View Full Version : PSG Vs. Derry, review
28/09/2006, 7:05 PM
Derry 1-0 down after 6 mins:(. Cisse with the goal.
iceman
28/09/2006, 7:09 PM
Looked more like a Barry Molloy og - he got in the 'keepers way and deflected into his own net with his head.
28/09/2006, 7:09 PM
Really? Livescore don't have it yet.
28/09/2006, 7:12 PM
Derry City are now 80-1 to win with PP if ye fancy yer chances...
iceman
28/09/2006, 7:34 PM
22/1 the draw with Betfair , might take a nibble at that.
28/09/2006, 7:40 PM
2-0 down now:o. Brennan OG. Derry were still in the game up til then, hopefully they'll come back...
iceman
28/09/2006, 7:41 PM
2-0 now - looks all over. Mc Court having a poor game.
28/09/2006, 7:48 PM
PSG are a terrible team. Not one decent chance in open play.
28/09/2006, 7:50 PM
PSG are a terrible team. Not one decent chance in open play.That's the unfortunate thing, they're down 2-0 to a team who aren't great:(.
28/09/2006, 7:51 PM
cant see derry winning the UEFA Cup this season
SPXcyan
Derry are definately playin well... PSG are not... great are they!! agree with yaz about macourt.. really slack and lazy lookin!! ahh well.. I dont think derry will get back into the game.. but it would be nice to see them win the second half.
Boys against men at the moment, a flashback to the bad old days. Derry's players seem to be perpetually on the balls of their feet, never in the correct posture to receive the ball, panicking in possession. If they calmed down and played to their potential they'd score at least one. Brennan is the only player who looks as if he belongs at this level currently.
Not looking good. :( Hopefully Kenny ca get them sorted for the 2nd half and they a least make a game of it.
iceman
28/09/2006, 8:01 PM
No half-time changes , think McCourt shoould have come off he's being dispossessed every time he is on the ball.
28/09/2006, 8:01 PM
Same old same old, panicking making mistakes they'd never make at home.
28/09/2006, 8:06 PM
Match going as planned so far.
If PSG are not playing well, when Derry have spent the entire match camped in their own half, you would worry for Derry if PSG played better.
Derry's 1 man upfront tactics are getting them nowhere. It should be 4 or 5-0 at the end.
iceman
28/09/2006, 8:17 PM
McQ and Farren on now for McCourt and Beckett
28/09/2006, 8:26 PM
I think Hargan is the worst on the pitch. Doesn't look fit.
Psg are poor enough looking too.
28/09/2006, 8:48 PM
2-0, result. Well done Derry, done very well and fair play to their support, plenty travelling fans.
Great effort by the lads. Has been a great ride all season, maybe we can top it off with a treble. As the last line in the song goes:
We'll Keep the Red Flags Flying High!!!
28/09/2006, 9:22 PM
Think Derry were almost lucky to get out of ther 2-0 down in the end. How PSG didn't take one of those late chances I don't know. Still, that match was the bonus - the reward for the hard work done in the previous five games. Rather be ultimatley getting outplayed by PSG than by Zimbru!
Oh, did I mention that David Forde is an awful keeper?
28/09/2006, 9:32 PM
Yeah, and its gettin' old TBH. He isn't even your keeper FFS.
28/09/2006, 9:34 PM
Just want to dispel any myths that he's vaguely adept, to be honest. Given that you still have Derry fans who think he's the best keeper in the league.
Gareth
28/09/2006, 9:50 PM
Forde was very poor. I have rarely cursed and screamed at tv's but after the 5th in a row kick out going out of play I went mental.
Yeah, it was like watching Ronan O'Gara
It should be 4 or 5-0 at the end.
than by Zimbru!
That game is still haunting my vague memory...:D
28/09/2006, 10:03 PM
I thought Derry were awful. Kenny got the tactics wrong playing one up-front. McCourt was a major liability, as was David Forde. I hope they play on Sunday.
29/09/2006, 2:08 AM
Derry 0-2 Paris
...and the next time when an Irish club plays at this stage away from home, could they cut out the schoolboy mistakes, and also abandon the ludicrous 4-5-1 containment policy away from home against quality sides please? :mad: Our clubs can't defend against teams like PSG for 90-180 minutes and expect to progress. Until we do that, our clubs will always fall short at this level. :(
PSG didn't play great, but as they scored as expected after only 5 minutes, they only had to play in second gear to sleepwalk their way into the next round.
samabu92
29/09/2006, 2:26 AM
Thought Derry done well..If Liverpool had to play Man U twice in a row( derry v shels) then go and play important european game, they would struggle too..
29/09/2006, 2:54 AM
If Liverpool had to play Man U twice in a row( derry v shels) then go and play important european game, they would struggle too..
The NL version of the above English game is Rovers-Bohs. Derry-Shels is the equivalent of the Mancs v Chelsea.
samabu92
29/09/2006, 3:21 AM
The NL version of the above English game is Rovers-Bohs. Derry-Shels is the equivalent of the Mancs v Chelsea.
and cork are arsenal are they..I know its changing but man u fans still look for the pool fixture 1st before the chelsea game.(I am pool myself and would look for man u game be4 chelsea)
29/09/2006, 6:43 AM
Derry bottled it!
bohs til i die
29/09/2006, 6:45 AM
Think Derry were almost lucky to get out of ther 2-0 down in the end. How PSG didn't take one of those late chances I don't know. Still, that match was the bonus - the reward for the hard work done in the previous five games. Rather be ultimatley getting outplayed by PSG than by Zimbru!
I only saw the last 15 minutes or so and PSG missed 4 good goalscoring chances and then after they reviewed the game and Derry made 4 [i think] goal line clearances to add to the 2/3 they made in the first leg.
Did Derry manage any shots on target, all I saw was two long range efforts that went well off target.
On the news on 2fm this morning they said that " Derry embarrassingly went down to PSG last night with a score of 2-0" How can they say that? I know Derry weren't great by any means but to say they were "embarrassingly"? I think they have the huff since the match was shown on other channels bar there own ?
29/09/2006, 7:59 AM
Well done Derry...pity it just wasnt to be....next time!
Drogman.
29/09/2006, 8:14 AM
They bottled it, simple as. I also think the 4-5-1 formation was a mistake, seeing as PSG have not being playing well, and also the fact that they went out with a 4-5-1 formation as well, I think Derry should have just went for it.
McCourt was terrible. The only players who came out of the game with any decent credit were Kelly and Brennan, who in the first half I thought Brennan was the only Derry player to be positive in play.
29/09/2006, 8:23 AM
They were making stupid mistakes that a schoolboy team would be eaten alive for making. In the final third if their was no obvious ball they just gave up the ball rather than hold it up and wait for support. Panic. EL sides have got to stop doing that.
29/09/2006, 9:05 AM
same old same old, frustrating, psg weren't that good, but was derrys tactic in the first half to get the keeper to hit as many balls out over the sideline from kickouts as possible, and its the same
stupid mistakes being made time and time agian, there is no excuse not marking from a set piece be it a corner or a free kick or whatever, it was atrocious last night.
Probably Derrys worst performance in their 6 european games. PSG not that good at all.
I've been saying it for a while now that Forde is a weak link & bottles it in the big games. Several Derry players were anonymous & contributed very little - McCourt being a high profile one. Hargan was also poor. Brennan & Deery did well.
Derry City defended set pieces very badly PSG almost scored at ever effort. Its disappointing that Derry failed to create one chance in the 90 minutes.
hoops1
29/09/2006, 9:43 AM
Same old story on this site, Is there never any middle ground.
Derry win and the are world beaters they lose and they are rubbish.
Truth is Irish sides are now at a stage were we will be knocking at the
door for the group stages but getting in is the really difficult bit.
The away leg before the group stages seems to be the stumbling block
but we are learning and progressing so we will do it eventually.
Normally with European football the first you know about your weaknesses is after they have been brutally exposed.
A goalkeeper and two top class front men might see Derry do it.
The physical effort required in these games is on a different level
and in this regard I thought Derry were fantastic.
The Derry players have given everything for the cause and now isnt really the
time to be critcising them
Well done Derry
was it just me or did PSG deliberately narrow that pitch!??!?!
seemed to be marked a mile away from the tech area
now thats what shels did for depors visit
was it just me or did PSG deliberately narrow that pitch!??!?!
Didn't notice that but grass (i am building up a portfolio on football grass) didn't look so good. Not as bad as Belfield but not great either.
29/09/2006, 10:34 AM
Same old story on this site, Is there never any middle ground.
Derry win and the are world beaters they lose and they are rubbish.
Truth is Irish sides are now at a stage were we will be knocking at the
door for the group stages but getting in is the really difficult bit.
The away leg before the group stages seems to be the stumbling block
Normally with European football the first you know about your weaknesses is after they have been brutally exposed.
A goalkeeper and two top class front men might see Derry do it.
The physical effort required in these games is on a different level
and in this regard I thought Derry were fantastic.
The Derry players have given everything for the cause and now isnt really the
time to be critcising them
Well done Derry
I disagree. Its time we as Irish football fans stopped accepting moral victories. Granted they are to be applauded for their overall campaign, but last night they didn't play as well as they could have, gave PSG too much respect, and Stephen Kenny got the tactics wrong. To much panic and no composure.
I don't believe panic is a tactic that kenny preached to his players. Agree on the 'moral victory' shoite, thats for the losers who follow the irish football team - our clubs should aim higher
29/09/2006, 10:40 AM
Not saying Kenny told them to panic. They were two different points which I agree I may not have made as clear as I could have.
hoops1
29/09/2006, 10:48 AM
I don't believe panic is a tactic that kenny preached to his players. Agree on the 'moral victory' shoite, thats for the losers who follow the irish football team - our clubs should aim higher
When we address the problems in our national league then we should be more
critical. We are not comparing like with like at the moment. Derry did everything that they could and came up against a better but limited PSG.
We are getting close to as far as we will ever go in Europe and its not as if
we have a history of Eiropean success
29/09/2006, 10:53 AM
But the point I made is that they didn't do everything they could do. In fact they got it wrong in a big way - both players and manager.
hoops1
i think the fact that derry didnt show up at all v PSG is what we're bemoaning
I think the shels games drained them mentally and physically
this wasnt a case of a gulf in class
it was two set pieces - the basics of the game - and immaterial what level the taker of the set piece plays at - they have to be defended - derry let in two soft ones at critical times
we'll never know what the difference in class was because Derry never asked that question of the opposition
it was an insipid performance IMO
29/09/2006, 11:44 AM
I agree the day we accept moral victories are gone but at the same time the experience will be invaluable, irish teams are getting to the final hurdle recently and with time, one will make the breakthrough.
West ham went out last night as did hearts, thats a perspective worth considering.
29/09/2006, 11:49 AM
no they are not, learning and progressing would be following the route of clubs from switzerland etc, they have hte same population as us etc i.e. similar player pool to pick from, but yet they have gotten through. Irish sides still haven't got that complaceny or the basics out of the way, until that happens every single "decent" european side will beat them. simple as that. there is no excuse for slack marking ( on setpieces corners/free kicks etc ) or kicking the ball out to the sideline or miskicking in your own bloody penalty area (like i saw happen on at least 6 occassions last night ) or passing the ball straight to an opposing player. fair enough they were put under pressure more, but there is no excuse for simple mistakes, the technical ability to ensure that these mistakes are eradicated SHOULD be there in all semi/full time paid pros, end of.
The most frustrating thing about watching that match last night was that could easily have been a 0 - 0 bar some stupid stupid mistakes.