View Full Version : Funny Moment

05/09/2006, 2:38 PM
Early on Sunday morning 3 Irish lads were followed back to the hotel I was in (Hotel Merit) by a drunk mute wearing a German shirt. He was later found crashed out in a vacant flood-damaged room across the way from us.

The 3 Irish lads were trying to have him thrown out as they didn't want to be responsible for bringing back some drunk German. This guy was totally paralatic drunk. Couldn't speak at all & could only barely walk.

They dragged him downstairs to the ground floor with the lads putting his shoes on with the hotel manager watching.

They chucked him on the street beside me & as he fell out onto the street he let out this grunt. I only heard the grunt as I was standing in the street waiting for a cab to the airport at 5.15am. I thought I vaguely recognised an Irish accent.

The 3 lads didn't hear him but I told them that I think he's actually Irish. He someohow managed to confirm his Irishness & communicate his room number, me doing the interpretation from one drunk to another.

The 3 lads picked him up again and carried him upstairs to where they found him and put him to bed again!

I think it's a "you need to have been there" moment but the look on this guy's drunk face and the hapless actions of the 3 amigos was something that'll stay with me for ages.

Anyone recognise the protagonists?

05/09/2006, 2:41 PM
Sorry - meant to put in fans Forum, can a mod move pls?

05/09/2006, 2:46 PM
oh cheers for getting me to my room lads......... only joking!!!

DotTV
05/09/2006, 3:44 PM
Reminds me of something I did in Moscow, though not as bad.
We were staying in the big hotel complex used as the Olympic village in 1980.I got so blitzed I was a danger to myself so two fells helped me up to my room.Only thing it was on the sixteenth floor.They manged to get me up there even though I could barely walk.When I got to the door I couldnt find the key and mumbled that I must have left it back down in the bar.We stumbled back down to the bar only to find out the key was in my pocket the whole time.
I got a right ribbing of everyone the next morning.

Fubar
09/09/2006, 9:17 AM
Reminds me of another story i heard. duno wat away match it was but there was a lock in in the hotel bar with more than a few irish lads staying in the bar even though they werent stayin in the hotel. they were gettin more than a little loud and the bar man on deciding that one of them had more than enough drink grabbed him by his jersey and asked him his room number. not wanting to be thrown out he just made up a number the bar man hauled him up the stairs, used his key card 2 open the door and threw him into the room with the warning not to come out til the morn!! yer man looks around the room and there is 2 people asleep in the bed!! he had 2 wait until the bar man was gone deadly afraid the people would wake up before sneaking back down!! needless to say the others got a great laugh out of him!!! :D

lopez
12/09/2006, 10:56 PM
Reminds me of another story i heard. duno wat away match it was but there was a lock in in the hotel bar with more than a few irish lads staying in the bar even though they werent stayin in the hotel. they were gettin more than a little loud and the bar man on deciding that one of them had more than enough drink grabbed him by his jersey and asked him his room number. not wanting to be thrown out he just made up a number the bar man hauled him up the stairs, used his key card 2 open the door and threw him into the room with the warning not to come out til the morn!! yer man looks around the room and there is 2 people asleep in the bed!! he had 2 wait until the bar man was gone deadly afraid the people would wake up before sneaking back down!! needless to say the others got a great laugh out of him!!! :DThis story could be turned into an urban myth. Instead of two people asleep, the bloke turned round and there was a gimp being dragged around the room.:D

Bomb Landsdowne
13/09/2006, 5:09 AM
The night of the match in Stuttgart 2 Irish lads headed back to Munich and headed on the beer(as you do). On their way back from the pub at 4am they were hoped on my 4 German Neo Nazi skinheads. (The lads were Singing the fields and the usual), Irish lads were minding their own business enjoying the craic, The 2 Irish lads battered the 4 skin heads. Ambulance and all.

Fair play to them is all i say.

lopez
13/09/2006, 11:24 AM
Neo-nazis should stick to producing that awful noise they call 'music.' :D