View Full Version : Limerick Match Thread

Pages : 1 [2]

30/09/2006, 4:43 PM
Ya agree thought Fran and Nigel had abysmal matches.Mick was out of position so you can't criticise him too much but the goal did come from his side....limerick player had an eternity to head it into the net!

damoGUFC
30/09/2006, 5:16 PM
perfomance wasnt great but the 3pts is all that dat matters. I thought Cookie did really well when he came on along with Russell who pulled the strings for the last 10 minutes. Raf played well,he deserved a rest. great atmosphere lst nite and roll on the Rovers on friday!!!:) :D

corbyeire
30/09/2006, 6:42 PM
yea should have said that - cookie did very well up the wing with possesion and cut backs when he came on

were talking to a limerick fan after - giving out complete stink against the chairman there in limerick

giving us a warning bout the rovers coming to galway the next day - as were the boys in the pub beforehand - spotted dog (great guinness) not the steering wheel :eek:

seems they caused a right bit of trouble when they went to hogan park last time

GUISAUltra
30/09/2006, 7:21 PM
then again thats just the limerick version. all the limerick fans are going to say rovers started it and the rovers fans will say it was the limerick fans. rovers fans were sound last time in galway and i've no idea why that wouldnt be the case again

corbyeire
30/09/2006, 7:41 PM
jesus dont get me wrong - im not trying to stir it up at all - just thought it was strange that both groups made a point about telling us about the rovers boys

im sure these guys were a minority :ball:

01/10/2006, 12:15 PM
anybody care to give an estimate for the attendance last friday?

GUISAUltra
01/10/2006, 12:55 PM
around 200-250, seriously small crowd

corbyeire
01/10/2006, 2:06 PM
as i said earlier - hardly 200

corbyeire
01/10/2006, 2:07 PM
there was thirty across the pitch - about 20 dugout side and then utd fans and the local spare change in the stand

01/10/2006, 2:17 PM
250 with around 60-80 Galway fans.Noticed alot of randomers along the far side...good to see!

corbyeire
01/10/2006, 3:30 PM
there was nothing random about us on the far side!

01/10/2006, 6:33 PM
You know what i meant!:)

corbyeire
01/10/2006, 9:20 PM
:d !!!!

02/10/2006, 9:02 AM
Genuine question for Galway fans...... Fran Carter AND Ciaran Foley in the centre of the same promotion chasing midfield, have ye ever wondered why??? :eek:

corbyeire
02/10/2006, 9:05 AM
they were terrible the other night that goes without question - but sometimes they do work well together - youd be surprised

02/10/2006, 9:10 AM
they were terrible the other night that goes without question - but sometimes they do work well together - youd be surprised

I can definitely see their merits when it comes to breaking up play and hacking and such but surely twould be better to play one of them alongside someone with even the tiniest modicum of culture and technique?? :ball:

corbyeire
02/10/2006, 12:49 PM
alright foley is a fairly direct player - what you see is what you get - hard tackles high work rate and lays off the ball well - in normal circumstances

but fran can be the mercurial one! from time to time - seems to create bucket loads of time for himself and never seems to be under pressure no matter how many hoofs are hacking at him - that was the funny thing the last day - he had the yips and his touch was sh!te with no one near him!

good to nick a goal on set pieces aswell

admittadley the introduction of russell brought a major change the last day so maybe he is worth the nod - but again not a lot of match practice

02/10/2006, 1:04 PM
then again thats just the limerick version.

Have you heard there's an Athlone version now too? At least according to the Star (which is a tabloid rag etc etc for sure)... ;)

As for the other night I felt sick by the end to be honest. Fair play to ye and all that too for sticking at it and not panicking but it was a pretty low point personally in my Limerick memory.

GUISAUltra
02/10/2006, 2:22 PM
look theres no point in trying to keep on convince people that everything that happened in limerick was the rovers fans fault. obviously there is a pocket of them who are not angels but ye're not all saints down there either so can we just stop blaming the other sections of fans and forget about it