View Full Version : Connaught Cup Predictions/Fixtures etc...
swinfordfc
19/02/2007, 8:39 AM
Updated;
CONNACHT CUP DRAW SEASON 2006/2007
Third Round : 14th January 2007
73 Corrib Celtic
74 Ballygawley Celtic
75 Kiltullagh
76 Ballina Town
77 Aughanagh Celtic
78 Salthill Devon
79 Inver
80 Crossmolina
81 O.L.B.C.
82 Carbury FC
83 Galway Hibs
84 Manor Rangers
85 Ballisodare Utd
86 Athenry
87 Manulla
88 Corrib Rangers
89 Urlaur
90 Kilkerrin Utd
91 Strand Celtic
92 Renmore
93 Medtronic
94 Mervue Utd
95 Abbey Utd
96 Castlebar Celtic
97 Ballinasloe Town
98 Castlerea Celtic
99 Heatmerchants
100 Colemanstown Utd
101 West Utd
102 Glenview Stars
103 City Utd
104 Yeats Utd
Fourth Round : 20th/ 21st January 2006
A Corrib Rangers
B Inver Utd
C Kilkerrin Utd
D Heatmerchants
E Colemanstown
F Ballina Town
G West United V Strand Celtic
H Athenry
J Mervue Utd
K Galway Hibs
L Manulla
M Yeats Utd
N Carbury FC
O Abbey Utd
P Ballinasloe Town
R Crossmolina
Fifth Round : 17th/18th February 2007
S Heatmerchants V Kilkerrin Utd
T West Utd or Strand Celtic V Corrib Rangers
U Mervue United V Ballina Town
V Carbury FC V Yeats Utd
W Crossmolina V Abbey Utd
X Galway Hibs V Colemanstown
Y Manulla V Athenry
Z Ballinasloe Town V Inver Utd
Quarter Finals : 17th /18th March 2007
300 Z V Y
400 X V W
500 U V T
600 V V S
Semi Finals
700 400 V 300
800 600 V 500
Final
1000 700 V 800
Lads,
Whats the story with this Strand Celtic v West Utd game?
swinfordfc
20/02/2007, 10:56 AM
Updated;
73 Corrib Celtic
74 Ballygawley Celtic
75 Kiltullagh
76 Ballina Town
77 Aughanagh Celtic
78 Salthill Devon
79 Inver
80 Crossmolina
81 O.L.B.C.
82 Carbury FC
83 Galway Hibs
84 Manor Rangers
85 Ballisodare Utd
86 Athenry
87 Manulla
88 Corrib Rangers
89 Urlaur
90 Kilkerrin Utd
91 Strand Celtic
92 Renmore
93 Medtronic
94 Mervue Utd
95 Abbey Utd
96 Castlebar Celtic
97 Ballinasloe Town
98 Castlerea Celtic
99 Heatmerchants
100 Colemanstown Utd
101 West Utd
102 Glenview Stars
103 City Utd
104 Yeats Utd
A Corrib Rangers
B Inver Utd
C Kilkerrin Utd
D Heatmerchants
E Colemanstown
F Ballina Town
H Athenry
J Mervue Utd
K Galway Hibs
L Manulla
M Yeats Utd
N Carbury FC
O Abbey Utd
P Ballinasloe Town
R Crossmolina
S Heatmerchants 0 V Kilkerrin Utd 1
V Carbury FC V Yeats Utd
W Crossmolina V Abbey Utd
Y Manulla V Athenry
300 Z V Y
400 X V W
500 U V T
600 V V Kilkerrin Utd
Semi Finals
700 400 V 300
800 600 V 500
Final
1000 700 V 800
Spongey
21/02/2007, 1:27 PM
Fixtures for Sun 25th Feb (Sligo teams)
Carbury FC v Yeats Utd (11am)
Crossmolina v Abbey Utd (2pm)
Carbury and Abbey to advance imo
No sign of the strand celtic v west utd game at all
swinfordfc
21/02/2007, 2:07 PM
Fixtures for Sun 25th Feb (Sligo teams)
Carbury FC v Yeats Utd (11am)
Crossmolina v Abbey Utd (2pm)
Carbury and Abbey to advance imo
No sign of the strand celtic v west utd game at all
Be weary of Crossmolina ;)
Spongey
21/02/2007, 3:02 PM
Be weary of Crossmolina ;)
Know about them, played them twice in the last 5 years. Although they were not in the super league then, we were only in sligo's third division and they were 2 close games.
I reckon sunday will be close but still reckon abbey will prevail
irishyop
22/02/2007, 4:45 PM
Know about them, played them twice in the last 5 years. Although they were not in the super league then, we were only in sligo's third division and they were 2 close games.
I reckon sunday will be close but still reckon abbey will prevail
Crossmolina are not a bad team at all, a strong fighting spirit, always been a pain in the ar*Se when we play them.
Spongey
26/02/2007, 8:14 AM
Result from the weekend
Crossmolina 0-2 Abbey Utd
Carbury Yeats Utd game postponed
swinfordfc
26/02/2007, 8:50 AM
Updated;
73 Corrib Celtic
74 Ballygawley Celtic
75 Kiltullagh
76 Ballina Town
77 Aughanagh Celtic
78 Salthill Devon
79 Inver
80 Crossmolina
81 O.L.B.C.
82 Carbury FC
83 Galway Hibs
84 Manor Rangers
85 Ballisodare Utd
86 Athenry
87 Manulla
88 Corrib Rangers
89 Urlaur
90 Kilkerrin Utd
91 Strand Celtic
92 Renmore
93 Medtronic
94 Mervue Utd
95 Abbey Utd
96 Castlebar Celtic
97 Ballinasloe Town
98 Castlerea Celtic
99 Heatmerchants
100 Colemanstown Utd
101 West Utd
102 Glenview Stars
103 City Utd
104 Yeats Utd
A Corrib Rangers
B Inver Utd
C Kilkerrin Utd
D Heatmerchants
E Colemanstown
F Ballina Town
H Athenry
J Mervue Utd
K Galway Hibs
L Manulla
M Yeats Utd
N Carbury FC
O Abbey Utd
P Ballinasloe Town
R Crossmolina
V Carbury FC V Yeats Utd
W Crossmolina 0 V Abbey Utd 2
Y Manulla V Athenry
300 Z V Y
400 X V Abbey United
500 U V T
600 V V Kilkerrin Utd
Semi Finals
700 400 V 300
800 600 V 500
Final
1000 700 V 800
red metal
26/02/2007, 3:48 PM
Crossmolina 0 Abbey utd 2.Very poor game.The pitch didnt help matters much.Glen shannon got 1 and Andrew mc loughlin got the 2nd.
Spongey
01/03/2007, 12:31 PM
Fixtures Sunday 4th March 2007 (all 2pm)
Fourth Round
Strand Celtic v West Utd
Fifth Round
Mervue Utd v Ballina Town
Galway Hibs v Colemanstown Utd
Manulla v Athenry
Ballinasloe Town v Inver Utd
red metal
04/03/2007, 5:28 PM
Galway hibs 1 Colemans town 2
Manulla 0 v Athenry 1
Strand celtic 0 v West utd 5
Anymore results from today
04/03/2007, 5:34 PM
what was the strand one?
Spongey
04/03/2007, 6:23 PM
Anymore results from today
Ballinasloe Town 4-0 Inver Utd
Mervue 1-0 Ballina
Any reports from the strand/west game, thought it would be a lot closer than that
Connacht Junior Cup
Strand Celtic 0-5 West Utd
Manulla 0-1 Athenry
Mervue Utd 1-0 Ballina Town
Galway Hibs 1-2 Colemanstown Utd
red metal
05/03/2007, 8:30 AM
Any reports from the strand/west game, thought it would be a lot closer than that[/QUOTE]
Ya it should have been but Strand have lost about 5 players in the last 2 weeks.They are all gone to Sligo Rovers u 21.
red metal
05/03/2007, 8:37 AM
Quarter Final draw
Ballinasloe v Athenry
Colemanstown v Abbey Utd
Mervue United v West Utd or Corrib Rangers
Carbury FC or Yeats Utd v Kilkerrin Utd.
swinfordfc
05/03/2007, 8:45 AM
Updated;
T West Utd V Corrib Rangers
U Mervue United 1 V Ballina Town 0
V Carbury FC V Yeats Utd
W Crossmolina 0 V Abbey Utd 2
X Galway Hibs 1 V Colemanstown 2
Y Manulla 0 V Athenry 1
Z Ballinasloe Town 4 V Inver Utd 0
300 Ballinasloe Town V Athenry
400 Colemanstown V Abbey United
500 Mervue United V T
600 V V Kilkerrin Utd
Semi Finals
700 400 V 300
800 600 V 500
Final
1000 700 V 800
west awake
05/03/2007, 2:10 PM
Any reports from the strand/west game, thought it would be a lot closer than that
Ya it should have been but Strand have lost about 5 players in the last 2 weeks.They are all gone to Sligo Rovers u 21.[/QUOTE]
i was at the game yesterday in mcsharry park,west took the lead after 2 minutes and they never looked back afterwards,played some great football,in fairness to strand they have lost some of their best players to sligo rovers,but west were also down players,they were missin 4 of their startin 11 from the salthill fai game in midweek.the strand manager also said afterwards they would have struggled even with their full team to beat west and was very complimentary towards west!
red metal
05/03/2007, 2:39 PM
was,nt having a go tere west awake!I here west utd are very good football side a friend of mine was at the game.He said that you lads were will worth your 5 goals.Sorry if you took me up wrong tere.
west awake
05/03/2007, 6:36 PM
was,nt having a go tere west awake!I here west utd are very good football side a friend of mine was at the game.He said that you lads were will worth your 5 goals.Sorry if you took me up wrong tere.
no offence taken red metal,who's ur local junior team and r abbey any good?
red metal
05/03/2007, 9:33 PM
no offence taken red metal,who's ur local junior team and r abbey any good?
Abbey utd are my local team!We lost about 5 of the team that won it last year!But they will be there in the shake down. They have been in the last 4 for the past 4 seasons.
west awake
07/03/2007, 12:16 PM
Abbey utd are my local team!We lost about 5 of the team that won it last year!But they will be there in the shake down. They have been in the last 4 for the past 4 seasons.
thats a great record,ye knocked out my club west in the last 8,3 years ago,ye won 2-0 in cranmore,comfortably i might add,ye have colemanstown next they produced a big shock in knockin hibs out,a tough one,even though hibs would of been tougher,how do u think ye'll do?
do u know when the last 8 is on,rumour has it that it's on the day after paddy's day,thats what we've been told if we beat corrib rangers that we are playin mervue then!
red metal
07/03/2007, 6:36 PM
thats a great record,ye knocked out my club west in the last 8,3 years ago,ye won 2-0 in cranmore,comfortably i might add,ye have colemanstown next they produced a big shock in knockin hibs out,a tough one,even though hibs would of been tougher,how do u think ye'll do?
do u know when the last 8 is on,rumour has it that it's on the day after paddy's day,thats what we've been told if we beat corrib rangers that we are playin mervue then!
Its allways tough against the galway side,s in fairness.Most of them are good side,s.And we wont be taking Colemans Town for granted thats for sure.We have been told the games will be played on Paddys weekend.We have a few injurys so thank god it,s not this week.
thekid
08/03/2007, 9:06 PM
Abbey for connaught again this year.
west awake
11/03/2007, 2:23 PM
west are gone ,we were deservedly beaten today 2-1 by corrib rangers,just didn't perform ,the manager dropped a couple of very good players who weren't trainin and it backfired!
gilberto_eire
11/03/2007, 4:06 PM
west are gone ,we were deservedly beaten today 2-1 by corrib rangers,just didn't perform ,the manager dropped a couple of very good players who weren't trainin and it backfired!
no way!!.... dam!!. i would have found it hard to think though that the lads would have stayed off the drink on paddys day if the next round is gonna go ahead the day after as expected
swinfordfc
12/03/2007, 9:39 AM
Updated;
400 Colemanstown V Abbey United
500 Mervue United V Corrib Rangers
600 Carbury FC V Kilkerrin Utd
Semi Finals
700 400 V 300
800 600 V 500
Final
1000 700 V 800
Spongey
19/03/2007, 12:33 AM
Results
Colemanstown Utd 1-2 Abbey Utd
Carbury 4-0 Kilkerrin Utd
swinfordfc
20/03/2007, 10:08 AM
Updated;
400 Colemanstown 1 V Abbey United 2
500 Mervue United V Corrib Rangers
600 Carbury FC 4 V Kilkerrin Utd 0
Semi Finals
700 Abbey United V 300
800 Carbury FC V 500
Final
1000 700 V 800
Thunderblaster
27/03/2007, 5:48 PM
Following the Connacht Cup, Westport United would surely be kicking themselves. With what is left in the competition, Westport would have had a great chance of winning the competition on their day:( .
Junior One
30/03/2007, 11:47 AM
Give it up Thunderblaster, Mervue Utd and Athenry would both wipe the floor with Westport. They had their day in the limelight 2 years ago. Im afraid that is the last you will hear of Westport....Good spot for a weekend away though if thats any consolation??
Thunderblaster
30/03/2007, 9:12 PM
Good spot for a weekend away though if thats any consolation??
If you want to get drunk or get laid!!!:D :p :D
gunner1
31/03/2007, 2:19 AM
Give it up Thunderblaster, Mervue Utd and Athenry would both wipe the floor with Westport. They had their day in the limelight 2 years ago. Im afraid that is the last you will hear of Westport....Good spot for a weekend away though if thats any consolation??
half agree ....Good spot for a weekend away, Mervue Utd a good team ,but athenry?????????:D
Spongey
01/04/2007, 7:18 PM
Results from today
Mervue 1-2 Corrib Rangers
Ballinasloe Town 0-2 Athenry
Looks like Sligo/Galway in both semis
swinfordfc
02/04/2007, 8:29 AM
Updated;
300 Ballinasloe Town 0 V Athenry 2
400 Colemanstown 1 V Abbey United 2
500 Mervue United 1 V Corrib Rangers 2
600 Carbury FC 4 V Kilkerrin Utd 0
Semi Finals
700 Abbey United V Athenry
800 Carbury FC V Corrib Rangers
Final
1000 700 V 800
gnasher
02/04/2007, 1:15 PM
Keep your day job son. Comedy is not your strongpoint.
Mervue beaten by Corrib Rangers who in the last year have played Westport twice (Winning one each - very tight games) - so I don't think your 'off the cuff' analysis counts for much.
What are you basing it on? You're fantasies?
Athenryboy
02/04/2007, 1:45 PM
i wouldnt say any side would wipe the floor with westport as they are a good footballing side, that have proven their quality.
In relation to Mervue , yesterdays result was a big suprise as nine time out of ten mervue would have no problem in brushing corrib rangers aside. Rangers done very well last year under previous management ;) , but have fallen away this season and were in trouble until recent results. As much as i hate to say it Mervue are one of the best sides around although there record of getting out of galway in the last few years is pretty awful in the FAI, which a lot of people cant understand.
In my experience Athenry have a good record against any mayo side we've faced , win lose or draw the football is always good from both teams and we are more than a match for any side.
west awake
02/04/2007, 2:33 PM
I Think Athenry Will Win It Now,great Result Yesterday,they've A Tough One Against Abbey But U Can Be Rest Assured The Winners Will Come Out Of That Semi Final!
Even Though I Would Love To See Corrib Rangers Win It!
Thunderblaster
02/04/2007, 8:49 PM
Going for an Abbey United V Corrib Rangers final.
historynut
03/04/2007, 1:27 PM
With the Connaught Cup down to the last 4, pleased to see that it generates so much interest. Would anyone mind if I ask does any one have a full list of previous finals. Have a hobby of collecting records on Junior/Intermediate Leagues and Cups. Been trying for ever to get details on Con Cup. Believe there have been 78 finals since 1928/29.Think I have details of 44 finals(though some need to be confirmed, and scores missing for some), think I have 11 winners only, and 1 final runners up known. Have been making contact with some people but no joy. Also looking for details re now defunct Connaught Senior League/Senior Cup. Even if you dont know all finals but know ones which your club were involved in that might help. A BIG THANKS FOR ANY INFO FORTHCOMING.
historynut
06/04/2007, 4:30 PM
ANYONE KNOW WHEN THESE ARE PLANNED. Is final venue pre-determined ? or depends on outcome ? All Sligo-Sligo, All Galway-Galway, Sligo/Galway nuetral (Milebush ?) or home venue of fIRST TEAM IN FINAL ? Thanks
Spongey
06/04/2007, 9:19 PM
Both semis are on 22nd April at 2.30
Abbey v Athenry in Sean Fallon Park and Carbury v Corrb Rangers in Ray MacSharry Park. 2 games within 200 yards of each other.
I may be biased but i fancy an all Sligo final. The abbey/athenry game is too close to call and would have made a better final. Carbury are on form lately and although Corrib have taken a couple of good scalps in the last 2 rounds i reckon home advantage will tell.
Whoever wins the abbey/athenry game will have home advantage in final but not at their own venue, usually the main venue for local finals. Ray MacSharry Park for Sligo and not sure but Terryland park for Galway
historynut
07/04/2007, 4:35 AM
Where in Sligo are those grounds. Thought main Junior ground was beyond Abbey ruins, did'nt realise if that is one the venues mentioned, there was another one close bye
Spongey
07/04/2007, 9:11 PM
Where in Sligo are those grounds. Thought main Junior ground was beyond Abbey ruins, did'nt realise if that is one the venues mentioned, there was another one close bye
You're right about the main one (Ray MacSharry Park). If you turn right from the ground into cranmore there is another pitch to the right hand side. Abbey Utd play there along with City Utd
historynut
07/04/2007, 10:27 PM
I'll take a gander when next in Sligo. If Abbey & City Utd play at Cranmore, who uses Ray McSharry park. City Utd sound as possible amalgamation of 2 previous clubs ? Does any one use the pitch on the link road between Donegal RD and Enniskillen Rd. or is it IT College only (athletics stadium).
Would you know much about the S&L league?
red metal
08/04/2007, 11:18 AM
I'll take a gander when next in Sligo. If Abbey & City Utd play at Cranmore, who uses Ray McSharry park. City Utd sound as possible amalgamation of 2 previous clubs ? Does any one use the pitch on the link road between Donegal RD and Enniskillen Rd. or is it IT College only (athletics stadium).
Would you know much about the S&L league?
Glenview stars use the collage pitch.There pitch is been done up at the min.Well as far as City Utd ar concerned.You could say they are a Abbey Utd res!With about 12 former Abbey Utd players in tere squad.
historynut
08/04/2007, 12:00 PM
Wheres Glenviews normal pitch ? Would you know if they go back to the 1920's. Book on History of the Rovers gives penpics of players at first Conn Final states some are ex Glenview players. Appreciate your reply above
Thunderblaster
08/04/2007, 5:59 PM
Only one team wiped the floor with Westport United over the last five years and that was Killester United.
Spongey
13/04/2007, 2:52 PM
Wheres Glenviews normal pitch ?
Its actually not far from the college pitch. Its at the top of the hill on the right hand side as you go to the college pitch from the bundoran road. Its in behind St Edwards primary school. As you can kinda guessed there is a pretty big slope on it
historynut
13/04/2007, 3:50 PM
Somewhere between big hotel (ex mental hospital) and bundoran road ?