View Full Version : United v Athlone

31/08/2006, 1:20 PM
FRom this weeks Galway Advertiser:

United host Athlone in vital clash on Sunday
BY CIAN O’CONNELL

It is getting interesting now. Galway United’s season has entered a critical phase and Sunday evening’s Terryland Park contest with Athlone Town is a highly significant fixture.

United have only managed to glean four points out of a possible 12 and must deliver a victory against an Athlone Town outfit that has struggled in the League recently. The midlanders have lost six First Division matches on the bounce, but worryingly they have defeated Galway twice this season. Indeed, Athlone will be encouraged by last Tuesday’s thrilling extra-time FAI Carlsberg Cup success over Finn Harps.

On May 25 Jim Sheridan thumped a venomous header to the roof of the United net in an interesting Cup tie, while a matter of weeks later Colin Fortune rifled an unstoppable last gasp free kick past Alan Gough. That was a harrowing evening for United, who improved considerably for a spell after that shoddy performance.

United stitched a five game unbeaten sequence together in the aftermath of that reversal, but the setbacks against Shamrock Rovers and Dundalk could be critical. Despite these two crushing losses United still produced a splendid display against reigning Premier Division champions, Cork City last Friday.

Though Ronan Frawley, Mixie Harty, Derek O’Brien and Alan Murphy didn’t feature due to injury, Tony Cousins’ charges were neat and industrious. Frannie Carter was thoughtful in the centre of the park, while Dave Cooke’s energy on the left flank was a salient aspect in United’s play.

The four who missed the City friendly should all be available on Sunday as manager Cousins faces a selection dilemma. Alan Keane is suspended so either Nigel Keady, Ronan Frawley or Raf Cretaro will deputise at right full.

Wes Charles is Billy Clery’s likely sidekick at centre half, while Cousins has a plethora of midfield options. Cooke, O’Brien, Cretaro, Harty, Mick O’Donnell and Frannie Carter are all in contention for a starting berth.

Conor Gethins netted his first goal in a Galway shirt against Cork when ruthlessly punishing some defensive hesitancy, and United supporters will trust that the former Finn Harps frontrunner can add to his tally as the season progresses. Murphy provides the intricate footballing skills for a United team that will be especially eager to overturn the Town.

Athlone will miss the cute midfield skill of the suspended Damien Rushe, but former United players Robert Forde, Ian Rossiter, Tom Silke, Stevie Gavin, Colin Fortune, and Eric Lavine are all currently with the midlanders. Manager Mickey O’Connor has enjoyed many fruitful outings against Galway throughout the years and will be reasonably confident that Athlone can arrest their alarming League slide on the Dyke Road. The stakes will be high in Terryland Park for the homesters. Only victory will suffice if the title remains the club’s aspiration.

31/08/2006, 10:30 PM
Important we win it.We owe Athlone a beating this year and Sunday is a must deliever.Wonder how many the "mad as mass on Sunday" are bringing?

Battery Rover
01/09/2006, 6:42 AM
Between the time and day of the game(Students travelling back to College for Monday), Stuttgart, the next round of the Cup(it could be a long way to Derry) and the stick and ball final we have lost quite a few who would have travelled.

About 20 Cootes will be there for the singing and banter along with all the usual that drive down. I would say that we would have 100+ hopefully.

Looking forward to the game as usual. Hopefully not as bad to watch as the previous league encounters this season.

thescoringgoals
01/09/2006, 11:12 AM
league game in terryland earlier in the season.2 guys i use to drag to the games were so traumitised by that game that they have barely been back since.its wins that count from here on in though,so if we get a winning scrappy goal in 93rd minute of a boring game then it wont be so bad.but we have enough relatively quality players that we shouldnt need to "win ugly".

GUISAUltra
01/09/2006, 1:55 PM
Yeah we definitely owe them a serious beating. the last two times i have been in St. Mels have been two of the worst nights i've ever experienced as a galway united fan. two disgraceful results and performances but hopefully we can pull it together for sunday and take the three points.

GalwayFrancis
03/09/2006, 10:30 AM
from galwayunitedfc.ie::

Alan Keane is suspended for the trip of near neighbours Athlone Town. With Raf Cretaro back from injury he may fill in for Keane or Ronan Frawley may slot in at right back with Billy Clery partnering Wes Charles in defence.

from athlonetownfc.com::

ATHLONE TOWN manager Michael O'Connor speaks to athlonetownfc.com after his side's 3 - 2 FAI Cup win against Finn Harps midweek, and ahead of this Sunday League game away to Galway United.

Along with the drawn first game, the victory against Harps ended a six game losing streak - a run that started against the Donegal men back on July 22nd when Athlone went down 2 - 0 in Ballybofey.

"It was an important win for everyone. It broke the back of six defeats, and that was important.

"I think in the first half we didn't play at all. But at least in the second half and extra time we did ourselves a bit of credit. I was very impressed with their fitness and their attitude to be honest."

That attitude saw Athlone keep battling until they retook the lead in the 116th minute of the game, when Damien Rushe fired past James Gallagher.

"That's the one thing, they kept battling away as always. And as I say, I was very happy with their fitness levels.

"Now that the back of the loses is broken, there are still 13 games left in the League, starting with Galway on Sunday. Let's see how we can get on with those, and now we also have the quarter-finals of the Cup to look forward to. Again, this is all a learning thing, we're progressing. It's going to take a while and won't happen over night," he concluded."

Athlone have already beaten and drawn with United in the League this season, as well as knocking the Tribesmen out of the Cup, so will have nothing to feat ahead of their trip to Terryland Park. Kick-off on Sunday evening is at 7:00pm.

JW.
03/09/2006, 7:57 PM
I can't believe this, I thought the game was over, Athlone after getting what must be the latest equaliser ever, what a disaster

GalwayFrancis
03/09/2006, 8:46 PM
gutted! reilly sent off early in the game for what i believe was a head butt, didnt see it.athlone 'fans' are the worst in the country - cursing their own players for 80mins and then they score - typical! united did good for a ten man team, but were totally outplayed in the second half.
cracker from raf, outside the box and tooks it in just inside forde's post. one of the best goals of the season.
if we had held out we'd only be two points off top, still the draw leaves us 4th and 4points behind, still all to play for. a win against kildare next weekend will keep us looking strong for the final eleven games

GalwayFrancis
03/09/2006, 10:22 PM
from Rte Sport::

Lavine grabs a late equaliser for Athlone

Eric Lavine grabbed an 85th minute equaliser as Athlone Town ended a run of six successive League defeats at Terryland Park to draw 1-1 with Galway United.

The home side played some neat football in the opening period and pinched a 12th minute goal courtesy of impressive right winger, Raf Cretaro.

Alan Murphy slid the ball into Cretaro's path and the former
Sligo Rovers favourite evaded Padraig Moran's tackle before unleashing a 30-yard drive past Robert Forde.

Galway continued to pour forward in search of further goals and Derek O'Brien fizzed a free kick wide moments later. O'Brien went close again when he thumped a header over following a crisp Cretaro delivery.

Barry Moran glanced a header over after a Philip Reilly corner as
Galway attempted to double the lead. Yet, the Tribesmen were reduced to ten men just after the half hour mark when Reilly was dismissed following an altercation with Ian Rossiter.

Despite the numerical inferiority Galway still carved out chances with goalscorer Cretaro forcing a fine save from Forde, while O'Brien also tested the visitors' netminder.

Few opportunities were created after the interval and five minutes from time Lavine bundled home Stevie Gavin's corner much to the delight of the travelling support.

Battery Rover
03/09/2006, 10:23 PM
athlone 'fans' are the worst in the country - cursing their own players for 80mins

Please don't tar us all with the one brush.

GalwayFrancis
03/09/2006, 10:35 PM
Please don't tar us all with the one brush.

sorry the athlone fans that were in terryland today, were the worst ive seen this season. i know there are some decent athlone fans, but they didnt come to terryland tonight and if they did - they should of told their fellow fans to shut up.

DonO'Bate
03/09/2006, 11:13 PM
sorry the athlone fans that were in terryland today, were the worst ive seen this season. i know there are some decent athlone fans, but they didnt come to terryland tonight and if they did - they should of told their fellow fans to shut up.

Athlone jinx strikes again. When we will beat them again? Utd were doing well until O'Reilly got himself needlessly sent off for aiming a head butt at Rossiter after Utd had won the throw in. This is the third or fourth time this season that we have conceded late goals at home. Cousins got booked as well. We need to improve our disciplinary record.

On the point of Athlone fans behaviour at the game some of them took the trouble to write some graffiti in the gents toilets during the halftime interval.

JW.
04/09/2006, 8:57 AM
We have two appalling records this season: discipline and late goals. How many games have we won because of a late winner? Why is this happening?

MyTown
04/09/2006, 9:07 AM
I got hammered earlier in the season for suggesting some of the players weren't up to the required standard. The reality is that Phil Reilly sold his team mates down the river last night. After receiving his first yellow card, the manager was on his feet roaring at him to be careful. Unfortunately, his fears only took a few minutes to be realised.

The stuff hurled at Rossiter and Lavine (both of whom served the club well when they were here) makes the criticism of the Athlone supporters above a bit rich, although they were a pretty sad bunch. And if the allegation about the graffitti is true, then they deserve to be panned.

Finally, although it won't suit some of you to accept this, the reality is the two ex Sligo boys were absolutely brilliant last night & without them, we'd never have held on.

grounded
04/09/2006, 9:18 AM

On the athlone board you said that you're a stewart and were standing right next to the Athlone fans. In that case you should know that there was indeed athlone fans that did not curse their own players. Infact tried to push them forward. We were standing in the two rows above the seated rows in case you missed us. Whats the story with things being thrown at our bus when leaving the ground though? Guess you wont be mentioning that as it may harm your all so innocent image..... you are right in saying though that those people who did go on cursing our players and standing right next to the pitch were embarassing.

GuisaSaigon
04/09/2006, 9:30 AM
Rossiter dived, Reilly pressed his face against his and Rossiter dived. To call it a head butt would be exaggerating.That said Reilly should've known better. I thought the decision to take Murphs off instead of Moran was strange. Depressing result but the lads did well for a team down to 10 men for most of the game.
I cant remember Athlone bringing such a vociferous crowd to Terryland before. Fair play to them for adding a bit of atmosphere. I'm not condoning writing on the jacks wall but its hardly Green Street Hooligans.The officials and security should lighten up a bit with our own "ULTRAS" too.
Last night Rossiter was getting a little abuse at half time nothing that you wouldnt hear at any football ground around the country. I know the club want to attract families but sending 8 or nine stewards and security rushing up into the crowd over nothing is only going to make people think something dangerous is happening.
I have been following United for a long time and I have never seen a United fan involved in a fight or anything close, yet there seems to be a perception among some in the clubhouse that there is a "scum element".This is completely unfounded.
There are a number of supporters who dedicate their lungs to United's cause and for this reason they are singled out as scum.On occasions the chanting may not be gentlemanly but football is about passion and United fans are passionate about their football. So for god's sake lighten up a little:confused:

Tribesman
04/09/2006, 10:09 AM
Reilly got a needless straight red for reacting to Rossiter. Rossiter
ceratinly made the most of it and certainly helped the officials make up
their minds.

We lack quality in depth and have nobody to take control of the game. We need 90 minutes from every player and not just glimpses.

Athlone were never going to score from open play and lived off set pieces.
Once again we failed to defend these.

Thought Murphs should have stayed on, at least he could hold the ball up better and could have gone out right later on in the game with O'Dowd or Gethins upfront.

Alan Keane was a big loss as Keady struggled to get forward and O'Donnell did not look comfortable at left back when he came on.

MyTown
04/09/2006, 10:14 AM
GuisaSaigon, Think all of your points are very fair and well made.

Like you, I've been going up to Terryland for a very long time. Rossiter is no angel, what depressed me was that Reilly fell in to the trap.

Also, I just don't agree with abusing players - especially if they've played for us in the past. I'd much rather try to give our own guys as much vocal support as they can get.

The "we love you Rossiter" chant after he had misplaced a couple of passes early in the second half was much more my cup of tea and genuinely funny. Those of us on that side of the ground could see that he got the joke as well.

GUISAUltra
04/09/2006, 11:21 AM
the game last night was depressing as it usually is when we play athlone. the linesman was an absolute disgrace for when phillip o reilly got sent off. philip looked over at the linesman and he was flagging a throw for us. at that point philip picked the ball up and was going to take the throw and then all of a sudden the linesman changes his mind after looking at the ref. phillip had no idea that the linesman had changed his mind and rossi tried to pry the ball from his hands. that being said nobody can condone philip sticking his head in like that but it could hardly be called a headbutt. rossi's theatrics helped the ref make up his mind though.
I think that taking murphs off and leaving Barry on was a disgraceful decision as i think he now lacks any ambition whatsoever to play for the club and he looked at times like he just didnt want to be there.
All in all a bad night in terryland and another slip up.by the end of the season these slip ups are gonna cost us dearly and i can only hope that we can get high enough to somehow pinch a place in the new top tier next season

corbyeire
04/09/2006, 11:33 AM
have to agree with your last point there - draw merchants we are

Battery Rover
04/09/2006, 12:53 PM

What has gone wrong lads this season with the matches between Athlone and Galway this season? There seems to be a hatred building up between certain sections rather than the friendly rivalry that has existed between us over the years.

As a diehard Athlone supporter for the past 30 odd years and a regular visitor to Terryland since the late 1970s, I even remember when you were Galway Rovers, the statemet above annoys me in saying that no decent fans turned up. I take it GalwayFrancis that you were the steward with the ponytail that stood beside us on the steps for the night. If so you would have noticed that there were some of us stood up two rows behind the seats and seated down the front of the stand and we continually tried to push our team forward and did not put any abuse at any players on the pitch. I still sing at matches but I didn't last night along with others that were there who were as I am into supporting my team and not abusing the other teams players and most definitely not my own.

I personaly went over to the chanting supporters twice at the start of the second half asking them to sing for their team and stop the abuse of certain players which didn't work so what am I supposed to do after that, do I start thumping them into submission? Player abuse must stop and this I would say is an issue with most clubs when they have players that have swapped sides.

As for the bus being hit by stones on the way out of Terryland may I say that these were pretty big pebbles as I believe you called them on our forum. No damage was done and no one was hurt and that is all that matters with that.

you are right in saying though that those people who did go on cursing our players and standing right next to the pitch were embarassing.

Totally agree.

GalwayFrancis
04/09/2006, 12:56 PM
Whats the story with things being thrown at our bus when leaving the ground though? Guess you wont be mentioning that as it may harm your all so innocent image..... you are right in saying though that those people who did go on cursing our players and standing right next to the pitch were embarassing.
if you read my post on the other forum again - i said: "heard some of the galway fans throw pebbles at yer bus after the game - outside the ground, for which i appolagize for" ... so yes i did mention it

GUISAUltra
04/09/2006, 1:12 PM
where did this stone throwing incident happen. was it directly outside terryland or was it away up the road a bit

grounded
04/09/2006, 1:38 PM
It happened right outside the ground maybe 20-30 metres away. Not blaming Galway fans for it though ..... it rather looked like those were some local kids that havent even been at the game

GUISAUltra
04/09/2006, 1:55 PM
there does tend to be a lot of youths on that stretch of road drinking lots of nights. i dont know if it was fans or not but i know that the majority of the fans who are walking go left as they leave the ground and i'm just assuming the bus went right as it wouldnt fit under the bridge. the majority of people who go right when leaving have cars parked up there and i dont think they'd be the stone throwing kind. but im sure the truth will cme out in time as to who it was anyway. sorry anyway thats a pretty stupid thing to do and its good that there was no damage done and that noone got injured.

I wasn't impressed with the graffiti scribbled all over our toilets though thats not the most mature thing in the world to do

Battery Rover
04/09/2006, 2:05 PM
i'm just assuming the bus went right as it wouldnt fit under the bridge

yep thats right even though our bus driver tried it on the way to terryland the first match of the season:eek:

GUISAUltra
04/09/2006, 2:11 PM
that would've been funny to see the bus stuck under the bridge, saw it happen to a van a year or two ago

Battery Rover
04/09/2006, 2:25 PM
Didn't get stuck but our bus was six inches shorter at the front:D

04/09/2006, 2:28 PM
I was there(well nearby anyway) when a few little stones were thrown.I must admit i did give the Athlone bus a friendly gesture on the way out:D as did a few others.The stone throwing was stupid but some of the ATFC fans had really come looking for trouble last night.(not condoning it but tempers were high after another abysmal match!:( )

GUISAUltra
04/09/2006, 2:47 PM
match was ridiculously bad, the game was ruined as soon as the ref showed philip the red card. why is it that we can never have a good match with athlone, every game seems to be terrible.
there did seem to be a section of the athlone fans who were just looking for trouble and thats something that we can do without. Everybody that was there last night was there because they love there club and this rivalry between the fans is getting quickly out of hand.
the stone throwing incident last night can not be compared to one of our female fans getting hit in the head with a stone in st. mels and someone getting there tires slashed outside the ground. the eircom league has enough problems without adding hooligans too the picture

Ceirtlis
04/09/2006, 5:54 PM
The Reilly incident cost us the game without a doubt. We were doing well and i definetly fancied to get a second before half time. It was totally ridiculous on his part. I wouldnt call it a full force heat butt but i dont think there is a ref in ireland that would not have sent him off for it. It would never have happened if the linesman hadnt made the wrong decision for the throw in though. We can have no complaints about the draw in the end though as the second half went on we were getting sucked further back the field and athlone actually had chances to win it in the end.
As for the behaviour of some of the crowd i think it was just a few young lads trying to act hard. The athlone fans who came down to the clubhouse end at half-time didnt exactly look like hardened hooligans too me but it was completey unnessecary though.

atfconline
04/09/2006, 6:36 PM
Reilly deserved to get sent off for his stupidity alone. Already on a yellow card, right in front of the linesman and he lunges forward with his head.

That said, putting an announcement over the PA telling your own fans not to abuse a player who has just been involved in an incident where one of your own players has been sent off, or basically get out of Terryland, was ridiculous.

GUISAUltra
05/09/2006, 10:33 AM
the whole match was a bit ridiculous to be honest. i thought the game, the behaviour of the fans and the stewards was a bit of a joke. best to just forget about it and try to concentrate on the rest of the season. although i mentioned the fans above both sets of fans were at each others throats and i really think that if both sets of fans had met it would have came to blows. stewards threatening to throw people out who are in terryland every other week and follow the club around the country religiously should be ashamed of themselves, they were complaining to galway fans and at the same time there was a group of athlone fans 20 yards away roaring abuse ot our fans.
SORT IT OUT LADS

05/09/2006, 5:05 PM
That said, putting an announcement over the PA telling your own fans not to abuse a player who has just been involved in an incident where one of your own players has been sent off, or basically get out of Terryland, was ridiculous.

:eek: Did that actually happen? Galway United fans are now forbidden to abuse opposition players in their own ground? This actually baffles me... I remember being at a Galway-Sligo game in Terryland a few years back where Derek O'Brien got a lot of stick. Whatever, it's a part of the game that should be kept, not stamped out surely? There are instances where it can be taken too far sure but I'd be surprised if Ian Rossiter's case fell into that category. grounded makes some valid points too I feel.

GUISAUltra
06/09/2006, 8:54 AM
i agree that there are instances in which it can be taken to far but in all honesty tensions were extremely high at that point in the match and phillips sending off and rossiters theatrics just tipped it over the edge. bad game, bad night

GuisaSaigon
06/09/2006, 9:28 AM
I didn't hear an announcement but if there was one it tops off an evening of bizarre behaviour.
I did see a club director coming into the crowd losing his cool over 10 people chanting "Rossiter is a w****r".While this chant might not be to everyones taste it can be heard at football grounds all over the world and hardly merited the treatment United fans then recieved.
A large number of security guards and stewards were sent into the crowd to inform one or two fans that the would be ejected if there was any abuse in the second half while the clubhouse scowled in that direction.
All this was going on while Athlone kids were plastering the jacks wall with graffitti.
If people want to impress their business connections and take offence to football chants i would suggest that they purchase Ryder cup tickets.

corbyeire
06/09/2006, 9:38 AM
totally agree guisasaigon

the standard of soccer is rarely good enough - most of the time im there, its for the relatively cheap therapy - abusing both sets of players

the banter generates atmosphere

next thing they will hand out 5 allowable GUFC endorsed chants or some bull like that

its the mug punters who pay every week not the corporate boys

PC gone mad - and the bit of power gone to the "event security" managers heads :mad: :mad: :mad:

06/09/2006, 10:47 AM
but wouldnt it be just the same if we changed it to something like " rossiter is not a nice fellow" :D

corbyeire
06/09/2006, 11:49 AM
and so say all of us

06/09/2006, 11:52 AM
I wasnt there corbyeire so i didnt overreact . All i would say is sometimes some people go a little too far with the abuse and i would prefer if we were like the Derry Fans who ignore the other team and just encourage and support their own.

corbyeire
06/09/2006, 11:54 AM
undenialbly its a very positive stance to take - but you should be able to speak your mind if you want to