View Full Version : All-Ireland anyone?

Pages : 1 [2]

29/08/2006, 2:55 PM
How wrong we were. Fair play to Mayo, absolutely cracking game.

Do Mayo have anyone that can keep Donaghy out of the game though? that will be a big test

cheifo
29/08/2006, 5:01 PM
Well done to both teams, an absolute sporting classic.For me a sporting classic is when neutrals are blown away by what they were watching.This certainly qualifies, the whole of Letterkenny was talking about it on Sunday night(the fleadh).

29/08/2006, 8:46 PM
I can't believe the nonsense that's been said and written about this game since the final whistle was blown. I'd advise people to catch Setanta this week and have another look at the game. I didn't watch this game live so I'm removed from hysteria. What was excellent was the Mayo defending, albeit sporadically. Some of the blocks made and basic tracking back and tackling were superb. What was terrible was the distribution by both sides. Absolute muck. There are three players left for player of the year and they are all Mayomen. Heaney McDonald and Mortimer. Maybe ALan Dillon?

30/08/2006, 12:58 PM
kingdom as dunpy once said about football, an entertaining game of football is never a good one, this gaelic game was very entertaining though not technically a great game.

01/09/2006, 3:27 PM
I nominate this for worst post in the history of the internet. Too tired to explain

Hopefully.
I never win anything.:o

18/09/2006, 4:36 AM
Sweet. As. A. Nut!

18/09/2006, 5:11 AM
ye were lucky in the minors kingdom, we should have won.

18/09/2006, 6:14 AM
ye were lucky in the minors kingdom, we should have won.

Pos, I'm a happy man at the moment but if anything I think we were unlucky in the Minors. To lose the early lead like that was bad, but to be fair the draw was the right result all round. Young Walsh was miles ahead of everyone in the middle of the field.

carrickharp
18/09/2006, 7:54 AM
That was a strange first half, rounds up a pretty dissapointing summer in the football really, well done to Kerry.

18/09/2006, 8:38 AM
I dunno Dublinharp I think the standard of football was refreshing this season. Obviously the All Ireland wasn't exciting to the neutral, but in terms of quality football played by Kerry, it was top notch. If anything this year has seen the teams who adopted the old style approach to football come out on top. Kerry Mayo Cork all played good football throughout the year. At the end of the day, no team would have lived with Kerry yesterday. 1-20 they were superb.

Jack O'Connor's record is impressive. 3 yrs.

2 All Irelands
2 Munster
2 Leagues
1 All Ireland final defeat. Pretty hard to top that.

Thunderblaster
18/09/2006, 2:26 PM
Kerry deserved their win. Mayo were out of their depth and after the first ten minutes the game was basically won. Over the last twenty years, Mayo has the worst record in All Ireland finals: 5 finals-5 defeats. Yesterday's final had the biggest winning margin in 28 years. I'm not a GAA man as everyone is aware but it was poor form to see Mayo fans (like 2004) stomping out of Croke Park in the face of adversity.

18/09/2006, 3:49 PM
Mayo has the worst record in All Ireland finals: 5 finals-5 defeats.

4 defeats in a decade, 3 of them to Kerry. Nallon was getting completely owned in the first 10 minutes, he was too small for his opposiing forward. Mayo stemmed the haemorrhage a little bit when Brady came on. The kicking from Mayo wasn't smart either. They must have lost the first 10 consecutive kick outs. It took the keeper far too long to decide to play it short. By the time those two major problems were realised it was already over. I didn't think it could get worse than 2004.:o

Kerry Blue
18/09/2006, 6:38 PM
Well done to the lads for a fine display, and hats off to Jack O'Connor for making the brave decision in bringing in Declan O'Sullivan. He got a lot of criticism for doing it but was proved right in the end. It was a great gesture to bring up Gooch with O'Sullivan to recieve Sam. Sort of symbolised unity in the camp which was reported to be lacking all year. I hope we can build on this success for next year and win back to back All-Irelands for the first time in 21 years. I hope the minors can make it a double next Saturday in Ennis. I feel Roscommon had their chance yesterday and I don't see Kerry missing out again. It's been a long time since our last minor success.

19/09/2006, 10:55 AM
disaster- all that way for a shambolic performance. Brady and O'Neil can hold their heads up but the rest..... after all the Mayo support as well. Turned up without tickets and still celebrated as we had won the bloody thing!!!

tralee_dynamo
22/09/2006, 8:04 AM
A complete performance on the day and full credit must go to Jack O Connor and his backroom staff. Completely outplayed Mayo on the day and all individual battles on the pitch were won by the Kerry players. It was definitely the hungriest Kerry team I have ever seen in an All-Ireland final and by beating Armagh on the way, it made the victory a whole lot sweeter.

Mayo on the otherhand didn't turn up on the day and they must be sick to the teeth of Croker and green and gold jerseys for that matter! Mayo have played great football down through the years and had and still have fantastic players. I think the whole country hopes that their day isn't too far away!

23/09/2006, 5:54 PM
as expected kerry had their chance in croke park but didnt take it. roscommon too strong as i thought would be the case

Kerry Blue
23/09/2006, 11:23 PM
Well done to Roscommon on their win today. Wasn't at Cusack Park but by all accounts they finished very strongly and deserved their victory. We'll just have to wait another year yet again for that Minor title.:(

24/09/2006, 2:16 AM
ya it was a good game alright, hopefully these boys dont go the way of all the other footballers in roscommon and end up on the beer and unfit.

beautifulrock
24/09/2006, 2:09 PM
ya it was a good game alright, hopefully these boys dont go the way of all the other footballers in roscommon and end up on the beer and unfit.

like their supporters :p