02/10/2006, 10:15 AM
bit of a defensive crisis for this though

o hara

turner peers mc kenzie foy

hughes faz o grady singh

mc tiernan choice

has to be done!

3-2 rovers....to be honest i dont really know how this game will go..all i know is it will be nerve-racking

red metal
02/10/2006, 1:22 PM
Ya just heard Burns and Mc Namara are a real doubt!

02/10/2006, 1:56 PM
burns is defo out...mc namara might be risked....flash is out

02/10/2006, 3:48 PM
we had a bit better luck this year with injuries but now there heapin up! 1-0 rovers.......mc tiernan! after extra time

red arrow
02/10/2006, 9:12 PM
our central defence unit is missing (burns mac) we didnt have this problem before. burns is going to be badly missed as mac isnt 1/2 the player without him. in one way it might be a good thing that mac is out as his lack of pace can be exposed. then however we dont have any height. if we cam master midfield i think we can just about do it. i think he shoud give choice a run at some stage more than 3 mins that was a disgrace the other night he should at least be given 1/2 hour as i said before he is the key to us progressing now is his time to shine. i go for a win fir rovers but its going to be tight.

bomber82290
02/10/2006, 9:17 PM
heard mansaram was talked to and he said he was fully fit

03/10/2006, 8:08 AM
brilliant!

03/10/2006, 11:23 AM

according to rovers.com,he'll defo be out as is burns

03/10/2006, 12:18 PM
im hoping he drops judge and plays choice....judge had his chance saturday to score against them..now choice should...john bellew is worthy of a place on the bench too i think

as supporters i think we will play a big role thursday..they will be vocal and fans from clubs in their league are coming to support them so we have to just sing for 90 mins and show them we are superior

Redzer
03/10/2006, 2:59 PM
From Setanta Sports:

Tuesday, 3 October 15:54 BST

Sligo Rovers defender Liam Burns has been ruled out for up to three weeks after sustaining an ankle injury against Killester United in their drawn FAI Carlsberg Cup quarter-final on Saturday.

Rovers will now be without their star defender for Thursday's replay with the non-league Dublin outfit and may have further injury worries to contend with as regular central defensive partner to Burns, Michael McNamara, is struggling with a thigh strain, while top scorer Darren Mansaram is also a doubt with a groin problem.

Sligo boss Sean Connor told the club's official website:

"It was a big blow. I think Liam Burns is the one player on the park we don't like to be without. I certainly don't like to be without him, he marshals the back four, reads the game well and he keeps everyone on their toes."

Killester produced a spirited performance at the Showgrounds to hold the Premier division high fliers, and the AUL side will be confident ahead of Thursday's rematch at Tolka Park after their defensive display on Saturday.

Having defeating Leinster Senior League outfit Wayside Celtic in the second round of the FAI Cup the northside outfit were then handed a bye into the last eight following the demise earlier this year of Dublin City football club, and Connor is full of praise for the little known team.

"I have a lot of respect for Killester. They came here with a game plan, a very good game plan. We watched them and saw them play 3-4-3 a lot. We thought they would play 3-5-2 against us and they did. We did not get the ball wide with enough urgency or early enough, and our balls when we did get it wide were not good enough. They stuck to their game plan and fair play to them."

Having already reached the penultimate stage of this season's FAI Carlsberg Cup, Longford Town, Shamrock Rovers and Derry City await the winners of Thursday's clash in the hat for the semi-finals draw.

03/10/2006, 3:24 PM
Pity about Burnsy i think he is our best and most important player.

03/10/2006, 4:30 PM
What will the team be ?

O'Hara
Peers Mckinzie Turner Foy

Hughes O'Grady Curran Faz

McT Judge

FCUK it boys this team should pull it out of the Fire it would be great if we Got McNamara and Flash back Fit

O'Hara
Turner,Peers,McKenzie,Foy
Faz,Hughes,O'Grady,Singh
Judge,McT
although i hope Choice is starting ahead of Judge,i cant see it happening,

03/10/2006, 7:49 PM
Is kick off 19:30 or 19:45?:confused:

red metal
03/10/2006, 8:08 PM
It said 730 on eircom weekly

Rebal Boy
03/10/2006, 8:16 PM
A shock 1-0 for Killester Utd.

03/10/2006, 8:29 PM
jealously does funny things

03/10/2006, 8:33 PM
if it's still 0-0 after 70mins killester will be f*ckin juiced and we prob get a cupla late goals but i don't think it'll come to that. 4-0 foyzer to get his confidence back with a 30 yarder&harps to make sh*te of em and tee choice up for a hat trick

03/10/2006, 8:39 PM
killester were building up to that game for ages.
the rush is gone now, they've faced the lads and got a result.
they'll not be in the same state of mind on thursday
eg. Burton Albion V Manchester Utd last year

03/10/2006, 9:04 PM
3-0 to us. Foy, McT and Singh or Faz(:eek: ) to score

Derek
03/10/2006, 9:53 PM
killester were building up to that game for ages.
the rush is gone now, they've faced the lads and got a result.
they'll not be in the same state of mind on thursday
eg. Burton Albion V Manchester Utd last year

Rubbish, just wait and see!

04/10/2006, 12:20 AM
Derek, old bean, what is that badge beside your name about?. I'm concerned because if it is what I think it is that would make you an expert on rubbish.

red metal
04/10/2006, 12:30 AM
Derek, old bean, what is that badge beside your name about?. I'm concerned because if it is what I think it is that would make you an expert on rubbish.

1 fan and no club!And still shouting the odds!:) :) :) :

04/10/2006, 10:03 AM
ya the state of that drum saturday too:rolleyes:

its going to be really nerve-racking...id love if we scored early but i cant see it happening.....im just praying we get through!

04/10/2006, 7:12 PM
An early goal for us and we'll win. But if it's still 0-0 at half time, I'll be seriously starting to worry:o.

red arrow
04/10/2006, 7:38 PM
i have to say im worried about this game but i will stick with our lads to pull it off. i feel it is going to be a cracking cup tie .they will give their all and if we can match them for guts we will win. choice to score . rov to win 2 nil.

04/10/2006, 7:52 PM
I think there are giving bigger odds on Choice to start....although hope to God he is.
Hopefully Sean gets plenty of abuse from Dublin public....and loads of cheers of incouragement from us,to keep him in Sligo.

Bravo
05/10/2006, 7:38 AM
According to the champion: Mackey & Flash are definitely out, Burns and Foy are doubtful, Curran is nursing a Flu, McT didn’t train for 4 weeks previous to Saturday and might not be fit for 90 minutes but most probably will start, Choice was also injured for a while and isn’t fully fit.

SRFC Head
05/10/2006, 9:04 AM
Well the weather isn't the best up here today, windy and wet. Bring a nice warm jacket !!

05/10/2006, 10:44 AM
Lads remember it is the cat and cage pub we are meeting up in.

oh ya there was a chance we would forget that:rolleyes: :D

05/10/2006, 11:10 AM
if we get there early enough we can go in for 1 or 2 but get to the ground 30mins early to get a good spot and get the flags up.

05/10/2006, 11:13 AM
good plan

think we need to sing for sean tonight and show him how much we appreciate him[if we win:p ].....we need to show him the small number of moaners in the main stand are in the minority and that we really do like him!

Bravo
05/10/2006, 11:39 AM
if we get there early enough we can go in for 1 or 2 but get to the ground 30mins early to get a good spot and get the flags up.
I am sure two people will be enough to hang the flags & pick a spot, we'll follow ye up, no point in us all sobering up too early!!! ;)

red metal
05/10/2006, 11:43 AM
I here the weather is pretty bad in Dublin!Was tere a ground inspection?

Jeebus
05/10/2006, 12:15 PM
I here the weather is pretty bad in Dublin!Was tere a ground inspection?

Its not that bad up here. its not raining at the moment. Dont think the weathers bad enough to warrant a pitch inspection.

Fear Manach
05/10/2006, 12:26 PM
Its back to the location of my first ever Rovers game...hopefully we'll have a few more quality goals.

SRFC Head
05/10/2006, 12:28 PM
The weather has picked up again, not too bad now...

No fear of the match being cancelled imo

Jeebus
05/10/2006, 1:10 PM
Its back to the location of my first ever Rovers game...hopefully we'll have a few more quality goals.

Would i be right in saying that was the famous 3-2 victory v Shels in the cup a few years back??

P.s. How it the Fermanagh 'Sligo Rovers' supporters club coming along??:)

dublinred
05/10/2006, 1:42 PM
P.s. How it the Fermanagh 'Sligo Rovers' supporters club coming along??:)

I heard Rick Shaw is provding the transport for them.

Jeebus
05/10/2006, 1:50 PM
I heard Rick Shaw is provding the transport for them.

I wonder is there any chance Rick will drop us up to Coppers after the match tonight??

Fear Manach
05/10/2006, 2:17 PM
What is Coppers??

RoversInn
05/10/2006, 3:47 PM
4-0 for me, first goal coming early

05/10/2006, 4:22 PM
What is Coppers??

me be a God fearing country boy I wouldnt know about such things but i would guess its Copperface Jacks that they speak of , then again i suppose i would the perfect demographic for it.

RoversInn
05/10/2006, 8:09 PM
Currently 3-2 to the rovers

RoversInn
05/10/2006, 8:14 PM
3-3 :eek:

hoops1
05/10/2006, 8:38 PM
killester gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo ooooal

kick

Fivesilver
05/10/2006, 9:20 PM
RESULT: Rovers 4-3 Killester aet

Fair play Killester.

Just happy with the result and relieved. Roll on the semis.

B1977
05/10/2006, 9:28 PM
3 - 3 70 Minutes Gone

05/10/2006, 9:45 PM

05/10/2006, 9:52 PM
PHEW!!! that was pretty tough wasnt it! great for bellew to score and for McTiernan to get back on the score sheet! as long as we are through, that is what counts at the end a the day!! well done lads.......