View Full Version : Dundalk 1 United 0

Battery Rover
11/08/2006, 9:58 PM
Personally I would like to assure all the Galway lads on here ahead of your match next week that I have seen some poor teams this season but Dundalk win the award. They struggled to beat a team with 5 of our starting 11 missing. All of our first 11 tonight bar Silke, Lavine, Carberry I believe we aged 25 or under. 3-0 Galway unless ye have gone backwards as well

corbyeire
12/08/2006, 1:20 PM
after last nights finishing 1-0 will be gladly taken

damoGUFC
13/08/2006, 11:32 AM
who here is heading to Dundalk on thrusday??

JW.
13/08/2006, 12:31 PM
Beidh mé ann..

13/08/2006, 12:32 PM
Battery Rover - you are obviously forgetting our midfield injury/suspension crisis. We are playing well this year, 9 matches unbeaten. Roll on Thursday!

Battery Rover
13/08/2006, 2:53 PM
We are playing well this year

Have seen ye twice and I havent witnessed that yet. Would be three times other than you play Thursday nights. What a crap night to play a game.

Dundalk have a big squad and as judas says he has two players for each position each as good as the other. Seeing as we are one of a few clubs living within our means we do not have that luxury. When we have injury or suspensions we have to pick from the under 21s. Fact of life for us.

Trainee
14/08/2006, 8:21 AM
I would be very happy if we win this game (1 nil would do for me)

we seem to strugle against Dundalk on their astrotruf pitch

14/08/2006, 8:48 AM
Oriel and it would be desperate if the team had no support which looks likely.Its great for people on here to criticise the club and the players when they fail but were on a roll and anybody that can do should make every effort to travel on thursday.

Im going whether i have to get the cie bus or hitch im not bothering with a stupid friendly the day before (ive already given my tickets away) your club needs you know so where is the famous Tribal ARMY.

JW.
14/08/2006, 9:58 AM
Thursday is a terrible night for trying to get from Galway to Dundalk Tommy. It's easy for me coming from Dublin but not so for people from Galway. Having said that, we should really have enough numbers at this stage of the season..

14/08/2006, 10:37 AM
Johnny lots of people talk of us being a big club and big support but we cant get 10!!!!! people to travel to a six pointer in dundalk and were running a bus to a meaningless friendly on thursday.I know of at least 3 others who would travel which leaves just 6 more so we can hire a minibus.

JW.
14/08/2006, 12:22 PM
Well if it's a clash between Lansdowne and Oriel it's no contest as far as I'm concerned: it's a bit of hassle for me to get to Dundalk on Thursday whereas I'm off work on Wednesday, but there's only one game I'll definitely be at..

geezer
14/08/2006, 12:37 PM
GUFCT

i will give you a bell, will probably drive up
i also have 2 tickets for wednesday if anyone wants them let me know
send me a pm

14/08/2006, 1:32 PM
but why not take the bus and we will get a crew going to make some noise.I have pmed u about the tickets.

Louth4sam
14/08/2006, 1:50 PM
Bar should be open at 6 if your up early and fancy a few drinks before the game. Should be a good match.

14/08/2006, 2:31 PM
he said its vital that we get a result on thursday and he asked that as many supporters as possible would travel and make as much noise as possible.Last time we played there we had no supporters at all except for a few living up there.

He said the support at the last 2 away games had really lifted the lads when they needed it and they would love to see us in Oriel on Thursday. I know Ronan & Conor are trying to get people to go but **** it lads if your serious about utd whats more important landsdowne or 3 points on Thursday.

damoGUFC
14/08/2006, 5:24 PM
I cudnt be bothered goin 2 da Ireland match on wednesday,its ONLY a friendly, i waz workin 2day and will b 2mro jst to get money so i can go 2 Dundalk on thrusday but if dere's no bus i havnt a chance getn dere...I know 3 or 4 who want to go aswell so hopefully dere's a bus on thrusday!!

14/08/2006, 5:31 PM
It's looking unlikely that there will be a bus im afraid.the response to the bus has been poor and numbers are currently too low to justify running a bus!

Tir Oilean
14/08/2006, 5:47 PM
Thursday is a terrible night for trying to get from Galway to Dundalk ..

Well said.. Was reading the interview with P O Brien in the programme a few weeks back (Lims game) He said that one of the worst things about the EL was the way there are so many games in hand etc. Another point to add to this is permitting a club to play games midweek on a regular basis. Its goin to take 4hrs to travel to Oriel with traffic etc and thats a ridiculous ask for lads and lassies in the middle of the week!

Its one of the few grounds in the country that i've never been to.....I wonder why???????

Patrick Dunne
14/08/2006, 7:02 PM
We need five more definite names to hire a mini-bus. If you are interested, call

Barry Hynes (086) 8850517;
Conor Holland (087) 2184132;
Ronan Coleman at (087) 6972823;

or send me a pm by Tuesday evening at the very latest.

Alternatively, if you are going to Dundalk and can bring some fellow supporters, send me a pm.

JW.
14/08/2006, 8:27 PM
I agree that a bit of support would help. It was pretty depressingly quite for the loss earlier in the season.

JC_GUFC
15/08/2006, 8:46 PM
It was pretty depressingly quite for the loss earlier in the season.

I dunno I know one fan who was converted by watching the game! :D

I'll be there anyway!

GalwayFrancis
15/08/2006, 10:00 PM
we really have to win now - rovers beat de town two nil. if we lose
to dundalk we could be 10pts behind rovers after they play there
catch-up game. im predicting a 2-1 to galway outcome.

16/08/2006, 2:35 AM
It's looking unlikely that there will be a bus im afraid.the response to the bus has been poor and numbers are currently too low to justify running a bus!

Can yiz not even run a minibus?? :confused:

Everybody in our division has the same problem. We have brought a couple of hundred fans to every away game this season, regardless of the night or distance. Travelling to Galway/Limerick/Monaghan etc on Friday nights are a challenge, but we still go. Why can't everyone else follow suit?

16/08/2006, 7:20 AM
because we have jobs and families to consider too !!:D

but seriously, Its hard to get to a club that play all there home games mid week. You know yourself, yer numbers would be hit badly if ye were travelling down to cobh and have to be back again for work in the morning. There is a big difference between Thursday and Friday. The FAI should designate one or at most 2 days where all matches should be played on and one fixed time of kick off too, but that would be the right thing to do !!!!

16/08/2006, 7:32 AM
HOLD THE PHONES !!!!!!

I just read elsewhere that ye had a gate of 642 against athlone last night !!! Now that is pure muck considering the position ye are in. And you complain about us trying to make a round trip of 543Km when ye cant even get a decent crowd to walk down the road.

16/08/2006, 8:22 AM
absolutely shocking!Im heading myself dont know how im getting back and the frainiac is travelling too.

16/08/2006, 8:25 AM
the frainiac! brilliant :D

16/08/2006, 1:50 PM
I just read elsewhere that ye had a gate of 642 against athlone last night.

What did you think it would be? 10,000?? :confused: But then again, I am focussing specifically on away support here, and Athlone's was non-existent.

I read elsewhere that the attendance at Limerick-Galway was the grand total of 75.

As for midweek games, we brought 100+ to a match in Kilkenny on a Tuesday in June. We also brought sizeable numbers to Galway, Limerick, and Monaghan this season. Travelling to games on Fridays is as difficult as any other weekday, imo.

16/08/2006, 2:18 PM
my post in the ****ing rain with only a shed. Limerick are going thru a bad run at the moment but they had over 1,000 at the game -v- Yourselves so stop the knockin and go back to your BIG CLUBS Forum.

GalwayFrancis
16/08/2006, 3:13 PM
ok, lets all stop this "my club is bigger than yours" stuff. the name of the topic is "vs Dundalk", so get back on topic!

thescoringgoals
16/08/2006, 5:05 PM
for that link to be able to listen to the game.
gufct,maybe criticising ppl for not travelling 500 miles round trip on a week night isnt the best thing to do,most ppl here are season tic holders and organise and support various fundraisers for the club so our commitment cant be questioned.
to get back to the topic,both billy and reillys return will be very welcome,hard to leave out mixie but i guess it will be fran and ciaran in the centre.
qs:are we turning into drogheda now???????,ie;not conceding but not scoring much either,i know we created chances last friday but the goals are not flowing consistently.its not a bad thing if we are i suppose but with the relative quality of our strikers we should have a better goals per game ratio imo,what ye think??????

16/08/2006, 5:16 PM
What did you think it would be? 10,000?? :confused: But then again, I am focussing specifically on away support here, and Athlone's was non-existent.

I read elsewhere that the attendance at Limerick-Galway was the grand total of 75.

As for midweek games, we brought 100+ to a match in Kilkenny on a Tuesday in June. We also brought sizeable numbers to Galway, Limerick, and Monaghan this season. Travelling to games on Fridays is as difficult as any other weekday, imo.

That's just a lie.How pathetic are you!

Paddyfield
16/08/2006, 5:35 PM
Can yiz not even run a minibus?? :confused:

Everybody in our division has the same problem. We have brought a couple of hundred fans to every away game this season, regardless of the night or distance. Travelling to Galway/Limerick/Monaghan etc on Friday nights are a challenge, but we still go. Why can't everyone else follow suit?

We can't travel to Dundalk on a Thursday because that's the day of the Big Market in Galway where we buy and sell cows, tomatoes and rhubarb. August is a busy time for rhubarb and we have to walk 37 miles on our bare feet from Mervue to Renmore. Dundalk actually play their games on a Thurday because they have a market day on a Friday where they trade in barley so they can brew Harp. Sligo switched from Saturdays to Fridays because their Yellow Fresians supply the custard for the rhubarb.

Q. What day do Shamrock Rovers play on and why?

A. Whatever day Shelbourne tell them to.

corbyeire
16/08/2006, 5:57 PM
JW how are you getting there? and can you make it back to dublin on the night - im getting tempte, PM me if you like

Tir Oilean
16/08/2006, 9:10 PM

I love those i read elsewhere remarks....... I was there and we were outnumerbered in the region of ten to one and I counted forty of us. So someone elsewhere is blind in one eye and cant see with the other. It was great too we outsang them throughout the game....... and no those figures dont include the teams and officials:D

16/08/2006, 9:13 PM
he confused the attendance with our match and the attendance between kilkenny and limerick

16/08/2006, 9:16 PM
team IMO:

Gough
frawley...charles...clery...reilly
cooke(? if injured then o'brien)...foley...carter...o'donnell
murphy...moran

Tir Oilean
16/08/2006, 9:19 PM
One more thing.....population of Dublin is approx 1.2million.......Galway.....80,000?????? Anyone any good at maths? Its difficult for teams with small catchment areas to drum up large numbers for home games never mind a game 550km away.

Yes Shams had a huge crowd in Galway (fair play) but the vast majority stayed for the weekend (bank holiday i believe) as our city has alot to offer (check out one our songs....Oh Galway Town....!). Dundalk on the other hand is nearly a suburb of Dublin and I dont think there would too many people willing to head up and make a holiday out of it!

Paddyfield
16/08/2006, 9:39 PM
. Dundalk on the other hand is nearly a suburb of Dublin and I dont think there would too many people willing to head up and make a holiday out of it!

Dundalk is a suberb of Drogheda!

JC_GUFC
17/08/2006, 12:41 AM
We can't travel to Dundalk on a Thursday because that's the day of the Big Market in Galway where we buy and sell cows, tomatoes and rhubarb. August is a busy time for rhubarb and we have to walk 37 miles on our bare feet from Mervue to Renmore. Dundalk actually play their games on a Thurday because they have a market day on a Friday where they trade in barley so they can brew Harp. Sligo switched from Saturdays to Fridays because their Yellow Fresians supply the custard for the rhubarb.

Q. What day do Shamrock Rovers play on and why?

A. Whatever day Shelbourne tell them to.

Post of the season! :D

Did anyone see the interview with a Sligo board-member who said summer football was bad for Sligo because the farmers were in their fields later in the evening!!

I guess I did see a few of theirs fans walking around in wellies and waving pitchforks at us from the shed last season!! :D

17/08/2006, 8:19 AM
Form Table (Last 6 weeks) Pld Pts
1 Dundalk ........................7 17
2 Galway United................8 17
3 Shamrock Rovers.............8 15
4 Finn Harps .....................7 13
5 Monaghan United ............7 9
6 Cobh Ramblers ...............7 9
7 Kildare County FC ...........7 9
8 Athlone Town ................8 6
9 Limerick FC ....................8 5
10 Kilkenny City ................7 1

Trainee
17/08/2006, 8:29 AM
Playing Dundalk away its never easy
awhen we played them in dundalk earlier this season they were bottom with no points and the beat us

Now with dundalk on a run of form GUFC will have to play one of their games of the season so far to win this one

17/08/2006, 10:40 AM
to roar them on hope ye enjoyed last nights fiasco lads.Had a young lad ring me from his bed after his results who like myself is making his way to Dundalk and has no way home.Its a half days holidays for me but its a game i couldnt miss.

17/08/2006, 10:57 AM
Gufct to be fair there was only about 4 regular GUFC fans on the Ireland bus yesterday AFAIK.Infact PD was the only member on this forum there i think.

17/08/2006, 2:45 PM
Billy Clery and Philip Reilly are both available again after suspension. Derek O'Brien misses out with suspension and might be replaced by Conor Gethins who returns to the squad after missing out last Friday. Raf Cretaro has returned to action with the u21's but may need a few more games before he returns to the senior setup. www.galwayunitedfc.ie

17/08/2006, 8:02 PM
Yer losing 1-0. 35 mins left.

17/08/2006, 8:43 PM
1-0 FT. That puts Dundalk on top of the table.

Tir Oilean
17/08/2006, 9:01 PM
Where to from here? we have lost further ground on the champions elect. More worryingly we havent scored from play in three games not the form of promotion hopefuls. I have two words to say Damien Dupuy. Anyone listen to the game on the net?

thescoringgoals
17/08/2006, 9:17 PM
to the game but even with broadband i kept losing the connection,id hear about 2 mins of it then it would cut out for another few mins so i just gave up after awhile.its a good idea to have the games on the radio though,dont suppose gbfm could do that but then it will probably hit attendances i guess with all the barstoolers we have around here.
anyway as i said in another thread,we are turning into the drogs,goals are drying up.its a hard place to get a result though but more ground has been lost.next few games are not as hard and still a good bit left to go,no need for panic.

18/08/2006, 8:34 AM
last night biggest ive seen in Dundalk in quite a while about 1,700.

Starting 11
Gough
Keane
Charles
Frawley
Reilly (Barry)
Raf (Billy)
Foley
Mixie (Fran)
O'Donnell
Gethins
Murphy.

Subs
Gruckza
Nigel

First time seeing Oriels Plastic Pitch and hopefully the last.It shouldnt be allowed and it was a very strange experience watching a game on it.Cant blame the pitch on the result and a bad mistake by wes was the only difference between the sides.

We never settled although Kieran Foley was head and shoulders above everyone and Fran made a huge difference when he came on. Missed passes ,fresh airs and slips on both sides were the order of the day on a surface that is only good for training on.

Dundalk support was loud and proud all night and they had over 200 in their kop on the far side and made our 9 supporters feel very lost.

We seem to have this idea that the Shams game in October will sort everyting in this division but I think Dundalk and Cobh are equally as strong as ourselves and Rovers.:(