View Full Version : Promotion confusion - who goes up

Flano
25/09/2006, 11:22 AM
Lads
Just been talking to a few guys in work about Utd and if they will get promoted but there's some confusion about what happens at the end of the season if we finish first/second and this UEFA licensing stuff.

Is there automatic promotion or is promotion dictated by meeting the UEFA criteria or is it a mix of both?

Any clarification appreciated

25/09/2006, 11:27 AM
the clubs will be graded as to how they finish this season with 1/2 in the first being graded above the club that finishes bottom of the premier and then all clubs will be graded on the UEFA Licencing Criteria / Off the field organisation , Finances , geographica position and fan base.

25/09/2006, 12:09 PM
Galways, Rovers and Dundalk regardless of results.......... It's called professionalism ;)

harpskid
25/09/2006, 12:29 PM
Galways, Rovers and Dundalk

No chance all three will be playing in the top flight next season!

GUISAUltra
25/09/2006, 12:30 PM
i hope your right. are ye ready for friday night

25/09/2006, 12:35 PM
Basically the FAI will hand pick what league all the teams will be playing in next season, Its just very helpful to be placed either 1st or 2nd in the first division to get picked for the premiership.

25/09/2006, 12:35 PM
No chance all three will be playing in the top flight next season!

Galway and Rovers guarenteed, Dundalk very strong possibility

25/09/2006, 12:37 PM
i hope your right. are ye ready for friday night

Absolutely shocking in the second half Saturday night, I wouldn't be overly confident. But then you never know, if we play like we're capable of we should win. Unfortunately we've maybe done that a half dozen times this season :o :ball:

25/09/2006, 12:38 PM
Galway and Rovers guarenteed, Dundalk very strong possibility
I hear Athlone are hopeful too. No wonder everyone voted for this. :rolleyes:

25/09/2006, 12:42 PM

If Ucd are thrown out of the Premier for the benefit of anyone of those clubs it is an absolute disgrace, farce, shambles, dark, dark, day for football :ball:

Doesn't mean it won't happen tho :(

Patrick Dunne
25/09/2006, 12:48 PM
There are very detailed criteria for inclusion in next years league.
All clubs have been circulated with in-depth documentation regarding the
points for each criterium and how they will awarded.

We will be making a presentation to the IAG in mid-October.

25/09/2006, 12:52 PM

See, I know your typing but all I can see is blah, blah, blah..........

Relax Patrick man, don't worry bout the presentation, it's in the bag ;)

GUISAUltra
25/09/2006, 12:53 PM
athlone dont deserve to get promoted anyway. you said if ye play to your best you think ye'll win but i think the exact same. we still haven't played as good as we can play yet all season and we're still top of the league pointswise. should be great game

25/09/2006, 12:56 PM
should be great game

Reckon it'll be a load of toss tbh :ball:

Ye'll enjoy it tho :o

GUISAUltra
25/09/2006, 1:00 PM
well once again, i hope you're right. 3 points would be brilliant with rovers not playing in the league again til they come to terryland. Cant wait for friday, as this is campaign is starting to hot up, every single game is vital

25/09/2006, 4:28 PM

I presume that's more than what was put on the FAI website?

Patrick Dunne
25/09/2006, 7:40 PM
Yes, what I have seen appears to go into more detail. All clubs attended
a briefing in Dublin approx 2-3 weeks ago.

soccerc
25/09/2006, 7:58 PM
Yes, what I have seen appears to go into more detail. All clubs attended
a briefing in Dublin approx 2-3 weeks ago.

.....and still many left scratching their heads in a clueless fashion wondering why some of their concerns remained unamswered.

26/09/2006, 9:26 AM

No...everyone didnt vote for it. Blind bit of difference our abstaining did tho.

GUISAUltra
26/09/2006, 10:58 AM
I think everybody should stop worrying about the promotion for the momentr because i dont think anyone really knows exactly whats going to happen. i think we should focus on the job at hand and that is winning this league. if we become first division champs, we'd have to be in the top tier come next season

geezer
26/09/2006, 11:08 AM
there isnt a club in the country that is unaware of the details that require promotion. In many other leagues clubs have been prevented from going up if their house is not in order. Gill at dundalk should talk to his club secretary (if they have one) if he has doubts over whats required. for heavens sake something had to be done and in this instance it finally looks like the fai are gonna stand up and be counted so fair play to them at last. clubs who know they wont make the grade have had 3 years notice and are just stirring it. imo them clubs who havent made efforts dont deserve to go up. At least at GUFC everything was re-organised and is miles better than years ago.
i hope we still win the championship though :ball:

26/09/2006, 11:15 AM
But if thats the case then we certainly have a chance of promotion....we have our house bigtime in order. We work within strict budgets. We may not shine on the pitch but at least all our players get paid what they are due at all times.

26/09/2006, 11:18 AM
Magicme we know you just want Monaghan to be in the Premier so ya can come and visit the Galway lads next year!:p

26/09/2006, 2:34 PM
Christ if monaghan get into the premier I'll move there!

Whoever wins the first division will go up.

Irish Fan
26/09/2006, 2:47 PM
What date will the Fai decision on whos going up be made?

26/09/2006, 3:05 PM
What date will the Fai decision on whos going up be made?

You'll have to ask the FAI that question as we are just supporters here ;)

GUISAUltra
26/09/2006, 3:20 PM
yeah whoever wins the first division should go easily but outside that you'd never know. the FAI do make some weird decisions after all

Patrick Dunne
26/09/2006, 4:37 PM
I understand that the Independent Assessment Group will
make its recommendation to the FAI in December.

26/09/2006, 5:10 PM
I understand that the Independent Assessment Group will
make its recommendation to the FAI in December.
So the FAI don't have to go with their decision?

soccerc
26/09/2006, 6:41 PM
there isnt a club in the country that is unaware of the details that require promotion.....

Can you spell them out, bearing in mind all the definded criteria and then the subjectives?