View Full Version : Ray Houghton Way
We have purchased a street sign with 'Ray Houghton Way' written on it and in smaller writing 'Lest we forget june 1988'
we will bang it up on one of the streets near the stadium and hopefully it will be there for a long time:)
29/08/2006, 4:24 PM
haha. :D Make sure you post the pics!
i am collecting it tomorrow so will post pic before i go on thursday
loscherland
29/08/2006, 5:22 PM
Brilliant!!
murtybyrne
29/08/2006, 5:25 PM
Quality Idea!!!!!!!!!!
Will pay homage if we pass it by!
29/08/2006, 5:27 PM
Genius!!!
Somebody else mentioned it on a thread before, that we should try and get a street named after ray but we just decided to act on it and do a sort of unnofficial one
Forever Dreamin
29/08/2006, 5:56 PM
We have purchased a street sign with 'Ray Houghton Way' written on it and in smaller writing 'Lest we forget june 1988'
we will bang it up on one of the streets near the stadium and hopefully it will be there for a long time:)
and hopefully we will be adding "Robbie Keane Avenue" after Saturday, only 16 hours to departure :D :D
casso36
30/08/2006, 7:50 AM
Excellent!!! Make sure you dont put it up to high!!
As if rays ever in Stuttgart he won't be able to read it!!:D :D
RogerMilla
30/08/2006, 8:01 AM
brillaint idea , hopefully it will stay up a long time after we're gone , fasten it well!!
Paulie
30/08/2006, 1:45 PM
I take my hat off to you sir, brilliant idea.
ruben_sosa
30/08/2006, 4:55 PM
where did you purchase the street sign?
soccerc
30/08/2006, 5:28 PM
where did you purchase the street sign?
In a street shop................................. I'll get my coat!
01/09/2006, 3:22 PM
Found this in the Star today:
http://img360.imageshack.us/img360/3415/houghtonwayvc3.jpg
Roys Rolls
01/09/2006, 6:26 PM
Met Rayzor coming off the flight from Heathrow @ 6pm this evening - mentioned the street sign, and he said that he had already heard about it :D
He΄s working for RTE, and looked fairly relaxed ...
Getting nicely ....... as we speak :D :D
01/09/2006, 11:48 PM
Met Rayzor coming off the flight from Heathrow @ 6pm this evening - mentioned the street sign, and he said that he had already heard about it :D
Thank you Stuttgart88!!
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=527358&postcount=1
RogerMilla
04/09/2006, 10:43 AM
the ray houghton way sign was with us on the train back to frankfurt on sunday morning , the lad holding it must have had his picture taken 1000 times! he said his name was brendan and he was the worse for wear!!
casso36
04/09/2006, 11:57 AM
the ray houghton way sign was with us on the train back to frankfurt on sunday morning , the lad holding it must have had his picture taken 1000 times! he said his name was brendan and he was the worse for wear!!
Excellent sign!!! Had our picture taken beneath it saturday afternoon!!!
Fluck me, i'm dying here!!! Them litre beers at 8.50 each went down very well, but paying for it now!!! lol.
04/09/2006, 12:39 PM
Them litre beers at 8.50 each went down very well, but paying for it now!!! lol.
You got ripped off! At the fans' party outside the ground, it was E2.50 for a half-litre. :)
Ye we need to track down the sign - we didnt get to put it up permanantly and lost it on the saturday night
REWARD OF A FREE JAR for anyone who can give us information on the lost sign
wooman
04/09/2006, 3:11 PM
the craic was in the main square though
ye the idea has had its day but it would be interesting to find out where it ends up
time to start thinking of one for cyprus
soccerc
04/09/2006, 5:09 PM
You got ripped off! At the fans' party outside the ground, it was E2.50 for a half-litre. :)
You were ripped off so. We refused to pay the pfand and beers only cost us 2:)
keenanboy
04/09/2006, 6:37 PM
Great beer though....very little in the way of hangover...oh well back to the butt-wiper and harpic!
theworm2345
05/09/2006, 4:16 AM
ye the idea has had its day but it would be interesting to find out where it ends up
time to start thinking of one for cyprus
Roy Keane Way? He scored twice against them a while back (Two pretty good goals I think).
Either that or Niall Quinn, Ian Harte, Stephen Elliott, Clinton Morrison, Robbie Keane, or David Connolly (all scored against them in the past few years)
It was Elliott's first (and only so far) goal ever (for Ireland), but I would have to Shay would be the best idea has he was absolutely fantastic against them (penalty save, and a few others, I some videos if you want).
So how exactly was the sign lost?
casso36
05/09/2006, 7:33 AM
I know!!! But did'nt mind. That was the price being charged in the square at top of steps. If you walked over to the marquee bars down near the big screen (Which i then did) you could get litre for 7.00 each, you had to pay 10.00 for each glass and they would return 3.00 when you brought it back, my legs were killing me after all my returns!!!:D :D
Fair play lads. Brilliant sight.
05/09/2006, 7:12 PM
Wonder how many "Ways" we could get set up all around Europe? Would be quality to go to any away game and see a memory of the best game we played there! :p