View Full Version : No lawnmower at Belfield Park?
Is the lawnmower broken or can UCD not afford the petrol to run it?
Noticed the grass was very long last friday & when wet made it very slippy. Have fans of other clubs noticed this?
Dr.Nightdub
24/09/2006, 5:15 PM
Not really, though I usually try to achieve a zombie-like trance in Belfield to get me through the 90 minutes, so I wouldn't be taking in fine details like the length of the grass.
24/09/2006, 6:01 PM
Are mods allowed to make up bullsh!t and start threads because they have sour grapes?
24/09/2006, 6:04 PM
If UCD want the grass long,it's perfectly within their rights. It probably suits their style of play and i know for sure it won't suit most opposing teams. Of course with that being said,the OP could be right and lawnmower could be just broke!
24/09/2006, 6:05 PM
If UCD want the grass long,it's perfectly within their rights. It probably suits their style of play and i know for sure it won't suit most opposing teams. Of course with that being said,the OP could be right and lawnmower could be just broke!
The grass isn't long at UCD. Having long grass wouldn't suit our style of play either.
If UCD want the grass long, it's perfectly within their rights.
How long is too long?
So everyone agreeing grass is long in Belfield?
24/09/2006, 6:20 PM
The "long" grass. (http://www.sportsfile.com/fotoweb/Preview.fwx?position=14&archiveType=ImageFolder&sorting=ModifiedTimeAsc&search=ucd%20and%20Soccer&fileId=4C3ABA64E9D5C430719D19E637E06F040B41EBD67AF D4DB45349769D3DA29DA5FC788D58B16C1545D9DFF19DCC0CA FF51CD2FE7937D6917BBC8695894EFA70A2E7C37CEF47DB085 78C824575572C45A67F3F301E2DB47696D8314BA0497DEDA73 B99A0309D475DFEB0772AC4C41AF418F92BD64F351E5DC6512 BEFDA856FB768)
That was a month or so ago. Anything more recent?
Though I dare say, the Cork lads are just on the wind up, and possibly excuse hunting :)
24/09/2006, 6:25 PM
There is on Inpho, but I don't have access. It proves though that it's the policy of the club to keep the grass short.
The "long" grass. (http://www.sportsfile.com/fotoweb/Preview.fwx?position=14&archiveType=ImageFolder&sorting=ModifiedTimeAsc&search=ucd%20and%20Soccer&fileId=4C3ABA64E9D5C430719D19E637E06F040B41EBD67AF D4DB45349769D3DA29DA5FC788D58B16C1545D9DFF19DCC0CA FF51CD2FE7937D6917BBC8695894EFA70A2E7C37CEF47DB085 78C824575572C45A67F3F301E2DB47696D8314BA0497DEDA73 B99A0309D475DFEB0772AC4C41AF418F92BD64F351E5DC6512 BEFDA856FB768)
All that proves is the grass was short 4 weeks ago.
Friday nights grass...
(http://www.fai.ie/images/photos/2006/09/22/02UCD_VS_CORK_CITY.jpg)
24/09/2006, 6:34 PM
"]
Friday nights grass...
[/URL]
And how is that long? You should just stop, you're making yourself look like an idiot.
24/09/2006, 6:35 PM
All that proves is the grass was short 4 weeks ago.
Friday nights grass...
(http://www.fai.ie/images/photos/2006/09/22/02UCD_VS_CORK_CITY.jpg)
You best give up smokin' the grass mate :D There was a lot of , what's that you Cork people call it again?, oh yes RAIN during the week !
And how is that long?
Half the players boots are hidden by the long grass.
24/09/2006, 6:40 PM
Half the players boots are hidden by the long grass.
No they're not. I suppose that's why you can't see some of the ball either.:rolleyes:
24/09/2006, 6:42 PM
Cork City seem to think that teams like UCD should roll over and play dead and let them win 5-1 every time they play us. When we have the audacity not to do so they whinge moan and complain. This is another example of it.
And no you are not being ridden rock solid by University College Dublin........
24/09/2006, 6:43 PM
Good man pete - more sour grapes from Corkies again.
The whole of the ball is quite clearly visible, and there's no evidence of Peadar's whining on the Cork forum (or am I allowed bring that up? :rolleyes: ) that the grass would be 10cm long. Given the lashing rain the previous couple of days, it'd be perfectly reasonable to assue the ground would be a bit soft and allow more give when a 12 stone player stands on it.
Would have thought a mod would have known better than to engage on obvious wind-ups. Though maybe you thought this was the Cork forum...
Time for locking, anyone?
24/09/2006, 6:45 PM
Nah, let Pete continue to make a fool of himself and show off his immaturity.
Good man pete - more sour grapes from Corkies again.
Niced try at changing topic.
The whole of the ball is quite clearly visible,
If a ball in motion was covered by the grass would be too long for rugby.
and there's no evidence of Peadar's whining on the Cork forum (or am I allowed bring that up? :rolleyes: )
I do not know why you are bringing this up again. AFAIK you are referring to something on another forum that I have no information on... I have not discussed the match in any form.
Given the lashing rain the previous couple of days, it'd be perfectly reasonable to assue the ground would be a bit soft and allow more give when a 12 stone player stands on it.
At least you are debating the topic even if i disagree.
Would have thought a mod would have known better than to engage on obvious wind-ups. Though maybe you thought this was the Cork forum...
I deliberately did not enter the UCD forum to discuss dispite some obvious name calling. I am meerly asking other fans if they noticed in other games. The picture from the Limerick match clearly shows UCD vary the length of the grass from match to match.
Solution when you cannot win an argument. The least you could do is admit the grass is long & then defend your right to have the grass in that condition.
24/09/2006, 6:53 PM
True, dmanetc.
I like the way the fan of the club who were issued a winding-up petition slag the club who were recently noted by the PFAI as the one club they've never had to deal with over not being able to afford things.
I note also that pete reckons the long grass made things slippery. A devious thing to do on our part, and probably helped us score our goal, because God knows, the Biggest Club Ireland Has Ever Known would never have conceded a goal to us in a million years otherwise. Nothing at all to do with water having slippery properties when it rests on grass, of course.
I like the way the fan of the club who were issued a winding-up petition slag the club who were recently noted by the PFAI as the one club they've never had to deal with over not being able to afford things.
Please keep this thread on topic.
24/09/2006, 6:56 PM
Please keep this thread on topic.
You brought finances into it.
24/09/2006, 6:56 PM
I never said that. I said the whole of the ball was visible. If you can't tell the difference between the two, I don't know what to do with you.
The picture from the Limerick match clearly shows UCD vary the length of the grass from match to match.
It shows nothing of the sort. It shows your concerns about the length of the grass are unfounded; you can't back down from your original point, so your logic states it must have changed length.
Solution when you cannot win an argument. The least you could do is admit the grass is long & then defend your right to have the grass in that condition.
Are you telling me what to think? I - and others - have refuted your whine. The least you could do is accept the fact.
I note you didn't address the issue of rain making things slippery and boggy?
When short grass is wet you do not slip. Were players slipping in Tolka? I know Jennings may use it as excuse for sending off but were there others slipping?
When grass is wet and long it is slippy.
24/09/2006, 7:02 PM
Niced try at changing topic.
Actually, it's very much on topic given your disgraceful actions as a mod earlier and the amusing ranting from Cork fans about our fans, pitch, stadium, style of play and right to play in the league after we didn't lose to you again.
Which doesn't seem to be the case from the poor photo you showed.
I deliberately did not enter the UCD forum to discuss dispite some obvious name calling. I am meerly asking other fans if they noticed in other games. The picture from the Limerick match clearly shows UCD vary the length of the grass from match to match.
That's right, that title was never going to wind up UCD fans once it was in the eL general forum. :rolleyes:
It's worked for you and others recently. Of course, you've no idea what I mean.
Now that is irrelevant PS. Besides, I've long suspected that that's partly down to Tony dealing with stuff before it ever gets bumped anyway.
I note also that pete reckons the long grass made things slippery. A devious thing to do on our part, and probably helped us score our goal, because God knows, the Biggest Club Ireland Has Ever Known would never have conceded a goal to us in a million years otherwise. Nothing at all to do with water having slippery properties when it rests on grass, of course.
It's that cussed Dublin water. It's molecules have a pro-Dublin bias.
24/09/2006, 7:02 PM
When short grass is wet you do not slip.
Wrong, I'm afraid. You try running on short but wet grass - it's still slippy.
You're moving into the realm of factual error, pete. Do you want to keep digging?
24/09/2006, 7:04 PM
Where did all you UCD lads come from?
Are you all on the blower to one another?
24/09/2006, 7:05 PM
Where did all you UCD lads come from?
Are you all on the blower to one another?
That's right Anto. Four UCD fans online at the same time is a conspiracy.
Five, of course, is a riot. At least according to the Herald. :)
24/09/2006, 7:06 PM
So what are we saying, the grass was long !?! Agreed ?? Deal ?? :p
Lads, for gods sake .... chill the bean .... this is blown totally out of proportion, settle down will ye?
Actually, it's very much on topic given your disgraceful actions as a mod earlier and the amusing ranting from Cork fans about our fans, pitch, stadium, style of play and right to play in the league after we didn't lose to you again.
I suggest you read Schumis post in that thread. It had already been discussed at Mod level & been handled. If you have problem with my Moderator actions i suggest you follow the forum procedures.
I will accept that difficult to see the state of the pitch from the picture i posted. Believe when i say everyone was talking about it during the match on friday.
Nobody on foot..ie has mentioned anything about your fans, stadium, style of play or right to play in this league. I think you may be confusing with other forum?
24/09/2006, 7:11 PM
I think that your post here is quite clearly linked to posts on the Cork and UCD forums, however much you deny knowledge. Hence it's quite clearly on topic. Hence also it's WUMming, which is why the posts have been reported.
Your actions as mod have been challenged to an extent at mod level, so I reject your claim that it's "been handled"
24/09/2006, 7:13 PM
So what are we saying, the grass was long !?! Agreed ?? Deal ?? :p
Lads, for gods sake .... chill the bean .... this is blown totally out of proportion, settle down will ye?
A Face, to put this in context, we've once again seen that odd syndrome that affects clubs (even clubs of a comparable size to us) where unpon not beating UCD, they begin to rant about why we're an inferior club.
Since not losing to Cork on Friday, we've had the following thrown at us:
We shouldn't be in the league.
We hoof the ball.
We defend too much
Our stadium is [insert expletive]
Our grass is too long.
Our efforts to boost attendances are 'disgraceful'
Several of our fans have been banned at the Cork forums
A Cork mod has closed a thread in the UCD forum for patently biased reasons. The thread has been subsequently reopened.
Same Cork mod has baited us here.
...Anyone care to add to that?
We dispute all of the 'factual' crap above. You'd do no less if it was Cork taking a lashing for having the audacity to have the ambition to not lose to someone.
24/09/2006, 7:14 PM
I'm just baffled. Is this a joke? Reminds me of Dejan Savićević claiming the ball was wet after he led Serbia and Montenegro to some crap result.:rolleyes:
Since not losing to Cork on Friday, we've had the following thrown at us:
Different site i presume as not posted here. I could ask for a link but seems little point.
24/09/2006, 7:18 PM
Different site i presume as not posted here.
Look at the thread title. You even started the thread.:rolleyes:
24/09/2006, 7:18 PM
Different site i presume as not posted here. I could ask for a link but seems little point.
Why would there be little point? Does it not suit your argument that this is an isolated incident?
24/09/2006, 7:21 PM
Some comedy value to the thread all the same. Dahamsta said there was going to be a serious crackdown on foot.ie and it's only right too,if you ask me,he should start with some of the MODS!
24/09/2006, 7:32 PM
Dahamsta said there was going to be a serious crackdown on foot.ie and it's only right too,if you ask me,he should start with some of the MODS!
Absolutely not. I am completely innocent in all this. I asked a genuine question and backed it up by changing what people were saying so they would agree with me. I also don't read any other forums so, even though I locked a thread earlier clearly referring to a contentious thread, I wouldn't know anything about it and the coincidences between this thread and the one on the other forum I don't claim to read are purely coincidental.
24/09/2006, 7:44 PM
Lads, i had to close this. I wasn't aware of this being debated on other forums, and because it is, it will be impossible to keep track of.
I think we would all be agreed that it is a farily pointless thread, and we wont lose out by closing it.