View Full Version : cup draw tonight

Ali-G
06/08/2002, 3:28 PM
The 2nd round cup draw is on tonight, but isnt live on the news apparently. Suppose we'll hear the fixtures on the radio at 7..

RamblersWeb
06/08/2002, 5:06 PM
is this rté's being in a strop then?

guess coverage will be minimal till october

06/08/2002, 5:42 PM
Sligo Rovers v Bray Wanderers
Bohemian v UCD
St Patrick's Athlethic v Shelbourne
Derry City v Waterford United
Monaghan United v Cork City
Shamrock Rovers v Cobh Ramblers
Kilkenny City v Longford Town
Fairview Rangers v Finn Harps

06/08/2002, 5:47 PM
Don't know if Monaghan a good draw or not. Be bad enough journey for leeside folks as its a bad enough trek for pale based supporters.

Still should be no excuses for beating Mon U.

06/08/2002, 5:52 PM
ah well thats another away ground off the list of grounds to visit

*sry but that the only good thing i can see from this draw*

joe
06/08/2002, 5:52 PM
i don't suppose they'd be willing to switch it to the cross???

06/08/2002, 5:54 PM
Originally posted by James
ah well thats another away ground off the list of grounds to visit

*sry but that the only good thing i can see from this draw*

Dispite its apparent close proximity to Drogheda youse won't be doing Monaghan in 4 hours James - I'm sure took me at least 2 hours from dubland last year but then again i apparently drive like a woman minus the speeding tics of course ;)

06/08/2002, 6:01 PM
potential overnighter in the pale
goto a game there on sat night
then onto mon on sunday for the game

doesnt sound too bad imo :)

06/08/2002, 6:18 PM
Originally posted by joe
i don't suppose they'd be willing to switch it to the cross???

They would be wise to look at Dundrum and note the advantage of playing at the cross.
Middleton were only beaten 1-0 up there so the Mons can't be over confident when it comes to playing us!
Think of the money Monaghan!!!

06/08/2002, 6:23 PM
Originally posted by Peadar
St Patrick's Athlethic v Shelbourne
Shamrock Rovers v Cobh Ramblers
Sweet, atleast 2 of these fecl<ers will be out. :)

mouldymurphy
06/08/2002, 11:00 PM
will it be on the sunday or what ill have to arrange work around it

07/08/2002, 12:12 AM
Last time i was up there i lot all feeling in my legs cause of the cold!

If the game gets boring you can watch at least 5 different heards of cows in the adjoining fields so theres always something to do!

All they have there is one feckin stand smaller than the Derrynane one(well as of 2 or so years ago)

I say switch it to Cork! as the team bus could easily disappear in one of those Monaghan potholes

Ali-G
07/08/2002, 8:45 AM
was that the cup game christmas 98 pablo? I drove all the way up and back that day. black ice, snow, fog, they nearly didnt play the game. we went back to the car at half time to thaw out aswell.

07/08/2002, 1:40 PM
Originally posted by Troy.McClure
Sweet, atleast 2 of these fecl<ers will be out. :)

Ya twould be great to see Ramblers knocked out. God knows with a good cup run they might get some money and do a bit better in the league and maybe we would have a few derbies to look forwards to every year.

07/08/2002, 2:16 PM
Originally posted by pete
Dispite its apparent close proximity to Drogheda youse won't be doing Monaghan in 4 hours James - I'm sure took me at least 2 hours from dubland last year but then again i apparently drive like a woman minus the speeding tics of course ;)
I think it was just over 2 hours pete. Up for the same again this year? Cows and hot whiskeys here we come!

p.s. don't forget to bring yer own mugs for soup at half time lads, they don't have very many :D

07/08/2002, 3:42 PM
ko is down for 2pm sunday 18 so far...

07/08/2002, 3:56 PM
football weekend

friday night : St Patrick's Athlethic v Shelbourne
saturday night: Kilkenny City v Longford Town
sunday: Monaghan United v Cork City

any takers ?

pity scum v ramblers is on at 3.15 on sunday, was hoping twould be later so could catch it on the way home from mon :)

07/08/2002, 4:03 PM
or how bouts you throw in the following game on the way home on sunday

City Under 18's playing in the Clonmel Tournament
1830 Clonmel Town v Cork City

08/08/2002, 1:05 PM
Originally posted by GWA

Ya twould be great to see Ramblers knocked out. God knows with a good cup run they might get some money and do a bit better in the league and maybe we would have a few derbies to look forwards to every year. Do we have a closit Rambeler here?:eek: :o