View Full Version : Matchday experience in Terryland

thescoringgoals
18/09/2006, 6:45 PM
correct me if im wrong but isnt 1 of the main aims of the current board to improve the matchday experience for the paying public???then id like to raise a few points which hopefully might be taken notice of,
1:the girlfriend used the toilets in the ground on saturday night and said they were "disgusting".
2:you cant hear the P.A at all,bernie just isnt up to it,i mean i didnt hear a thing he said,especially what he said before the second half started.
3:i remember terryland use to have a "buzz" in it for most games,the only games this season it had a buzz were the shams earlier in season and recent finn harps game,those 2 did involve alot of away fans though.
4:chanting and drums dont do much if they are erractic and the same thing over and over and over,what happened to all the old chants????
5:at halftime its completely dead,why not have kids games etc like gaa grounds do or lively music.
basically its not the same going to terryland anymore,a few ppl ive brought there this season say its kinda depressing.ill probably get alot of replies saying im talking crap but id like to hear others opinions.

corbyeire
18/09/2006, 7:04 PM
my honest opinion is that the p*sshead brigade that used to be in it before the media box was moved into the centre of stand, never got together again

those boys sung and had the craic regardless of the standard or the expectations - admitadley over doing it at times on the drinking front

now in the current climate that holds no water with the new ground regulations, uefa licence and all that - but it beats the crap out of the few adolecents, well meaning and all, that have been rammed into the corner in section A

i totally agree that the buzz is not what it used to be but then hold my hands up - id self medicate most days before heading into terryland

the age demographic of the boys chanting was spread more over 20 years rather than 5

just my two cents

Patrick Dunne
18/09/2006, 7:10 PM
1. Toilets in the block beside the club shop are not great. They could do with being painted and tiled. The toilets in the clubhouse, which are accessible to the public, are amongst the best I've seen in the EL, bright, modern and clean.

2. The regular PA person is far better than the person who has filled in over the past few weeks, who unfortunately can't be heard very well.

3+4 There wasn't a great buzz at the ground on Saturday night. The usual hardcore did their bit. Hard to motivate yourself when there are no away fans.
Unfortunately, the attitude of the club towards the vocal supporters has also put people off.

5 I hate loud music at half-time. Most of the United regulars use this time to discuss the game, bus to Limerick, where we are going afterwards etc, which is difficult when you can't hear yourself. Games/activities on the pitch, however, is a great idea.

Edit : Corbyeire is also right. The days of lads aged 20-35 coming up with new and inventive ways of slagging off chubby midfielders from Monaghan is now restricted to away games. Section A isn't as good as the half-way meeting point, where most of the older lads prefer to go.

corbyeire
18/09/2006, 7:16 PM
well patrick - that is a really good point there in number 5

you can hardly hear yourself think - and thats exactly what you want to do at half time is chat about the game and you cant bloody do it!!:mad:

Patrick Dunne
18/09/2006, 7:18 PM
I hate shouting

DO YOU WANT TO BUY A LOTTO TICKET ?

at people :mad:

thescoringgoals
18/09/2006, 7:31 PM
just "lively" music,i agree the music is way too loud sometimes(i sound like an old man saying that:) ).
also,summer football means the floodlights only need to be turned on for a few games at start and end of the season now,they added greatly to the atmosphere i felt.flares in games,epsecially floodlit games were a great sight too.
i know the main reason ppl come is too see football played and support the lads but the whole experience apart from football is poor in my opinion.

Patrick Dunne
18/09/2006, 7:44 PM
There has been a crackdown on "atmosphere" over the last few years. Flares and singing "Who ate all the pies" at some Leinster League reject are now unacceptable as we try to bring in a rugby atmosphere at matches.:rolleyes:

Ironically, I read in the Sunday Times that Gavin Henson (Welsh rugby player, goes out with Charlotte Church) got fierce abuse at the Sportsgrounds. I bet that the Connacht RFU didnt announce "Roysh, stop that !" over the PA.

18/09/2006, 8:05 PM
GUST have been trying numerous ways to create a lively and enjoyable atmosphere at games over the last year.In fact myself,Ronan Coleman,Barry Hynes and Neil McNeilis had a meeting a few months back to try and come up with a few ideas.
Unfortunately many of the stuff can't be done.Everyone knows what a sight a flare would be after beating Rovers or maroon smoke greeting the players as they arrive but theses things cannot be done.However i do promise that if UTD were to win the league all of these things would happen despite what anyone says.I understand the clubs and stweards position,nense no flares all year but there are times when you just have to enjoy the moment to the full and hoepfully come November we;ll have our day.

We don't just think that flares are the only objects that can create an atmosphere though.I have made a provisonal order for numerous flags and flagpoles to get the old tifo flags up and running again to add some colour to the closing games in Terryland.Obviously this can only happen with money.GUST and Ronan in particular has been very supportive and im sure will once again give some contribution towards the financing the flags etc but we need a contribution from everyone really.....including the club who will be contacted.
Instead of moaning about the "good oul days" why not help create a better atmosphere.Give me a ring on 087 2184132-without money we won't have the flags and colour.
As for the chanting.....it's no surprise that this topic is started after the Kilkenny match.Very bad although there was noise but it was more a noise than an atmopshere tbh.Let's not forget Rovers,Harps,Monaghan,Athlone and all the away games where it's been fantastic.We make an effort every week which is more than can be said for alot of clubs supporters.

Rovers at home will be a night to remember.;)

19/09/2006, 8:32 AM
Its not Galway United who ban flares or smoke bombs its the FAI and there is a minimum €500 fine for it so that is why the stewards and security staff will crack down on this lads. The PA is a disaster and the only reason the music was blaring is that for a long while this season we had only one speaker for the whole ground its now upto two and we have had a quote for an entire new system but the cost is over €14,000 which is prohibitive considering the clubs financial state.

Tribesman
19/09/2006, 8:50 AM
A new PA is vital, current one is a disaster and always was. Hopefully
the new stand will be also lead to a new pa system.

The music is vital on match days and influences the mood of people.

Can the tifo flags be brought out on Friday and appropriate music played,
not just any old free CD with the Sunday Independent.

corbyeire
19/09/2006, 8:51 AM
they could still turn down the speakers a bit - for the music anyway and then by all means turn it up for annoucements or something to that effect

i come down from dublin for home games - rush to the ground and i barely get to say hello to me mates until after the match - even though ive been sitting beside them for an hour and a half! :D

19/09/2006, 9:47 AM
A new PA is vital, current one is a disaster and always was. Hopefully
the new stand will be also lead to a new pa system.

The music is vital on match days and influences the mood of people.

Can the tifo flags be brought out on Friday and appropriate music played,
not just any old free CD with the Sunday Independent.

The Stunnings brewing up a storm is the music that is played when the teams come out at the start/halftime and full time at every home game when eoin is doing the pa the current set up is prehistoric so its impossible to cue music after goals etc.. The Tifo Poles are broken and getting people to bring them out befor and during matches was always a problem.

Why dont some of the people here try and help out as for the drummers why not copy the germans who were brilliant in Stuttgart and also the Derry fans who are organised in their chanting rather than some lads full of drink breaking into inane chanting.

GUISAUltra
19/09/2006, 10:52 AM
thats one way of looking at it gufct but had it not been for those drunken lads with there inane chanting terryland would have been like a morgue on saturday. whats wrong with having a few pints before the game and going up chanting for your team. its more than a lot of people do up there anyway. it shows ya what the non singing fans think of the club when the fans are singing "Stand up if ya Love Galway", everyone just sits and doesnt even think about moving

19/09/2006, 10:57 AM
See most people here are still talking.I have said that i can get TIFO poles and more colourful flags within weeks if people put some money towards it.Otherwise nothing will happen in the near future with reagards flags.

I think we should try and keep the chanting like we do at away games where we can keep "maroon army" going for 20 minutes without stoping or any other song for that matter.I agree with gufct on Saturday it was quite inane-no real fluency.I did say it one stage that it was the worst in Terryland all season but it's been very good alot of the times to and nothing is ever said.

Apart from Section A Terryland is the worst ground for vocal support.Even Sligo's new stand give the odd "da Rovers" to urge their team on.Never does the rest of the stand get behind the team with a "UTD".Then again why would they in fear of getting booted out!

19/09/2006, 10:58 AM
thats one way of looking at it gufct but had it not been for those drunken lads with there inane chanting terryland would have been like a morgue on saturday. whats wrong with having a few pints before the game and going up chanting for your team. its more than a lot of people do up there anyway. it shows ya what the non singing fans think of the club when the fans are singing "Stand up if ya Love Galway", everyone just sits and doesnt even think about moving

Absoloutely although on Satyrday they probably didn't hear!:o

GUISAUltra
19/09/2006, 11:01 AM
the main problem the last night was the fact that there was one row of people starting singing one song and then the next row was singing a different song. if fans hear someone singing one chant, they should try to join in with it instead of singing one of there own

GUISAUltra
19/09/2006, 11:03 AM
if people here are complaining, how about people letting us know what songs they would like to hear. just post them below.
Because its obvious certain fans dont like certain songs

19/09/2006, 11:06 AM
the main problem the last night was the fact that there was one row of people starting singing one song and then the next row was singing a different song. if fans hear someone singing one chant, they should try to join in with it instead of singing one of there own

Ya as i said keep it like away games and let the song finish.I hate when a good song that everyone knows(tribal Army) is stopped for a gammy song like "NO 1 IS Alan Gough and No 2...:rolleyes:

GUISAUltra
19/09/2006, 11:13 AM
yeah i know that is a ridiculously bad song. but thats why i posted that a few imnutes ago. people should let everyone else know, what songs they like and what songs they dont

19/09/2006, 11:21 AM
Oh then it will be
"UTD"
"We love you Eric we do!"
"The referee is imcompetent"
"Are you watching Rovers chums"
"Dirty Dublin tenant"
Im nout going to name names but the board should realise without us making noise every week and trying to add some life nobody would have any interest.The amount of people who say after the game "at leats yee added some life to it" is phenomemal.Instead of bitching about the odd bad word they should praise us for the support we always show.

corbyeire
19/09/2006, 11:29 AM
agreed - at the last rovers away game - they locals all gave a bit of slaggin after the match but then a bit of praise for the noise been made

20mins non stop

19/09/2006, 11:31 AM
It's not the 1st time either.Lets go for it against Monagahan on Friday.It will be easy to do it against Rovers with such a big crowd but it's against the lesser teams where support can really shine.

GUISAUltra
19/09/2006, 11:36 AM
i was saying the same thing after the athlone game. people can say what they want about the lads in Section A but without us terryland would be one of the worst places in Ireland for atmosphere. it'd be like being in monaghan every other week. no offence magicme

GUISAUltra
19/09/2006, 11:45 AM
Songs like "tribal army", and "galway, galway from the terryland" are always good to hear. i think it'd be good to try to find out of the team, which songs get them more motivated. obviously this is only gonna help the team

GuisaSaigon
19/09/2006, 11:50 AM
The atmosphere should be electric considering our lofty position. ive been out of the country for the last three games so i cant comment on them, but it was obvious at the athlone game that the club does not appreciate the efforts of united fans to liven things up.
the craic in section a has been crap. the drums add to the atmosphere but sometimes they drown out the ten lads trying to chant, a simple "UNITED! BAM,BAM,BAM!" would suffice instead of doing the Animal from the Muppets impersonation.I dont want to knock the drummers though because at least they are trying.
On friday lets make a real effort to get the place going all of you who have lost your voices get down to section a and find them again. bring flags,fog horns, drums,bodhrans, inflatable sheep whatever you are into, and lets raise the roof as we go top of the league!!!!!

GUISAUltra
19/09/2006, 11:55 AM
i agree completely with ya guisa, on another thread people are talking about the craic there used to be when the old guard were in the middle of the stand at the back. a lot of the guys that were there still come to terryland but will not come down to section a and give a hand to theyounger newer generation of fans coming through. in saying that there are a few fellas who have come down and who are lending there voices to the cause. like yourself mr saigon. ya were gone for ages but as soon as ya came back ya were back in the middle of it again

Patrick Dunne
19/09/2006, 12:21 PM
Any song that encourages people to defecate on Rafael Cretaro and
urinate on Tony Cousins can't be condoned in my book :D

GUISAUltra
19/09/2006, 1:23 PM
yeah but those two have been appointed as honorary galwaymen during their respective spells in galway

thescoringgoals
19/09/2006, 11:22 PM
that way the crowd have no excuse for not knowing the words of songs etc,and maybe get the P.a guy to try a practice chant at halftime or before the match or something to try get the crowd going.they do it on a much larger scale in italian grounds and they really get them going.
i know the editor of the program is on this site sometimes.chants like "we all live in terry,terryland"(yellow submarine tune) etc,or "i cant help falling in love with you utd,utd,utd",or "youll never walk in athlone" or "wer absolutely barmy wer tony cousins army,were absoluely barmy,galway utd f.c(adams family tune).i realise to be in the program they will have to be "clean" chants though but those are.

GalwayFrancis
20/09/2006, 12:01 AM
how about including a "hymn sheet" in the matchday program,
very good idea, should be done IMO.

20/09/2006, 7:44 AM
Horrible idea IMO.Sorry.

corbyeire
20/09/2006, 10:43 AM
would definitely get a slaggin off the away fans (if theres any there) for a hymn sheet

in most cases if people want to chant they will - regardless of hymn sheet

20/09/2006, 10:53 AM
definitely should follow the continental theme with the drummers ,Music & PA Announcer. The boom boom boom boom and chant in stutgart was deadly. I think what keeps certain fans away is the abusive chants and the total lack of direction tha chanting takes when people are loaded !!!!!!:p

corbyeire
20/09/2006, 12:00 PM
we will end up like the koreans - did ye see them in the world cup just gone!

coordinators in front of every few rows - imagine travelling half way round the world to orchestrate and miss the match! :eek:

hoops1
20/09/2006, 12:20 PM
There has been a crackdown on "atmosphere" over the last few years. Flares and singing "Who ate all the pies" at some Leinster League reject are now unacceptable as we try to bring in a rugby atmosphere at matches.

You couldnt expand on this please?

Patrick Dunne
20/09/2006, 12:37 PM
Flares should be allowed at EL grounds, under supervision and only to supporters groups who have experience in using them. The EL seems to have an arbitary policy towards fines for flares. It is commonplace to see flares used on television, but these clubs rarely seem to be fined.

Industrial language is par for the course at football grounds. It is only unacceptable when there is no direct reason for it (ie verbal abuse of a harmless young Kilkenny player ). When an opposition player dives, cheats, attacks an opponent, gestures towards a crowd or has "previous", then a bit of bad language is only to be expected.

Trying to stamp it out is futile.

hoops1
20/09/2006, 12:47 PM
Oh i agree 100%.Is there announcements over the PA if there is abuse?

20/09/2006, 1:07 PM
Ironically, I read in the Sunday Times that Gavin Henson (Welsh rugby player, goes out with Charlotte Church) got fierce abuse at the Sportsgrounds. I bet that the Connacht RFU didnt announce "Roysh, stop that !" over the PA.

On a fairly irrelevant aside the Connacht RFU did announce over the PA that it was unacceptable for a handful of teens to make noise before the Ospreys kicker took a penalty. The man behind this announcement is quite prominent in Galway United as it happens.

GUISAUltra
20/09/2006, 1:47 PM
i think that flares should definitely allowed at eircom league grounds but they need some sort of procedure on how they should be used and who should use them. the help to create a great atmosphere.

Dont think we should follow a continental theme at all as we're all just local irish lads. keep it local, keep with stuff that the regulars like

Paddyfield
20/09/2006, 9:11 PM
that way the crowd have no excuse for not knowing the words of songs etc,and maybe get the P.a guy to try a practice chant at halftime or before the match or something to try get the crowd going.they do it on a much larger scale in italian grounds and they really get them going.
i know the editor of the program is on this site sometimes.chants like "we all live in terry,terryland"(yellow submarine tune) etc,or "i cant help falling in love with you utd,utd,utd",or "youll never walk in athlone" or "wer absolutely barmy wer tony cousins army,were absoluely barmy,galway utd f.c(adams family tune).i realise to be in the program they will have to be "clean" chants though but those are.

That's the role of a fanzine. Where are they now?

Standing Room Only.......gone
Lost Tribe.....................gone
Galway Independent.......gone
Tribal Bible...................gone

Time for some new blood. I know it has been discussed here before but nothing became of it.

My suggestion for a name for a new fanzine:

Up The Dyke

22/09/2006, 9:42 AM
[QUOTE=thescoringgoals;537699]1:the girlfriend used the toilets in the ground on saturday night and said they were "disgusting".

The Toilets in Terryland are probably one of the best in the league and have just been freshly repainted so your girlfriend must have very high standards.I wonder what she would make of the facilities in Limerick !!!!!!!!!!!!

22/09/2006, 10:27 AM
[QUOTE=thescoringgoals;537699]1:the girlfriend used the toilets in the ground on saturday night and said they were "disgusting".

The Toilets in Terryland are probably one of the best in the league and have just been freshly repainted so your girlfriend must have very high standards.I wonder what she would make of the facilities in Limerick !!!!!!!!!!!!

Or the unisex multipurpose galvanised wall in the far corner of Mels :eek:

22/09/2006, 12:36 PM
[QUOTE=gufct;539276]

Or the unisex multipurpose galvanised wall in the far corner of Mels :eek:

Some of out lot used that last week. Those that came back were rather pale and weak after the experience. ;)

22/09/2006, 9:51 PM
What a crowd an atmosphere tonight eh?Must have been 150 singing in Section A-great stuff!!
That's how to do it!

Come on UTD!!!!:)

thescoringgoals
22/09/2006, 10:21 PM
conor :why do you think its a "horrible idea" to have words of songs/chants in the matchday program,are you concerned about our "rep" with other fans????if more fans knew the words they might join in and then we might have a rep for a very good atmosphere again.
gufct:my g.f used the toliets beside the shop actually,they prob shouldnt be opened if theres other better ones nearby.
decent result tonight,job done,but poor defending at times,like weak headers,bad passes,sliced clearences etc,we will be punished in our next 2 home games for those things.but we are joint top and it looks very good,well done to all the lads.

22/09/2006, 10:28 PM
Well ddi you not think the atmosphere was brillaint tonight?About 150 singing in Section A-all together and all knew the words.if people want to know the words all they have to do is come down and pick them up.
Saturday nights are crap for a match-hense the lack of atmosphere last week.But tonight showed how good we can be again and fair play to Niall o Reilly who was 1st to compliment the efforts made.We're top of the league with Rovers next in Terryland.A win in Limerick and there'll be 2000 - 2500 at the game.:)

thescoringgoals
22/09/2006, 10:38 PM
was great,heard "the fields" a few times which was great to hear down there again,fair play to ye for getting more organised for it.
there should be around 2500/3000 for the shams game IF we beat lim next week,ill def be making that trip next friday.we have to focus on that first.

geezer
22/09/2006, 10:42 PM
i was down the far end of the stand and could here the singin loud and clear, the new pa announcer was excellent and the music after the goal was an addition. At half time the music nearly blasted everyone out of their seats. A very impressive crowd 1260 (that was the tally at half time, a lot of the rugger crowd came over from the sportsground after their match) considering Connaught rugby were playing as well and the opposition was only mons. even a draw in limerick will guarantee a big rovers game. The defence needs to sort out the lapses in concentration. FAIR play to davie o dowd for a splendid goal and trojan effort

thescoringgoals
22/09/2006, 10:54 PM
board are reading these discussion forums or at least listening to the fans????,sounds like it anyway.yes the P.A dude was alot better,the music after we scored was good idea too and yes the music at h.t was heard in china i think.:)
wes charles made a few mistakes but was generally good,why was m.o.d playing instead of ciaran????he didnt do much at all.

22/09/2006, 10:59 PM
Didn't notice the music after we scored but i wouldn't be the biggest fan of that.Not criticising it just not my cup of tea.I think clubs where there is no atmosphere tend to do that more.