View Full Version : UCD 1-1 Cork
22/09/2006, 10:02 PM
Pretty even game, draw fair result I'd say. Nice to see us get off the mark again at long last. Referee was shocking.
Burnsie
22/09/2006, 10:48 PM
force of habit i know, but the game i watched ended 1-1!
thought it was a poor enough ucd performance tonight, though cork weren't much better. our lads seemed to take a long time to adjust to the slick surface, and as usual (and finn wouldn't have made *that* much difference) the link between midfield and attack was woeful.
one of the visiting fans i spoke too was very impressed with sammon, and fair play to him he stuck away his only chance tonight. if only he could do it a bit more regularly he'd be a real asset.
smashing save by quigley at the end of the first half too.
23/09/2006, 2:35 AM
UCD claimed their fifth draw in succession when holding league champions Cork City to an entertaining draw at Belfield Park, although the game did at least see UCD's first league goal for since early August and first league goal against since the end of July.
Pete Mahon made two changes from the side which had drawn 0-0 in Waterford - Pat Kavanagh came in for his first start in place of Pat McWalter, while Paul Byrne replaced Conan Byrne up front. Cork, meanwhile, had start striker John O'Flynn fit after picking up an injury the previous week against Bohs.
UCD started well, and Kavanagh could have put the Students ahead after a quarter of an hour, but he blazed over from ten yards after getting into a good position. Mick Devine in the Cork net nearly helped UCD's cause a few minutes later when spilling a harmless through ball, but Paul Byrne was just too far behind to capitalise, while a couple of minutes later again, Conor Sammon went on a mazy 20-yard run before shooting tamely at Devine from distance.
However, Cork came into the half strongly, and were only inches away from taking the lead on the half hour when a deep cross just eluded O'Flynn at the far post, wihle shortly before half-time, Darren Quigley had to be at his best to pull of a superb double save - first from ten yards, and then from point blank range.
The game livened up in the second half, and shortly before the hour, it was UCD's turn to be inches away from an opener, when the Cork defence just managed to get a toe to Alan Mahon's deep free kick ahead of the lurking Alan McNally. Five minutes later, Quigley was again called into action when denying Woods in a one-on-one situation, before Paul Byrne just failed to connect with a teasing Darragh Ryan cross from the left.
Ryan was called into action at the other end when Darren Quigley's goal kick was scuffed straight to O'Flynn; as the forward bore down on goal, Ryan was back to deny the Cork number 9 with a superb challenge as he was about to pull the trigger.
With twenty minutes remaining, UCD took the lead. A long-ball over the top caused hesitation with Dan Murray in the Cork defence, and Conor Sammon took advantage to outmuscle the defender before racing into the box to slot past the advancing Mick Devine.
The lead lasted all of four minutes, however. Cork's equaliser came from an uttelry unexpected source - Dan Murray rifling home a superb equaliser from 25 yards, giving Darren Quigley no chance.
UCD had one last chance to seal all three points, but after Sammon found Paul Byrne unmarked on the edge of the area, Byrne's rustiness after two months on the sidelines told, and his first touch was poor, allowing Cork to clear.
All in all, a draw was a fair result, and one which lifts UCD up into eighth in the table, although Longford are a point adrift with two games in hand. it also extends UCD's unbeaten run to seven games ahead of next week's FAI Cup Quarter-Final clash in Derry.
UCD - Quigley; Mahon, Ryan, Kenna, McNally; McDonnell, Kavanagh (McWalter 65), Dicker, Doyle; P Byrne (C Byrne 87), Sammon. Subs not used - Hussey, Harte, Purcell
Att - 430
23/09/2006, 9:02 AM
I thought the game last night was quite entertaining. There was chances at both ends. Adrian Eames didn't seem to depressed on Radio 1 at being forced to watch it either. What do people expect for €15 these days? It wouldn't even pay for three pints in certain establishments in Dublin!
Burnsie
23/09/2006, 10:10 AM
wasn't the most exhilarating of matches, despite the goal bonanza.
was ronan finn suspended? does that mean he will be available for the cup tie next week?
23/09/2006, 10:28 AM
was ronan finn suspended? does that mean he will be available for the cup tie next week?
The suspension definitely is next week, so he musn't have recovered fully from his injury.
23/09/2006, 12:26 PM
He was still injured.
23/09/2006, 1:11 PM
We finally score a goal and DmanDmythDledge ignores it. :D
23/09/2006, 2:34 PM
We finally score a goal and DmanDmythDledge ignores it. :D
Eh...
Pretty even game, draw fair result I'd say. Nice to see us get off the mark again at long last. Referee was shocking.
23/09/2006, 4:46 PM
He means heading the thread "0-0"
23/09/2006, 5:48 PM
He means heading the thread "0-0"
:confused: :confused: :confused:
23/09/2006, 5:56 PM
:confused: :confused: :confused:
It's been edited now. The title of the thread you originally put up was "UCD 0-0 Cork City".
23/09/2006, 5:57 PM
It's been edited now. The title of the thread you originally put up was "UCD 0-0 Cork City".
Never noticed that!:o Must have been force of habit!
23/09/2006, 8:30 PM
Thread on Cork's forum for their usual bitter rantings:
http://corkcityfc.ie/forums/index.php?showforum=2
Apparently we set out to defend despite playing a clear 4-4-2 with two clear forwards, one out and out attacking winger and a full back who can only attack.
23/09/2006, 8:35 PM
I just banned for some minor sarcasm. Peadar was giving out about us getting kids into the game and I replied "I agree. Getting kids into an eL game. What a fu(king disgrace." Talk about gestapo stuff.:rolleyes:
23/09/2006, 10:46 PM
Dmanetc - I assumed you'd read Burnsie's first post noting your error too!
Just about made a bit of money on less than 2.5 goals scored - was getting worried for a while!
23/09/2006, 10:49 PM
I just banned for some minor sarcasm. Peadar was giving out about us getting kids into the game and I replied "I agree. Getting kids into an eL game. What a fu(king disgrace." Talk about gestapo stuff.
I was talking to Schumi tonight and was joking to him what would be the least I would have to do to get banned on that forum. No need to try now...
I read it but didn't have a clue what he was on about!
23/09/2006, 10:51 PM
Just about made a bit of money on less than 2.5 goals scored - was getting worried for a while!
Are you telling me Peader banned me?:confused:
23/09/2006, 10:52 PM
It was only for 3 hours.
23/09/2006, 10:55 PM
Are you telling me Peader banned me?:confused:
Can you not see the post?
He banned you for three hours, ostensibly for trying to circumvent the swearing filter. I think I'll be next after calling him a muppet... Imagine a club trying to increase its home support!:eek: :rolleyes:
23/09/2006, 10:59 PM
Aaah - you're back! Where'd you bugger off to?!
23/09/2006, 11:00 PM
Whaddya mean? I miss one... er four consecutive matches and suddenly I've disappeared, eh?
23/09/2006, 11:06 PM
Yeah, but this time, you were actually walking over to the ground when you vanished!
Did you miss every single one of the 0-0 run?
23/09/2006, 11:22 PM
Yeah, but this time, you were actually walking over to the ground when you vanished!
Did you miss every single one of the 0-0 run?
I was walking to a house party nearby.
Depends. If you ignore the cup game, no. I was in Longford for the first one.
23/09/2006, 11:32 PM
Ah yes, I recall the knackered heaving about the pitch at half time now...!
23/09/2006, 11:36 PM
Ah yes, I recall the knackered heaving about the pitch at half time now...!
I've never been more injured by a warm up. :)
24/09/2006, 3:17 PM
You need to be logged in to view the Cork forum and a ban counts as not logged in. Being banned even prevents you from logging out.:eek:
Moderator Warning:
This thread has been closed for continued personal abuse & for discussing goings on in other forum. Please use PM feature if you want to continue this.
pineapple stu warned as to future behaviour.
24/09/2006, 4:55 PM
I've removed the preceding personal abuse, leave off that stuff please. Keep the thread on topic about the game, I think we all know the situation with the Cork forum at this stage...
24/09/2006, 6:32 PM
Moderator Warning:
This thread has been closed for continued personal abuse & for discussing goings on in other forum. Please use PM feature if you want to continue this.
pineapple stu warned as to future behaviour.
Could you explain, please, as to why discussing abusive comments towards out playing style, attendance, fans, pitch and stadium are grounds for closing a thread?
If you're not happy with something on this forum, leave it to Schumi to moderate, rather than indulging in petty censoring of any mention of the actions of your own team's fans. I've sacked mods for lesser abuses of their powers.
Anyway, back to the game:
I thought Finn's suspension didn't kick in until next week? Why wasn't he playing?
Has Alan Mahon's form improved? The last three or so games I've been to, he was very poor. Of course, with Dazza at left back, I wouldn't be surprised if the attention was off of him. :)
24/09/2006, 6:39 PM
Well Alan Mahon played in the five consecutive clean sheets in a row so he must be doing something right. :D
24/09/2006, 6:43 PM
Anyway, back to the game:
I thought Finn's suspension didn't kick in until next week? Why wasn't he playing?
Still injured.
Has Alan Mahon's form improved? The last three or so games I've been to, he was very poor. Of course, with Dazza at left back, I wouldn't be surprised if the attention was off of him.
Neither put a step wrong last night, as far as I could see. The long grass obscured my vision.:rolleyes: :p
Well Alan Mahon played in the five consecutive clean sheets in a row so he must be doing something right. :D
He was crap agaisnt Pats, and wasn't great against Sligo.
24/09/2006, 6:45 PM
Has Alan Mahon's form improved? The last three or so games I've been to, he was very poor. Of course, with Dazza at left back, I wouldn't be surprised if the attention was off of him. :)
So what you're saying is that he had a poor game in 1997, 2001 and 2003 when you were there? ;)
Al Mahon had a good game on Friday. Not one of his best, but a lot better than previous weeks. Hopefully he's getting back to form after a blip.
24/09/2006, 6:49 PM
So what you're saying is that he had a poor game in 1997, 2001 and 2003 when you were there? ;)
1997? Jasus, I think I sat my Junior Cert in 97. :)
Al Mahon had a good game on Friday. Not one of his best, but a lot better than previous weeks. Hopefully he's getting back to form after a blip.
Good to hear.