View Full Version : Limerick Match Thread

GuisaSaigon
29/09/2006, 8:33 AM
Galway United travel to Limerick on Friday minus four players.
Philip Reilly is suspended for two matches while Wes Charles is away on International duty. Ronan Frawley and Barry Moran are both ruled out with thigh injuries. see more here (http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/match-previews/team-news-limerick-fc-v-galway-united.html)

GuisaSaigon
29/09/2006, 8:37 AM
wes, frawley and reilly all out! any ideas what the back 4 is going to be?

29/09/2006, 8:39 AM
rough guess but:

Gough
Keane...Keady...Clery...O'Donnell
Cretaro...Foley...Carter...O'Brien
Gethins...O'Dowd

GuisaSaigon
29/09/2006, 8:45 AM
sounds about right Terry. we should be ok

GuisaSaigon
29/09/2006, 9:26 AM
Wes is playing in the Caribbean cup for St Vincents and Grenadine (or Vincy Heat as they are affectionately known). They lost 4-0 to Haiti on wednesday with Wes playing 90 mins.They face elimination tonight unless they can get something from hosts Jamaica.

GUISAUltra
29/09/2006, 10:09 AM
at least we can still say that we have an international player

GUISAUltra
29/09/2006, 10:11 AM
i wonder will he call up ryan o donnell to the senior team. i've seen him playing a few times and hes a really decent player. not too long back from injury either so he'll be keen to try to make a name for himself

29/09/2006, 10:24 AM
not too long back from injury

there is probably why he wont be called up.

GUISAUltra
29/09/2006, 10:31 AM
he has 4 or 5 games played for the under 21s so fitness wouldnt be an issue

29/09/2006, 10:45 AM
there is a huge gap between u21 and senior football. I would think that there wouldnt be enough games left this season for him to be up to senior standards. He has to concentrate on next season, unless Micko is injured or suspended before o'reillys return.

GUISAUltra
29/09/2006, 11:18 AM
yeah i know its a big step up but its not like hes never played senior football before, he played loads of games with sligo's senior team last season and from speaking to people at the club they were very impressed with him. with our shortages in defence he should definitely be a realistic option

29/09/2006, 11:20 AM
I dont know Terry I havent been impressed with Micko at left back and feel Centre Mid is his best position but its Tonys call. This wont be easy tonight as our defence is definitely weakened by wes and philips abscences and Ronans Injury.

GUISAUltra
29/09/2006, 11:25 AM
yeah i agree gufct, mick has looked completely out of his depth in the few games hes played at left back. hes positioning has been all over the shop as he keeps drifting infield and aas limerick like to play down the channels, we do need a fully competent left back. that being said its cousins who'll pick the team come this evening

geezer
29/09/2006, 11:27 AM
id be worried about O Donnell, fatal error versus harps at home, He does a lot of work and tracking but he seems to try and shunt players away and does not put in a lot of tackles.

29/09/2006, 11:30 AM
he played loads of games with sligo's senior team last season and from speaking to people at the club they were very impressed with him. with our shortages in defence he should definitely be a realistic option

I know all that, but its a long time ago football wise when he was playing senior, is what Im saying, and that it takes a much longer time period to get back up to that level, and these matches are not the ones where we want to be bringing in players like that. At this stage of the season we need as many 100% match fit players, even if its playing one or two of them out of position as gufct is saying about Micko, which I agree with totally.

GUISAUltra
29/09/2006, 11:34 AM
i understand what your saying but i still think that we need the best defenders we have on the pitch tonight and even with our injuries and suspensions and stuff i still wouldnt have mick left back

gloryglorygufc
29/09/2006, 7:05 PM
McCarthy off for Lim after 8 mins!

29/09/2006, 7:22 PM
looks like limerick might decide to sit back for the remainder of the match?

gloryglorygufc
29/09/2006, 7:36 PM
FFS one down
We cannot afford to lose.

29/09/2006, 7:41 PM
whats going on ! will be hard to break them down now for sure. COMON TONY

GalwayFrancis
29/09/2006, 8:22 PM
gethins scores, 70th min

gloryglorygufc
29/09/2006, 8:28 PM
YESSSS
now push for the winner.
Come on UNITED

GalwayFrancis
29/09/2006, 8:31 PM
Limerick FC ....1-2 Galway United 7.45
McCarthy s/o 8 ... Gethins 70, 84
Heffernan 44

yes!

29/09/2006, 8:32 PM
3-1 now......

GalwayFrancis
29/09/2006, 8:34 PM
3-1 now......

a o'dowd with the goal

savage!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4-1 O Dowd with the 3rd and 4th...

gloryglorygufc
Roll on next Friday!!
is it too early?? Who care - Champions

29/09/2006, 8:36 PM
5-1 now.....

29/09/2006, 8:38 PM
A hat-trick in four minutes by O Dowd- mental!

29/09/2006, 8:41 PM
5-1 FT.

Nice result, keeps Limerick in our sights too......

29/09/2006, 8:46 PM
just talking to trainee there. He said that we were useless up until we scored our first goal and then limerick fell apart. They were celebrating so much after each goal that they didnt know who scored any of them until I rang !!!HEHEHE

Bring on the Rovers
Comon United

thescoringgoals
29/09/2006, 8:46 PM
mental is the word alright,but how were we in the first half with a man extra??we went a goal down even with an extra man but fair play to the lads though,excellent,ROLL ON NEXT FRIDAY:-).

exiled_gufc_fan
29/09/2006, 8:49 PM
oh party on!

sitting at my pc, with the U's playing Ipswich on the tele, they won too. (Their biggest derby win and biggest ever crowd - they are on the up too)

Pressing refresh on Aertel every 3 mins all night was gut wrenching especially after they scored. But what a finish!!!

Magic!

Can't wait for Aer Arran to take me home for the game next Friday! My brother has my ticket bought and all.

We just need to keep it going now!

29/09/2006, 8:52 PM
Hey Galway Harps,

Thanks for Gethins :D I think we might keep him now

thescoringgoals
29/09/2006, 9:01 PM
EIRCOM LEAGUE FIRST DIVISION SEP 29
P W D L F A Pts
Galway Utd 29 14 11 4 42 20 53
Shamrock R 27 14 11 2 35 10 50
Dundalk 28 15 5 8 40 26 50
Cobh Rmbls 28 12 9 7 39 25 45
Limerick FC 28 12 4 12 31 37 40
Finn Harps 28 9 9 10 43 35 36
Kildare Co 28 9 8 11 28 41 35
Athlone Tn 28 9 6 13 19 29 33
Monaghan U 29 5 8 16 26 53 23
Kilkenny C 29 3 7 19 19 46 16

this is taken from aertel,it may be the first division,shams may have 2 games in hand and dundalk 1 game,but dam it,SING:WE ARE TOP OF THE LEAGUE,SING WE ARE TOP OF THE LEAGUE.

29/09/2006, 9:01 PM
we are top o the league say we are top o the league.
great night to for our goal difference, which could come into play at the end of the season. Lets all hope now for Athlone to get a draw tomorrow night as the replay would have to be midweek:D

I think tonight result also might get the full house for terryland next friday

29/09/2006, 9:06 PM
Thanks for Gethins I think we might keep him now

You reckon? Ye'll have to shell out some serious bucks then because he's still our player!

I said when he moved that I felt that would make ye title favourites and it's looking that way......

harpskid
29/09/2006, 9:33 PM
Hey Galway Harps,

Thanks for Gethins :D I think we might keep him now

I think you'll keep him too :(

geezer
29/09/2006, 11:33 PM
russell came on, made some wonderful angles, made himself available for the ball, when he got it ,he passed it cleverly and set up 3 goals in 20 minutes.
up to that we were pretty ordinary. Goal scored on the left again but in fairness to o donnell he worked hard again but he definitely cant tackle

to be fair to lims i think 5 - 1 was an unfair reflection of the 90 minutes. 3-1 would have been more like it. still i am a half hour looking at teletext and page 236 is a sweet sight at this stage of a season

30/09/2006, 8:50 AM
Great News there Geezer, I think everyone agrees that its great to see Russell back as we all know the lad is a genius on the pitch if he can get back to the level he was at before he got the shingles.

12 points this season from limerick, something that (i think) wont be dont by anyone else this season. Lets all hope now that limerick can sort themselves out as we need a good top senior football team in all the main citys of this country for the sport to move forward.

WE ARE TOP O THE LEAGUE :D

30/09/2006, 9:24 AM
slightly off topic here but:

As we all agree the one thing that annoys us the most is the fact that we are very inconsistant, so I decided to check out when was the last time we actually won 5 games in a row and I had to go back as far as November 1985 when we finished second in the premier league behind Rovers of coarse!

geezer
30/09/2006, 9:40 AM
hughsie the stalwart united fan mentioned that to me alright in rathbane,
lets hope it continues. Young cooke done really well last night as well when he came on. carter and foley are not exactly cultured midfielders, foley kept giving the ball away again yet he done trojan ball retrieving work last nite, but add in russell with his football brain and they have the makings of a strong unit

JW.
30/09/2006, 10:23 AM
A splendid result - roll on Rovers. It will be a night to savour in Terryland and that hasn't happened for a while. I wouldn't have envisaged when we limped past Kildare five games ago that we'd go on and win the next four as well - fair play to all concerned.
Great to see John Russell back - he has rare class at this level when it all falls into place.

30/09/2006, 10:30 AM
Terry i asked that question on the bus yesterday.When was the last time we won five ina row?Nobody knew!

Yesterday was probably the best GUFC experience all year!
4 goals in 5 minutes was phenomenal-we actually couldn't believe what we we're seeing!:D

Only downside was the performance form some quarters left alot to be desired!!You wouldn't have known Lims had ten men for nearly the entire game!
Still when people open the Sentinel or whatever on Tuesday and see Limerick 1 UTD 5 terryland is guaranteed a bumper crowd next friday!:)

"BRING ON THE ROVERS!!!!"

GuisaSaigon
30/09/2006, 11:32 AM
Unreal, it will go down as one of greatest away trips ever. we were far from impressive before the first goal went in but that hardly matters now.we hadnt stopped celebrating the 1st when we scored again and again and again............. Great craic in little Brazil on the way up and fibbers after.Sore heads all round this morning I'd say.BRING ON THE ROVERS!!!!!!!!!!!!

DonO'Bate
30/09/2006, 11:48 AM
Congrats to David O'Dowd, who wrote himself into the United history book with the quickest hatrick by a United player, a record unlikely to be broken. Congrats to Tony Cousins for making things happen, unlike other managers who wait for them to happen, by changing formation and "emptying out" the bench. It was smart move to change to a 3-5-2 formation for the second half after Limerick had a player sent off . It didn't look like it was going to work and it seemed to cause confusion among the Utd players with Derek O'Brien at one stage playing at centre half. There was a sigh of relief among Utd fans when Gethins equalised then Cousins introduced Russell for Foley and everything changed utterly. Murphy and Russell took control of midfield and Utd started playing the ball through the centre of the Limerick defence.

Congrats to the young United supporters with their continental stlye chanting and drumming. It certainly impressed the Limerick supporters standing near me. It was only right that the players and manager went over at the end of the game to applaud them for their efforts. It was very hard trying to send text messages as United went on their goal scoring spree.

United were unlucky to go in one nil down at half time. Gethins was unlucky when he had a shot cleared off the line and Derek and Cretaro went close with their efforts.

GUISAUltra
30/09/2006, 2:47 PM
ABSOLUTELY UNBELIEVABLE RESULT LAST NIGHT. Was in Hogan Park and i have never ever felt so happy at a galway united match or anywhere else for that matter. UNREAL. lets hope we can make it 6 wins on the trot next week.

BRING ON THE ROVERS

30/09/2006, 3:05 PM
EIRCOM LEAGUE FIRST DIVISION SEP 30
........................P W D L F A Pts
Galway Utd .......29 14 11 4 42 20 53
Dundalk ............29 16 5 8 43 28 53
Shamrock R .......27 14 11 2 35 10 50
Cobh Rmbls .......28 12 9 7 39 25 45
Limerick FC .......28 12 4 12 31 37 40
Finn Harps ......28 9 9 10 43 35 36
Kildare Co .........28 9 8 11 28 41 35
Athlone Tn ........28 9 6 13 19 29 33
Monaghan U ......29 5 8 16 26 53 23
Kilkenny C .........29 3 7 19 19 46 16

here is the updated table after dundalk beat cobh this evening 3-2 in cobh. Dundalk could yet turn out to be our main rivals for the title? The pressure is now on rovers to convert the games in hand into points.

GUISAUltra
30/09/2006, 3:16 PM
that league table looks sweet now but how much sweeter will it look if we can beat the rovers on friday. this is going to be the biggest game in terryland in quite some time. should be a sell-out after limerick.

corbyeire
30/09/2006, 4:29 PM
got there and couldnt believe the turnout from the locals so poor - hardly 200 there

the ground and the area around it has so much potential and it would be great for the league if there was a strong team in the city

anyway the match - united had total control once they had there man sent off - and once again we couldnt punish them for twenty minutes it was long range efforts

limerick in fairness to them, took the ball down and passed it nicely when they did have it - with all efforts going forwards it was no surprise they hit us on the break

united then started to go more long ball - with probably the shortest strike fore in the league - sickening stuff - like they were panicking with the half ending

then tony went 3-5-2 again we dominated but no end product - and we got the deflected cross for the first goal a bit of luck

russell came on the passes flowed and the chances came - absolute delierium never seen anything like it in a football game:D

was raf injured or just knackered - fran had one of his worst games - couldnt get control of the ball at all and foley misplaced passes all over the place

mick looks sluggish - frawley poor poor poor decision making

could have been very different but limerick were that bad in the match we got away with it

a lot sharper tighter and composed for the rovers - what a hat trick o dowd chased everything down thoroughly deserved it :cool: