View Full Version : FAI Cup draw tonight?

06/09/2006, 4:10 PM
Anywhere I can get this live on the web? Or if anyone can scribble on here what the draw is? Ta!!! :ball: :)

06/09/2006, 4:21 PM
Its being made live on the RTE TV news at 6 prog.

06/09/2006, 4:24 PM
note Pauros location!

06/09/2006, 4:26 PM
There could be a live feed on the RTÉ website. (http://www.rte.ie/news)

06/09/2006, 4:29 PM
There could be a live feed on the RTÉ website. (http://www.rte.ie/news)

Thats what I was thinkin:)

06/09/2006, 5:52 PM
Sligo vs Killester
Athlone vs Shamrock Rovers
Derry vs UCD
Pats vs Longford

Fivesilver
06/09/2006, 5:57 PM
You can go on all night about there being no easy games, but home to Killester has to be the draw we wanted. Well pleased.

Battery Rover
06/09/2006, 6:30 PM
Good draw money wise for us as Rovers will bring a big crowd. Just hope the club don't go overboard like the last game we played and bring down the whole of the Garda riot squad.

We are due a win against them as well.

06/09/2006, 7:26 PM
Good draw for sligo, anybody know what odds they are? well worth a bet IMO

kdjaC
06/09/2006, 7:44 PM
Foot.ie posters the new gretna fans :D

Killester arent a bad side, hopefully sligo do a gretna :)

And Scully actually said on live tv that Rovers were a better team than athlone and should beat them, does noone ever learn from Gretna !

kdjac

hoopy
06/09/2006, 7:47 PM
And Scully actually said on live tv that Rovers were a better team than athlone and should beat them

Not being smart or trying to rub Athlone fans up the wrong way but what part of his comments are untrue?

06/09/2006, 8:12 PM
What day will the Sligo Killester game be on??

06/09/2006, 8:43 PM
What day will the Sligo Killester game be on??Saturday the 30th

I presume the Derry/UCD and Pat's/Longford games will be the ones on tv.

Student Mullet
06/09/2006, 9:22 PM
Saturday the 30th

I presume the Derry/UCD and Pat's/Longford games will be the ones on tv.Derry/UCDD is always on the telly!

06/09/2006, 9:36 PM
Saturday the 30th

Might go to that if there is no Shels back match on ;) :cool:

06/09/2006, 9:38 PM
Might go to that if there is no Shels back match on ;)Killester fan?:confused: Sure they'll need a few anyway:p.

06/09/2006, 10:16 PM
Killester fan?:confused: Sure they'll need a few anyway:p.

Nope just Shels :D , might head down as the GF's bro (gypo fan) plays for them.

06/09/2006, 10:35 PM
Nope just Shels :D , might head down as the GF's bro (gypo fan) plays for them.Wear a Shels jersey so we can spot you;).

Battery Rover
07/09/2006, 6:37 AM
Saturday the 30th

I presume the Derry/UCD and Pat's/Longford games will be the ones on tv.

I would think that Pats and Longford would be on but aren't Derry playing PSG that week so their game might be on the Sunday afternoon. Would that day suit TG4. I think their might be GAA county finals on around that date.

Battery Rover
07/09/2006, 7:55 AM
Not being smart or trying to rub Athlone fans up the wrong way but what part of his comments are untrue?

Scully can say what he wants everyone has an opinion and are entitled to say it whether it is right or wrong. We know he doesn't respect us as a team and thats fine.

Rovers should be the better team when you consider that they are operating of a team budget of maybe 4 times possibly more of what we do.

Its the Cup though and all the talking will be done on the pitch. If we win then we are in the semis and if we lose we are still solvent and own our own ground(Scully can't say that) and that is more important than going into debt for short term gain.

Looking forward to meeting up with the Rovers fans for a few pre match beers in Durty Harrys located in the centre of town before the match.

DvB
07/09/2006, 8:15 AM
Its the Cup though and all the talking will be done on the pitch. If we win then we are in the semis and if we lose we are still solvent and own our own ground(Scully can't say that) and that is more important than going into debt for short term gain.

Looking forward to meeting up with the Rovers fans for a few pre match beers in Durty Harrys located in the centre of town before the match.

With all due respect Rovers are no longer in debt & are working within a strict budget for the season & will be for the foreseeable future, whatever happens in league & cup not a cent will be owed at the end of the season.

Personally i was delighted with the draw, a tie away against non league opposition is far worse IMO, they would most definitely have nothing to lose & would put up a fight & possibly bring something new to the game, Athlone on the other hand we've played & beat comfortably three times this season, wheras i certainly wouldnt go out on a limb & categorically state we'll win again i'd be extremely disappointed to not go through, wouldnt be suprised if it went to a replay though, nerves could play a big part as witnessed in spells in both games v Bohs, being the cup anything could happen, being Rovers trust mee anything & everything DOES happen!!

Could also be the last cup tie ever in St. Mels!? & assume it'll be on the friday night?

Koh

07/09/2006, 10:26 AM
Scully can say what he wants everyone has an opinion and are entitled to say it whether it is right or wrong. We know he doesn't respect us as a team and thats fine.

Rovers should be the better team when you consider that they are operating of a team budget of maybe 4 times possibly more of what we do.

If you hold the game on the saturday night you would get a much bigger crowd.

TG4 will cover a game on friday and saturday. Here's hoping they dont decide to our game live:eek:

bluemovie
07/09/2006, 10:30 AM

The bit where he said "Nobody gave us a chance against Bohs". :rolleyes: The usual manager-speak. Most people thought that was made for an upset.

Aberdonian Stu
07/09/2006, 11:06 AM
I'd be surprised if our game up in Derry is live because of the day. I think the point made earlier about county finals is spot on. Reckon Pats-Longford and a Saturday game will get shown.

07/09/2006, 11:18 AM
The bit where he said "Nobody gave us a chance against Bohs". :rolleyes: The usual manager-speak. Most people thought that was made for an upset.

There was a couple of thousand gypos who were pretty confident. :D

And lets face it Bohs were massive favourites in the bookies and all the papers tipped them too. So what part of "Nobody gave us a chance" do you disagree with precisely?

bluemovie
07/09/2006, 11:27 AM
The "nobody" part.

Battery Rover
07/09/2006, 12:29 PM
If you hold the game on the saturday night you would get a much bigger crowd.

TG4 will cover a game on friday and saturday. Here's hoping they dont decide to our game live:eek:

If the Derry game is going ahead on the Sunday then with the Longford vs Pats game a certainty it only leaves our game and the Sligo game. Its a bit worrying.

As for the bigger crowd on a Saturday night I agree there but it will be TV that decide that I would think. Wouldn't be a very pretty match for the TV but the atmosphere would be right up there This will be hyped up round the Town for the weeks leading up to it.

Remember the last time we played you in St Mels in the Cup:)

Hopefully not the last Cup tie in St Mels but if it was then there would be no more fitting pairing for it.

07/09/2006, 12:51 PM
If the Derry game is going ahead on the Sunday then with the Longford vs Pats game a certainty it only leaves our game and the Sligo game. Its a bit worrying.

As for the bigger crowd on a Saturday night I agree there but it will be TV that decide that I would think. Wouldn't be a very pretty match for the TV but the atmosphere would be right up there This will be hyped up round the Town for the weeks leading up to it.

Remember the last time we played you in St Mels in the Cup:)

Hopefully not the last Cup tie in St Mels but if it was then there would be no more fitting pairing for it.

Doubt they'd show a non league side live on tv so that leaves our game. Pats on the friday and us on a saturday then. Thing is mels looks like **** , the pitch is very bad and even the tv gantry is gone there:eek:

IMO better off not showing it live at all as it doesnt do the league any favours.

Battery Rover
07/09/2006, 12:58 PM
The pitch itself is fine but the ground itself, we all know what that is like.

A tv gantry could be built in no time and the ground will be full on three sides with the cameras facing where the crowd will be so might mask it a bit.

The only thing that annoys me about playing yourselves is we get put up on the hill and ye get the cover.

First thing that a steward says is "If you beat that drum in the stand you are going on the hill"

DvB
07/09/2006, 2:57 PM
The pitch itself is fine but the ground itself, we all know what that is like.

A tv gantry could be built in no time and the ground will be full on three sides with the cameras facing where the crowd will be so might mask it a bit.

The only thing that annoys me about playing yourselves is we get put up on the hill and ye get the cover.

First thing that a steward says is "If you beat that drum in the stand you are going on the hill"

Agree, a gantry could be erected temporarily easily, facing the shed would help mask the poor condition of the rest of the ground, especially if there's a decent crowd in.

In relation to the segregation you mentioned, how come at the last game at St. Mels we all mingled in the shed no bother? Surely a similar arrangement would suit for this game also!? Or with this being the cup will the FAI step in & employ half the Garda based in the midlands to keep the respective supporters apart!? Daft if that is the case IMO.

Koh

07/09/2006, 3:50 PM
IMO better off not showing it live at all as it doesnt do the league any favours.

What kind of an attitude is that? I'm sick of seeing "Ohhh, hope this game isn't on TV, their ground looks crap". A lot of grounds in this league look crap. That is the league. If people will be put off by those grounds on TV then so be it. What's the point in hiding the reality?:confused:

07/09/2006, 4:02 PM
What kind of an attitude is that? I'm sick of seeing "Ohhh, hope this game isn't on TV, their ground looks crap". A lot of grounds in this league look crap. That is the league. If people will be put off by those grounds on TV then so be it. What's the point in hiding the reality?:confused:

Oh come on. Mels is the second worst ground in the league after rathbane. By all means show highlights but to have it live reduces us to a laughing stock. There are no facilities there ffs.

To say that a lot of grounds look crap is not true IMO. The premier grounds all have covered seating and/or covered terracing. Kilkenny and Galway in the first as well.

Battery Rover
07/09/2006, 4:34 PM
Oh come on. Mels is the second worst ground in the league after rathbane. By all means show highlights but to have it live reduces us to a laughing stock. There are no facilities there ffs.

Yes but it could be shown in a positive light. From where the TV gantry would be placed if needed all the cameraman would have to do is swing the camera round 45 degrees and they would see our new ground clearly. This could be used as a way of showing that Eircom League is progressing. However bad something is there can always be a positive made out of it.

In relation to the segregation you mentioned, how come at the last game at St. Mels we all mingled in the shed no bother? Surely a similar arrangement would suit for this game also!? Or with this being the cup will the FAI step in & employ half the Garda based in the midlands to keep the respective supporters apart!? Daft if that is the case IMO

I think it would be daft as well. But if you remember the first game all the Cootes were requested to stand on the hill behind the goal on instruction from the club.

The second game there they brought half the Garda riot squad down to protect us from you lot:p Also at this a steward as I said made a comment to one of the drummers saying that if he used the drum he would be on the hill.

Third game who knows they might have electric fences:eek:

Think we should be allowed mix freely. There wont be any hassle.

07/09/2006, 4:55 PM
Think we should be allowed mix freely. There wont be any hassle.

Spot on and if the place is (hopefully) packed on 3 sides it'll look great on TV. I might even try and get my dad to drag himself in from Kiltoom for this one.

hoopy
07/09/2006, 7:27 PM

Couldn't argue with that, had a good day out there for the first game, good banter and a decent pint:)

Battery Rover
17/09/2006, 5:21 PM
Just posted on www.athlonetownfc.com

The FAI have designated this FAI Carlsberg Cup quarter-final as a 'Category A' game which will be all-ticket and limited to a capacity of 4,000. Shamrock Rovers Football Club will receive a first allocation of 1,000 tickets and will be positioned on the terracing opposite the main seated stand.

Tickets are priced at €20 (Main Stand ), €15 (Ground), and €5 (Under-14's).

Go to the website for the rest of the press conference

el punter
17/09/2006, 5:35 PM
Shaping up to be a really big occasion for Athlone, hope it goes really well for them.