View Full Version : NFL/NCAA 2006 season thread

Aberdonian Stu
06/08/2006, 6:30 PM
Hall of fame game is tonight between Philly and Oakland. Two teams who no-one expects to be in with a shout at the championship but with several players that fantasy football geeks will be keeping an eye on.

Also the first pre-season poll for College football is out. They have Ohio top with Texas second followed by a tie for third between Notre Dame and USC.

The full poll is here (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2006/football/ncaa/08/04/coaches.poll/)

Btw the details for the Irish national championship game later this month are in the Irish American Football thread.

13/08/2006, 2:21 AM
This year there'll be more live NFL available to Ireland as NASN has just signed a deal to show LIVE NFL games and according to this (http://www.nasn.com/content/nasn/portal.nsf/systemcontent/nflonnasn) they'll be showing a minimum of 4 live games a week. From NASN schedule (http://www.nasn.com/content/nasn/portal.nsf/content/NFLEarlyPreview) and NFL TV schedule (http://www.nfl.com/schedules/tv/primetime) it looks like they'll be showing the Monday Night game and some of the normal sunday games. It doesn't look like they're getting the rights to the Sunday Primetime game.

Aberdonian Stu
13/08/2006, 10:46 AM
Some of those might end up on Setanta if they fit into the NASN extra time slot.

13/08/2006, 12:18 PM
They MOnday night game will start at 1 or 2 am but I'd imagine they might keep the NFl to NASN's main channell as it would be the most prized rights they have. Its making me take out a sub anywya (only €8 a month on NTL)

Eoingull
16/08/2006, 11:55 PM
I like watching the American sports, (NFL, MLB, NHL) but jaysus, watch two games and that's half your week's free time gone!

17/08/2006, 12:15 AM
Actually not on the NASN site anymore, think it was for their german channell. Sorry

Aberdonian Stu
17/08/2006, 9:44 AM
Yep, I posted on the Irish American football forums and somebody pointed that out.

01/09/2006, 8:05 PM
Interesting little story about the 'Forward Pass' (http://news.yahoo.com/s/space/20060901/sc_space/100yearsagofootballsfirstforwardpass).

08/09/2006, 9:16 AM
Anybody stay up for the opener? Tried to but fell asleep. Think the Steelers could struggle without Big Ben. Despite the start I expect Miami to reach the play offs. I'm going for the Bengals for the whole thing (as long as Carson Palmer stays healthy). Would like to see Colts win it as Manning deserves one.

Roll on Sunday Nights

ps... Good fantasy game foe whoever has Heath Miller.

Aberdonian Stu
08/09/2006, 2:43 PM
Schumi has Miller.

Saw the highlights on nfl.com this morning. Looked like a very solid Steelers performance and I reckon Miller is coming along nicely. Expect a big year from him, injury permitting.

Aberdonian Stu
09/09/2006, 9:40 PM
Notre Dame are mauling Penn State 27-0 early in the third quarter.

09/09/2006, 11:53 PM
Anybody stay up for the opener? Tried to but fell asleep. Think the Steelers could struggle without Big Ben. Despite the start I expect Miami to reach the play offs. I'm going for the Bengals for the whole thing (as long as Carson Palmer stays healthy). Would like to see Colts win it as Manning deserves one.

Roll on Sunday Nights

ps... Good fantasy game foe whoever has Heath Miller.

being off work with burns:rolleyes: i stayed up and it was an ok game, dolphons looked bad on 3rd down and fluffed a lot of them, steelers got stronger as the game went on but got a lucky break with the TD that was out of bounds on the 2 yard line. Ref missed the red flag before the kick and it stood.

Steelers looked dodgey ( excuse the pun) without ben but they feel he will be back for next sunday.

Agree with you about the Colts being a fun, interesting to see how the family affair will go tomorrow night.

Anyway i'll be in New York for the Super Bowl so looking forward to that and seeing the Colts taking the field;)

anyone do the sky sports/ uknfl fantasy football ?????

Aberdonian Stu
10/09/2006, 12:00 AM
Irish won handy in the end 41-17 with both of Penn's TDs coming as late consolations.

Big one starting in a minute with number 1 ranked Ohio State visiting number 2 Texas.

theworm2345
10/09/2006, 9:58 PM
A few quick spur of the moment highlights
Quick game break from the Cardinals - 49ers game
http://www.sendspace.com/file/hidk5g
Alex Brown sacks Brett Favre
http://www.sendspace.com/file/1g4diu
Packers Field Goal Try
http://www.sendspace.com/file/warp6z
Devin Hester's Punt Return for a TD :D
http://www.sendspace.com/file/ygw9wr

Aberdonian Stu
15/09/2006, 9:17 AM
From Peter King of si.com:
"The Raiders might be the worst team in the history of the world."

I'm think the 2006 Packers are going to give them a run for their money!

Aberdonian Stu
17/09/2006, 10:29 AM
Notre Dame got creamed by Michigan 47-21.

Looks very bad for their national championship hopes now.

theworm2345
17/09/2006, 5:28 PM
Bears vs Lions
Bears force fumble
http://www.sendspace.com/file/yn1ops
John Gilmore TD
http://www.sendspace.com/file/us9xcl
Another Bears Forced Fumble
http://www.sendspace.com/file/hker0t
Bernard Berrien TD
http://www.sendspace.com/file/9mhi7v
Packers vs Saints
http://www.sendspace.com/file/bjh0tv
Jennings TD Catch
Giants vs Eagles
Westbrook TD
http://www.sendspace.com/file/oc9bap

Aberdonian Stu
17/09/2006, 5:39 PM
Dude no need to call them spoilers, sure all the info is live online.

theworm2345
17/09/2006, 5:42 PM
Dude no need to call them spoilers, sure all the info is live online.
I copied it from my post on another forum where they care about Spoilers

Aberdonian Stu
17/09/2006, 6:14 PM
But how are they spoilers? It's not like telling what's going to happen in Prison Break before it gets shown. When it's a sporting event posting updates and highlights as they happen is fairly normal.

My beef is actually with the style of the post, basically all the asterisks, the all caps and multiple mentioning of spoilers.

theworm2345
17/09/2006, 9:41 PM
But how are they spoilers? It's not like telling what's going to happen in Prison Break before it gets shown. When it's a sporting event posting updates and highlights as they happen is fairly normal.

My beef is actually with the style of the post, basically all the asterisks, the all caps and multiple mentioning of spoilers.
Sorry to offend you. That is how you are supposed to do it at www.fbtz.com. It is a site where full matches (they're usually soccer) are often posted so people dont find out before they get the match.

17/09/2006, 11:38 PM
Cheers for the links thew0rm2345 (seriously consider changing that, its far too hard to type :) )

Danny
18/09/2006, 9:35 AM
4 matches on live on sky last nite, that was class.
great come back by the giants....
dolphins looked really bad, culpeppers getting cut from my FF team

1st win of season for the 49ers too....:)

18/09/2006, 10:18 AM
Dolphins a huge disappointment for me. I thought they'd go far this year. Culpepper having a 'mare.

18/09/2006, 12:34 PM
Culpepper having a 'mare.

was he as bad as last week ???

Aberdonian Stu
18/09/2006, 1:29 PM
From what I read he was very poor but I wouldn't count him out just yet. It's not like he's Aaron Brooks...

18/09/2006, 1:46 PM
LOL at Brooks stats last night 0 pass attempts, 2 fumbles lost.

Culpepper fumbled twice in the open two drives. Didn't recover

Aberdonian Stu
18/09/2006, 2:50 PM
Yeah that was hilarious but bar one two-minute drill McNair looked very ordinary.

I don't have much faith in Culpepper but the talent is definitely there to improve a lot on the garbage he's thrown so far.

Big Ben's retun tonight. I don't expect much but it should be a cracker, though I won't be staying up for ti!

18/09/2006, 2:55 PM

Big Ben's retun tonight. I don't expect much but it should be a cracker, though I won't be staying up for ti!
I'll let ye know what happens, I'm going to this game with a Steelers fan. C'mon de Jags!!!!

19/09/2006, 4:40 AM
Just back from the Jags game. Great atmosphere. Not much on the scoring side of things, but what a job by the Jags defense. If ye get a chance to see highlights, look for some of the hardest hitting I've ever seen at a football game. My Steeler mate is drowning his sorrows with pints of Guinness.(He lost a little bet with me).
:cool: Not much of a game for the casual fan, but pure heaven for the defensive purists.

19/09/2006, 11:15 AM
LOL at Brooks stats last night 0 pass attempts, 2 fumbles lost.

Culpepper fumbled twice in the open two drives. Didn't recover

the above post is being kind, i thought they were awful.

it was said they ran the ball cause the bills were weak in that area.....wrong.

they ran it cause the QB as weak !!!

must say the pitch didn't help the game either.

theworm2345
19/09/2006, 12:23 PM
Cheers for the links thew0rm2345 (seriously consider changing that, its far too hard to type :) )
I tried to get it changed to just theworm2345, but I registered with that a few months ago, tryed to use my AOL address, which doesnt allow email from forums, and it never came through.

19/09/2006, 1:27 PM
PM dahamsta and see if he'll change it for you. He probably will

theworm2345
21/09/2006, 3:20 AM
PM dahamsta and see if he'll change it for you. He probably will
I did, he didnt :(

21/09/2006, 9:43 AM
Boooo, hissss!!!!

theworm2345
24/09/2006, 5:25 PM
Boooo, hissss!!!!
Yeah I know...oh well
Carolina vs Tampa
Keyshawn Johnson TD
http://www.attachmax.com/Keyshawn.html

16/10/2006, 11:54 PM
Massive brawl (http://youtube.com/watch?v=1JWeE9KqZjQ&mode=related&search=) this weekend in college football. Listen to the announcer at about 1.49 in. He's a former Miami U player and needless to say, the TV station fired him.

theworm2345
17/10/2006, 4:22 AM
Massive brawl (http://youtube.com/watch?v=1JWeE9KqZjQ&mode=related&search=) this weekend in college football. Listen to the announcer at about 1.49 in. He's a former Miami U player and needless to say, the TV station fired him.
WHAT A BEARS GAME
Here are the Bears' TD :D :D :D
http://www.attachmax.com/MikeBrown.html
http://www.attachmax.com/CharlesTillman.html
http://www.attachmax.com/DevinHester.html

17/10/2006, 9:25 AM
Stayed up to watch it. Absolute heartbreak for the Cardinals. They deserved so much to win that game. Of all people to take a 40 yard field goal to win, you'd pick rackers (not now obviously....)

Aberdonian Stu
21/10/2006, 10:29 PM
Good lord did any of you see the end of the Notre Dame-UCLA game?

1:02 left, 17-13 down and 80 yards from the endzone. It's all on Brady Quinn.

3 plays and 35 seconds later TOUCHDOWN

UCLA botched their one play after the kickoff (they would have had time for more had they taken a touchback) and Irish win.

I haven't shouted so much since the Super Bowl.

EDIT: Just saw that Michigan State came from 38-3 down in the third quarter to beat Northwestern 41-38, biggest comeback in NCAA Division 1-A (the top flight) history.
Full story here (http://sports.yahoo.com/ncaaf/recap;_ylt=AggIirFM1659wuy7xYHiLN85nYcB?gid=200610 210032&prov=ap)

Aberdonian Stu
29/10/2006, 7:15 PM
University of Florida QB thinks he played with a concussion in yesterday's game. I'm not sure if he's tough, dumb or both.

I love UF head coach Urban Meyer's reaction

"I said, 'Chris, I need to know that.' ... I'm going to talk to him and appreciate the fact that he's fighting through and battling and trying to put us in the best position to win the game, but we also have to be smart."

Full story here (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2006/football/ncaa/10/29/bc.fbc.t25.florida.leak.ap/index.html)

eamo1
01/11/2006, 11:14 PM
not a fairweather fan coz i have been for last 4 years since i started watching nfl.they won 200e for me last year when i bet on them to win the superbowl.this year i bet on the bengals,their main rivals i know:) .anyway,im very dissapointed at the steelers start,2-5 for the season and losing to oakland was the lowest point yet.yes i know big ben isnt 100% after all the stuff hes been through but its the defence and offensive line that are also playing badly,joey porter is a big loss and when hes 100% it will imprive things,losing randall el for punt returns was bad too,i dont rate that santonio guy.they found a miracle to reach the playoffs last season but i dont think even they cant pull this one off,even polamalu is missing tackles,thats how bad things are going.anyone else here a steelers fan???

theworm2345
05/11/2006, 1:25 AM
I was at the Notre Dame game today and I am a UNC fan so that was a bit tough. I did do pushups with my cousin though, that was pretty sweet :)

23/11/2006, 2:13 PM
Small clip from the Shamrock Bowl. Scroll down for the video (http://www.rte.ie/sport/obsport/video20060929.html). Dublin Rebels v U. of Limerick.

eamo1
18/12/2006, 11:48 PM
when the playoff race really hots up,who do ye think will nick a wild card place???i reckon 10-7 will do it.incredibly my steelers still have a chance but have 2 hard games left.

Aberdonian Stu
19/12/2006, 10:11 AM
10-7???

That's not possible without making the playoffs. It's either 9-7 or 10-6 and I reckon 10-6 is necessary for the AFC. The NFC will most likely have at least one 8-8 team in the playoffs.

eamo1
19/12/2006, 3:14 PM
i cant count it appears.9-7 is what i meant.incredibly if steelers beat bengals and in last 2 games they can do it.giants look like blowing it again,ill be in washington on dec 31st so gonna try get a ticket to their game vrs a disaster of a redskins team.

RogerMilla
20/12/2006, 2:17 PM
redskins were good enough to beat the saints though , feck it why couldnt they just keep losing !!

eamo1
25/12/2006, 11:17 PM
are so unpredictable in the last few weeks but thats understandable considering whats gone on there this season.i think the ravens look so good and will probably do it,they ran over my steelers again yesterday but thats not as hard as it use to be.my bet on the bengals looks like it might just reach the playoffs but thats about it im afraid.what do ye think??who will win it now???

26/12/2006, 2:48 AM
Currently watching the worst game ever 0-0 Dolphins v Jets. Well, well into 3rd quarter