View Full Version : Derry win League Cup
18/09/2006, 9:43 PM
3-0 on penos. Three great saves from PJ. Delighted for him - sound lad, did great with us apart from a spell right at the end of the Doolin reign, but bounced back superbly once Pete took over. Will it take this sending off for Kenny to realise he's a far better keeper than Forde?
Extra time for Derry isn't going to help their season though - hopefully we can cash in there on Sunday week!
On the plus side, a few bob after backing Derry to win! Not going to get me retiring yet, but only opened an internet booking account on Saturday, so I'm one from one so far!
el punter
18/09/2006, 9:46 PM
Stunning stuff, Roy of the Rovers territory with the sub keeper coming on to win the cup for the side with nine men :)
Congrats to Derry.
Apparently an atrocious game to watch.....
Gareth
18/09/2006, 9:48 PM
Gutted. Totally gutted.
18/09/2006, 9:49 PM
My prediction of a Shels-Derry-Cork-Drogs league and Derry to win both cups is still on. If only I put money on it.
18/09/2006, 9:52 PM
Being a Rovers fan, you know atrocious when ye see it!! ;)
:p
el punter
18/09/2006, 9:56 PM
I wouldn't say that at all. Thought it was very enjoyable.
Being a Rovers fan, you know atrocious when ye see it!!
Ah yeah, but this Derry and Shels..the big game...the attractive football that everyone wants to see....the goals ;) :p
Aaron
18/09/2006, 10:36 PM
Wot a nite!! U will never find another irish club fight for the shirt as much as those 9 battlers tonite. Superb nite, Ian Stokes was an absolute disgrace tho!! It was clear Killian Brennan made a bad tackle on heary but it was clear Heary punched Brennan in the balls!! He really does take the biscuit with the decisions he gave tonite. Fordeys sendin off was harsh aswell. Ah well, the cup is ours!!
City till I Die!!
Clifford
18/09/2006, 10:43 PM
Congrats Derry, great night for the players and manager. Delighted for them. Shame the fans left themselves down by booing Shels when they went for their medals. The ref made the decisions, not Shels.
That is all.
hoops1
18/09/2006, 10:51 PM
As AH would say Derry showed spirit,grit and determination
add in great character and honesty and alot lot more
IMO the Ref got the 2 Derry sendings off right Heary should have went to
But remember Hargan could have walked aswell
CharlesThompson
18/09/2006, 11:07 PM
Don't forget the peno that Derry should have gotten after Farren was pushed in the back in the first half. Stokes is now the new Kelly as far as leniency to Shelbourne goes.
Well done Derry!
18/09/2006, 11:15 PM
Despite giving Shels 2 extra men and 3 clean shots at goal, they still couldn't score against us tonight !! :D Love it...
I thought Stokes had agoo game in nrmal time - only one or two cards, and kept it flowing (though he gthe push on Farren penalty decision wrong). Then he let himself be copmletely hoodwinked in extra time. There was ZERO actual contact between Brennan and Heary in that taccle, and Heary retaliated. Should've been a red card for both (possibly even a red to Heary for retaliation). Forde incident should also have been a yellow, as his intention was clearly to play the ball with his foot, and the ball played him on the arm.
Still - justice and good always shines through in the end....
Red&White
18/09/2006, 11:38 PM
Shame the fans left themselves down by booing Shels when they went for their medals. The ref made the decisions, not Shels.
Shels players were applauded off the pitch. The booing was for Mr Ian Stokes who was making his exit off the pitch at the same time as the Shels players went up for their medals.
I think most people would agree that Shels are generally a better footballing team than DerryDerry maybe a better team, so it was no surprise that Shels had the better of it even when it was 11 v 11. Someone should explain the rules to the managers, players can get sent off for intent. In his interview after the game a highly emotional Stephen Kenny kept harping on about how Richie Bakergot out've the way before Brennan took him out(I actually thought that Brennan made too much out've it the woman:D ). Anyway Derry were excellent from then on in and I'm sure most people could see only one winner after it went to penos(is Jason Byrne the worst peno taker ever-his record is dire) as the team that's holding on usually goes on to win in these situations. Well done Derry
bohs til i die
19/09/2006, 7:30 AM
I thought Stokes had agoo game in nrmal time - only one or two cards, and kept it flowing (though he gthe push on Farren penalty decision wrong). Then he let himself be copmletely hoodwinked in extra time. There was ZERO actual contact between Brennan and Heary in that taccle, and Heary retaliated. Should've been a red card for both (possibly even a red to Heary for retaliation). Forde incident should also have been a yellow, as his intention was clearly to play the ball with his foot, and the ball played him on the arm.
Brennan dived in with no intention of playing the ball. It was an atrocious tackle and I thought the ref was right to send him off. Kenny was whinging about the red for Brennan afterwards saying Heary got out of the way. Players shouldnt have to be getting out of the way of tackles like that. It was similar to Del Horno's red for Chelsea against Barca earlier this year. No contact but the intent was there.
The red card for the keeper was a tough call on Derry. He was obviously trying to win/clear the ball with his foot and it struck his elbow by accident.
lofty9
19/09/2006, 7:58 AM
Congrats Derry, great night for the players and manager. Delighted for them. Shame the fans left themselves down by booing Shels when they went for their medals. The ref made the decisions, not Shels.
That is all.
When Shels went for their medals the Derry fans on the terracing were booing a so called Derry supporter who was getting ejected by a steward. Don't know what he did but he was acting a big man with no top on and sticking his tongue out and giving certain hand actions to the crowd when being thrown out.
That is all.
I think most people would agree that Shels are generally a better footballing team than DerryDerry maybe a better team, so it was no surprise that Shels had the better of it even when it was 11 v 11.
Footballing team? What's that? A team that cannot beat a Derry team with 11, 10, 9 men. One that just tries to lump the ball up to Harris when all else fails, due to their superior footballing skills? One that gets away with off the ball incidents all the time? Even when that ref sees them?
Derry looked jaded last night but the game was turning in Derry's tide with the introduction of Higgins for Molloy. We were definitely on top in the second half until Forde's sending off.
Chant of the night: Whats it like to see a crowd?
19/09/2006, 9:07 AM
Am I the only one who finds it weird that Heary punching Brennan in the b0llocks has gone fairly unmentioned? Pat Dolan and Healy made a fleeting reference to it and the commentary team remained silent in the replays. Typical Shelbourne, always have to try and take the law into their own hands.
Great display of resilience and determination by Derry. Congratulations. Hope this ends of myth that PJ isn't as good as Forde.
Clifford
19/09/2006, 9:07 AM
Come on peeps get the story right, the ref was booed says one, the ejected fan says the other. Very clearly the Shels players to me.
Enjoy the win, delighted for them.
19/09/2006, 9:12 AM
Is someone saying there is something wrong with booing Shels players?
Par for the course with us.
Clifford
19/09/2006, 9:20 AM
:D Very good.
Krstic
19/09/2006, 9:24 AM
Heavan forbid we boo opposing players:eek:
Have you ever been to a live match before ya fcuking idiot.
I was certainly booing the Shels players, they're a dirty shower of Bastrads.
As for Shels being a better footballing team, we were down to 9 men and they were clueless.
They had acres of space through the middle, yet each time they came forward they played the ball wide to Moore, who had to turn back onto his left foot in order to whip in a cross, which was easy pickings for Oman and Kelly
They didn't change their approach once. They had no plan 'B'.
Shocking tactics from fenlon.
As for the red cards, Brennan deserved his, Forde's was harsh, but we don't give a fcuk, we won and Forde's replacement was the key man:D
Red&White
19/09/2006, 9:37 AM
As for the red cards, Brennan deserved his, Forde's was harsh, but we don't give a fcuk, we won and Forde's replacement was the key man:D
Exactly. :)
stickyjoe
19/09/2006, 9:42 AM
no need for the personal attack. thought it was an enjoyable game last night even if the conditions weren`t great for either team playing football.
you must of had the Derry blinkers on last night, both teams weren`t shy about leaving the foot in. Heary and Brennan should of walked. Moore was his usual self leaving his foot in whenever he could and in the first half there was a very dangerous tackle from a Derry lad on Baker. i don`t think the ref even booked him :eek:
Thats 2 good games I`ve watched on the telly in the last few days but the refs in last nights game and Pats Shels the other night have been a complete joke:(
Clifford
19/09/2006, 10:00 AM
Boo all you like during the match, I'm no angel with regard to that. But at the end of a final, when a team is getting their medals there is no need. Obviously you wouldn't understand sportsmanship and are denting the great respect I had for Derry fans and their deserved reputation, not that I'll lose any sleep over that.
At least it clears things up for the few who thought the booing was for the ref/ejected fan and confirms how right I was originally. Shame.
Enjoy the win.
Krstic
19/09/2006, 10:15 AM
Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooooooo
stickyjoe
19/09/2006, 10:24 AM
Are you not in school today Krstic?
lofty9
19/09/2006, 10:36 AM
As I said in an earlier post, the fans at the terracing end booed the idiot fan, even the supporters in the Glentoran stand were booing him. I'm sure those that sit there, directors etc were not booing the Shelbourne team. Shels players were applauded coming off the pitch and returned the favour to our fans. When Stokes left the pitch he was booed. If Kristic and others decided to boo Shels when they got their medals thats their perogative, but the fact of the matter is that the two idiots were being booed.
Referees are criticised a lot but last night he got the sendings off spot on & very unlucky to miss Hearys nastiness.
There is no doubt Shels had the most of the play & will be a huge blow to them that could not score in 120 minutes.
Fridays game will be good entertainment for any neutrals as i am sure will be some afters from last night
Krstic
19/09/2006, 10:48 AM
Well to be honest lofty9, i was in my car listening to radio Foyle by the time the trophy was EVENTUALLY presented.
Although i did Boo the Shels players everytime they touched the ball.
But if anyone did Boo the Shels players after the game, i really couldn't care less.
Clifford
19/09/2006, 10:54 AM
Don't get the knickers' in a twist, only an observation that Kristic confirmed.
Enjoy the win.
1Davy
19/09/2006, 10:59 AM
Don't get the knickers' in a twist, only an observation that Kristic confirmed.
Enjoy the win.
Clifford from my position in the stand all i could see after the game was some Shels players applauding our support, and that was reciprocated by all in the stand.
But it's a pity not all their players took the defeat so graciously.
http://img154.imageshack.us/img154/2006/crowety0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
stickyjoe
19/09/2006, 11:03 AM
Surprised that Derry fans were able to get that close to the players
Clifford
19/09/2006, 11:04 AM
Clifford from my position in the stand all i could see after the game was some Shels players applauding our support, and that was reciprocated by all in the stand.
But it's a pity not all their players took the defeat so graciously.
http://img154.imageshack.us/img154/2006/crowety0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Superb pic Davy, got him hook line and sinker. Nice one. :D
Sonic
19/09/2006, 11:22 AM
Superb nite, Ian Stokes was an absolute disgrace tho!! It was clear Killian Brennan made a bad tackle on heary but it was clear Heary punched Brennan in the balls!! He really does take the biscuit with the decisions he gave tonite. Fordeys sendin off was harsh aswell. Ah well, the cup is ours!!
City till I Die!!
In fairness you cant really blame the ref for the sendings off. The forde one was the lineman and the killian brennan was a definite red card. He lunged two footed with intent. You could hardly expect stokes to see what heary did after now in fairness. Its the linesman in question that you should be venting your anger on. Delighted personally to see derry winning. It proves to everyone what a great manager Kenny is. The team spirit in the derry squad brings back memories to Kennys time and Longford Town when players would die for the shirt. I hope they win the league to shut that fool felix healy up!! He knows nothing and talks sh1te
19/09/2006, 11:29 AM
Last night was my first time in the Brandywell in over a year, so I'm just wondering are away fans always put into the section where the designated area is for people in wheelchairs?? :confused:
garyderry
19/09/2006, 11:32 AM
In fairness you cant really blame the ref for the sendings off. The forde one was the lineman and the killian brennan was a definite red card. He lunged two footed with intent. You could hardly expect stokes to see what heary did after now in fairness. Its the linesman in question that you should be venting your anger on. Delighted personally to see derry winning. It proves to everyone what a great manager Kenny is. The team spirit in the derry squad brings back memories to Kennys time and Longford Town when players would die for the shirt. I hope they win the league to shut that fool felix healy up!! He knows nothing and talks sh1te
Thats bull in relation to the ref not seeing heary, he was running straight at brennan with his hand in his pocket and couldnt possibly miss it, its from the replays he was looking staright at it, add to that the fourth official and the linesman where right besside it too, no one could have missed and no way all three didnt see it.
19/09/2006, 11:37 AM
I think most people would agree that Shels are generally a better footballing team than Derry
What game were you watching hoopy ? Derry were clealry better overall than Shels prior to being reduced to 9 men. In each of our 5 European outings we've played better football than Shels have ever done this season. You've got a dose of the Eircom League Weekly disease- no matter how good anyone else is doing in the league, Wayne and Garf just can't see past their star-strucked love of Shelbourne....
Even when we were down to 9 men and Shels were giving it all they had, we still dealt comfortably with it all and soaked up the pressure.
Three great irnoic monents in last night's game. Firstly, Setanta being stupid enough to appoint a man of the match prior to penalties in a cup final. Secondly, them being stupid enough to give it to Dave Rogers, who then had his opening penalty kick saved, and started the pressure pilling onto Shels. And thirdly, Fenlon's attitude in an interview earlier in the day when he said he doesn't believe in practicing penalties......
Friday will be very interesting now. I reckon most likely a 1:1 draw, but possibility of a typically late winner for either side.
ger121
19/09/2006, 11:38 AM
Sure we even boo our own players:D
19/09/2006, 11:40 AM
Last night was my first time in the Brandywell in over a year, so I'm just wondering are away fans always put into the section where the designated area is for people in wheelchairs?? :confused:
No. Away fans are usually segregated over in Blocks A and B - e.g. where the PSG fans were.
My understanding is that because it wasn't a home game for Derry (it was a 'neutral' EL final) Shels fans had to be given a more prominent area.
Had yee brought a few more with you on your free buses, you could've had the 450 new seats on the other side all to yourselves.....
Dazzy
19/09/2006, 11:50 AM
I think that was an FAI decision:rolleyes:
Red&White
19/09/2006, 12:50 PM
We thought you were all bringing your push chairs.
BrayUnknowns
19/09/2006, 1:08 PM
Am I the only one who finds it weird that Heary punching Brennan in the b0llocks has gone fairly unmentioned? Pat Dolan and Healy made a fleeting reference to it and the commentary team remained silent in the replays. Typical Shelbourne, always have to try and take the law into their own hands.
Great display of resilience and determination by Derry. Congratulations. Hope this ends of myth that PJ isn't as good as Forde.
I thought Brennan deserved to go, his tackle was wild and wreckless. The type that can break a leg if it connects. BUT, Heary should have went himself for his reaction. Thats the sort of stuff the FAI should look into after the game. Forde's red card was very harsh though.
BrayUnknowns
19/09/2006, 1:18 PM
As for Shels being a better footballing team, we were down to 9 men and they were clueless.
They had acres of space through the middle, yet each time they came forward they played the ball wide to Moore, who had to turn back onto his left foot in order to whip in a cross, which was easy pickings for Oman and Kelly
They didn't change their approach once. They had no plan 'B'.
Shocking tactics from fenlon.
In fairness Shels were the better side last night and created nearly all the good goal scoring chances. They could have been there all night, all tonight and all wednesday night and still not score - it was just one of those nights for them !
There plan B was to play 3 upfront bringing Harris on in Extra time, which they "Should" have scored at least 2 or 3.
Derry's defending was excellent though, especially with only 9 men !
Was a very nice touch from Kenny to dedicate the win to Sean McGlynn, he was nearly crying saying it ! Had to laugh at Paddy McCourt though - "We really busted out balls form him" :D
Both reds were deserved - as for the comments saying Forde shouldn't have gone, its aways a risk as a keeper when you rush out like that, everyone knows it, and he made a meal of it. Noones fault but his. Heary should have gone for his reaction to Brennan, but Hargan (was it him?) could have gone too earlier in the game. In all, inconsistent refereeing - surprised?
We couldn't take any chances, ergo didn't deserve to win. Good banter between the fans, although a bit of tape seperating fans about 10ft apart wasn't enough. The announcer was class, broke his **** laughing at something, and forgot to turn off the speakers! :) Then again, who's a Shels fan to comlpain about stewarding? ;)
Well done to Derry, hung on well and won it well in the end. I'd've taken a thrashing last night in return for a win on Friday, and hope it still works out like that! :D
Good to see you got time off school to go to the game.
The section you were in had approx 300 seats with a wide area at the front for wheelchairs.
Just a pity you could only bring about 200 for a final.
Drumcondra Red
19/09/2006, 1:29 PM
Davy you are and always will be an idiot of the highest order
If a keeper is 10 yards outside his box he can never be unlucky to handle the ball especially when he waving them in the air.
19/09/2006, 2:27 PM
In fairness Shels were the better side last night and created nearly all the good goal scoring chances.
How in the name of Pat Dolan were Shels the better side last night ?
Take the 84mins or so when it was 11-a-side :
- Did they have the most possession ? No.
- Did they create the most chances ? No.
- Did they play the nicest football ? No.
Then, let's look at extra time :
- Even with a 1/2 man advantage, did they play to a level you would expect for a team with that sort of numerical advantage ? No.
- Did they create the number of goalscoring chances you would expect for a team with 2 more men on the pitch (3 if you count Stokes) ? No.
Penalties :
- Did they take the better kicks ? No.
- Did they make the better saves ? No.
I would therefore love to be enlightened as to how you can conclude that Shels were the better side, when any comparison of what actually happened on the night says otherwise.
19/09/2006, 2:35 PM
There will be murder on Friday. Owen Heary will not come out in one piece. We'll let O'Flynn at him.
Bring it on.