View Full Version : Attention seekers?

osgood was good
23/08/2006, 2:28 AM
Im not a GAA fan , in fact i cant stand the sport , so im not going to ever pretend that im an expert and die hard fan just because Dublin reach an All Ireland semi . It is the Semi isn't it ?
Anyway , this brings me to the most irritating and annoying section of sports fans in the World . The Dubs fans who all of a sudden are Dubs fans because they are on the telly and back of the newspapers and are in the bleedin All Ireland . You see them waiting at bus stops on match day with their ''Up the Dubs '' banners , Jerseys they wouldn't be seen dead in the rest of the year unless their on holidays , Programmes of the match they will never ever read or even remotely understand , references to ''The Hill '' just because its a Dublin thing will be the topic of conversation and will sing ''Come on ye boys in blue '' every where they go [How original ].
Im not having a go at genuine GAA or Dublin fans , everybody to their own and enjoy what gives you your entertainment but , these w*****s will never be seen dead at a Dublin game for the rest of the year , you wont see them in Parnell park on a wet winter afternoon and would struggle to name 7 players unless they are reading the match programme.
So why now ??
Is it for attention , is it because its de dubs , a few scoops and a bit a crac ??
Either way , they get on my tits and are not genuine GAA or Dublin fans .
By the way , i have a friend whos never mentioned GAA to me once since i know him , yep , he's off to see De Dubs .

23/08/2006, 3:53 AM
Do you know any Dubs who are not attention seekers?:D

23/08/2006, 8:37 AM
Worst thing is when the GAA delay games cos they're still in the pub
(not that it would have made much of a difference to our result)

Gates should have been shut and let them watch the game in Quinns.
They probably wouldn't have known the difference!

Jaysus we were tripe though :o

Aberdonian Stu
23/08/2006, 9:26 AM
I agree more should be done to force fans in on time because it has gone way too far.

Bandwagon jumping like that which you describe is hardly unique to the Dubs though.

The vast majority of major sports teams in this country (rugby, soccer, gaa) see enormous surges for "the big games" and paltry figures for the rest of the year.

23/08/2006, 1:44 PM
You could easily say the same thing about Munster rugby supporters. In fact, I think I have in the past. :D

It's the nature of sports fans everywhere but especially in Ireland to jump on the bandwagon when a team is going well. The exceptions are the Kerry and Kilkenny fans who won't show up for any games except the final! The Dubs get more stick about it because we have the numbers and we do it better than everyone else. :p A point that often gets overlooked is that Dublin bring more travelling fans than any other county and also get consistently high crowds for league games (bigger average than any other team in Dublin). It's not Dublin's fault that the only stadium that can cope with our Championship crowds is in Dublin (and with our some of our mentally weak teams down the years, Dublin don't always get an 'advantage' from playing in front of the Hill).

23/08/2006, 1:52 PM
Dublin... get consistently high crowds for league games (bigger average than any other team in Dublin).

That wouldn't be hard now would it? :D

23/08/2006, 2:30 PM
Do you know any Dubs who are not attention seekers?:D
Oh, what about me? Me, me, me...

23/08/2006, 3:31 PM
Oh, what about me? Me, me, me...

Ha Ha Ha...Are you trying to monopolise the POTM competition?:D

23/08/2006, 3:35 PM
Bandwagon jumping is not restricted to Dublin fans. It happens all over the world.

Adrianovic
23/08/2006, 3:35 PM
Speaking of GAA... errr... does anyone have a tape of the Kerry v Cork game on Sunday?

I was meant to sky+ it for my Dad, but something went wrong and I need to find another copy quick sharp.

I'll reward anyone who can provide me with this. :)

Ade

Adrianovic
23/08/2006, 3:37 PM
Also in fairness to us Kerry fans, there were loads of us at the game on Sunday. Cork's turnout was surprisingly and unusually poor.

It is also a long way up from Kerry to Dublin, and even longer on the way back. I know this to be true.

Ade

23/08/2006, 3:37 PM
Ha Ha Ha...Are you trying to monopolise the POTM competition?:D
Nah. Supergretna's got it wrapped up this month anyway. Besides, it'd be embarrasing to win it three times in eight months.

23/08/2006, 4:05 PM
Agreed Ash, why should Croke Park accomodate the muppets who cant be arsed to arrive on time, and they moan when they cant get in to see their precious boys in blue? tough sh!te lads. Some of these muppets were probably the shower who walked out of Lansdowne early 2nd half and arriving 20mins late.

23/08/2006, 4:11 PM
Also in fairness to us Kerry fans, there were loads of us at the game on Sunday.
Ade

Fair comment, I was surprised at that to be honest - think Jack O'Connor was too!

Cork's turnout was surprisingly and unusually poor.

I believe they have a rule in Cork that you are only allowed to follow one Gaelic game at any one time. Once the hurling team goes through a dip in form people will come out for the footballers again. Handball was surprisingly popular in Cork for most of the 90's. :D

oconghc2
23/08/2006, 5:16 PM
i am a GAA fan - and a soccer fan -

i dont know how many irish games the original poster goes to - because the fact is that these ppl who jump on the bandwagon are in every sport and yes even soccer fans!!!

look at genuine fans on here who have been to every game in last few years but cant even get one off the FAI for the germany game!! Why was there so many tkts available outside the dutch game there recently while the dutch game in 2001 was packed!

The fact is that the League in GAA is not as important (maybe compare it to friendlies for the soccer team). And the nice weather that accompanies the championship is always going to bring out more "fans". As as for "cmon you boys in Blue being unoriginal!! - i've heard a similar one doing the rounds at Lansdowne!!

I understand that the OP doesnt like GAA - I just cant help feeling that this has lead you to pick up on GAA bandwagoners and failed to see the big picture!

23/08/2006, 6:04 PM
Why was there so many tkts available outside the dutch game there recently while the dutch game in 2001 was packed!
The Dutch game in 2001 was one of the most important competitive games we've ever played. We had a real chance of qualifying for the World Cup.

On Wednesday, we were playing a friendly, with all of our star players missing.

I think there's a small difference there.

oconghc2
23/08/2006, 6:26 PM
not the best of examples fair enough!

really just trying to point out the nature of league v championship!

Take for example the mayo game next sunday - prob the most important game for dubs in over 10 years - compare that to a league game against monaghan with big players missing. -

not much of a difference there to ireland v dutch imo.

24/08/2006, 10:21 AM
The Dutch game in 2001 was one of the most important competitive games we've ever played. We had a real chance of qualifying for the World Cup.

On Wednesday, we were playing a friendly, with all of our star players missing.
There were still more people at the game last Wednesday too.

24/08/2006, 10:41 AM
There were still more people at the game last Wednesday too.
Good point. :) I'd forgotten about the terracing.

Colm55
24/08/2006, 12:58 PM
Just reading some above posts and the tripe that i've been reading in the newspapers over the past few weeks about the dubs being late out of the pub and dublin games delayed... I think its all a load of cobblers
Heres one for yis..
The Q/F against westmeath i set off from the pub with about 20 mins to kick off, got to the stiles at about quarter to (was in upper hogan) there were about 10,000 fans trying to get through 5 open styles, it took me 20 minutes to get from the back of the queue to me seat, game was put back by 15 mins,
was this due to me and my "attention seeking" kind being in the boozer till four o clock or was it for health and safety reasons so i could get to my seat with out any physical damage in case of a massive surge to see the throw in ??
To all you begrudgers out there - abuse dublin for the price of a pint or because the liffey stinks, not because we support our fair city in the thousands..
On dublin match days there will be massive crowds waiting to get through the styles - 20-25 thousand more than an average game, deal with it !

24/08/2006, 1:43 PM
you wont see them in Parnell park on a wet winter afternoon and would struggle to name 7 players unless they are reading the match programme.

I thought you said they dont read the programmes?!?! bit of a faux pas there.

i agree in theory, but dont ye think its great the way Gaelic brings together a county and its people???? its the one time in the life of a dub, when ye can actually say "I am proud to be a dub" and lets face it thats not often as ye dont have much to be proud of.

Aberdonian Stu
25/08/2006, 11:21 AM
THe queues for the Westmeath game, especially at the discount gates, were very poorly managed.

I arrived early and got in early but would have been a whole lot earlier had the 4 heads with me not had student tickets. Major bottleneck at the checkpoints, basically because they had too few people checking.

25/08/2006, 9:14 PM
...but dont ye think its great the way Gaelic brings together a county and its people????

No, I don't. I hope Co. Louth stay rubbish then because I don't want to be 'brought together' with any of those Drogheda lot.
I think Dundalk/Drogheda people hate each other far more than we are united by being in the same county. Are there any other counties where this happens? If someone asked me where I was from I would never dream of replying "Louth", the reply would always be "Dundalk".
Maybe it is just the mindset of an eL fan/someone who doesn't follow GAA? Anyone else reply with their town rather than county? Would be interesting to see what a Cobh fan would say... Cobh or Cork?

Passive
26/08/2006, 1:16 PM
Irish people are event junkies. The amount of people I know who think they are huge [insert county here] fans just because they go to one game a year. It's just like all the people I know who think they are huge [insert Premiership club here] fans just because they watch a highlights programme on television every week.

I never liked Gaelic games - rubbish sports, rubbish fans.

Besides, SRFC will be supporting Mayo in the semi.

ccfcman
26/08/2006, 2:11 PM
I'm not a huge hurling fan and admit little interest in the National Hurling League whatever.

But I love the championship and getting into the later stages of the all ireland.

I'd never go actively seek tickets out either, as a Corkman I know how difficult it is to get tickets why should I a lesser fan, than those in drizzley February have the ticket?

Cum aaaaaaaaan SetantaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaH as the nobodies would say.

26/08/2006, 5:50 PM
Even the gf is a poxy band wagon jumper. How many of this lot will be seen at

League games?! Well I'll be a bar in the area of Tolka before the real sport is

played. Wait till the band wagon sets in motion, go in for a few pints while it's

nice and empty. Finish pints before that shower come back on up to Tolka I go

for the football :cool: ;)