View Full Version : €2.80 a pint

Mento
18/08/2006, 6:08 PM
just back from our recc mission in Stuttgart.
tasty German pints for 2.80 in O'Reillys and the owner Dave says he is NOT changing the price for the Irish invasion.
O'Reillys is a small cosy Irish bar and 2 stops away on the u bahn is biddy early's - a much bigger Irish bar with similar prices.
Unfortunately i cud only stay one night but one of the other lads is still there and will be checking out the german beer halls etc etc.
Fairly warm over there as well so bring the shorts lads

Jens1893
18/08/2006, 8:28 PM
Only got warm here today or yesterday. Last few weeks have been terrible.

Dave is a top lad.

Mento
18/08/2006, 9:31 PM
Ye he is a sound man, excellent food as well
Himself and one of the drinkers there are looking in to getting game for uson the friday, a few fans against a german team. not confirmed yet though, but watch this space

Forever Dreamin
19/08/2006, 9:35 AM
tasty German pints for 2.80 in O'Reillys and the owner Dave says he is NOT changing the price for the Irish invasion.

Sound lik TEl AVIV with the happy hour that lasted the 3 days we were there! €2.40 a pint then Just as well i've a weekend booked in John of Gods before the Cyprus Game :D :D :D

Saint Tom
20/08/2006, 10:19 AM
happy days :)

Istabraq
21/08/2006, 1:23 PM
If anyone is stayin in the Hotel Hafner, like us, there is a bar across the road from the hotel where every drink is €2. Im not jokin you. Voddy and red bull €2. We were drinkin large bottles of Pilsner Urquelle (lovely tack, won best world beer 2 yrs in a row) until we fell over. Great place to start the session. The Irish pubs are prob the dearest in the city (no surprises there).

21/08/2006, 1:28 PM
Love that beer myself, so where is Hotel Hafner located, my check out that pub so.

Mento
21/08/2006, 1:28 PM
If anyone is stayin in the Hotel Hafner, like us, there is a bar across the road from the hotel where every drink is €2. Im not jokin you. Voddy and red bull €2. We were drinkin large bottles of Pilsner Urquelle (lovely tack, won best world beer 2 yrs in a row) until we fell over. Great place to start the session. The Irish pubs are prob the dearest in the city (no surprises there).

eh, directions please!

one thing i noticed bout the beer alright is that i was wobbling at the end of the night. normally i can walk straight no bother, but this was serious wobble stuff!

Istabraq
21/08/2006, 1:49 PM
The hotel is on Strassburger Strasse. Its about 5-10 mins by taxi from Centre. Cant for the life of me remember the name of the pub, but it was full of wierd lookin locals, who were going crazy watching the Germany Sweeden game. After the match the landlady cracked open a bottle of some mental gear and got everybody wasted on shots, on the house.

http://www.bookings.org/hotel/de/hafner.en.html?aid=305941

Moscow Mule
23/08/2006, 6:52 PM
Does anyone know if you can get a pint in the ground? Paris was just non alcoholic p**s and Cyprus was a baren wasteland. Any bars around the ground?

Jens1893
23/08/2006, 8:18 PM
Does anyone know if you can get a pint in the ground? Paris was just non alcoholic p**s and Cyprus was a baren wasteland. Any bars around the ground?

SSC, PSV or Rot Weiss.

Moscow Mule
24/08/2006, 5:59 AM
SSC, PSV or Rot Weiss.

Cheers........sounds very tasty

Sligo Hornet
24/08/2006, 8:37 AM
SSC, PSV or Rot Weiss.

What are these?......Bars?....Beers?....or post codes?:confused:

24/08/2006, 10:35 AM
PSV are a football team anyway.

Sligo Hornet
24/08/2006, 11:26 AM
PSV are a football team anyway.

Little bit far to go to get a beer before the game, Neil ?:D

UweBarschel
24/08/2006, 12:01 PM
What are these?......Bars?....Beers?....or post codes?:confused:

Names of part-time football teams, which are located around the Gottlieb-Damiler-Stadium. You normally get there decent beer until kick-off

Moscow Mule
24/08/2006, 12:20 PM
Names of part-time football teams, which are located around the Gottlieb-Damiler-Stadium. You normally get there decent beer until kick-off

Are the bars around the ground lively and will I be be able to get in if I wear my green leather pants?:cool:

casso36
24/08/2006, 12:31 PM
Are the bars around the ground lively and will I be be able to get in if I wear my green leather pants?:cool:

Yeah they'll be ok!! Just don't wear the green wig!!!:D :D

Dallasirish
24/08/2006, 12:59 PM
[QUOTE=Moscow Mule;520950]Does anyone know if you can get a pint in the ground? Paris was just non alcoholic p**s and Cyprus was a baren wasteland. Any bars around the ground?[/QUOTE

Drank about 40 euros of that beer in paris before fella beside me from Cork informed me that it was non alcoholic. 1 min later o shea missed a great chance. Worst 2 minutes of the hole French trip!!

Hope to Drink 40 Euros in Stuttgart of proper beer and go radio rental when Doyle scores his first international Goal.

casso36
24/08/2006, 1:05 PM
[QUOTE=Dallasirish;521526][QUOTE=Moscow Mule;520950]Does anyone know if you can get a pint in the ground? Paris was just non alcoholic p**s and Cyprus was a baren wasteland. Any bars around the ground?[/QUOTE

Drank about 40 euros of that beer in paris before fella beside me from Cork informed me that it was non alcoholic. 1 min later o shea missed a great chance. Worst 2 minutes of the hole French trip!!

Hope to Drink 40 Euros in Stuttgart of proper beer and go radio rental when Doyle scores his first international Goal.

Did the Same In Istanbul at the Ataturk Stadium for european cup final last year, bought 24 cans of Amstel beer, at beer tent outside stadium, about 4 hours before game, thinking happy days we'll have these and enjoy the game, little did we know until after about 5 cans each that is was non alcoholic!!! ffs. Sober as judges for game, but hey! what a game to be sober for!!! :D

Moscow Mule
24/08/2006, 4:37 PM
[QUOTE=Dallasirish;521526][QUOTE=Moscow Mule;520950]Does anyone know if you can get a pint in the ground? Paris was just non alcoholic p**s and Cyprus was a baren wasteland. Any bars around the ground?[/QUOTE

Did the Same In Istanbul at the Ataturk Stadium for european cup final last year, bought 24 cans of Amstel beer, at beer tent outside stadium, about 4 hours before game, thinking happy days we'll have these and enjoy the game, little did we know until after about 5 cans each that is was non alcoholic!!! ffs. Sober as judges for game, but hey! what a game to be sober for!!! :D

40 Euros @ 2.80 a hit is hardly an armful, unless it is the serious wobble juice. Better pack emergency rations.

Moscow Mule
24/08/2006, 4:39 PM
Yeah they'll be ok!! Just don't wear the green wig!!!:D :D

I'm sound on the wig as I don't want to look an eejit but the pants are packed and rearing to go.

Reddladd
24/08/2006, 4:42 PM
[QUOTE=Moscow Mule;521749

40 Euros @ 2.80 a hit is hardly an armful, unless it is the serious wobble juice. Better pack emergency rations.[/QUOTE]

I would have thought 13 pints before a match was 'an armful' as you put it! Certainly wouldn't see much of the game, sorry, wouldn't remember much of the game....................:D

Jon'o
24/08/2006, 10:01 PM
40 Euros @ 2.80 a hit is hardly an armful, unless it is the serious wobble juice. Better pack emergency rations.

I would have thought 13 pints before a match was 'an armful' as you put it! Certainly wouldn't see much of the game, sorry, wouldn't remember much of the game....................:D

40 euros at 2.80 a pint = 13 pints?? what school of economics did you go to? :D though 13 pints / 14 pints theres hardly much diffrence i guess, you'd still be bouncing off the ceiling, while pi$$ing like a fountain :p

Jens1893
25/08/2006, 8:02 AM

its your turn to make them lively. pubs here dont have security guys at the entrance.

UweBarschel
25/08/2006, 8:33 AM
@ Jens, do you know if they have the same alcohol-rduced stuff inside the ground as they have for the VfB games?

Clipper
26/08/2006, 6:05 PM
Anyone know if any of the pubs in Stuttgart are going to show a video of the Euro 88 match against England? Reckon that would raise the roof......

Mento
26/08/2006, 6:18 PM
Anyone know if any of the pubs in Stuttgart are going to show a video of the Euro 88 match against England? Reckon that would raise the roof......

good idea - why dont a few of us e mail dave carroll and im sure he will play it
oreillysstuttgart@yahoo.com

Jens1893
26/08/2006, 6:42 PM
@ Jens, do you know if they have the same alcohol-rduced stuff inside the ground as they have for the VfB games?

No clue, but I never drink when Iīm inside the ground. The club is trying to get a permission from the city to sell the full stuff at home games tho. Might be different for a Germany home game ... :confused:

27/08/2006, 6:19 PM
Are the bars around the ground lively and will I be be able to get in if I wear my green leather pants?

Babysis is into the green leather ;) :D

(I'm dead meat!) :D

onenilgameover
29/08/2006, 2:00 AM

such a good idea..think i have a copy too...alhough i dont think ill have time to do the pub thing b4 the game...after possibly..