View Full Version : Gartland-The cruellest defeat ever

24/08/2006, 9:40 PM
The poor lad must be gutted, and probably set a new record in doing so.....

Well done Drogheda.:mad:

nshoop
24/08/2006, 9:42 PM
Fair-Play Drogheda and supporters,done the league proud.Chin up Gartland,these things happen,man of the match

24/08/2006, 9:46 PM
Poor kid. :(

However, the one cardinal rule of penalty shoot-outs is that you never, ever permit a player who's carrying a knock to take a kick if you can possibly help it, no matter how much he fancies it. Allowing him to go first was criminal. Would have expected Connor to get hands on more than 1/12 too.

nshoop
24/08/2006, 9:50 PM
True,he was knackered and took a knock.Don't understand it really

Gareth
24/08/2006, 9:54 PM
You have to feel for him. But look, Peno's are tough. The only solice id Derry progress, but it would have been sweet to see Drogs in the draw too. Any draw for Start tomorrow will sicken Drogs fans.

nshoop
24/08/2006, 9:59 PM
It just shows how far we've come in europe,two teams in 1st round proper would've been great but that's football.Gartland's a very good player and he'll bounce back

24/08/2006, 10:17 PM
Well done Drogs. You may be out but did the coefficients proud.

I understand he was first up & missed that. Did Drogs have to nominate him for the 12th penalty too? Unless they forced to was strange to pick him.

Technically Drogs won the game so adds to what now is long list of wins against scandanavians in recent years.

24/08/2006, 10:19 PM
I understand he was first up & missed that. Did Drogs have to nominate him for the 12th penalty too? Unless they forced to was strange to pick him.

It had to be the same order second time round.

I feel really sorry for Gartland, so unlucky that he was the only Drogheda player to miss. I'm sure that the Drog fans won't hold it against him.

24/08/2006, 10:20 PM

Yeah has to go in the same order unfortunately.
Hard luck Graham. You and your club did the league proud.
e
Fair play to the fans, sounded fantastic. As disappointing as it is, a night to be proud of being an EL fan once again.

Thanks again to Gareth and the shesweb team. Top class

dynamo kerry
24/08/2006, 10:23 PM
fc malmo
djgardens
start
goteborg

some good teams there. good indications that we are indeed on the up... now if only the crowds would cop on

4tothefloor
24/08/2006, 10:24 PM
Well done Drogheda, great performance

24/08/2006, 10:29 PM
Drogheda did their town and the league proud. Superb performance. Tough on GG but he should still walk tall.

ger121
24/08/2006, 10:30 PM
fc malmo
djgardens
start
goteborg

some good teams there. good indications that we are indeed on the up... now if only the crowds would cop on

Don't forget HJK and Shels did beat Odense in the home leg.

dynamo kerry
24/08/2006, 10:33 PM
too true ger

when these teams were making the group stages in the 90s we said we should be like them. .. times have changed and big money makes the CL group stages now but there's no reason we can't be at the uefa cup group stages in a couple of years..

great days to be an EL fan if you ask me

kdjaC
24/08/2006, 10:33 PM
Whatever happened to best player 1st? Gartland sadly probaly set some sort of record there :(

kdjac

24/08/2006, 10:48 PM
Patricks Reject...

BohsFans
24/08/2006, 10:54 PM
Poor kid. :(

However, the one cardinal rule of penalty shoot-outs is that you never, ever permit a player who's carrying a knock to take a kick if you can possibly help it, no matter how much he fancies it. Allowing him to go first was criminal. Would have expected Connor to get hands on more than 1/12 too.

was it not Bradley or someone who had to play on injured?

nshoop
24/08/2006, 10:57 PM
Could've been.Sports tonight don't even show derry goals,ffs.

24/08/2006, 11:15 PM
was it not Bradley or someone who had to play on injured?

Definitely gartland, went down after the Drogheda goal

Bomb Landsdowne
24/08/2006, 11:16 PM
Great value for my 12 euro was nearly 11pm when i got out of Dalymount. Hard luck Drogheda what a cruel way to go out. Had the same feeling walking back to the car than i did when we got knocked out by Spain in the world cup and im not even a drogs fan. Great fans great team.

PS fair play Derry, havent seen the goals yet, missed sports tonight, is there anywhere online i can see them??

Dyl10
24/08/2006, 11:18 PM
Would have expected Connor to get hands on more than 1/12 too.

He got his hands on 3 or 4 of them. He nearly saved the 11th he touched on to the underside of the bar

24/08/2006, 11:34 PM
He got his hands on 3 or 4 of them. He nearly saved the 11th he touched on to the underside of the bar
Agonising. So close to winning it.:(

The Rebel Ram
24/08/2006, 11:36 PM
So unlucky, couldn't have been closer in the end.........
Well done to all though, ye done yourselves proud...

nshoop
24/08/2006, 11:40 PM
It's amazing the difference between winning and losing.If the ball had hit the bar and bounced out you would've had at least two more huge games,more income from games and probably tv rights,it would've been the greatest night in europe for the league.I'm really sickened for all loi supporters and especially the drogs support and gartland.

BohsFans
24/08/2006, 11:46 PM
It's amazing the difference between winning and losing.If the ball had hit the bar and bounced out you would've had at least two more huge games,more income from games and probably tv rights,it would've been the greatest night in europe for the league.I'm really sickened for all loi supporters and especially the drogs support and gartland.

we lose out too!

At least Gartland's had a very good career thus far in Ireland.

Is he the only player to win 3 FAI Cups in a row?

Add a league cup & a setanta cup to that and it's not a bad haul for 5 yrs work!

nshoop
24/08/2006, 11:48 PM
I know we got the co-eff points and they had a good campaign but it still puts a sour taste on a sweet night,f*cking sickened

25/08/2006, 12:19 AM
Hard luck Drogs. The radio was absorbing (when it was working) and made the journey back to Dublin from the Brandywell go much quicker.

Terrible way to go out but the fans sounded brilliant, singing right to the end and not missing a beat when the final penalty went in.

25/08/2006, 7:00 AM
The radio was absorbing (when it was working) and made the journey back to Dublin from the Brandywell go much quicker..Mine went right dodgy at the very end....I thought I was going to miss out. It was the most exciting radio I've ever listened to. Well done to Gabriel Egan and Eoin Hand.

SUB of the day
25/08/2006, 7:38 AM
What a night for Drogs, team and support.The big break through is imminent.The list of teams beaten by EL opposition is impressive, Malmo,Odense,Start, Djurgardens, Split,Gothenburg[3 times],Ekranes,Aberdeen.Remember its not that long ago that Pats lost 10 nil over 2 legs to Eastern European opposition....Doubt ya Drogs...

CuanaD
25/08/2006, 7:48 AM
It was really a great game to be at - I mean, the quality of the play was not great (both teams completly lost their shape for most of the second half & much of extra time), but just to be there for the 24 pennos - I was in the Des Kelly stand, right behind the goal, where you could see the whites of their eyes! The quality of the pennos was top class - the 3 that were saved were really the only 3 that could have been saved - Connor got his hands to one of the best shots too (but could only palm it into the top corner:( )
The atmosphere was great & fair play to all the Drogs supporters who never let up with the chants, songs & clapping
A great night:ball:
just not the right result

25/08/2006, 7:57 AM
was glued to the Sky box listening to commentary when i heard there was a penalty shootout in progress. hard luck to Drogs, would have been great to see them in the draw. gutted for Gartland too, so unlucky. wonderful commentary from RTE too.

football fan
25/08/2006, 8:01 AM
It had to be the same order second time round.

I feel really sorry for Gartland, so unlucky that he was the only Drogheda player to miss. I'm sure that the Drog fans won't hold it against him.

Sorry for Gartland, very good player. However, as far as I know you DO NOT have to go in the same order. Once all 11 players have taken a penalty, they can change the order for the second set of penalties.

Lord Summerisle
25/08/2006, 8:09 AM
Drogs were unlucky alright. Great atmosphere at the game-the Drogs lads kept the volume up for the full 120+mins. Fair play.

25/08/2006, 8:35 AM
I felt physically sick listening to the penalties....my son and I were on the edge of our seats. God was gutted for them....Poor Garto.

Want to add my congrats to all the Drogs fans for their creation of athmosphere. They are such a nice bunch of lads & deserve the congrats.

Drogman.
25/08/2006, 8:44 AM
Cheers for the kind words folks.

Totally gutted after that. I thought that once it went to peno's that luck would be on our side. But I have to say that the quality of the peno's were outstanding. IK Start's peno's were top class, all their players were very cool, same as us really.

Garto can hold his head up high. He was immense last night and has been all season. Unfortunately someone was going to be dealt a bad card and last night was him.

The atmosphere was great again, another reason why more people should go to EL games.

We'll bounce back and hopefully this will be a springboad to challenge for the league.

bigmac
25/08/2006, 8:58 AM
Comiserations Drogs fans, like the rest of the ground I was sure for a split second that Dan had kept out the penultimate one. Great night, fair play to the crowd in the shopping centre end of the Jodi, kept singing all night. The barstooler I brought to the game was gutted coming out - said he hadn't expected the game to be so good. The Start players celebrated like they'd won the world cup - definitely Norwegian teams will show a lot more respect in future I think.

At least there was a coefficient point out of it, so there are plenty of positives after the perfomances from both Irish teams.

25/08/2006, 9:15 AM
Mine went right dodgy at the very end....I thought I was going to miss out. It was the most exciting radio I've ever listened to. Well done to Gabriel Egan and Eoin Hand.Yeah, mine too , think when the line went (again) during the shootout they went to mobile phone thats probably why it sounded crap but at least we didn't miss out.
Disappointed for Drogheda, mixed feelings for Connor but kept expecting him to save another one every time Drogs scored. Cruel way to go out but credit for the victory.

babydol
25/08/2006, 9:55 AM
Patricks Reject...

Idiot:rolleyes:

25/08/2006, 10:14 AM
How so? He was at Pat and at the time wasn't good enough. Therefore we rejected him (played one league cup game, never played in the league)

(Not denying I'm an idiot mind...)

BohsFans
25/08/2006, 10:24 AM
poor crowd, only 4124, ie half the ground empty.

Thought there would have been way more than that at it.

25/08/2006, 10:34 AM
Thought the aertel report was poor as implied he missed the goal whereas he had both penalties saved. Same result i suppose just different path.

Seen his 2nd penalty on tv3 & if he had looked up would have seen the keeper was already moving.

Seen posted on other forum that 11-10 & same player missing the penalties might be a record.

Lord Summerisle
25/08/2006, 10:38 AM
Didn't think the attendance was that poor. Start wouldn't have been a big name, and with the big cup game on tonight, a few neutrals/ other casual EL fans might have been thinking of heading to that rather than spend the €20 to go to watch the Drogs last night.

ciaraa
25/08/2006, 10:51 AM
poor crowd, only 4124, ie half the ground empty.

Thought there would have been way more than that at it.

The fact that it had to be played in Dublin probably turned a lot of people off.

25/08/2006, 10:55 AM
The fact that it had to be played in Dublin probably turned a lot of people off.

Fair play to the Drogs, really put it up to them. Enjoyed last night apart from some muppet nocking my curry chips all over the front of my jacket. :(

placid casual
25/08/2006, 10:58 AM
Fair play to the Drogs, really put it up to them. Enjoyed last night apart from some muppet nocking my curry chips all over the front of my jacket. :(

oh well . every cloud...etc

25/08/2006, 11:11 AM
Well my chips didn't spill, so thats a silver lining.

ndrog
25/08/2006, 12:09 PM
hope your lovely yellow runners didnt get ruined ;)

Dyl10
25/08/2006, 12:51 PM
I dont think ive ever heard of or witnessed 26 penalties all hitting the target!

iceman
25/08/2006, 1:14 PM
I dont think ive ever heard of or witnessed 26 penalties all hitting the target!

True....every one on target and every penalty very well taken , there was no "lucky" ones at all!

dublin15bohs
25/08/2006, 1:28 PM
Gutted really thought they were going to do it fair play to drogs fans they were great they were delighted that there was other EL fans there too i was in the jodi above the tunnel with my bohs jersey on and i got a great reception from them.