View Full Version : Latvia trip cheap details

01/06/2001, 2:37 PM
Ok after much research by myself (probably more then i did for my exams) and other notables, we have come up with this route to get there which is the cheapest you are going to get and doesnt require you to take too many days off work.
we have 4 booked on it so far...but the more the merrier

we leave Cork on Wednesday afternoon, getting into Liepaja for Friday
morning. We leave Liepaja on Sunday evening and get back to Cork on
Tuesday morning in time for work!

All flights are with ryanair

Cork - Stansted
Wednesday 20th june 1530-1645

Stansted - Cork
Tuesday 26th June 0700-0820

Cost: £37.73 (IRP)

Stansted - Malmo
Wednesday 20th June 1905-2200

Malmo-Stansted
Monday 25th June 2225-2320

Cost: £38.10 (GBP) ~ £49.94 (IRP)

Malmo - Karlshamn
loooks like it's about 2 1/2 hour trip on train/bus
cost ..but am informed by german girl at work that the trains are both cheap and regular ( just like the local women hehe!)

Karlshamn - Liepaja
Thursday 21/6 1700 - Friday 22/6 0930

Liepaja - Karlshamn
Sunday 24/6 1800 - Monday 25/6 1000

Cost: 525 SEK for a 'pullman seat' each way which works out at about
£91 return

Total Cost (excluding getting a train from Malmo to Karlshamn) =
£178.67, give or take.

Websites to refer to
---------------------
www.ryanair.com
www.resor.sj.se
www.tagplus.se
www.scandlines.lt/lines3.html

Enjoy and the more the merrier
Its the cheapest you are going to get probably do it for less then £350 total..and we get an overnight in Malmo/Sweden

ps scotty any info on Malmo

james :) :)

01/06/2001, 4:10 PM
Cheap beer, strong beer. Swedish ladies! Bhoys, its gonna be one hell of a laugh! Can't wait for it! BTW, James, what kind of problems do you solve?

joe
01/06/2001, 11:05 PM
Anyone know any good Swedish tourist (or other!) sites?

cityguide.se seems alright but there isn't much info there.

Adrian has some Swedish contacts so he's hoping to have some info for us on trains and stuff by the middle of next week.

BTW James, why didn't you put the url to your homepage into your profile??????

02/06/2001, 1:51 PM
I have a scandinavian guide book at home, been rifling thru it. Got some info.Will have a better look at it soon. We should get one on latvia too! I heard that there are apparently some latvians working in blarney-up the road from me- so i'll try and have a chat with them for info.

08/06/2001, 12:50 PM
What currency ye bringing to Latvia? Sterling? Dollars?

joe
08/06/2001, 12:55 PM
Dollars, and some Kronar(?) for Sweden. Do you think you'll make it?

08/06/2001, 1:09 PM
.......there

Just need to crack open that piggie bank ;)

joe
08/06/2001, 1:10 PM
I know exactly what you mean:D

08/06/2001, 2:24 PM
I've decided to take the plunge & keep youse company in the baltics.

Need someone to confirm flight details first though :(

James, Éanna, joe check youse PMs :cool:

08/06/2001, 3:07 PM
And makes 5?
Talk to y'all soon.

rebel

:cool: :cool: :cool: :cool: :cool:

p.s. now where are those free away match tics from City :rolleyes:

08/06/2001, 4:31 PM
Free tickets? Dream on! They'll probably charge us a commission on them as well the bleedin scroungers!
Glad to hear we have company anyways! We should make a huge load of noise now!
BTW, I'm bringin dollars for Latvia- bank suggested maybe Deutschmarks as well, but I figured it was 6 of one half a dozen of the other.

08/06/2001, 11:04 PM
Christ lads i'd love to be going but i have already had me hols, the next weekend away for me could be banna strand, (great place, theres a beach and a aahh,eerr, well ok theres a beach !!)

No, fair play for getting there, the crack is always good, i am sure you have all your best swedish chat up lines on the tips of your tongues. And lads ... if five U.C.D fans can make noise then i am sure you can. Have a ripper, when are you trekin' off ... are you going for a week or just for the game.