View Full Version : World's most dominant sports star
17/09/2006, 1:26 PM
The term 'sports star' seems to be lost on you.
The term "joke" seems lost on you. ;)
Sam Savic
18/09/2006, 12:13 AM
I'm 100% positive ( what does that mean ) that Armstrong wasn't on performance enhancing drugs. There are 2 main reasons why I'm of that opinion: ( 1 ) he never tested positive, and ( 2 ) it would have been impossible for him to have taken any of the usual suspect drugs while undergoing treatment or recuperating from his cancers.
Anyone who has suspicions about Armstrong would have to have suspicions about Federer. Tennis has shown up many positive tests also and the tennis governing body has much more lax guidelines than other sports, probably on a par with football and also on a par with the GAA.
Aberdonian Stu
18/09/2006, 9:04 AM
Again Sam there is already a thread dealing with that particular topic. Could we keep this one focussed on dominance please.
bigmac
18/09/2006, 11:18 AM
In athletics, Ed Moses undoubtedly, with Johnson a close second. Bubka dominated pole vaulting (won every world championship until 1999) but only one olympic title rules him out of it. Isinbayeva at the moment in women's Pole Vault, Tanni Grey-Thompson in Wheelchair athletics Several athletes have completely dominated their event at one time or another (Gebreselassie, El Guerrouj, Zelezny [more throws over 90m than all other athletes combined!], Kluft etc..) while Carl Lewis dominated the sport as a whole during the 80s and early 90s. This begs the question as well, does 4 Olympic titles in a row count as domination if the athlete isn't dominating at the lesser events?
This is where Federer scores highly - not only winning Slam events, but mopping up smaller tournaments week in week out. I would tend not to hold Nadal against his dominance - the presence of a quality rival makes it even more impressive IMO, unlike the frequent situation in F1 for example where a car is head and shoulders above its rivals.
Due to his selective racing, Armstrong slips down my list - just as I wouldn't say Carl Lewis was the dominant Long Jumper from 88 to 96, despite the 4 Olympic titles - mark of a great competitor, rather than a dominant athlete.
In terms of media coverage allied to ability, Woods has to top the list for me. In the majors, as well as his 12 wins he has 8 further top five finishes and a further 4 top 10. Although Nadal elevates Federers achievement by making it more challenging, the fact that Federer has yet to overcome that challenge means that my vote has to go to Tiger.
In terms of team sports, it's difficult for one player to dominate, but Michael Jordan is number one in that regard. Jonah Lomu briefly dominated Rugby but had nothing like the longevity of Jordan and in football, Pele and Maradona not only dominated in their day but still dominate to this day.
On an aside about the nature of sport v games, a useful rule of thumb (with plenty exceptions such as field events in athletics) is if it doesn't have a ball or a finish line it's not a sport.
Aberdonian Stu
18/09/2006, 12:20 PM
I think that's the difference. Lewis was a great competitor and seemed invincible at Olympic level in the long jump but was beatable outside of that. That never seemed the case with Moses or Johnson or Ishinbayeva in modern athletics.
18/09/2006, 1:20 PM
Many from yester-year the likes of... Senna... was considered almost unbeatable (for many years).As fantastic as Senna was, he was never unbeatable as he shared his era with Prost, with the exception of 1991 when Prost was in a dog of a Ferrari.
Closed Account 2
21/09/2006, 12:12 AM
I think Hogan is a good shout, he is recognised the world over, despite of being a star in a marginal sport. He was the king of wrestling in the 80s and early 90s.
I would also suggest Arnie could be there too, he dominated body building in the 70s - anyone seen Pumping Iron - great film.
I think Hogan is a good shout, he is recognised the world over, despite of being a star in a marginal sport. He was the king of wrestling in the 80s and early 90s.
I would also suggest Arnie could be there too, he dominated body building in the 70s - anyone seen Pumping Iron - great film.
Ah here, can we at least limit it to have real sports...
First
21/09/2006, 10:59 AM
My mate , he hasn't lost a game of pool in 3 years , does pool count:D
21/09/2006, 11:03 AM
Compared to ****ing wwf wrestling, Pool is like the ****ing olympics...
Delbertt
21/09/2006, 12:05 PM
I think i'd have to go for Red Rum meself
21/09/2006, 12:14 PM
As fantastic as Senna was, he was never unbeatable as he shared his era with Prost, with the exception of 1991 when Prost was in a dog of a Ferrari.
Maybe so,but before his name change ( from Da Silva) when he was driving in Formula 2000 etc and before his move to F1 he really was unbeatable (showing my age).
21/09/2006, 3:39 PM
So marginal that it is not a sport at all. Whatever the merits of darts/pool etc, at least they are based on competition and the outcome has not been decided beforehand.
Dont get me wrong, WWF/E wrestlers are great athletes, and some of the stuff they do is very dangerous, but that does not make it a sport.
22/09/2006, 8:50 AM
Surely it's Phil Taylor?
thats exactly what i wouldn have said:)
playing a real game, with real people in real places, and gets to have it off with real jumbo size women too
tiger my arse.the steve davis of golf
tennis!
and lance armstrong was a champ at a sport infested with drugs
so yeah phil taylor has to be the man
22/09/2006, 8:52 AM
I have done. I'm quite decent Darts player. My dad was All Ireland doubles champion back in the day and now and agin I enjoy watching it on TV.
Its not a sport though
its mor a sport than tennis
or golf.a good walk runied
Closed Account 2
21/01/2009, 4:13 PM
I'm still going with Hogan on this
21/01/2009, 6:29 PM
Shergar.
21/01/2009, 6:33 PM
Seriously though:
For this you'd be looking at Phil Taylor or Lance Armstrong or Ronnie O'Sullivan or Tiger Woods, As on their day they are unbeatable in the case of Armstrong WAS unbeatable.
Ronnie O'Sullivan would get my vote though as good with his left hand as with his right hand. Which is truly remarakable!
21/01/2009, 6:59 PM
Seriously though:
Ronnie O'Sullivan would get my vote though as good with his left hand as with his right hand. Which is truly remarakable!
Supremely talented , and on his day on a different level to all other players , however I wouldn't describe his career to date as being dominant , His inconsistency has been his downfall , No doubt that he could be dominant over the next couple of years
21/01/2009, 7:30 PM
It's definitely Don Bradman, there's no question about it. No individual has ever dominated a team sport (infinitely more difficult than doing so in an individual sport) the way he did. Bradman's career average was 99.94. The next highest qualifying average is 60.97. In other words, if you expressed the averages of all the qualifying players who have played Test cricket since its inception well over 100 years ago as a pie chart, Bradman would have more than a third of the pie to himself.
For the 1932/33 Ashes series, England devised a tactic called Fast Leg Theory (later christened Bodyline) specifically to counteract Bradman's brilliance. Bodyline was so violent and unsportsmanlike it caused a major diplomatic incident and was even believed to threaten the integrity of the Empire. The tactic was considered a roaring success because Bradman averaged "only" 56.57 for the series.
BobtheDrog
21/01/2009, 8:58 PM
sheridan in terms of cricket, what about jack hobbs. in terms of a bowler shane warne
21/01/2009, 9:17 PM
No way does Hobbs compare to Bradman. He scored almost 200 First Class centuries, but the vast majority of those were in county and tour games. Bradman managed twice as many Test centuries in fewer Tests.
Warne may well be the greatest bowler ever (top three anyway), but his dominance was nowhere near as complete as Bradman's in his class. Plus, Warne's bowling average against India is as high as ~50!
kingdom hoop
21/01/2009, 9:40 PM
Bradman's career average was 99.94.
Not meaning to take away from a phenomenal record, but how excruciatingly close to the century! (Though I do like the number 9 so I think it's charming in a way.)
Would they have been into averages and statistics and stuff back when he played? As in - would he have precisely known his record in his lifetime? Do you know what he got in his last few matches and whether they dragged him below the three-figure average?
21/01/2009, 9:55 PM
He was aware of it, it was big news at the time. Before the advent of ubiquitous broadcast media, the public naturally put more store by statistics.
Bradman famously required only four runs in his final innings at The Oval in 1948 to finish with an average of 100 but was bowled second ball for 0 by a googly from the mediocre English legspinner Eric Hollies. The story that Bradman missed the delivery because he still had tears in his eyes from the guard of honour which had greeted him as he came out to bat is a contemporary fiction. 99.94 is an iconic number in Australia for this reason.
21/01/2009, 10:30 PM
Seriously though:
As on their day they are unbeatable in the case of Armstrong WAS unbeatable.
Not really, if you look at things more closely. He focused on one race a year and did completely dominate it, but didn't really attempt any other race. While the Tour is the great stage race in cycling, there are others. For my money, for dominance in cycling it would be Eddy Mercxx. He won almost everything for about 8 years, regularly winning a couple of the grand tours in a single year. The didn't call him the cannibal for nothing. After him, only Kelly or Hinault were close. Armstrong is a great and signifcant cyclist (and I fear he might tarnish his name by the second come back), but the greatest, no.
For my money, I'd agree with the view that the most dominant was Don Bradman. I'm not a cricket man, but he really was untouchable during his career. 0.06 off a century average. Stunning.
21/01/2009, 11:01 PM
As the old clerihew goes; "Sir Donald Bradman/Would have been a very glad man/If his Test average had been 0.06 more/Than 99.94."
endabob1
22/01/2009, 6:53 AM
I'm still going with Hogan on this
I'm embarrassed for you :o
Closed Account 2
22/01/2009, 10:30 AM
He was aware of it, it was big news at the time. Before the advent of ubiquitous broadcast media, the public naturally put more store by statistics.
Bradman famously required only four runs in his final innings at The Oval in 1948 to finish with an average of 100 but was bowled second ball for 0 by a googly from the mediocre English legspinner Eric Hollies. The story that Bradman missed the delivery because he still had tears in his eyes from the guard of honour which had greeted him as he came out to bat is a contemporary fiction. 99.94 is an iconic number in Australia for this reason.
I think you're being a bit harsh on Hollies there. While he wasn't world class I think his level was a touch above mediocre. He was more than a solid and dependable spinner when required, cricketer of the year in the 1950s. He could bowl for virtually half a day if required and regularly bowled over 50 overs in first class cricket matches. He was hopless with the bat though, far too wild.
I think one of the stands at Edgebaston is named after him, or was named after him and has now been renamed.
Monkfish
23/01/2009, 11:10 AM
Phil Taylor for me, how longs he been at it now?
old git
26/01/2009, 8:50 PM
to old timers from tennis bjorn borg / martina navratolva......sampras in more recent times
soccer pele ..... :eek:
26/01/2009, 8:53 PM
Has Michael Jordan been mentioned???
Sam Savic
05/02/2009, 2:42 PM
I think Taylor is the answer. Complete dominance. You could put your house on a Taylor win. Yep, Katie Taylor is so dominant in her sport.
old git
10/02/2009, 2:20 PM
must be tony mc coy after his magnificent achievement 3,000 winners so far in his career ... :D ( and he's irish but you would hardly know due to wonderfull coverage by our national tv service to acknowledge this ):mad:
McCoy became the all-time winning-most jumps jockey in Britain, beating Richard Dunwoody's record of 1,699, when scoring on Mighty Montefalco at Uttoxeter on 27 August, 2002.
He also eclipsed Gordon Richards' record total of 269 winners in a season on Valfonic at Warwick on April 2, 2002.
Born in County Antrim in 1974, McCoy began his career on the Flat and bagged his first winner, Legal Steps, at Thurles in March 1992.
McCoy has won the Cheltenham Gold Cup, the Champion Hurdle, the Queen Mother Champion Chase and the King George in a glittering career.
Only the Grand National continues to elude him in his ceaseless quest for big-race triumphs.
10/02/2009, 4:25 PM
must be tony mc coy after his magnificent achievement 3,000 winners so far in his career ... :D ( and he's irish but you would hardly know due to wonderfull coverage by our national tv service to acknowledge this ):mad:
McCoy became the all-time winning-most jumps jockey in Britain, beating Richard Dunwoody's record of 1,699, when scoring on Mighty Montefalco at Uttoxeter on 27 August, 2002.
He also eclipsed Gordon Richards' record total of 269 winners in a season on Valfonic at Warwick on April 2, 2002.
Born in County Antrim in 1974, McCoy began his career on the Flat and bagged his first winner, Legal Steps, at Thurles in March 1992.
McCoy has won the Cheltenham Gold Cup, the Champion Hurdle, the Queen Mother Champion Chase and the King George in a glittering career.
Only the Grand National continues to elude him in his ceaseless quest for big-race triumphs.
can I play Devils advocate?
yeah he was great back in the day - but apart from Ruby the quality of a lot of the jockeys these days leaves a lot to be desired - competiton in the Uk isnt the best
(albeit Leopardstown this year had many young up and comin Irish guys - Townend looks promising)
Also he had a good pick of decent horses when Pipe was around
Also his record in the national?
but yeah 3000 - cant argue with that -good luck to him travelling up and down the country - shows comittment riding in places as exotic as uttoxeter et al;)
The Fly
11/02/2009, 4:26 AM
The most dominant, also best imo, sports person of my lifetime is without doubt - Michael Schumacher. No question.
He has no serious rivals when all things are taken into consideration.
old git
11/02/2009, 8:09 AM
can I play Devils advocate?
yeah he was great back in the day - but apart from Ruby the quality of a lot of the jockeys these days leaves a lot to be desired - competiton in the Uk isnt the best
(albeit Leopardstown this year had many young up and comin Irish guys - Townend looks promising)
Also he had a good pick of decent horses when Pipe was around
Also his record in the national?
but yeah 3000 - cant argue with that -good luck to him travelling up and down the country - shows comittment riding in places as exotic as uttoxeter et al;)
national is the only thing he has not won..:mad: may have pick of decent horses but you still have to win on them .. not much competition !!
could say the same of phil taylor / tiger woods / scumacher etc... you can only be better each year on what is in your sport so any sportsman who constantly wins weekly / monthly / deserves all the credit they get ..
11/02/2009, 9:32 AM
yeah i get you, Mccoy is/was top class - im just saying nowadays in the UK there isnt as many top class jockeys like when Tony was in his prime all those years ago
old git
11/02/2009, 11:12 AM
yeah i get you, Mccoy is/was top class - im just saying nowadays in the UK there isnt as many top class jockeys like when Tony was in his prime all those years ago
mc coy would tell you he is still in his prime :D:D
Hibernian
23/02/2009, 1:23 PM
I think Taylor is the answer. Complete dominance. You could put your house on a Taylor win. Yep, Katie Taylor is so dominant in her sport.
I have to say i have never seen person dominate a sport quite like taylor.
Tiger would be second for me.
Footballing wise I give it too Maldini
Pike B
23/02/2009, 1:32 PM
I have to say i have never seen person dominate a sport quite like taylor.
Tiger would be second for me.
Footballing wise I give it too Maldini
Impossible to pick a footballer.
There is no I in T-E-A-M.. :D
old git
25/02/2009, 10:37 AM
what about ronaldo :D:D at least he thinks so
Pike B
25/02/2009, 10:47 AM
what about ronaldo :D:D at least he thinks so
Don't get me started on that waster.
Anyway, he's not the real Ronaldo!
http://www.topnews.in/sports/files/Cristiano-Ronaldo.jpg
25/02/2009, 12:25 PM
He's not the real Ronaldo either. :) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ronaldo_Rodrigues_de_Jesus)
Ronaldao was just Ronaldo till Ronaldo came along.
(There's probably lots of them)
Pike B
25/02/2009, 12:57 PM
He's not the real Ronaldo either. :) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ronaldo_Rodrigues_de_Jesus)
Ronaldao was just Ronaldo till Ronaldo came along.
(There's probably lots of them)
For me, Ronaldo will always be the clinical phenom striker who finished better than anyone I've ever seen..
old git
25/02/2009, 2:37 PM
Don't get me started on that waster.
Anyway, he's not the real Ronaldo!
http://www.topnews.in/sports/files/Cristiano-Ronaldo.jpg
me thinks he joined me and the girls a few times for our party nights
or was that ronaldino my memory is starting to go ... :D:D1292
Shilts
03/03/2009, 2:31 PM
On the 30th anniversary of his death -
The incomparable CHRISTY RING
8 All-Irelands (3 as capt), 18 Railway Cups, 14 Senior Countys (Cork), Cork Senior player for 24 years etc etc
...and still talked about 30 years after leaving us
LEGEND!!!
but there is a m and e:D