View Full Version : Convert friend to eL thread
dynamo kerry
24/08/2006, 10:26 PM
mini project time
lets attempt to convert friends to Eircom league.
I'm going to work on 2 mates. one from galway one from cork by sending them match reports every week until they take an interest (barstoolers for english game)
now maybe some of you do this anyway but tomorrow I'm emailing a rake of my mates with last nights match reports.. try and use the big games to generate a bit of excitment around the draw for derry tomorrow.. worth a shot yeah?
'feelin -good-bit-of-enthusiasm' sure to wear off but sure, for as long as it lasts!
Its a pity no Uefa cup on irish tv as there are a lot of people who will watch does big games on tv who don't really have an interest in attending matches. More tv viewers will eventually mean more sponsorship monies...
dynamo kerry
24/08/2006, 10:31 PM
too true.. it would be a crying shame if both derry games aren't on rte
nshoop
24/08/2006, 10:59 PM
I wouldn't put it past rte,they're a disgrace
Ah sure they'll show Derry if they're playing some other team they can't possibly beat, to be sure to be sure.:rolleyes:
25/08/2006, 2:40 AM
too true.. it would be a crying shame if both derry games aren't on rte
Derry will be on RTE if they play West Ham, Blackburn, Newcastle, or Hearts. The only way to get RTE interested is to play one of those. :rolleyes:
But Derry seem to be managing quite well without RTE atm. :D
theworm2345
25/08/2006, 3:20 AM
How do we convert? I would love to support the EL, but I get 0 coverage, and its hard to follow online
Strabane_Harp
25/08/2006, 9:27 AM
More TV coverage will convert people to Eircom League
The first i knew of Finn Harps was watching them play in the FAI Cup final.
I couldnt have told ye there was a team 10 mile away before that, but christ im hooked for life now
25/08/2006, 11:25 AM
mini project time
lets attempt to convert friends to Eircom league... by sending them match reports every week until they take an interest (barstoolers for english game)
Tried that a few years ago. Just used to get replies saying please take me off this list.
dynamo kerry
25/08/2006, 11:32 AM
that would involve mailing everyone I knew
just two lads who don't know about their local side!
did you mail every person you ever heard of?
25/08/2006, 11:47 AM
that would involve mailing everyone I knew
just two lads who don't know about their local side!
did you mail every person you ever heard of?
Except Bob Geldoff. I don't like him.
Strabane_Harp
25/08/2006, 12:12 PM
i emailed a guy who knew nothing of the league once
John Delaney his name was
dublin15bohs
25/08/2006, 1:36 PM
I dragged a friend along to see bohs and everton he hasnt missed a game since and is becoming a member next season
25/08/2006, 3:30 PM
I know its slightly off-topic but what the hey. I've been a member here for 2 years and for the most part I'd pay little attention to the eL. However for the last 6 months I'd say I've hit the refresh button more often in the Eircom League section than in any other.
I haven't been in the position of going to games this season for one reason or another but I expect that to change and when it does I think there's more chance of me going to an eL match than there is going to the boozer to watch a Premiership match.
And the reason for this sudden interest in the league? Well imo anyway there are a couple. The main one for me, believe it or not, is the downturn in fortunes of the National team. I would always have been a follower or Premiership and Serie A, whilst paying the odd visit to a National League ground, but the National Team was what it was all about for me. And there has been less and less enjoyment following Ireland for the past couple of years, and that leaves a massive void to fill. Its not possible to constantly go to the boozer on a Sunday, nor affordable to go across the water to live games. So that leaves the football thats on your doorstep.
Add in the extra exposure the league has got over the past year or so (to the eL regulars it might not seem that way, but the two broadsheets;) have actually increased their coverage of the league), and my interest in the league has increased hugely. The most excitement I've gotten from football this year has been following the efforts of the three teams in Europe. Waiting to see the Uefa draws, following the games over the net or bbc vidiprinter!, following the co-efficients thread, man, its been so refreshing.
I suppose what I'm saying is this. If I can feel relatively positive towards the league, then I'm sure there are hundreds more like me. Its just up to the officials in charge to convince people that their local eL club is the place to be.
CharlesThompson
25/08/2006, 4:53 PM
Nice honest and open assessment there Kingdom. So we'll be seeing you down Dalymount Park regularly enough then, seeing as Bohs would be the obvious team for you to support! :)
25/08/2006, 5:01 PM
Funnily enough Charles Dalyer would be the ground of choice. I do get sick of the knacker kids running round going to Burdocks instead of watching the matches.
Although Richmond probably would be easier to get to travel wise.
I just think the league or the clubs individually need to increase the public's awareness of the league. I went to a good few Bohs games last season and thought that the €15 entrance was a bit much. Maybe I'm out of order but I didn't think so at the time.
dublin15bohs
26/08/2006, 9:58 PM
well said kingdom were all sick of the little scumbags who go to cause trouble and dont even watch games they give all young bohs fans a bad name and there is some of us who are decent.
27/08/2006, 10:34 PM
Converting non-EL friends can be tough, but it is do-able.
It helps if a couple of you are fans, rather than you being the wierd one. I've got a few Belfast based friends who would be City fans to varying degrees now, because myself and another lad have been banging on about the team to them so much.
Let them see your enthusiasm, and then if they are decent/proper friends they'll be curious and open to the idea of you dragging them along one evening when they're at a loose end. Get them into a good game, or one with a great atmosphere, and they'll catch the bug.
I find that anyone who stands amongst the Derry City fans for a game (particularly a big one) is an instant convert. We brough a Scottish Aberdeen fan along to the Gretna game in Motherwell, as his fiance is the sister of a mucker from Derry. He loved the game (who wouldn'#t have loved the 5:1 gubbing) and was hugely impressed with our support. She mentioned yesterday that she heard him coming home ****ed on Friday night, fumbling with his door key in the lock whilst singing Derry City songs. Two weeks after his first City experience ! :)
27/08/2006, 10:53 PM
In my local there are about 4 who go a fair bit to LTFC home games. Funnily enough they are all lads who moved back from england and love going to a footy match while the rest of the natives drool over andy grey.
27/08/2006, 11:06 PM
I've been trying for ages but I can't get any of my mates to come along to a UCD match. Most of them just couldn't be arsed with the EL, already support one of the big Dublin teams or don't want to "waste a Friday night". I'm going to try and drag a few when we run a bus to Drogheda seeing as there will be plenty of banter on that trip and more of a chance of going again rather than if they showed up on Saturday, for example.
Leeza
27/08/2006, 11:28 PM
I'm a victim of a campaign like this.
It evidently worked :)
28/08/2006, 9:05 AM
Have to say the best way to convert anybody is bring them along to a game rather than send them match reports etc. The greatest attraction of the League is that it is live football on your doorstep. I think bringing along a mate to an EL game is the way forward.
We brough a Scottish Aberdeen fan along to the Gretna game in Motherwell, as his fiance is the sister of a mucker from Derry. He loved the game (who wouldn'#t have loved the 5:1 gubbing) and was hugely impressed with our support.
We now have a German, St. Mirren fan in the ranks of Athlone Town supporters.
Moved to Athlone from Scotland and started following the Town cos he always
supports his local team :)
i emailed a guy who knew nothing of the league once
John Delaney his name was
Evidently to this day your email had no effect...
28/08/2006, 9:26 AM
I have found the best way to get mates into the footie is to suggest that they come on an away trip but dress it up as a "girlie roadtrip" and we go out on the **** before and after so they really get into the footie without realising it....have a new victim to try this one out on for the Galway away game! In seriousness tho...I had a footie mad mate who had never gone to CHP coz she didnt realise that any of her mates were interested but when I invited her along she nearly bit my hand off to go! She is a regular as much as her work allows her now. Another mate got convinced to come to an away in Sligo where she lives coz I was staying with her that weekend and now she travels to Monaghan for as many games as she can. One of my other mates has been slacking off lately due to GAH being her first love but am hopin to get her roped back in again. I remember convincing the guy I loved to come to a Mons game....the tool sat in the among the Shels fans and when Mons scored (yes we did beat them once!) he jumped up cheering & then realised his mistake...think that put him off and he has gone back to his Villa supporting.
Another good way of increasing support is drag your little bro/sister along & they will then start taking their friends. Also works with my sons....I get them to invite a mate to our house on match days and bring them along....yes they are only young but they talk more about the matches at school then and fever begins to set in!
You have to be careful what kind of game you bring a newbie to. Bringing to european games or packed houses for league games is best as result not so important. Even barstoolers can't fail to be impressed.
Do not bring friends to UCD games.
NavanBohs
28/08/2006, 2:57 PM
I've brought 5 new people to Dalymount over the past 2 years or so, and only one or two are really bothered going and would call themselves Bohs fans. Usually make their first game one with the biggest crowds/best amosphere (brought a newbie to Bohs-Shels last Friday week). I try to bring others but get ridiculed for even suggesting it :rolleyes: , the usual "Why the f*ck would I want to go to Dublin to watch that sh*te?"
28/08/2006, 3:01 PM
Do not bring friends to UCD games.
I understand where you're coming from seeing as we've outplayed you twice this season.