCD will beat Bray, and I don't want to jinx the Derry game by commenting. :rolleyes:

Reckon the Shels game will be surprisingly close, but Shels to nick it by a goal. Cork to win by 3. Reckon Pats will hold Drogs. And UCD to beat Bray by a couple. And as for the Derry match - reckon it'll be close, but like you RnW I'm saying nowt more.

Paddyfield
06/10/2006, 4:48 PM
Galway United V. Shamrock Rovers is live on www.galwaybayfm.ie from 8.05pm. Prior to that they will be broadcasting Connacht V Ulster in the rugger

Apologies in advance for the biased coverage that you may hear :)

06/10/2006, 5:07 PM
Galway United V. Shamrock Rovers is live on www.galwaybayfm.ie from 8.05pm. Prior to that they will be broadcasting Connacht V Ulster in the rugger

Should be a crackin' game that one. I'd imagine it'll be advantage Galway if they win it.

06/10/2006, 7:02 PM
Pat's 1 up on Drogheda:), Fahey with the goal.

EDIT: UCD 1-0 up on Bray too, Dicker scored it. Athlone 1-0 Cobh. Magee, 15th min

el punter
06/10/2006, 7:13 PM
bohs 1 up on Derry !!!!!!

06/10/2006, 7:22 PM
Longford 1 up v Cork

06/10/2006, 7:22 PM
Mons 1-1 Limerick. Lims took the lead and Mons got one back 2 mins later

06/10/2006, 7:23 PM
listening to GUFC in an internet cafe in cyprus sounds a great game

Gareth
06/10/2006, 7:24 PM
http://shelbournefc.ie/matchzone/matchzone.php?matchid=1622&refresh=60

Usual spot just so you know Sligoman :)

06/10/2006, 7:36 PM
Galway 1-0 up, very quiet atmosphere in general by the sounds of it. UCD 2-0 up now

06/10/2006, 7:37 PM
yessss one up derek

06/10/2006, 7:40 PM
the place is jammers upwards of 3500 over 200 rovers .The press box is in the middle of the stand both kops either end.

06/10/2006, 8:00 PM
just got a text looks bad for Alan Keane suspected broken leg .Reckons closer to 4000 sligoman

el punter
06/10/2006, 8:01 PM
yessss one up derek

beware Rovers and their 85min+ goals, seems they only start playing in the last 10 mins of each game

el punter
06/10/2006, 8:03 PM
derry equalize

06/10/2006, 8:05 PM
UCD 3-0 up.

EDIT: Cobh equalise, Carey with the goal.

06/10/2006, 8:12 PM
Shels 1-0 up. Jason Gavin sent off for Drogs:). UCD 4-0 up:eek:

Partizan
06/10/2006, 8:12 PM
Shels gone 1 up at the RSC. Byrne penalty :(

By all accounts Waterford should have gone ahead. Good crowd down there.

Mark Breen
06/10/2006, 8:14 PM
listening to GUFC in an internet cafe in cyprus sounds a great game

You and me both mate, Listening to the match watching the live updates on the shels site

06/10/2006, 8:25 PM
Pat's now up 2-0. Keegan with the goal!

06/10/2006, 8:31 PM
Reckons closer to 4000 sligomanAttendance is 3,092 according to Galway Bay FM commentator. Just under 1000 away from yer guesstimate there gufct;)

06/10/2006, 8:33 PM
did my eyes deceive me or did I observe the Longford stand-in manager body checking the Fourth Official on the TG4 coverage just then?

06/10/2006, 8:34 PM
D. Baker sent off for Longford for booting the ball away after the whistle had gone.

Didn't get away with the timewasting tactics that time son

06/10/2006, 8:36 PM
Pat's up 3-0 now:eek:. Ian Rossiter puts Athlone back in front again, 2-1.

06/10/2006, 8:36 PM
Cork equalise a minute into stoppage time

06/10/2006, 8:38 PM
Cork equalise a minute into stoppage timeKeeper should have come out and saved it! 1-1, result.

kdjaC
06/10/2006, 8:41 PM
Pat's up 3-0 now:eek:. .

Problem ? :D

We owed them that for robbing us twice this season (cup semi players playing places has nothing to do with it :p )

kdjac

06/10/2006, 8:41 PM
Galway win 1-0. Bit of verbal "exchanges" between the fans but the guards and stewards have it under control according to radio. Limerick 2-1 up.

Dr.Nightdub
06/10/2006, 9:30 PM
Must say Drogheda were even more awful tonight than I remember from earlier in the season. Poor game, nice scoreline. Seven goals in two games is nice form to be in with a cup semi looming.

No doubt about Gavin being sent off, first yellow was for elbows on Keegan, second was for going through Trevor from behind. Heckle of the night wwas directed at him before he walked: "Oi, Gavin, the seventies are on the phone and they want their haircut back!"

Aaron
06/10/2006, 9:39 PM
I think the result tonite wasd poor from our point of view. Not a great game in truth and i think the game against drogheda is even more important now. If we dont win that, i think we can kiss the title goodbye!!

06/10/2006, 9:47 PM
Bray are as bad as one could imagine. Shipping ten goals in two games. That's twice UCD have put four past them this season.

Just our luck, we play Bray and everyone around us gets good results against top teams.:rolleyes:

sfc red
06/10/2006, 9:50 PM
Great night. Made even better by the fact that Cork scoring a late goal meant absolutely feck all!

06/10/2006, 9:57 PM
Just our luck, we play Bray and everyone around us gets good results against top teams.:rolleyes:

Ye leapfrogged Bohs atleast.

I'd agree with CTID. We have absolutely no room for error in our games left....and Shels just seem to be gettin' the lucky breaks, you often need, lately.

06/10/2006, 10:25 PM
so so so close! delighted with the performance ofthe lads tonight, put in a great effort. Im quick to complain when they dont but wil say im proud of the performance tonight.

Paddyfield
07/10/2006, 6:20 AM
Galway 1-0 up, very quiet atmosphere in general by the sounds of it.

Spot on Sligoman. Stupid goal interrupted out game of Ludo at the back of the stand.

07/10/2006, 9:03 AM
Shels gone 1 up at the RSC. Byrne penalty :(

By all accounts Waterford should have gone ahead. Good crowd down there.

I really hate the RSC, it's the worst fixture for me anywho. Waterford were unlucky not to get a point last night. We were woeful I thought :eek:

What does the main stand hold, because the rest of the ground was empty.

07/10/2006, 9:19 AM
Nice dig Sligoman.
It was the best atmosphere in Terryland in years and better than anything ye've created in the Showgrounds this year-FACT!

ndrog
07/10/2006, 10:25 AM
I think the result tonite wasd poor from our point of view. Not a great game in truth and i think the game against drogheda is even more important now. If we dont win that, i think we can kiss the title goodbye!!

Drogs are awful and getting worse .If you cant beat us on tues you dont deserve to win the leauge .We are utterly clueless :mad:

07/10/2006, 10:37 AM
How long til Doolin gets the boot then?

07/10/2006, 10:39 AM
How long til Doolin gets the boot then?
He'll probably jump ship to Bohs before Drogs sack him.:D

07/10/2006, 10:57 AM
Why would he do that?

If he sits tight they have to pay out his contract.

ndrog
07/10/2006, 12:30 PM
He wont get the boot any time soon .He has alot of support from within the club .Dont think it will be long until the fans start to really get on his back .I think the players are as much to blame as doolin tbh .Some of them just dont look like they could be arsed :eek:

exiled_gufc_fan
07/10/2006, 12:32 PM

Yeah but with Connacht getting a beating they were live for almost the whole game :) It was very useful indeed in the second half as Bernie O'Connell had a better view than those in sections A and B, so when Cooke was flying down the left flank we could find out what was happening!

07/10/2006, 1:23 PM
Nice dig Sligoman.
It was the best atmosphere in Terryland in years and better than anything ye've created in the Showgrounds this year-FACT!I love the over use of the word "FACT" on this forum:rolleyes:.

07/10/2006, 1:28 PM
I love the over use of the word "FACT" on this forum:rolleyes:.

Amazing how you were the only one who listened to it on the radio and thought it sonded quiet?Cheap dig no matter what you say.

07/10/2006, 1:30 PM
Amazing how you were the only one who listened to it on the radio and thought it sonded quiet?Cheap dig no matter what you say.All I'm saying is that it didn't sound too loud on the radio, maybe it was better than it sounded but just saying it like it is. All I heard for the majority of the match was a bunch of kids shouting "Galway United"

07/10/2006, 1:57 PM
For somebody who couldn't hear anything you did well to distinguish it was kids singing the song.;)
Also the commentary was from the middle of the stand in the pressbox.

07/10/2006, 1:59 PM
Also the commentary was from the middle of the stand in the pressbox.Oh rite, I thought in order for the atmosphere to be so great you'd hear it from anywhere in the ground. Silly me:o.