View Full Version : Shoddy Collins Star Today

finnpark
17/09/2006, 11:34 AM
Any1 read his column in the star today?

He wrote a whole column on why he should be Bohs manager. It was such a load of crap. Worth buying just 4 the laugh but warning, it will make u cringe.

He also said PSG just wanted a draw and derry don't have a hope in the 2nd leg which must be encouaging for city fans. He is a fake, a chancer and a useless jornalist

JayC90
17/09/2006, 11:54 AM
Yeah, I'm certainly encouraged by Roddy's words of wisdom. He's such a clown. Anyone who saw PSG play on Thursday and the match before against Marseille knows they are not technically brilliant and are there for the taking. To say Derry have no hope is ridiculous and would seem to suggest Roddy thinks the score will be 4 or 5-0 to PSG. If Derry do manage to progress, this joker should be hung, drawn and quartered.

17/09/2006, 12:07 PM
I dont understand it though , how a manager of Roddys experience and class would want to manage a team in a league as crap as ours.

el punter
17/09/2006, 12:16 PM
You have to wonder why our media keeps giving him a platform. If he was ignored then he would go away.

17/09/2006, 4:27 PM
He also said PSG just wanted a draw and derry don't have a hope in the 2nd leg which must be encouaging for city fans. He is a fake, a chancer and a useless jornalist

You call him a journalist?? :confused:

There is no doubt that PSG, with all their big guns back, will win the tie at home, but it's standard procedure for Roddy to say that all our clubs will fail in Europe, regardless of the quality of their opponents, or stage of the competition.

It's strange that The Star has two NL columnists every week, Pat Dolan who represents progress, and Roddy Collins who represents failure.

17/09/2006, 5:04 PM
It's strange that The Star has two NL columnists every week, Pat Dolan who represents progress, and Roddy Collins who represents failure.

I think Dolan has changed a lot in recent years since he was forced out of Cotk City. I can't remember the last time he had a pro eL rant. I think his only interest in the eL now is business.

harry crumb
17/09/2006, 6:19 PM
Pathetic self promoting spiel.

So you've managed in England. So have many **** managers.

Jaime
17/09/2006, 6:37 PM
Roddy writes sensationalist stuff -> people buy the paper just to get themselves wound up. Simple stuff really. :rolleyes:

17/09/2006, 9:48 PM
why the hell would anyone buy the Star anyway:eek:

JayC90
17/09/2006, 9:59 PM
You call him a journalist?? :confused:

There is no doubt that PSG, with all their big guns back, will win the tie at home.

Oh really? Who exactly are these big guns? Rothen and Dhorasoo? Because they were the only two absent in the Brandywell, or maybe you want to include Pauleta who came on as a sub and touched the ball once out on the wing. There is obviously some doubt if the tie is 0-0 because I feel that all Derry have to do is score once and defend like they usually do to win. PSG also seem to be having some doubts themselves with their official site having a poll up to determine what the fans think their chances of progressing are and the uncertainty of their manager's future. You have no idea what is going to happen, so coming out with a bold claim like that really won't help, unless you like the taste of words.

Aaron
17/09/2006, 10:14 PM
Roddy is a class A ****!! If memory serves me right, this is the same twonk who briefed Gretna on how to beat us and look were he got them! Anything this guy says shud be laughed at. I wud rather wipe me arse with the page with his column than read it!!:D :D

17/09/2006, 10:25 PM
Roddy is a class A ****!! If memory serves me right, this is the same twonk who briefed Gretna on how to beat us and look were he got them! Anything this guy says shud be laughed at. I wud rather wipe me arse with the page with his column than read it!!:D :D

He is a complete twit and he is making himself look like a fool every time he opens his mouth.

18/09/2006, 12:07 AM
this is the same twonk who briefed Gretna on how to beat us

You gotta get that man in touch with PSG!

18/09/2006, 12:58 AM
There is obviously some doubt if the tie is 0-0 because I feel that all Derry have to do is score once and defend like they usually do to win.

PSG left players at home for the first leg, and left Pauleta on the bench. They showed what they are capable of in the last 20 minutes of the first half in Derry, and there will be a lot more of that for the 90 minutes in Paris. Gretna scored early in both legs against Derry, but if PSG score early in the return, it could be a long night for Derry.

Last year, Shels drew 0-0 with Steaua, and 0-0 with Coruna the year before. They lost heavily in the returns, and I can't see Derry breaking the sequence.

carrickharp
18/09/2006, 7:43 AM
Any1 read his column in the star today?

He wrote a whole column on why he should be Bohs manager. It was such a load of crap. Worth buying just 4 the laugh but warning, it will make u cringe.

Read it last night he is a very modest guy:rolleyes:

18/09/2006, 9:12 AM

I like to read what Tom Cruise et al are getting up to each day.:p

bluemovie
18/09/2006, 11:09 AM

How else would I know how Pete and Nikki's careers and relationship are blossoming?

soccerc
18/09/2006, 12:09 PM
How else would I know how Pete and Nikki's careers and relationship are blossoming?

...Who?

18/09/2006, 12:11 PM
Read the article alright, and had a good laugh. This is the same Roddy who was telling anyone who'd listen (Which isn't many I'll grant you) just a few weeks ago how crap the league was, and how he had no interest in working as a manager in this country again. Really, the word shameless could have been invented for the Rodster.

Desyf
18/09/2006, 12:15 PM
...Who?

Buy the Star and find out "who" !!

Shelsman
18/09/2006, 12:56 PM
Last year, Shels drew 0-0 with Steaua, and 0-0 with Coruna the year before. They lost heavily in the returns, and I can't see Derry breaking the sequence.

Have to agree here ( about what has happened historically, though I am not saying Derry can't break the sequence ). Stephen Kenny himself said after the match that this was not a typical performance from PSG.
Previously there was Bohs vs Rosenborg where Bohs looked more than a match for Rosenborg in Dalyer but then were blown away in the second leg in Norway. There was Cork City vs Red Star Belgrade this year where they didn't seem too pushed in Turner's Cross but mopped the ground with City in the second leg. This has happened to a good few Irish clubs in the last few years.

All that said I'm rooting for Derry to win :) so it's really a question of how well Derry can defend and how well they hold onto the ball. Fingers crossed!

18/09/2006, 1:06 PM
I think Dolan has changed a lot in recent years since he was forced out of Cotk City. I can't remember the last time he had a pro eL rant. I think his only interest in the eL now is business.
Jeesh, how naive are you? Please see here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=6309) for an "I told you so"

18/09/2006, 1:20 PM
Best line though was " My record speaks for itself ":D

Yes Roddy you managed to relegate a team on €23,000 a week on wages. Well done.

Never underestimate the stupidity of the gypos. Wouldnt be at all surprised if they bring back Shoddy.

Like dummy you just cant take him seriously.

lofty9
18/09/2006, 2:36 PM
PSG left players at home for the first leg, and left Pauleta on the bench. They showed what they are capable of in the last 20 minutes of the first half in Derry, and there will be a lot more of that for the 90 minutes in Paris. Gretna scored early in both legs against Derry, but if PSG score early in the return, it could be a long night for Derry.

They left players out as they were dropped or disciplined for poor performances, ie Dhorasso and Cisse, they were not rested as was supposed to be their official line. Mendy was suspended and Rothen was injured. They made only two changes from the team that played Derry to beat Monaco away. Mendy returned and Pauletta came in. Cisse returned to a place in the bench. It puts things in a different perspective.

It could be a long night for Derry, especially if we get through.;)

It's all ifs, buts, and maybes, we'll go and enjoy it and give it a go. If we get beat, there will be no shame.

BohsFans
18/09/2006, 3:07 PM
He pushing for the Bohs job, here's what he said at the start of August:

Twocent 'The Eircom League is really rubbish'
Roddy Collins

THIS week was enough, it crossed the limit and it left me feeling so sorry for the people and players from Cork. They were way out of their league in Belgrade yet we have listened to their manager and other people in the league ramble on for months about how a team from here is getting closer to the Champions League, how it's only a matter of time, how it will happen in the short term. That is absolute crap and this league is still rubbish. Really rubbish.

The only thing different from when I was playing is that the players are now fulltime and therefore fitter. But looking at it from a quality point of view they are no better than we were. And I'm using Cork as an example because they are our champions. They played in Europe last year yet rather than strengthen their squad they have got much weaker and still talk about competing and making strides. The people going around saying this are deluded and they should shut up because they are doing nobody any favours.

When have you ever heard of a team from here competing with a Leicester or a Plymouth for a player? Never, because it doesn't happen.

Even with us having the added bonus of a soft spot in European competition. The players here, for the most part, are those that failed in England, or weren't good enough to make it over there, just like I was all those years ago so nothing has changed.

The Intertoto is about our level and that will never change unless there are serious changes. And I don't mean another stupid blueprint that seems to come out every year, followed by the same rubbish about this club being the next Rosenberg.

Take the owners of clubs here. They won't move because it's been in the family and they've been putting pennies in the pot for so many years. That's all well and good, fair play to them, but it's time to move on. If you own a pub and have 10 lads sitting at the bar every day and you were losing money you sell the pub or go into liquidation. A few years ago, I brought a multi-millionaire over here, and introduced him to four chairmen. He now owns Gretna because the people here won't get out of the way and move aside. I listened to those four one night on the radio talk about the struggle and the effort and nearly got sick.

This Celtic Tiger has brought so much money into this country and yet people are telling me there isn't a multi-national here that would invest some money, or a Dermot Desmond or whoever. They'd do it if they could buy it lock, stock and barrel but the people who own these clubs want their name associated with it forever to feed their egos. They are doing this while this league is going down the drain and continues to get worse and worse.

The only ones investing money are Drogheda and long may that continue because if they keep it up for about 20 years they might get somewhere. But even they are incestuous. They buy the same players who are within the league and pay them good money when, if they left the country and travelled to Europe and England, for that same money they could get some really good players. But they are wasting their time and money with what they are doing at present.

This is all why I got out of it.

I love football and being involved with football but I just couldn't take the day to day of the Eircom League wondering if you are going to be able to pay this guy and trying to explain to him there's no money this week.

It's rubbish. Dublin City are gone and you don't need me to tell you about 80 per cent of the league is insolvent. Just look at their books.

The vision in this league is blind. You need money in football and there is none here.

Go down to the Phoenix Park and have a look around and see the amount of foreign nationals playing football.

Why do you think none of these people go to an Eircom League match, this is the world's sport after all?

Because they know it is crap.

The government or the FAI or somebody should come in and say that if you're losing money, you have to sell your club. That's it and we can move on. Otherwise don't believe the same garbage you'll hear over and over again about progress.

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

passerrby
18/09/2006, 5:55 PM
wow was that done in joined up writing. Im sure he can spell liquidation cause thats all he would brings to EL

Fivesilver
18/09/2006, 9:14 PM
Im sure he can spell liquidation cause thats all he would brings to EL

Wonder if he can spell "bitter" or "failure".

It takes some rat to desert two sinking ships in successive seasons. Getting teams relegated is one thing - Rodders didn't even have the courage or decency to stick it out to the end.

sniffa
18/09/2006, 10:42 PM
Pathetic self promoting spiel.

So you've managed in England. So have many **** managers.

I think you must have meant " mismanaged".;)

mr.untitled
19/09/2006, 11:15 AM
tony fenton on today fm blowing on about how he met shoddy and he was mad for the bohs job. fenton, the clue merchant, thought hed be ideal and wished him luck

19/09/2006, 11:19 AM
tony fenton on today fm blowing on about how he met shoddy and he was mad for the bohs job. fenton, the clue merchant, thought hed be ideal and wished him luck

Well at least his employers and shoddy have one thing in common: they hate the EL.

bluemovie
19/09/2006, 11:43 AM

[admittedly ever so slightly off-topic, but] I never knew that Tony Fenton's real name is Tony Fagan. He changed it to the far more glamorous DJing name of Fenton!!:eek: or so I read in some rag or other.

Tony, like Tubridy (the most strangle-able gimp on the planet), wanted us all to support Poland in the World Cup not getting the fact that a football fan can enjoy it for the quality of the football without needing to contrive a false emotional attachment to a particular team. These are the type of people who wear Yankees caps.

Soper
19/09/2006, 12:00 PM
I wear a Yankees hat:(

thomas
19/09/2006, 12:29 PM
I wear a Yankees hat:(
Ipso facto

QED

19/09/2006, 4:18 PM
Roddy is Bohs spiritual leader!

CuanaD
20/09/2006, 12:16 PM
[admittedly ever so slightly off-topic, but] I never knew that Tony Fenton's real name is Tony Fagan. He changed it to the far more glamorous DJing name of Fenton!!:eek: or so I read in some rag or other.

thats right - hes originally from the same road as me (so was Dave Kelly - FM104 manager these days I think; and Ian dempsey is from a couple of roads over. Theres others too that I cant remember at the mo'. Its the 'international accent' of 'glasnevin north' :p )

Oh yes, Roddy is a *&^%$£

26/10/2006, 7:58 PM
Newsflash: Roddy just told Newstalk that "the reason I'm not in football anymore is cause I speak my mind".

Here was me thinking it was because he was a sh1te manager.

Thanks for clearing that one up.......

27/10/2006, 12:21 AM
Newsflash: Roddy just told Newstalk that "the reason I'm not in football anymore is cause I speak my mind".

Here was me thinking it was because he was a sh1te manager.

Thanks for clearing that one up.......

Roddy the has-been is at it again !! :eek: :o :D

dublinred
27/10/2006, 8:17 AM

It fairless it is hard having the same name as a LOI legend.

27/10/2006, 7:27 PM
[QUOTE=bluemovie;538016][admittedly ever so slightly off-topic, but] I never knew that Tony Fenton's real name is Tony Fagan. He changed it to the far more glamorous DJing name of Fenton!!:eek: or so I read in some rag or other.

It fairless it is hard having the same name as a LOI legend.

was just going 2 post the same thing!:D