View Full Version : Shels v Derry FAI Cup
alabama rover
28/08/2006, 2:05 AM
Hiya all,
Well done tonight. Your fans are stunning!! I can safely say best fans I seen in the league this year for sheer volume and support. Highlights will be available tomorrow but for now, the interviews:
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=465
Greg O'Halloran, Pat Fenlon and then Ken Oman and Stephen Kenny
I cannot argue with that! Bringing 3,000 to Gretna was some feat! Well done! Youse need more capacity at the Brandywell and you are a credit to the league!
alabama rover
28/08/2006, 2:08 AM
You called! I am aware you Dubs aren't the brightest but when clubs are situated a few miles from each other it is easy to get a crowd. We had well over half the crowd IMO so slate the Shels fans and not us.
Shelbourne FC are an "off the streets" group for 200 Drumcondra teenage chavs but I am puzzled as to their value to professional football in Ireland. Dreadful/dire/horrendous crowd at at match against their title rivals and one which should see the winner life the cup but they can't get more than 600 - 700 fans. I wish clubs with a fanbase and hinterland like Sligo were fighting it out with us and not Ollie Bryne FC.
BTW In a futile attempt to make sure Shels were tax compliant I asked for a recipt or ticket when entering the ground only to be told "ya kin sit anywere shore" :rolleyes:
But 4,500 is not a bad attendance for a3rd round FAI cup game! Derby or not!
28/08/2006, 2:51 AM
You called! I am aware you Dubs aren't the brightest but when clubs are situated a few miles from each other it is easy to get a crowd.
I see the neutrals turned up in their droves to witness the super duper football in the "tie" of the round. :rolleyes:
I remember when you came into the league, you brought 8-10k to games in Dublin, in a time of recession. Now in more prosperous times, you can only bring a few hundred to a game in Dublin on a Sunday, which doesn't clash with GAA games, English league matches, or work commitments.
Aren't they wonderful?? :rolleyes:
28/08/2006, 7:23 AM
I remember when you came into the league, you brought 8-10k to games in Dublin, in a time of recession.I remember when you were a Premier Division team.
I vaguely remember when you won stuff.
And in the fogs of time I remembering hearing that you once had a home.
Don't throw stones when you live in a rented glasshouse.
Maybe showing my naivety here or I'm overly cynical, but were Shels wearing their away kit so that the Tolka would look packed with Shels fans, what with all the "dubs" supporters who arrived from Croke Park?
headtheball
28/08/2006, 8:30 AM
Maybe showing my naivety here or I'm overly cynical, but were Shels wearing their away kit so that the Tolka would look packed with Shels fans, what with all the "dubs" supporters who arrived from Croke Park?
Think someone at Shelbourne had the bright idea to wear the colours of the Dubs, hoping that the Dubs would beat Mayo and knock on would be fans going to the Shels game. Well a derryman put and end to that(Micky Moran), as did a Dub to Shelbourne's cup hopes.
Stephen Kenny LEGEND!!!
Partizan
28/08/2006, 9:27 AM
Was in the RSC this year. 4 fans singing and one banging a drum. The rest of you sit there like you're waiting for the athletics meet to start. The rest of you being barely half of the crowd we get on average.
Au contraire my friend. We get on average a 1000 to the RSC despite being rock bottom. Now lets look at the 1000 or so that we generally get. In general on average about 1/10 of that figure are the away fans. Now lets look at you lot. You can barely get 1500 into Tolka for a match day of which approx half are the away fans. That leaves your fan base in the high hundreds which is pretty pathetic given the quality of your squad and that you are perennial contenders for honours.
Now lets do the sums. How is it that on an average home fan base of about 800 you seem to be able to sustain a full time squad and backroom staff that costs in the region of 35k a week. Where is the cash coming from? You surely must be making a loss if your expenditure is greater than income. Do the simple adding and subtraction. Even a Senior Infant pupil would instanteneously see that Shels sums simply do not add up. Can you not see what Ollie is dong or is it collective heads in the sands up in D7.
Waterford have alot more going for them than Shelbourne have. We have a huge catchment marketing potential (city, county & South East region) and we are seen as an integral part of the community. We have a Management Committee in place who are putting in the structures and foundations (WIT scholarship, new facilities at RSC, youth set up, business plan, etc.)that will see us sail through the new FAI League requirements.
Now lets go back to Shels. You are simply a manufactured entity with no real link to the local community with thus no marketing potential. You left Ringsend years ago and were absolute rubbish up to 10 years ago when Ollie began to buy success without building the foundations in which to build upon. You gambled on CL place which meant that you began to spend way beyond your means leaving you in the mess that you find yourselves in. Your crook chairman has sold the ground from underneath you. You have practically no money left in which to sustain the present squad you have and the tax man is down your necks. Unlike the Rovers lads, you simply dont have the committed fan base to set up and make feasible the concept of a 400 Club like situation with which to bale you out and besides any attempt to set up one now is of course too late. Ollie's attempt to raise cash for the fans to plough it into a nonexistent company shoudl have set the alarm bells ringing as a sign of desperation. In simple terms lads, you’re well and well truly up the creek without the proverbial paddle. With Tolka gone, the move to Santry will see your painful and quick demise. No money+no fans+limited squad= youre screwed.
When your Club does go tits up in the near future, don’t go blaming the FAI or the general Dublin public. If you want to save Shelbourne FC you must take some real drastic action and I mean drastic.
sonofstan
28/08/2006, 10:01 AM
Can you not see what Ollie is dong or is it collective heads in the sands up in D7.
Tolka is in D3 - unless that was a pop at us smuggled in to your analysis of Shels plight
Partizan
28/08/2006, 10:20 AM
Apologies my Bohs friend. Not having a go at ye at all. Of all the Dublin clubs, Bohs fans have the right to be the most optimistic. My scorn is heaped on a certain gentleman in D3.
sonofstan
28/08/2006, 10:25 AM
Of all the Dublin clubs, Bohs fans have the right to be the most optimistic.
not a right we ever choose to exercise.
28/08/2006, 11:11 AM
I wish clubs with a fanbase and hinterland like Sligo were fighting it out with us and not Ollie Bryne FC.
give it time....we are the future..hoping to have 200+ in derry in couple of weeks....ye showed us up when ye came here earlier this season so we are trying to organise something similar....cant see it though:rolleyes:
Can anyone tell me the entertainment value of the *big* match that the 1300 or so were lucky to see?:)
Speranza
28/08/2006, 12:20 PM
Keep talking yourself up hooped ones as no-one else will.
Geography must be a subject neglected in the south so let me explain. Dublin clubs rarely have to travel outside Dublin or to stretch it The Pale but City fans, Sligo, Cork e.t.c have to travel long distances every second week so their is no glory in bringing 1,000 to the other end of a city. Taking approx 500/600 to a cup match on a Sunday is something no Dublin club has ever done in the Brandy.
28/08/2006, 12:27 PM
Ndo, and Gareth. :)
Pat's brought Ndo to the league.
I'd suspect Gareth is a closet Pat's fan. :)
Gareth
28/08/2006, 12:33 PM
Pat's brought Ndo to the league.
I'd suspect Gareth is a closet Pat's fan. :)
:) No, I always said I'd support Sligo if Shels weren't about.
28/08/2006, 12:42 PM
:) No, I always said I'd support Sligo if Shels weren't about.
So, will you have your Sligo shirt by Oct 2nd Gareth ? :D
Gareth
28/08/2006, 12:53 PM
Expected that, just surprised it took 9 minutes. :) No I'd hope to still wear my Shels one.
28/08/2006, 1:35 PM
I remember when you were a Premier Division team.
P.O.T.M.
28/08/2006, 6:54 PM
Of the 1300 of those, about a few hundred were Shels fans. Absolutley pathetic considering they are second in the table and looking strong to rack up another Championship. There was just as much at the RSC last Friday night and we are rock bottom ffs.
Roll over Ollie and just **** off.
Only one championship on the minds of people around Drumcondra yesterday!
I remember when you were a Premier Division team.
You're all wonderful, bring 3000 over to Scotland and only a couple of hundred up the road to Windsor Park:rolleyes: Btw, what is your honest opinion of the £25 you'll have to pay into the PSG game?
28/08/2006, 7:10 PM
You're all wonderful, bring 3000 over to Scotland and only a couple of hundred up the road to Windsor Park:rolleyes: Btw, what is your honest opinion of the £25 you'll have to pay into the PSG game?Bitterness is a terrible thing.
We brought over a thousand to Windsor, check the pictures.
As for the £25, I'm disappointed that its so low. I would have liked the club to raise a bit more money.
Even though I live in Dublin and will have to take another half day leave, I fully support the clubs decision to keep it in the Brandywell.
Not only does it offer us our only realistic chance of a result, the economics of moving to Lansdowne weren't at all compelling based on needing 15,000 to break even. Whilst I don't doubt a lot of EL fans would have come along and would have been very welcome, you would also be relying on Jonny Barstooler getting off his hole and presumably whatever other televised UEFA games would have reduced the incentive to watch a real live match.
Right decision regardless of the result.
Fair play, honest answer. I just think the 'being loyal to our fans' by keeping it in Derry then lumping up the price is a double standard from your Chairman, I'd agree if he told it as it was though. PS, I'm anything but bitter as Derry winning in Gretna meant Paddy Power paid for my son's school fees for the year :D
28/08/2006, 8:15 PM
Fair play, honest answer. I just think the 'being loyal to our fans' by keeping it in Derry then lumping up the price is a double standard from your Chairman, I'd agree if he told it as it was though. PS, I'm anything but bitter as Derry winning in Gretna meant Paddy Power paid for my son's school fees for the year :DThe club did canvass opinion and for the few days before the announcement the overwhelming opinion on Derry's chatforum was that paying up to £30 was the preferred option. Factor in what people would have spent on getting to Dublin for the game etc and I think it makes even more sense.
You'll always have whingers but I would say 95% fans are happy with the decision. The Limerick fans post above about the regret their fans still have of moving to Lansdowne is also a salutory warning.
Glad to hear you picked up money on Derry, a lot of people seemed to have cleaned up. Unfortunately I'm fairly superstitious and don't bet on Derry (apart from last years ridiculous Ladbrokes handicap season bet which paid for most of our trips to Gothenburg).
28/08/2006, 8:25 PM
Derry's chatforum .
Speakin' of which, whats the story eith it? Down for repairs or what?
Gareth
28/08/2006, 8:39 PM
Highlights of the Shels Derry game available within the hour...
28/08/2006, 8:40 PM
Partizan, I have to laugh. You've been lauding every aspect of your club this season except the one that matters most, the team that goes out onto the park. You've been very smug and sanctimonious since you've found out about the deus (or is that Delaney?) ex machina solution to your club's woeful season.
Gareth
28/08/2006, 9:44 PM
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=466
Video Highlights of the game...
nshoop
28/08/2006, 9:51 PM
Thank Christ Declan did the second half,no offence to your man but he couldn't commentate
Gareth
28/08/2006, 10:00 PM
First time ever behind a mic. You have to start somewhere!! I listened to it all and there was plenty of decent bits!!
Podcast clips up for those who cant access wmv files.
28/08/2006, 10:10 PM
First time ever behind a mic. You have to start somewhere!! I listened to it all and there was plenty of decent bits!!
Podcast clips up for those who cant access wmv files.
Well done Gareth. More trojan work. Couldn't be sure but McHugh looked well onside for his "goal".
PS Suggest you add the pre-pubescent fool above to your ignore list like I suspect anyone else with half a brain is doing.
Gareth
28/08/2006, 10:13 PM
McHugh looked onside alright. I tried slowing it right down but unfortunately even on DVD quality you can't tell for sure, but it looked good. The Shels chance at the end didn't look like it crossed the line but it was very far away!!!
nshoop
28/08/2006, 11:57 PM
Well done Gareth. More trojan work. Couldn't be sure but McHugh looked well onside for his "goal".
PS Suggest you add the pre-pubescent fool above to your ignore list like I suspect anyone else with half a brain is doing.
Jesus Christ,this is getting rediculous. I was merely pointing out that the first commentator was poor but I reckoned it must have been his first go and you give me this abuse. I'm a regular visitor and huge fan of the shels web and I think Gareth is doing an excellent job in promoting the league as are his colleagues. Good work Gareth.
joema
29/08/2006, 12:20 AM
Fair play Gareth, good stuff. Could see on el that Farren was onside.
29/08/2006, 12:31 AM
Fair play Gareth, good stuff. Could see on el that Farren was onside.
McHugh I assume.
Farren was still on the bench....
carrickharp
29/08/2006, 7:32 AM
Seen the highlights last night and the linesman who flaged McHughs goal offside should be sent packing as it was a brutal call, but I always thought that the linespersons in the league raise their flags to easly for offsides.
nshoop
29/08/2006, 2:16 PM
but I always thought that the linespersons in the league raise their flags to easly for offsides.
If you had been at tolka on friday you would've seen your theory proved right about 20 times.
Gareth
29/08/2006, 4:23 PM
nshoops, I always ask for any comments :) No bother at all you making them. Haha, sure your one of our biggest praisers!!!! :)
nshoop
29/08/2006, 4:33 PM
Sound Gareth,shels web has definitely set the standard for other clubs to follow.