View Full Version : Since when do we boo our own team?
17/08/2006, 5:44 PM
I've been to a good few Ireland games over the years and I can't recall us booing our own lads. Whatever excuse one may off for the final score there was a resounding chorus of boos after the first half.:mad: There was also a pretty big walkout fairly early on, maybe about the hour mark. A lot of us pat ourselves on the back for being such great supporters but that's crap. It's also ridiculous to see different members of the crowd boo different members of the Dutch team depending on their club allegience. I thought this was supposed to be a Celtic sectarian problem but it seems the issue runs far wider. Pathetic stuff.
17/08/2006, 5:53 PM
I don't find it surprising that the team is booed, I am afraid I find the intelligence levels of some of the Irish 'fans' somewhat lacking.
17/08/2006, 6:05 PM
I've been to a good few Ireland games over the years and I can't recall us booing our own lads. Whatever excuse one may off for the final score there was a resounding chorus of boos after the first half.:mad:
I booed briefly at half time. I think I'm entitled to see the people representing my country play with a little more pride and determination. I've never watched such an insipid performance outside of the EL Division One.
There was also a pretty big walkout fairly early on, maybe about the hour mark. A lot of us pat ourselves on the back for being such great supporters but that's crap.
I've never done it, but I can't condemn it at a game like that. It's just another form of protest at the dreadful performance.
I don't understand this idea some people seem to have that being a supporter means you can't criticise the team.
It's also ridiculous to see different members of the crowd boo different members of the Dutch team depending on their club allegience. I thought this was supposed to be a Celtic sectarian problem but it seems the issue runs far wider. Pathetic stuff.
I assumed/hoped that this was down to his reputation as a diver. I'm always ashamed of the booing of Rangers players, and I'd agree that if it's an anti-Chelsea thing, it's pathetic.
adamcarr
17/08/2006, 6:45 PM
The booing was needed being honest. He performance was shocking and the primadonnas need to know that more was expected. The booing of Robben and the likes was a complete joke though.
17/08/2006, 8:48 PM
Plenty of premiership players have played in Lansdowne (including van der Sar and van Persie last night). Chelsea players - Cech, Ferreira, Carvalho, Tiago, Makelele... Robben was booed because he's known worldwide as a diver. He wouldn't have been booed if he didn't play in the premiership but he wasn't booed just because he plays for Chelsea.
As for the boo's at half time, I thought it was ridiculous. The team wasn't good enough, end of story. They couldn't put 2 passes together in the 1st half but they didn't do it purposely. I don't believe they lacked heart. The result was a foregone conclusion.
The booing was needed being honest. He performance was shocking and the primadonnas need to know that more was expected. The booing of Robben and the likes was a complete joke though.
Agreed. I booed at the end. What else could I do? Cheer them? :rolleyes:
If players try i will clap them but they clearly couldn't care less.
Booing Rooben was once again embarishing. In future I will now boo every opposition player who plays for a Premiership team!
joema
17/08/2006, 10:49 PM
The booing of players depending on their club allegiances is common in Lansdowne and a total embarassment.
17/08/2006, 10:55 PM
Since when do we boo our own team?
Nobody expects us to be world beaters. Nobody expects us to go out and consistently play like one of the best teams in the world. All that anyone expects is that the players go out onto the pitch and give 100%, right from when the ref blows the whistle at the beginning of the game right up to when the 90 minutes is up. There was no passion shown whatsoever by most of the players out there last night. They deserved the boos they got.
18/08/2006, 1:48 AM
I've been to a good few Ireland games over the years and I can't recall us booing our own lads.
The team were booed off against Switzerland in 2002, and more recently against Chile.
As for those who left when we went 0-4 down, I don't agree with it, but I can't blame them either.
Also booed off against Italy. Fact
Cowboy
18/08/2006, 7:19 AM
needed by whom and for what purpose? I think you need to understand what the term "supporter" means.
18/08/2006, 7:57 AM
I remember Giles's team getting booed in the late 70's. I think this was more to do with the style of play rather than any lack of commitment. The home results weren't bad in those days.
I certainly don't like it and wouldn't do it. Yes the performance on Wednesday was poor but it was more down to a lack of organisation rather than a a lack of passion.
I've no problem with booing opposing star players or obvious cheats etc. booing opposing players because they play for a rival foreign club or your foreign club is pretty sad.
FarBeag
18/08/2006, 8:27 AM
They deserved to be booed, of course they did or are we such nice supporters that this type of behavior is a shock? At least anyone neutral watching the game could hear the boos because there was no cheers whatsoever to be heard.People are also right to walk out. Would ye watch a film to the end if it was S*ite?
Reality Bites
18/08/2006, 8:32 AM
Punters who pay their hard cash travel long distances, sit through wind and rain to watch their team play are entitle to Boo players who are half-arsed and lazy don't really want to be their, Wednesday was a disgrace!
18/08/2006, 9:18 AM
I did not boo the players and I cant think of an occassion to boo the players. I think the carrot rather than the stick works in these occassions. I think people leaving early are a disgrace. If you stay when you are 4-0 up you should stay when you are 4-0 down. I remember a Scottish mate of mine telling me when they got beaten 6-0 in Amsterdam in playoff game it was tough watching but 4 days previously he had just cheered the team to a 1-0 win and if the players had to stay he felt that he as a supporter had to stay too.
As A supporter you are there for good times and bad times and I think leaving early is a disgrace. I remember people leaving early against Spain when we went 3-0 at home in 1993. The people who leave early to beat the traffic also wreck my head.
The film analogy is a load of rubbish as you do not interact with the film in the same way as you do with a football team. As a supporter there is a responsibility to support your team whereas a person who watching a film you just simply watch the film and you have no bearing on the actors or director etc.
18/08/2006, 10:05 AM
I have never booed an Irish team. I remember in Eoin Hand's last game against Denmark (1-4 at home) the team got booed.
If there is lack of effort, in theory a fan is entitled to boo. I didn't see lack of effort on Wednesday. I just saw us being outclassed. If you put a team of 14 year olds on against an adult team and they are beaten 4-0 do you boo them ?
Support a team through thick and thin provided they put in the effort and leave the booing to those who come to be entertained and not to support their team.
Roverstillidie
18/08/2006, 10:40 AM
needed by whom and for what purpose? I think you need to understand what the term "supporter" means.
:D :D :D
ole ole ole ole
every single one of those players would have gotten far worse if they had turned in that 'performance' for their clubs.
its not about the result, but the performance. and people who pay in are entitled to be angry at that
the irish crowd are far to passive when served up that drivel for €42 a seat. they should have been slaughterd for that. but they know there are plastic hammer wavers who will cheer like leprechauns regardless of how pathetic the display.
Seano
18/08/2006, 10:46 AM
I've been to a good few Ireland games over the years and I can't recall us booing our own lads. Whatever excuse one may off for the final score there was a resounding chorus of boos after the first half.:mad: There was also a pretty big walkout fairly early on, maybe about the hour mark. A lot of us pat ourselves on the back for being such great supporters but that's crap. It's also ridiculous to see different members of the crowd boo different members of the Dutch team depending on their club allegience. I thought this was supposed to be a Celtic sectarian problem but it seems the issue runs far wider. Pathetic stuff.
Agree totally, don't boo your team and don't walk out. If you're dissatisfied with the team and feel you have to protest then stop attending. The odd bit of abuse is OK if a player isn't making the effort, its part of the culture.
18/08/2006, 10:46 AM
I remember Giles's team getting booed in the late 70's. I think this was more to do with the style of play rather than any lack of commitment..
The morons started booing as soon as the Giles's name on the teamsheet was read out over the pa. That was personal, against Giles, perceived as selecting himself when he had, ahem, slowed down a bit.
It ranks as one of the base level fickle low moments.
You'd think that some of the free kick routines would have cheered them up.
18/08/2006, 10:52 AM
ole ole ole ole
every single one of those players would have gotten far worse if they had turned in that 'performance' for their clubs.
its not about the result, but the performance. and people who pay in are entitled to be angry at that
the irish crowd are far to passive when served up that drivel for €42 a seat. they should have been slaughterd for that. but they know there are plastic hammer wavers who will cheer like leprechauns regardless of how pathetic the display.
So you can only be a real supporter if you express your anger through slaughtering abuse at players. There are a few posters here who have posted and dont agreeing with the booing. How many of those have leprechaun hats and plastic hammers. I would reckon very few. In many ways the people who have the plastic hammers and Leprechan hats are the ones that boo and walk out early.
DotTV
18/08/2006, 10:56 AM
Booing your national team is disgraceful and walking out early is disgraceful.
If someone wants to protest against the team don't bother attending.If the seats are empty they will still get the message soon enough.
Otherwise those going to the games should get behind the team.It easy to support a winning team but the true supporters shine through when things get rough.
This crap that the players would get much worse at their clubs is nonsense.This isnt a club, this is your country, our country.Anyone who would boo their own country should be ashamed.
"Best supporters on the world" my arse. Sunshine supporters more like.
PaulB
18/08/2006, 11:19 AM
While I didn't boo, i can totally understand it. I paid 108 Euro for 3 west stand tickets for me and 2 of my nippers, and was served up that drivel. Sometimes we can seen as been to laise faire, too nice, for the money we are paying to watch this meaningless ****e, we are entitled to a lot more.
10 minutes into the 2nd half my 5 year old son turns to me and says 'Daddy, why don't Ireland score'. 'Because we're ****e son, because we're ****e'..
Billsthoughts
18/08/2006, 11:26 AM
I didnt boo and I didnt leave early but if people pay for the ticket they can do what they want. And I couldnt really argue with anyone to stay and watch what was pure rubbish. If the players arent going to try in freindlies why should we?
I dont understand why robben was bein booed to be honest. maybe the dutch supporters started it. they seemed to be singing a few strange ones.
DotTV
18/08/2006, 11:44 AM
If the team is playing gack and they see the supporters are still getting behind them then maybe it will inspire them to get the finger out.
Booing the team helps nobody.
Billsthoughts
18/08/2006, 11:50 AM
It wasnt that they were just playing badly it was fact that they werent playing at all.....they didnt seem to know what to do or how to go about doing it. People boo the team; its stupid but people can do what the hell they want. apart from run onto the pitch. anyone who does that should be put back into one of the terraces so everyone can kick the crap out of them. *****s:mad:
Chewy
18/08/2006, 11:55 AM
I booed briefly at half time. I think I'm entitled to see the people representing my country play with a little more pride and determination. I've never watched such an insipid performance outside of the EL Division One.
I've never done it, but I can't condemn it at a game like that. It's just another form of protest at the dreadful performance.
I don't understand this idea some people seem to have that being a supporter means you can't criticise the team.
I assumed/hoped that this was down to his reputation as a diver. I'm always ashamed of the booing of Rangers players, and I'd agree that if it's an anti-Chelsea thing, it's pathetic.
Agreed there has to be some level of performance and players playing for their country cannot be immune to the vocals if they deserve it and by God that was woeful stuff the other night . Its because we go to all games incl. friendlies that entitles you more than the next man to be able to criticise .
I'd say the booing thing was about the diving but still leave the club stuff for the weekend not internationals some of the singing outside Rumms was out of place to say the least - thought I was in England at a prem game
Junior
18/08/2006, 12:32 PM
II assumed/hoped that this was down to his reputation as a diver. I'm always ashamed of the booing of Rangers players, and I'd agree that if it's an anti-Chelsea thing, it's pathetic.
Aye, but is it sectarian? You see, if you boo a Rangers/ex Rangers player then its 'sectarian' if you boo a EPL star its 'pathetic club rivalry'.
I don't do either, but I find the distinction pretty annoying.
18/08/2006, 1:27 PM
Since when do we boo our own team??
Since they don't try.
Aye, but is it sectarian? You see, if you boo a Rangers/ex Rangers player then its 'sectarian' if you boo a EPL star its 'pathetic club rivalry'.Is calling the Rangers player an 'Orange Ba$tard' (as happened on more than one occasion) sectarian?
Billsthoughts
18/08/2006, 1:30 PM
Is calling the steward an orange b*stard sectarian??
Is calling a dutch fan of dubious parentage an oranje b*stard sectarian???
Am confused....:confused:
18/08/2006, 1:33 PM
Is calling the Rangers player an 'Orange Ba$tard' (as happened on more than one occasion) sectarian?
That's verbal abuse and not the booing that Junior was referring to.
It's ignorant to be throwing the word sectarian around to describe the booing of a rangers, ex rangers, or even mistaken identity rangers player.
Its stupidly partisan, not sectarian, not any worse than the farcical booing of Jaap Stam. For what was Jaap booed? his then dubious literary merits not being appreciated by his club manager?
18/08/2006, 1:41 PM
It came from people who were booing the players because of their Rangers connection so it's pretty clear that the same reasoning applied to both.
Billsthoughts
18/08/2006, 1:47 PM
sometimes I just boo cause its the only chant I know all the words to....
18/08/2006, 2:02 PM
It came from people who were booing the players because of their Rangers connection so it's pretty clear that the same reasoning applied to both.
You call the abuse as you were there and you heard it.
If a few idiots shouts out that Stam is this and that, doesn't change the reason why others booed him at that time.
18/08/2006, 2:08 PM
Since they don't try.
I certainly thought they tried. Kavanagh and Reid put themselves about at every opportunity in the centre (they had no organisation. Kavanagh tried a few long balls, Reid hardly got a touch of the ball). Kilbane will always give his all. McGeady was quiet in the first half but came into it in the 2nd. Elliott ran his socks off for the 90 minutes. Morrison was Morrison. Miller, Douglas, Doye and O'Brien gave it their all when they came on. The defence was a shambles but that's to be expected looking at the teamsheet before the game. They didn't lack any heart, they just couldn't spring a couple of passes together.
There was plenty of boo's at half time, not so much at full time. If the players deserved to be booed then so do the fans. It's embarassing trying to get songs going on the terraces and you find out there's about 3 people around you joining in. The Dutch had a great laugh at us. "where are the boys in green?"... I tried to start off "come on you boys..." to drown them out but it just proved their point as hardly anyone would sing. Why is their no problem with fans signing away from home but their afraid to open their mouth in Lansdowne?
18/08/2006, 2:13 PM
I agree with you regarding the fans but I do think that when we were in Holland for the 1-0 friendly that we were the noisier fans and sang more than they did. 2 things aways tend to sing more as they are on holiday mode and also when you are winning its more likely that the fans will sing. Not excusing lack of singing but just trying to suggest a reason.
Junior
18/08/2006, 2:35 PM
Since they don't try.
Is calling the Rangers player an 'Orange Ba$tard' (as happened on more than one occasion) sectarian?
It's ignorant to be throwing the word sectarian around to describe the booing of a rangers, ex rangers, or even mistaken identity rangers player.
Its stupidly partisan, not sectarian, not any worse than the farcical booing of Jaap Stam. For what was Jaap booed? his then dubious literary merits not being appreciated by his club manager?
Thanks geysir, It was the booing I was referring to.
Shumi, for the 1% of boo'er's that shouted terms such as 'Orange Ba$tard' I wouldn't say they were sectarian, no. This is obviously a derogatory term aimed at an organisation that is openly sectarian by its nature and exists solely to promote this.
Is it abusive and ignorant? then yes I believe it is, seeing as the player the abuse was aimed at, probably had no connection with the Orange Order anyway!!
This is in my opinion, if you disagree then thats fine you can call the one or two abusive fans what you want, I just don't like the generic term of 'sectarian' being applied to all Celtic fans booing Rangers/Ex Rangers players (rightly or wrongly at an Ireland match) whilst EPL booing is just 'petty club rivalry'.
I know this off topic so apologies, it just gets my goat a bit.
I wouldn't boo the Irish team, I generally shout encouragement or let off the odd howl of disapproval if players are making basic errors. But generally I leave my hanging, drawing and quartering till the pub after the game:D
Cowboy
18/08/2006, 2:37 PM
Punters who pay their hard cash travel long distances, sit through wind and rain to watch their team play are entitle to Boo players who are half-arsed and lazy don't really want to be their, Wednesday was a disgrace!
Yes they are but dont pretend to be a supporter while doing it.
"Main Entry: sup·port·er
Pronunciation: s&-'por-t&r
Function: noun
: one that supports or acts as a support : "
Nothing supportive about booing your own team
18/08/2006, 2:38 PM
I've nothing against people that don't sing as most are just too shy. The thing is, not one song went around Lansdowne in the first half that I can remember. If you're not going to boost players confidence and adrenaline with a bit of singing then I don't think you have to right to lower their confidence by booing them. There are times when it's fine to boo a team (Both Kerr and McCarthy's last matches against the Swiss for example) but to boo a team that just wasn't good enough is ridiculous.
Cowboy
18/08/2006, 2:42 PM
is your position so weak that you cannot answer the question put to you?
I dont care what they get at their clubs but i understand you may have a need to mimic the behavour of those fans, just dont pretend to be an ROI supporter whilst doing it. I really dont know what OLE OLE or plastic hammer wavers have to do with my reply to the post.
I ask again, needed by whom and for what purpose?
ole ole ole ole
Cowboy
18/08/2006, 2:45 PM
Aye, but is it sectarian? You see, if you boo a Rangers/ex Rangers player then its 'sectarian' if you boo a EPL star its 'pathetic club rivalry'.
I don't do either, but I find the distinction pretty annoying.
Think you hit the nail on the head there.
18/08/2006, 3:33 PM
Well, as booing is the thread topic. When Neil Lennon was booed at the NI V Norway game, listening to it on tv I would have sworn here was at least about a 1,000 doing the booing. Reports later say that there were just about 50 or so at it.
Do boo's resonate much more audibly than cheers?
Do booers have more passion in their voice translating into a low pitch sound that it appears as if 10 times the number are doing it?
Forever Dreamin
18/08/2006, 4:08 PM
So you can only be a real supporter if you express your anger through slaughtering abuse at players. There are a few posters here who have posted and dont agreeing with the booing. How many of those have leprechaun hats and plastic hammers. I would reckon very few. In many ways the people who have the plastic hammers and Leprechan hats are the ones that boo and walk out early.
The only time you reall see leprechan outfits are at away games and I believe they add to the athmosphere, having worn one in Japan and Korea as my kids gave me a present of same on way over! What about the Dutch in the boiler suits? Are they not real supporters? Anything that adds colour is generally grand and i dont agree that just because a person goes OTT on the colours is any more or any less a supporter.
The reality is real supporters will support their team through thick and thin and will give 100% support at all times. I would never boo off a team nor leave early and reckon those that do should stay at home and give their tickets up to people who would give unconditional support!
Giles quit as Irish manager following a home game where he got disgusting personal abuse which his son had to listen to. I felt terribly embarrased / disgusted as I was on the south terrace and could see the young fellow a few feet infront of me (mind you I was only a year older at the time) cringing with the insults.
I wonder what makes people like that thick that choose to insult a player / manager and their family just because they dont like their performance?
nshoop
18/08/2006, 4:14 PM
I didn't boo myself but I could understand it,they played with no passion or commitment.I have no problem with a team that gives 100% effort and gets hammered 4-0,I'd applaud them off the pitch,but those players didn't give a sh*te
18/08/2006, 4:47 PM
I didn't boo myself but I could understand it,they played with no passion or commitment.I have no problem with a team that gives 100% effort and gets hammered 4-0,I'd applaud them off the pitch,but those players didn't give a sh*te
Anyone in particular? Irish players will always give it their all. If we win then it's the opposition that didn't try, if we lose then our players didn't try. The players on Wednesday weren't good enough, end of story imo.
18/08/2006, 5:35 PM
of course the irish fans should boo that performance, the players need to know that they were ****e, the fans shelled out a lot of money to see them, and the players gave them a performance like that?!
the irish fans always get behind the team, no matter, even when we lose, but that particular irish performance was out of the ordinary
jeez, what did ye expect........to give them a standing ovation
and i dont know how you expected them to sing, i mean home games are usually devoid of atmosphere anyway, without or without the team been hammered
Cowboy
18/08/2006, 5:41 PM
of course the irish fans should boo that performance, the players need to know that they were ****e,
I think they knew that already
18/08/2006, 6:10 PM
jeez, what did ye expect........
What did you expect when you seen the teamsheet? :) I certainly knew we'd lose by at least 2 and wasn't suprised or disappointed leaving. That centre half partnership was the worst I can remember Ireland ever fielding. We'll have 9 or 10 more players available for the Germany match, most of them crucial players. Only O'Brien, Reid and McGeady from the team that started on Wednesday would be my team for the Germany game (I don't include Finnan as Finnan at left back isn't the same player as Finnan at right back).
Celtic lost 3-0 in Japan and 3-0 against Man Utd's 2nd team last month. I wasn't too bothered because I knew there was 7 or 8 players left out of the team. Liverpool lost 5-0 to a poor German team and then beat Chelsea when it mattered the following week. Germany lost 4-1 to Italy with most of their players available, imagine how the felt. Imagine how Sweden must feel losing 3-0 to us! :eek:
18/08/2006, 6:30 PM
I had a look at some of the Dutch newspapers, supporters could send in their comments, some said - don't be getting carried away as it was only Ireland's b team or was it c.
ouch
Roverstillidie
19/08/2006, 12:38 PM
seems like this is splitting into the usual foot.ie groups.
those (usually EL fans) who go to games every week and have a 'fan culture' that logically allows them to boo shíte when served up at €42 a ticket
and the, ahem, ole ole/barstool/leprechaun suit/event junkie/ semi regular match goer (choose as applicible) who seems to see games as an alternative to the cinema or a night in the pub, ie just a bit of entertainment.
you can argue that it was innapropriate to boo the players on that occasion, but to argue you have no right to get on any teams back when they serve that up is just plain plastic-hammerism.
19/08/2006, 12:52 PM
you can argue that it was innapropriate to boo the players on that occasion, but to argue you have no right to get on any teams back when they serve that up is just plain plastic-hammerism.
If you're not going to join in with a few songs then you shouldn't be booing imo.